Goethe-Institut Beirut Celebrating the New Premises in Lebanon

Visitors of the big opening-party danced to techno and trance.
Visitors of the big opening-party danced to techno and trance. | Photo: Kinobey Productions

The Goethe-Institut has had a presence in Beirut since 1955. It’s time it had more space, so a new building was opened in the Lebanese capital with a big party. The new space will also be made available to Lebanese artists.

DJane Rita is playing. There’s dancing in front of the stage. But the curious eyes of the more than 600 guests of the Goethe-Institut keep turning to the large screen at the edge of the party zone.
 

  • Anahid Hanounik-Huth, Mani Pournaghi (Goethe-Instituts Libanon), Martin Huth (German Embassador in Lebanon) and Dr. Elke Kaschl-Mohni (Goethe-Institut Kairo), Photo: Goethe-Institut Libanon Photo: Goethe-Institut Libanon
    Anahid Hanounik-Huth, Mani Pournaghi (Goethe-Instituts Libanon), Martin Huth (German Embassador in Lebanon) and Dr. Elke Kaschl-Mohni (Goethe-Institut Kairo)
  • The musicians Ary Sarhan and Miran Gurunian. Photo: Kinobey Productions Photo: Kinobey Productions
    The musicians Ary Sarhan and Miran Gurunian.
  • The Opening project Digital Calligraffiti. Photo: Goethe-Institut Libanon Photo: Goethe-Institut Libanon
    The Opening project Digital Calligraffiti.
  • Dr. Ghattas Khoury (Minister of Culture Lebanon), Mani Pournaghi und Dr. Elke Kaschl-Mohni. Photo: Kinobey Productions Photo: Kinobey Productions
    Dr. Ghattas Khoury (Minister of Culture Lebanon), Mani Pournaghi und Dr. Elke Kaschl-Mohni.
  • The room before the Opening. Photo: Goethe-Institut Libanon Photo: Goethe-Institut Libanon
    The room before the Opening.
  • The big opening Party. Photo: Kinobey Productions Foto: Kinobey Productions
    The big opening Party.
  • Ich Liebe Gemmayzeh, Photo: Goethe-Institut Libanon Photo: Goethe-Institut Libanon
    Ich Liebe Gemmayzeh
  • Pia Entenmann (Kurator of Kulturakademie Tarabya) and Johann Clausen (Photographer). Photo: Goethe-Institut Libanon Photo: Goethe-Institut Libanon
    Pia Entenmann (Kurator of Kulturakademie Tarabya) and Johann Clausen (Photographer).
  • The Team of Goethe-Institut Lebanon. Photo: Kinobey Productions Photo: Kinobey Productions
    The Team of Goethe-Institut Lebanon.

There in the dark, artfully curved letters are illuminated, sometimes in white, sometimes in yellow. As if by magic, Arabic and German words become works of written art. Michael Ang explains, “What’s in white is by us here in Beirut and the yellow words are coming from Berlin in real time via the Internet.”

“It enables you to express yourself.”

The Canadian artist Michael Ang is standing next to the so-called inflector table, where paper is inserted and illuminated from below and projected onto the screen. “When you draw on the paper, the camera takes a picture of the underside. You can’t see the hand drawing and the black ink is converted into white. Sounds simple, but it enables you to express yourself.”

An artist who calls himself Schriftzug (lettering, writing) has travelled especially from Frankfurt to Beirut for this. “Some people call it Calligraffiti. It’s an art form composed of both: basically calligraphy with a strong graffiti influence. The exciting thing about the digital story today is that we can bring together two cities that are actually very far apart. We can combine different styles. It’s a very interesting number today.”

Crazy

The Lebanese Calligraffiti artist Hayat al Chaban is thrilled, saying, “It’s crazy. It’s like a meeting of the cultures today here in Beirut.” The Goethe-Institut has been promoting this bridge building between Germany and the Middle East ever since 1955. One of the oldest German cultural institutes in the world is therefore in Beirut. But at 35, its young director Mani Pournaghi stands for today’s very modern interpretation of cultural dialogue.

As he opens the new three-storey institute building in Beirut’s trendy district of Gemmayzeh, the young scene is as much a part of the occasion as the dignitaries and many intellectuals of the city. The Germans offer important support, says actor and director Omar Abi Azar from the Zoukak theatre company. “What’s so good about the Goethe-Institut is that it doesn’t question the value of the Lebanese arts scene, but commits itself when it feels that you are committed. When we deal with our own minister of culture, we don’t feel this appreciation. But if you go to Mani, the director of the Goethe-Institut, you know your project will get support.”

When Goethe steps in

In fact, the Goethe-Institut and other European cultural institutions often step in when the Lebanese cultural ministry cannot. Its budget is far too small to be able to promote its own artists. For Mani Pournaghi it is therefore important, as he explains, “to create a space, not just a physical space, where artists can meet to enable co-productions in the best case. Of course, when I’m in Europe, in Germany, people often say, ‘You’re in Lebanon? Oh, dangerous.’ But what’s happening here in the cultural scene, in the cultural landscape, is incredible. There are various movements at the highest aesthetic level. Of course, it’s a small country, but they’re in every art sector. That’s why we try not only to work here on site, which is our chief mandate, but we also try – and this is particularly important to me – to reveal a different image of Lebanon in Germany.”

The Goethe-Institut’s regular programme also continues in its German courses, which are in great demand. From 2016 to 2017 alone, the number of Lebanese students rose by 35 percent and more than 6,000 German exams were taken. This is not least due to the fact that the nature of German classes has changed over the years, explains Alexander Kruckenfellner, head of the language department in Beirut.

Dialogue of equals

“Of course, we also try very much to incorporate this intercultural component into our courses, both the lives and the reality of the Lebanese people as well as the influence of German culture. And we make efforts to conduct this dialogue as a dialogue of equals.”

The German and international Calligraffiti artists will stay on in Beirut and, with the support of the Goethe-Institut, will work on the comeback of the legendary White Wall street art festival until 7 October. Its curator Don Karl announces, “By night we will use the projectors, by day we’ll paint in colour: once in West Beirut and in East Beirut and on the former Green Line, the front in the Civil War. Using both alphabets, Latin and Arabic, we want to paint a symbol of the city’s unity on the walls.”

Goethe-Institut Beirut Neubau-Party im Libanon

Auf der großen Eröffnungsparty tanzten die Gäste zu Techno und Trance
Auf der großen Eröffnungsparty tanzten die Gäste zu Techno und Trance | Foto: Kinobey Productions

Seit 1955 ist das Goethe-Institut in Beirut präsent. Zeit für mehr Raum: Mit einer „großen Party“ wurde in der libanesischen Hauptstadt ein neues Gebäude eröffnet. Auch libanesischen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern sollen die neuen Räume zur Verfügung stehen.

DJane Rita legt auf. Vor der Bühne wird abgetanzt. Aber immer wieder wandern die Blicke der mehr als 600 Gäste des Goethe-Instituts neugierig auf die große Leinwand am Rand der Party-Zone.
 

  • Anahid Hanounik-Huth, Mani Pournaghi (Institutsleiter des Goethe-Instituts Libanon), Martin Huth (Botschafter der Bundesrepublik Deutschland im Libanon) und Dr. Elke Kaschl-Mohni (Institutsleiterin des Goethe-Instituts Kairo), Foto: Goethe-Institut Libanon Foto: Goethe-Institut Libanon
    Anahid Hanounik-Huth, Mani Pournaghi (Institutsleiter des Goethe-Instituts Libanon), Martin Huth (Botschafter der Bundesrepublik Deutschland im Libanon) und Dr. Elke Kaschl-Mohni (Institutsleiterin des Goethe-Instituts Kairo)
  • Die Musiker Ary Sarhan und Miran Gurunian, Foto: Kinobey Productions Foto: Kinobey Productions
    Die Musiker Ary Sarhan und Miran Gurunian
  • Das Eröffnungsprojekt Digital Calligraffiti, Foto: Goethe-Institut Libanon Foto: Goethe-Institut Libanon
    Das Eröffnungsprojekt Digital Calligraffiti
  • Dr. Ghattas Khoury (Kulturminister Libanon), Mani Pournaghi und Dr. Elke Kaschl-Mohni, Foto: Kinobey Productions Foto: Kinobey Productions
    Dr. Ghattas Khoury (Kulturminister Libanon), Mani Pournaghi und Dr. Elke Kaschl-Mohni
  • Der Saal vor dem Empfang, Foto: Goethe-Institut Libanon Foto: Goethe-Institut Libanon
    Der Saal vor dem Empfang
  • Die große Eröffnungsparty, Foto: Kinobey Productions Foto: Kinobey Productions
    Die große Eröffnungsparty
  • Ich Liebe Gemmayzeh, Foto: Goethe-Institut Libanon Foto: Goethe-Institut Libanon
    Ich Liebe Gemmayzeh
  • Pia Entenmann (Kuratorin der Kulturakademie Tarabya) und Johann Clausen (Fotograf), Foto: Goethe-Institut Libanon Foto: Goethe-Institut Libanon
    Pia Entenmann (Kuratorin der Kulturakademie Tarabya) und Johann Clausen (Fotograf)
  • Das Team des Goethe-Instituts Libanon, Foto: Kinobey Productions Foto: Kinobey Productions
    Das Team des Goethe-Instituts Libanon

In der Dunkelheit leuchten dort kunstvoll geschwungene Buchstaben auf, mal in weiß, mal in gelb. Wie von Zauberhand entstehen dort aus arabischen und deutschen Wörtern regelrechte Schriftkunstwerke. Michael Ang: „Was wir auf weiß geschrieben haben, ist von uns in Beirut und die gelben Sachen kommen in Echtzeit aus Berlin, über das Internet.“

„Es ermöglicht dir, dich auszudrücken.“

Der kanadische Künstler Michael Ang steht neben dem sogenannten Inflektor-Tisch. Dort wird das eingespannte Papier von unten beleuchtet und auf die Leinwand projiziert.

„Wenn man auf das Papier malt, nimmt die Kamera ein Bild von der Unterseite auf. Man sieht die Hand nicht und die schwarze Tinte wird in Weiße konvertiert. Das klingt simpel. Aber es ermöglicht dir, dich auszudrücken.“

Ein Künstler, der sich „Schriftzug“ nennt, ist dazu eigens aus Frankfurt nach Beirut gekommen. „Man nennt es auch gerne Calligraffiti. Das ist eine Kunstform, die aus beidem zusammengewürfelt ist. Es ist quasi Kalligraphie mit starkem Graffiti-Einfluss. Das Spannende an der digitalen Geschichte heute: Also wir können zwei Städte hier zusammenbringen, die eigentlich sehr weit auseinanderliegen. Wir können verschiedene Stile kombinieren. Das ist eine sehr interessante Nummer heute.“

Verrückt

Der libanesische Calligraffiti-Artist Hayat al Chaban ist begeistert: „Es ist verrückt: Es ist wie ein Treffen der Kulturen heute hier in Beirut.“

Schon seit 1955 fördert das Goethe-Institut diesen Brückenschlag zwischen Deutschland und dem Nahen Osten. In Beirut befindet sich damit eines der ältesten deutschen Kulturinstitute weltweit. Der erst 35 Jahre alte Direktor Mani Pournaghi steht jedoch für die inzwischen sehr moderne Interpretation des Kulturaustauschs.

Als er das neue dreistöckige Institutsgebäude in Beiruts angesagtem Stadtviertel Gemmayzeh eröffnet, ist neben den Honoratioren und vielen Intellektuellen der Stadt so ganz selbstverständlich auch die jungen Szene dabei. Die Deutschen seien eine wichtige Stütze, sagt Schauspieler und Regisseur Omar Abi Azar von der Theaterkompanie Zoukak.

„Was am Goethe-Institut so gut ist, ist, dass es den Wert der libanesischen Kulturszene nicht in Frage stellt, sondern sich engagiert, wenn sie das Gefühl haben, Du bist selbst engagiert. Wenn man es mit unserem eigenen Kulturminister zu tun hat, fühlt man diese Wertschätzung nicht. Aber wenn man zu Mani, dem Direktor des Goethe-Institutes, geht, kann man sich der Unterstützung seines Projektes sicher sein.“

Wenn Goethe einspringt

In der Tat springen das Goethe- und andere europäische Kulturinstitute oft da ein, wo das libanesische Kulturministerium passen muss. Es hat einen viel zu kleinen Etat, um seine Künstler selbst fördern zu können. Mani Pournaghi ist es deshalb wichtig „einen Raum zu schaffen, nicht nur einen physischen Raum, sondern einen, wo sich Künstlerinnen und Künstler treffen können, um bestenfalls Co-Produktionen zu ermöglichen. Mir passiert das natürlich auch, wenn ich in Europa bin, in Deutschland, dass die Leute sagen: ‚Bist du im Libanon? Oh, gefährlich.‘ Aber was hier passiert, ist unglaublich in der kulturellen Szene, in der kulturellen Landschaft. Hier gibt es auf höchstem ästhetischen Niveau verschiedene Strömungen. Deswegen versuchen wir nicht nur hier vor Ort zu wirken. Das ist unser Hauptmandat. Aber wir versuchen auch, das ist mir besonders wichtig, ein anderes Bild des Libanons in Deutschland zu zeigen.“

Zum klassischen Angebot des Goethe-Instituts gehören parallel weiterhin die Deutschkurse. Die Nachfrage ist groß: Allein von 2016 auf 2017 stieg die Zahl der libanesischen Kursteilnehmer um 35 Prozent. Über 6.000 Deutsch-Sprachprüfungen wurden abgelegt. Nicht zuletzt, weil sich auch die Art des Deutschunterrichts über die Jahre verändert habe, erklärt Alexander Kruckenfellner, Leiter der Sprachabteilung in Beirut.

Austausch auf Augenhöhe

„Wir versuchen natürlich auch diese interkulturelle Komponente ganz stark in unseren Kursen einzubringen. Sowohl die Libanesen mit ihrem Leben, mit ihrer Wirklichkeit, auch den Einfluss der deutschen Kultur. Wir versuchen auf Augenhöhe, diesen Austausch durchzuführen.“

Die deutschen und internationalen Calligraffiti-Künstler sind gleich in Beirut geblieben und sorgen – mit Unterstützung des Goethe-Institutes – bis zum 7. Oktober für ein Comeback des legendären „White Wall“-Streetart Festivals. Dessen Kurator Don Karl kündigt an: „Nachts wird projiziert, am Tag wird mit Farbe gemalt: Einmal in West-Beirut und in Ost-Beirut und auf der ehemaligen Greenline, die ja die Front im Bürgerkrieg war. Auch mit den Alphabeten, in Lateinisch und Arabisch. Wir wollen also ein Symbol für die Einheit der Stadt an die Wände malen.“