Mina-Festival Beirut Just Artists

Performance
Performance "Math Book" from Hiba Alansari. | Photo: Amr Kokash

The Mina Festival in Beirut addressed prejudices against Syrian artists in Lebanon and in Germany.  It showed that the freedom of art is as important as the recognition of artists.

Beirut is the city of five-wide queues of cars on three-lane streets, a city where ruins with bullet holes stand right next to towering office buildings, a coastal city without access to the sea – everything privatised or obstructed by buildings. It is the city that sets up artificial Christmas trees in front of the mosques during Advent. And it is a city of women – at least in the arts. Women run institutions like the Beirut Art Center, the Ashkal Alwan Art Museum or the Dar El Nimer cultural centre. Women are the main speakers at discussions and sit on panels in equal numbers as men and, of course, make art. This may be due to the fact that in a country without a state art museum, without state-funded theatre and with a minimal cultural budget, the arts are not so highly valued in society. In fact, Lebanese cultural life is supported by the artists themselves as well as private local organisations in collaboration with international institutions. All money must be especially procured.

Artist house in Hammana village. Artist house in Hammana village. | Photo: Alia Haju

Help from all sides

The Mina Festival of Syrian Art and Culture (Mina means harbour), which took place on the first weekend of December in Beirut, would also not have been possible without British, US, Norwegian, French, Swiss and German support. In addition to the co-organising Goethe-Institut, the Heinrich Böll Foundation and the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation were involved in enabling around 30 Syrian artists who are now scattered in ten different countries to present the results of their artistic work and discuss their working conditions. The Ettijahat (Direction) initiative, which was founded in Damascus in 2012 and has now been operating from Beirut for two years, is the partner of the Goethe-Institut, which has supported Syrian artists with its Laboratory of Arts programme since 2014.

Discussion Discussion "An Arab World without Artists" at the Mina-Festival. | Photo: Alia Haju

Only welcome as rubbish collectors

Lebanon is the first port of call for Syrians who are forced to leave their country. About 1.5 million are already here and, along with about 500,000 Palestinians, account for one third of the Lebanese population. At a network meeting on the sidelines of the festival in the Dar El-Nimer cultural centre, complaints were heard that the Lebanese government cannot be made to comprehend that some of these people could also be artists. Syrians can only get a permit to work as rubbish collectors or construction workers. Painters or actors are not welcome, said Christine Thome, the director of Ashkal Alwan. And the filmmaker Saeed Al Batal even spoke of a “fascism” of the Lebanese government against Syrians.

Artist visa for prostitutes

The role played in this by the decades-long deployment of Syrian troops in Lebanon was not discussed in this circle. The attorney Nayla Ja’ja’ added that there is indeed an “artist visa,” but it was only used to bring prostitutes into the country. “A category of art beyond entertainment needs to be legally recognised,” she said. Meanwhile, another filmmaker came to the defense of the Lebanese government, saying, “Unlike the Germans, they at least let us enter the country.”

In the end, those present agreed on a proper agenda: They want to establish an emergency intervention network, to publicise examples of systematic racism, to ask international donors to put pressure on the government to grant artists work permits, and to refuse to allow themselves to be divided into “Syrian artists” and “Lebanese artists,” but insist on being considered “just artists.”

The Syrian musician Mohannad Nasser at the Mina-Festival. The Syrian musician Mohannad Nasser at the Mina-Festival. | Photo: Alia Haju

The label "Syrian refugee"

On the following day the stigmatisation of Syrian artists was also an important topic in a public discussion in the newly opened Goethe-Institut building – smartly designed in Goethe green – in the Gemmayzeh district. Stage designer Bissane Al-Charif, graphic artist Mouneer Al-Sharani, Laila Hourai from the Ford Foundation, David Codling from the British Council and Goethe-Institut CEO and Islamic scholar Johannes Ebert sat on the panel moderated by Helena Nassif, the new director of the Al Mawred Al Thaqafy network. “We are promoted in Europe only if we are labelled as Syrian refugees,” Bissane Al-Charif, who lives with a French passport in Paris, complained somewhat bitterly. It was a complaint that has also been heard in Berlin, for example in Mohammad Al-Attar’s play Iphigenia, which was performed at the Volksbühne in October.

To process fleeing with creativity

At the same time, all of the artistic works shown in Beirut, without exception, actually dealt with the topic of flight, being refugees or the war in Syria. For example, Hiba Alansari, who lives in Munich and Berlin, arranged an installation and performance about a mathematics book (Math Book) found in the rubble of a northern Syrian city. Filmmaker Orwa Al Mokdad documented the collapse of the civic militia resistance on the North Syrian front (300 Miles). The writer Rasha Omran read an article about why she does not feel able to leave her Cairo exile. And so on.

Exhibition at the Mina-Festival: Installation “Marriage Contract“ from Raed Zeno. Exhibition at the Mina-Festival: Installation “Marriage Contract“ from Raed Zeno. | Photo: Alia Haju

Refugees don’t come out of nowhere

Laila Hourai spoke candidly at the Goethe-Institut about the perception of Syrian artists in Europe, noting, “Refugees there are looked at as if they came from out of nowhere. But they have a background, even if you are not familiar with them in these countries. There are theatre and fine arts in Syria. They have an artistic and cultural history.” What can be done? The best way to help is to support the artists where they are still somewhat at home: in Lebanon, for example. At the Goethe-Institut, a visitor spoke up and said, “There are a few artists still in Syria, there are the many abroad and in between: in Beirut. And I certainly do not want to leave here. If I could not come back to Lebanon, I would lose my homeland a second time.”

In practice, however, Western institutions are set narrow limits in promoting art and culture abroad. “There is plenty of money for humanitarian aid,” Laila Hourai said. “But art and culture are just as important. You’d hardly believe it, but in the refugee camps they are creating their own artistic language. You should invest in them!”

Ideas from Boxes

From the very beginning, for example, with the Goethe-Institut Ideas Boxes, which have been employed for a year now, albeit only in small numbers, in Turkey, Iraq, Jordan and Lebanon. They are multifunctional boxes filled with books, games, painting utensils, but also tablets and computers, to provide children and young people among the refugees with creative programmes and teach them media skills. In Choueifat, a town southeast of Beirut where numerous Syrian refugee families live, some of the boxes were deposited in a day care centre for Syrian children by the Italian aid organisation Intersos, where they are accompanied by the mediation work of artists like Stine Jacobsen from Berlin.

Children who participatinge in the exhibition Children who participatinge in the exhibition "Whose Idea is it?" in context of the project "Ideas Boxes" | Photo: Alia Haju She invented a game, for example, in which five to eight-year-olds push one another around like living cameras and decide when the other person may open their eyes and see something. This was linked to discussions about who has the right to an image of a person and encouragement to feel free to refuse them the right.

The children from Choueifat

On Saturday afternoon, the Goethe-Institut opened an exhibition of photographs, objects and stop-motion films made by the children from Choueifat. The young artists were visibly proud, one boy with a papier-mâché object pushed himself in front of every mobile phone raised to take pictures and beamed, another documented the event very seriously himself with an SLR camera.

Later in the day at the panel discussion in the venue, David Codling from the UK would say, “Perhaps we should take all the politicians and foundation directors to a place where they cannot listen to music, read a book, or watch a movie for four weeks. And after that we simply ask them again how important they think the promotion of art and culture in politically vulnerable countries is.”

Mina-Festival Beirut Just Artists – einfach Künstler

Performance „Math Book“ von Hiba Alansari
Performance „Math Book“ von Hiba Alansari | Foto: Amr Kokash

Das Mina-Festival in Beirut thematisierte Vorurteile gegen syrische Künstler im Libanon wie in Deutschland. Es zeigte, dass die Freiheit der Kunst genauso wichtig ist wie die Anerkennung derer, die sie betreiben. 

Beirut ist die Stadt der fünfreihigen Autoschlangen auf dreispurigen Straßen. Eine Stadt, in der Ruinen mit Einschusslöchern direkt neben turmhohen Bürobauten stehen. Eine Küstenstadt ohne Zugang zum Meer – alles privatisiert oder verbaut. Die Stadt, die im Advent Weihnachtsbaumattrappen vor den Moscheen aufbaut. Und eine Stadt der Frauen. Zumindest im Kulturbereich. Es sind Frauen, die Institutionen leiten wie das Beirut Art Center, das Kunsthaus Ashkal Alwan oder das Kulturzentrum Dar El-Nimer. Es sind Frauen, die in Diskussionen das entschiedenste Wort führen und in gleicher Zahl wie Männer auf Podien sitzen und natürlich Kunst machen. Was auch daran liegen mag, dass das Kulturelle in einem Land ohne staatliches Kunstmuseum, ohne staatlich finanziertes Theater und mit nur minimalem Kulturetat gesellschaftlich nicht so hoch bewertet wird. Tatsächlich wird das libanesische Kulturleben von den Künstlern selbst sowie privaten lokalen Organisationen in Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Institutionen getragen. Jegliches Geld muss eigens beschafft werden.

Das Künstlerhaus im Dorf Hammana Das Künstlerhaus im Dorf Hammana | Foto: Alia Haju

Hilfe von allen Seiten

Auch das Mina-Festival für syrische Kunst und Kultur (Mina heißt Hafen), das am ersten Dezemberwochenende in Beirut stattfand, wäre ohne britische, US-amerikanische, norwegische, französische, Schweizer und mehrfache deutsche Unterstützung nicht zustande gekommen. Außer dem mitveranstaltenden Goethe-Institut waren auch die Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung und die Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung daran beteiligt, dass hier an vier Tagen rund 30 syrische Künstlerinnen und Künstler, die mittlerweile in zehn verschiedene Länder verstreut sind, Ergebnisse ihrer künstlerischen Arbeiten präsentieren und ihre Arbeitsbedingungen diskutieren konnten. Partnerin des Goethe-Instituts, das syrische Künstler seit 2014 mit dem „Laboratory of Arts“-Programm fördert, ist dabei die Initiative Ettijahat (Richtung), die 2012 in Damaskus gegründet wurde und nun seit zwei Jahren von Beirut aus operiert.

Diskussion „An Arab World without Artists“ beim Mina-Festival Diskussion „An Arab World without Artists“ beim Mina-Festival | Foto: Alia Haju

Nur als Müllmänner willkommen

Der Libanon ist die erste Anlaufstation für Syrer, die ihr Land verlassen müssen. Etwa 1,5 Millionen sind bereits hier und machen mit den etwa 500 000 Palästinensern ein Drittel der libanesischen Bevölkerung aus. Dass unter diesen Leuten auch Künstler sein könnten, sei der libanesischen Regierung allerdings nicht verständlich zu machen, wurde auf einem Netzwerktreffen am Rande des Festivals im Kulturzentrum Dar El-Nimer heftig beklagt. Eine Arbeitserlaubnis bekämen Syrer nur als Müllmänner oder Bauarbeiter. Als Maler oder Schauspielerin seien sie indessen nicht willkommen, sagte Christine Thome, die Leiterin von Ashkal Alwan. Und der Filmemacher Saeed Al Batal sprach sogar von einem „Faschismus“ der libanesischen Regierung gegen Syrer.

Künstlervisa für Prostituierte

Welche Rolle dabei die jahrzehntelange Stationierung syrischer Truppen im Libanon spielen könnte, wurde in dieser Runde nicht diskutiert. Dafür ergänzte die Juristin Nayla Ja’ja’, dass es zwar in der Tat „Künstlervisa“ gäbe, aber auf diesem Ticket ausschließlich Prostituierte ins Land gebracht würden. „Es muss eine Kategorie von Kunst jenseits der Unterhaltung gesetzlich anerkannt werden“, forderte sie. Ein weiterer Filmemacher nahm die libanesische Regierung indessen in Schutz: „Anders als die Deutschen lassen sie uns immerhin ins Land.“

Am Ende verständigten sich die Anwesenden auf eine regelrechte Agenda: Man wolle ein Eingreifnetzwerk für Notfälle bilden, Beispiele von systematischem Rassismus publik machen, die internationalen Geldgeber bitten, Druck auf die Regierung auszuüben, damit Künstlerinnen und Künstlern Arbeitsgenehmigungen erteilt würden, und lehne es ab, sich in „syrische Künstler“ und „libanesische Künstler“ unterteilen zu lassen. „Just artists“ – einfach Künstler.

Der syrische Komponist und Oudist Mohannad Nasser beim Mina-Festival Der syrische Komponist und Oudist Mohannad Nasser beim Mina-Festival | Foto: Alia Haju

Das Label "syrischer Flüchtling"

Auch in einer öffentlichen Diskussion im Goethe-Institut am folgenden Tag, im gerade neu eröffneten und adrett in Goethe-Grün gehaltenen Gebäude im Stadtteil Gemmayzeh, war die Stigmatisierung syrischer Künstler ein wichtiges Thema. Die Bühnenbildnerin Bissane Al-Charif, der Grafikkünstler Mouneer Al-Sharani, Laila Hourai von der Ford-Foundation, David Codling vom British Council und der Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts und Islamwissenschaftler Johannes Ebert saßen auf dem Podium, Helena Nassif, die neue Direktorin des Netzwerks Al Mawred Al Thaqafy moderierte. „Nur mit dem Label syrische Flüchtlinge zu sein, werden wir in Europa gefördert“, konstatierte Bissane Al-Charif, die mit französischem Pass in Paris lebt, einigermaßen bitter. Eine Klage, die auch in Berlin schon laut wurde, etwa in Mohammad Al-Attars Theaterstück „Iphigenie“, das im Oktober in der Volksbühne zu sehen war.

Die Flucht kreativ verarbeiten

Gleichzeitig beschäftigten sich ausnahmslos alle künstlerischen Arbeiten, die in Beirut gezeigt wurden, aber tatsächlich mit dem Thema der Flucht, des Geflüchtetseins oder dem Krieg in Syrien. Hiba Alansari etwa, die in München und Berlin lebt, arrangierte eine Installation und Performance um ein in den Trümmern einer nordsyrischen Stadt gefundenes Mathematikbuch („Math Book“). Der Filmemacher Orwa Al Mokdad dokumentierte den Zusammenbruch des Widerstands von Bürgermilizionären an der nordsyrischen Front („300 Miles“). Die Schriftstellerin Rasha Omran las einen Text über die Frage, warum sie sich nicht in der Lage fühlt, ihr Kairoer Exil zu verlassen. Und so weiter.

Werkschau des Mina-Festival: Installation Marriage Contract von Raed Zeno Werkschau des Mina-Festival: Installation Marriage Contract von Raed Zeno | Foto: Alia Haju

Geflüchtete kommen nicht aus dem Nichts

Bezüglich der Wahrnehmung syrischer Künstler und Künstlerinnen in Europa fand Laila Hourai im Goethe-Institut deutliche Worte: „Flüchtlinge werden dort angesehen, als kämen sie aus dem Nichts. Aber sie haben einen Hintergrund, auch wenn man ihn in diesen Ländern nicht kennt. Es gibt Drama und Bildende Kunst in Syrien. Sie haben eine künstlerische und kulturelle Geschichte.“ Was tun? Am besten die Künstler dort unterstützen, wo sie noch halbwegs zu Hause sind: im Libanon zum Beispiel. Im Goethe-Institut meldete sich ein Besucher zu Wort und sagte: „Es gibt noch ein paar letzte Künstler in Syrien, es gibt all die vielen im Ausland und die dazwischen: in Beirut. Und ich will hier auf keinen Fall weg. Wenn ich nicht mehr in den Libanon zurückkommen könnte, würde ich meine Heimat ein zweites Mal verlieren.“

In der Praxis sind westlichen Institutionen bei der Förderung von Kunst und Kultur im Ausland jedoch enge Grenzen gesetzt. „Für humanitäre Hilfe gibt es jede Menge Geld“, sagte Laila Hourai. „Aber Kunst und Kultur sind ebenso wichtig. Man glaubt es kaum, aber in den Flüchtlingslagern entsteht eine eigene künstlerische Sprache. In die sollte man investieren!“

Ideen aus Boxen

Und das von Anfang an. Beispielsweise mit den „Ideas Boxes“ des Goethe-Instituts, die seit einem Jahr, wenn auch erst in kleiner Zahl, in der Türkei, im Irak, in Jordanien und im Libanon eingesetzt werden können: multifunktionelle Boxen, die mit Büchern, Spielen, Mal-Utensilien, aber auch iPads und Computern gefüllt sind, um Kindern und Jugendlichen unter den Flüchtlingen kreative Angebote zu machen und Medienkompetenz zu vermitteln. In Choueifat, einer Stadt südöstlich von Beirut, in der zahlreiche syrische Flüchtlingsfamilien leben, sind einige der Boxen in einer Tagesbetreuung von syrischen Kindern durch die italienische Hilfsorganisation Intersos deponiert worden – begleitet durch die Vermittlungsarbeit von Künstlerinnen wie Stine Jacobsen aus Berlin.

Kinder, die bei der Ausstellung „Whose Idea is it?“ im Rahmen des Projekts „Ideas Boxes“ mitmachen Kinder, die bei der Ausstellung „Whose Idea is it?“ im Rahmen des Projekts „Ideas Boxes“ mitmachen | Foto: Alia Haju Sie erfand beispielsweise ein Spiel, bei dem Fünf- bis Achtjährige einander als lebende Kameras durch die Gegend schieben und entscheiden, wann der andere die Augen öffnen und etwas sehen darf. Verbunden damit waren Gespräche über die Frage, wer das Recht am Bild eines Menschen hat und Ermutigungen, dieses ruhig auch zu verweigern.

Die Kinder aus Choueifat

Am Samstagmittag eröffnete im Goethe-Institut eine Ausstellung mit Fotos, Objekten und Stop-Motion-Filmen, die die Kinder aus Choueifat gemacht haben. Die jungen Künstler waren sichtbar stolz, ein Junge schob sich mit einem Pappmaché-Objekt vor jedes auch nur beiläufig erhobene Handy und strahlte rückhaltlos, ein anderer dokumentierte das Geschehen sehr ernst selbst mit einer Spiegelreflex-Kamera.

„Vielleicht sollten wir“, würde später am Tag, in der Podiumsdiskussion im Veranstaltungssaal, der Brite David Codling sagen, „alle Politiker und Stiftungschefs für vier Wochen an einen Ort bringen, an dem sie keine Musik hören, kein Buch lesen und keinen Film sehen können. Und danach fragen wir sie einfach noch einmal, für wie wichtig sie die Förderung von Kunst und Kultur im politisch gefährdeten Ausland halten.“