Persimfans Orchestra When no one sets the tone

Ursonate by Dadaist Kurt Schwitters.
Ursonate by Dadaist Kurt Schwitters. | Photo: Ehring

In the centennial year of the October Revolution, Tonhalle Düsseldorf brought the local symphony musicians together with the Persimfans Orchestra of Russia. Its unique feature is that, true to the maxims of the original Persimfans Orchestra of 1922, the musicians play without a conductor. A joint concert in Moscow in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut unites the highlights of the two Düsseldorf performances. 

The two orchestras sat in a circle, communicating only through intense eye contact. Above the heads of the audience floated a red banner by the Ukrainian artist Aljoscha. The programme offered up an introduction to the global revolution, a celebration of the utopias and the avant-garde with works by Beethoven, Hindemith, Wyschnegradsky, Mossolov and even the Ursonate by Dadaist Kurt Schwitters, “Rinnzekete bee bee nnz krr müü?” The only one missing was the man with the baton. No one noticed.

Concert at Tonhalle. Concert at Tonhalle. | Photo: Ehring

Who needs a conductor?

Persimfans is the abbreviation for Russian Pervyi Simfonicheskii Ansambl, or First Symphonic Ensemble. The original Persimfans Orchestra was founded in Moscow in 1922 as an experiment of musical collectivism, of “music free of domination.” In accordance with the ideals of the early Soviet Era, the ensemble did not want to submit to a conductor. The idea worked. “If this keeps up, conductors will have to look for a new job,” joked conductor Otto Klemperer following a perfect Persimfans performance of Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique. History has other plans. Only ten years after its founding, the orchestra was dissolved under Stalin. It was apparently too revolutionary for a state that declared the October Revolution its founding legend.

Concentration. Concentration. | Photo: Ehring In 2008, the Persimfans Orchestra reconstituted in Russian in the spirit of its historic predecessor on the initiative of the pianist and sound artist Peter Aidu, a grandson of one of the original ensemble members. The musicians rehearse diligently to work out interpretations without a conductor. They play traditional and avant-garde music ranging all the way to experimental sound art. Their repertoire consists exclusively of works that were also played by the first Persimfans Orchestra.

What utopia sounds like

 At Düsseldorf’s Tonhalle, the Russian orchestra united with Düsseldorf Symphony musicians for two evenings to bring the utopias of the avant-garde to resounding life. It was an extraordinary collaboration. This winter, the German musicians will return the visit at Moscow’s Tchaikovsky Concert Hall. The concert on 14 December will combine the highlights of the two performances in Düsseldorf.

Persimfans-Orchester Wenn keiner den Ton angibt

„Ursonate“ des Dadaisten Kurt Schwitters
„Ursonate“ des Dadaisten Kurt Schwitters | Foto: Ehring

​Im Jubiläumsjahr der Oktoberrevolution brachte die Tonhalle Düsseldorf die hiesigen Symphoniker mit dem russischen Persimfans-Orchester zusammen. Das Besondere: Die Musikerinnen und Musiker kommen ohne Dirigent aus, getreu den Maximen des originalen Persimfans-Orchesters von 1922. Ein gemeinsames Konzert in Moskau vereint – in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut – die Höhepunkte der beiden Düsseldorfer Aufführungen.

Im Stuhlkreis saßen die beiden Orchester, sie verständigten sich allein über intensiven Blickkontakt. Über den Köpfen des Publikums schwebte eine rote Plastik des russisch-ukrainischen Künstlers Aljoscha. Auf dem Programm stand ein Grundkurs Weltrevolution, eine Feier der Utopien und der Avantgarde, mit Werken von Beethoven, Hindemith, Wyschnegradsky, Mossolow oder auch der „Ursonate“ des Dadaisten Kurt Schwitters: „Rinnzekete bee bee nnz krr müü?“ Nur einer fehlte: der Mann mit dem Taktstock. Niemand hat ihn vermisst.

Konzert in der Tonhalle Konzert in der Tonhalle | Foto: Ehring

 Wer braucht schon einen Dirigenten?

 „Persimfans“ ist die Kurzform des russischen „Perwy Simfonitscheski Ansambl“, was übersetzt „Erstes symphonisches Ensemble“ bedeutet. Das originale Persimfans-Orchester wurde 1922 in Moskau gegründet, als Experiment des musikalischen Kollektivismus, des „herrschaftsfreien Musizierens“. Im Einklang mit den Idealen der frühen Sowjetzeit wollte es sich keinem Dirigenten mehr unterordnen. Und das Konzept ging auf. „Wenn das so weitergeht, werden wir Kapellmeister uns alle nach einem anderen Beruf umsehen müssen“, scherzte etwa der Dirigent Otto Klemperer angesichts einer makellosen Persimfans-Aufführung von Tschaikowskis „Pathétique“. Doch die Geschichte wollte es anders. Nur zehn Jahre nach der Gründung wurde das Orchester unter Stalin aufgelöst. Es war wohl zu revolutionär für einen Staat, der die Oktoberrevolution zum Gründungsmythos erklärte.

Konzentration Konzentration | Foto: Ehring 2008 hat sich das Persimfans-Orchester auf Initiative des Pianisten und Klangkünstlers Peter Aidu, Enkel eines Mitglieds des originalen Ensembles, in Russland neu formiert, ganz im Geiste seines historischen Vorläufers. Mit enormem Probenaufwand erarbeiten die Musiker Interpretationen ohne Dirigent. Sie spielen Traditionelles und Avantgarde, bis hin zur experimentellen Klangkunst. Ihr Repertoire besteht ausnahmslos aus Werken, die auch vom ersten Persimfans-Orchester gespielt wurden.

 So klingt die Utopie

In der Düsseldorfer Tonhalle brachte das russische Orchester gemeinsam mit den Düsseldorfer Symphonikern an zwei Abenden die Utopien der Avantgarde nun zum Klingen. Ein außergewöhnliches Zusammenspiel. Im kommenden Winter findet der Gegenbesuch in der Moskauer Tschaikowsky Concert-Hall statt. Das Konzert am 14. Dezember vereint die Höhepunkte der beiden Düsseldorfer Aufführungen.