"The Theatre of Carola Neher’s Life" Death in Exile

Carola Neher as Polly Peachum in G. W. Pabst’s adaptation of Brecht’s Threepenny Opera (1931).
Carola Neher as Polly Peachum in G. W. Pabst’s adaptation of Brecht’s Threepenny Opera (1931). | Photo: Michail Konchits/Memorial

A German émigré trapped between two ideological extremes. The exhibition The Theatre of Carola Neher’s Life opened at the Moscow branch of the international human rights organisation Memorial in December. The show, supported by the Goethe-Institut Moscow as general partner, illuminates both the light and darker sides of the life of an outstanding stage actress of the Weimar Republic.

In the early 1920s, a young woman from a good Munich family runs away from home, quits her steady job at a bank to rise to be one of the most celebrated actresses of the Weimar Republic. During her brief ten-year career, she interprets countless roles, becomes Bertolt Brecht’s performer of choice and takes European stages by storm. Her likeness adorns the covers of fashion magazines and cigarette cards. Carola Neher boxes, drives a car, climbs Berlin’s radio tower, thus symbolising a new, independent, emancipated understanding of womanhood.

Curator and director of Memorial International Irina Shcherbakova opens the exhibition. Curator and director of Memorial International Irina Shcherbakova opens the exhibition. | Photo: Michail Konchits/Memorial

Stage star of the 1920s

The first exhibition section, designed all in white, features photographs, newspaper clippings and biographical material that illustrate Neher’s adolescent years and her rapid rise as a celebrated stage star in the 1920s. G. W. Pabst’s adaptation of Brecht’s Threepenny Opera (1931) with her playing the role of Polly Peachum can also be seen here. But then, the walls and floors turn black: Carola Neher’s life changes abruptly when the staunch Marxist falls in love with the Romanian communist Anatol Becker and moves to Moscow with him. At that time, many western leftists saw the Soviet Union as the last bulwark of communism. But their romantic expectations are disappointed: food is being rationed even in Moscow, hunger is raging all over the country; only the nomenklatura can afford a “normal” life. In 1934, Neher, together with writers such as Lion Feuchtwanger and Heinrich Mann, signs a manifesto against the annexation of the Saar region by Hitler’s Germany. As all other signatories, her German citizenship is then taken away. Since she does not own a Soviet passport, Carola Neher is suddenly stateless.

The exhibition shows not just pictures of the actress, but also sound recordings from the private archive of Neher’s son Georg Becker. The exhibition shows not just pictures of the actress, but also sound recordings from the private archive of Neher’s son Georg Becker. | Photo: Michail Konchits/Memorial

Arrested in exile

Neher desperately seeks acting work, keeping afloat with concerts and radio broadcasts for the German diaspora. In 1936, she is arrested together with Anatol Becker on suspicion of Trotskyist conspiracy. Soon after, the first Moscow show trial heralds the Great Purges. In 1937, Anatol Becker is shot and Neher is sentenced to ten years in prison. On 26 June 1942, she dies of typhus in the transit prison of Sol-Ilezk in the Southern Urals. Until the end, she keeps fit with gymnastics, recites poetry and writes letters on pieces of newspaper. Most of all, she seeks to discover the whereabouts of her son Georg, born in 1934.

Intertwined private and public history

The fact that the life story of the repression victim Carola Neher is so well-known today is largely due to the dedication of her son. Georg Becker, who grew up in a Soviet orphanage, only learned of his parents’ identities following the death of Stalin. In 1959, he received a rehabilitation certificate for his mother. Thanks to the support of Lew Kopelew, Heinrich Böll and other German luminaries from politics and the arts, he was able to travel to West Germany in the 1970s. For more than thirty years, he collected any information he could find about his parents and the people around them. This abundance of materials enables visitors to the Carola Neher exhibition to take a journey from the heyday of the Weimar Republic to the cells of the Soviet penal camps.

In addition to clippings from German and Soviet newspapers of the 1920s and 1930s, the exhibition also includes letters and poems by Bertolt Brecht. The intertwined private and public history thus becomes directly tangible to the visitors. At the end of the exhibition, however, only official documents are able to “report” on Carola Neher’s final days.

„Carola Neher – Schicksal einer deutschen Schauspielerin“ Tod im Exil

Carola Neher als Polly Peachum in G. W. Pabsts Adaption von Brechts Dreigroschenoper (1931)
Carola Neher als Polly Peachum in G. W. Pabsts Adaption von Brechts Dreigroschenoper (1931) | Foto: Michail Konchits/Memorial

Eine deutsche Emigrantin zwischen zwei ideologischen Extremen. Seit Dezember ist die Ausstellung „Carola Neher – Schicksal einer deutschen Schauspielerin“ in der Moskauer Niederlassung der internationalen Menschenrechtsorganisation Memorial zu sehen. Die vom Goethe-Institut Moskau unterstützte Schau beleuchtet sowohl die Licht- als auch die Schattenseiten des Lebens einer der herausragensten Bühnenschauspielerinnen der Weimarer Republik.

Anfang der 1920er-Jahre reißt eine junge Münchnerin aus bürgerlicher Familie von zu Hause aus und kündigt die sichere Anstellung bei einer Bank, um in nur wenigen Jahren zu einer der prominentesten Schauspielerinnen der Weimarer Republik aufzusteigen. Während ihrer gerade einmal zehn Jahre dauernden Laufbahn interpretiert sie eine Vielzahl von Rollen, wird zur Lieblingsdarstellerin Bertolt Brechts und erobert Europas Bühnen im Sturm. Ihr Konterfei ziert sowohl die Titelseiten von Modejournalen als auch Zigarettenbilder. Carola Neher boxt, fährt Auto, besteigt den Berliner Funkturm und symbolisiert somit ein neues, unabhängiges, gleichberechtigtes Selbstverständnis als Frau.

Kuratorin und Leiterin von Memorial International Irina Scherbakowa eröffnet die Ausstellung Kuratorin und Leiterin von Memorial International Irina Scherbakowa eröffnet die Ausstellung | Foto: Michail Konchits/Memorial

Bühnenstar der 1920er-Jahre

Der erste, ganz in weiß gehaltene Ausstellungsbereich zeigt Fotografien, Zeitungsausschnitte und biografische Materialien, die Nehers Jugendjahre sowie ihren rasanten Aufstieg zum gefeierten Bühnenstar in den 1920er-Jahren veranschaulichen. Auch G. W. Pabsts Adaption von Brechts Dreigroschenoper (1931) mit ihr in der Rolle der Polly Peachum ist hier zu sehen. Doch dann werden Wände und Boden schwarz: Carola Nehers Leben ändert sich schlagartig, als die überzeugte Marxistin sich in den rumänischen Kommunisten Anatol Becker verliebt und mit ihm nach Moskau übersiedelt. Die Sowjetunion gilt vielen westlichen Linken damals als letztes Bollwerk des Kommunismus. Doch die romantischen Erwartungen werden enttäuscht: Auch in Moskau werden die Lebensmittel rationiert, überall im Land herrscht Hunger, allein die Nomenklatura kann sich ein „normales“ Leben leisten. 1934 unterschreibt Neher gemeinsam mit Schriftstellern wie Lion Feuchtwanger und Heinrich Mann ein Manifest gegen die Übernahme des Saargebiets durch Hitlerdeutschland. Wie allen übrigen Unterzeichnern wird ihr daraufhin die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft entzogen. Da sie keinen sowjetischen Pass besitzt, hängt Carola Neher plötzlich in der Luft.

Die Ausstellung zeigt nicht nur Bilder der Schauspielerin, sondern auch Tonaufnahmen aus dem privaten Archiv von Nehers Sohn Georg Becker Die Ausstellung zeigt nicht nur Bilder der Schauspielerin, sondern auch Tonaufnahmen aus dem privaten Archiv von Nehers Sohn Georg Becker | Foto: Michail Konchits/Memorial

Verhaftung im Exil

Verzweifelt sucht Neher nach Engagements, hält sich mit Konzerten und Radiosendungen für die deutsche Diaspora über Wasser. 1936 wird sie gemeinsam mit Anatol Becker wegen Verdachts auf trotzkistische Verschwörung inhaftiert; nur wenig später läutet der erste Moskauer Schauprozess die Säuberungen des Großen Terrors ein. 1937 wird Anatol Becker erschossen, Neher zu zehn Jahren Haft verurteilt. Am 26. Juni 1942 stirbt sie im Durchgangsgefängnis Sol-Ilezk im Südural am Fleckfieber. Bis zuletzt hält sie sich mit Gymnastik fit, rezitiert Gedichte und schreibt Briefe auf Zeitungspapier. Vor allem forscht sie nach dem Schicksal ihres 1934 geborenen Sohnes Georg.

Ineinandergreifen von privater und öffentlicher Geschichte

Dass die Lebensgeschichte des Repressionsopfers Carola Neher heute so gut bekannt ist, ist zu großen Teilen dem Engagement ihres Sohnes zu verdanken. Georg Becker, der in einem sowjetischen Kinderheim aufwuchs, erfuhr erst nach Stalins Tod von der Identität seiner Eltern. 1959 erhielt er eine Rehabilitierungsbescheinigung für seine Mutter. Dank der Unterstützung durch Lew Kopelew, Heinrich Böll sowie weitere deutsche Persönlichkeiten aus Politik und Kultur konnte er in den 1970er-Jahren nach Westdeutschland ausreisen. Mehr als dreißig Jahre lang sammelte er jegliche Informationen über seine Eltern und die Menschen in ihrer Umgebung. Den Besuchern der Carola-Neher-Ausstellung ermöglicht diese Fülle an Materialien eine Reise von der Blütezeit der Weimarer Republik in die Zellen der sowjetischen Straflager.

Neben Ausschnitten aus deutschen und sowjetischen Zeitungen der 1920er- und 1930er-Jahre finden sich in der Ausstellung auch Briefe und Gedichte von Bertolt Brecht. Das Ineinandergreifen von privater und öffentlicher Geschichte wird so für das Publikum unmittelbar erfahrbar. Von Carola Nehers letzten Tagen wissen am Ende der Ausstellung dagegen nur noch offizielle Dokumente zu „berichten“.