Land of Festivals Habermas and a very brutal drummer

Director of the MainOFF Festival Piero Maltese.
Director of the MainOFF Festival Piero Maltese. | Photo: Roman Maruhn, Goethe-Institut Palermo

Land of Festivals in Palermo aims to help festival professionalize and network. Eight festivals in southern Italy, Sardinia and Sicily enter into a productive dialogue. The Goethe-Institut spoke with Piero Maltese, the artistic director of MainOFF, a festival for electronic and experimental music in Palermo.  

What was the basic idea behind MainOFF?
 
MainOFF was formed 14 years ago in a squat and was initially very informal and was intended to give a place to electronic and experimental musicians who would otherwise make their music like nerds do: alone at home. We had a stage and wanted to introduce this music to the audience in Palermo, which then was familiar with electronic music primarily from the dance floor.
 
What was your first contact with German culture?
 
Kollaps, the first album by the Einstürzende Neubauten, and Decoder, a film by Klaus Maeck, a pretty wild story about “Muzak.” Two exponents from the German underground played in the film: Christiane F. and FM Einheit. Later, I wrote my dissertation on Jürgen Habermas’s Between Facts and Norms, while my first contact with the Goethe-Institut was at a concert with a prepared piano and a very brutal drummer – that was a terrific concert and really a formative encounter.

„FM Einheit“ concert at the MainOFF Festival „FM Einheit“ concert at the MainOFF Festival | Photo: Qmedia

Portraying Germany’s underground

Does that have a direct effect on your programme?
 
Absolutely. We ask ourselves which artists we want to invite and what we want to tell artistically in our festival. And with the Goethe-Institut, we try to portray part of Germany’s underground at the festival. Together, we managed to bring the Raster-Noton label to Palermo, and last year, about three months ago, FM Einheit. These are strong brands!
 
What experiences did MainOFF have with Land of Festivals?
 

I met a lot of people who are doing similar projects and are struggling with similar problems. And that is the essential thing: networking a number of experiences. And maybe Land of Festivals will allow us to further develop MainOFF this year, even though I can’t say anything about it yet. In addition, it’s good that I can contribute what I heard at our last workshop directly to our work. For example, it’s about the role of volunteers who can generate audiences through their networks. That is valuable information.

The political crisis is contrasted by an incredible creative urge

 
Political parties, social institutions and even squats are losing importance not only in Italy, but everywhere. Strangely enough, the festivals manage to bring together more and more people and take on the classic functions of old social structures: to create a community, build a social system, and simply enable people to make something happen. Even if we are in a major political crisis, it is contrasted by an incredible creative urge from more and more festivals.
 
What do you expect from Land of Festivals?
 
Our next topic “audience development” is very important to us. We can certainly learn a lot. We want and need a bigger audience, even if our programme is specific and maybe not suitable for the masses. Still, we want to grow without losing our naturalness, our enthusiasm.
 
The interview was held by Roman Maruhn, Goethe-Institut Palermo

Land der Festivals Habermas und der äußerst brutale Schlagzeuger

Leiter des MainOFF Festivals Piero Maltese
Leiter des MainOFF Festivals Piero Maltese | Foto: Roman Maruhn, Goethe-Institut Palermo

„Land der Festivals“ in Palermo vernetzt und professionalisiert Festivals. Acht Kulturfestivals aus Süditalien, Sardinien und Sizilien treten in einen produktiven Austausch. Das Goethe-Institut hat mit Piero Maltese, dem künstlerischen Leiter von MainOFF gesprochen, einem Festival für elektronische und experimentelle Musik in Palermo.

Was war die Grundidee von MainOFF?
 
MainOFF ist vor 14 Jahren in einem besetzten Haus entstanden und war anfangs sehr informell und sollte elektronischen und experimentellen Musikern einen Platz geben, die ihre Musik sonst wie Nerds alleine und zu Hause machten. Wir hatten eine Bühne und wollten diese Musik dem Publikum in Palermo vorstellen, das damals elektronische Musik in erster Linie vom Dancefloor kannte.
 
Was war Ihr erster Kontakt mit deutscher Kultur?
 
Das waren „Kollaps“, das erste Album der Einstürzenden Neubauten, und „Decoder“, ein Film von Klaus Maeck, in dem es in einer ziemlich wilden Geschichte um die „Muzak“ geht. In dem Film spielten zwei Exponenten des deutschen Undergrounds mit: Christiane F. und FM Einheit. Später habe ich dann über Jürgen Habermas' „Faktizität und Geltung“ promoviert, während mein erster Kontakt mit dem Goethe-Institut ein Konzert mit einem Präparierten Klavier und einem äußerst brutalen Schlagzeuger war – das war ein sagenhaftes Konzert und wirklich eine prägende Begegnung.

Konzert von „FM Einheit“ auf dem MainOFF Festival Konzert von „FM Einheit“ auf dem MainOFF Festival | Foto: Qmedia

DEUTSCHEN UNDERGROUND DARSTELLEN

Wirkt sich das direkt auf Ihr Programm aus?
 
Unbedingt. Wir stellen uns die Frage, welche Künstler wir einladen und was wir künstlerisch in unserem Festival erzählen möchten. Und mit dem Goethe-Institut versuchen wir dann, einen Teil des deutschen Undergrounds im Festival darzustellen. Gemeinsam haben wir es geschafft, das Label Raster-Noton nach Palermo zu bringen, und letztes Jahr, vor knapp drei Monaten, FM Einheit. Das sind schon starke Marken!
 
Welche Erfahrungen hat MainOFF mit „Land der Festivals“ gemacht?
 
Ich habe viele Menschen kennengelernt, die ähnliche Projekte wie ich machen und sich mit ähnlichen Problemen herumschlagen. Und das ist doch das Wesentliche, dass eine ganze Reihe von Erfahrungen vernetzt wird. Und über „Land der Festivals“ können wir MainOFF vielleicht schon dieses Jahr weiterentwickeln, auch wenn ich dazu konkret noch nichts sagen kann. Darüber hinaus tut es gut, dass ich das, was ich bei unserem letzten Workshop gehört habe, direkt in unsere Arbeit einbringen kann. Da geht es zum Beispiel um die Rolle von ehrenamtlichen Mitarbeitern, also volunteers, die über ihre Netzwerke Publikum generieren können. Das sind wertvolle Informationen.

„Der politischen Krise steht ein unglaublicher Schaffensdrang gegenüber“ 

Was macht aus Ihrer Sicht den Reiz eines Festivals aus?
 
Parteien, soziale Einrichtungen und selbst Hausbesetzungen verlieren nicht nur in Italien, sondern überall an Bedeutung. Seltsamerweise schaffen es die Festivals, immer mehr Menschen zusammenzubringen und die klassischen Funktionen alter sozialer Strukturen zu übernehmen: eine Gemeinschaft zu schaffen, ein Sozialsystem aufzubauen und eben Menschen zu ermöglichen, etwas auf die Beine zu stellen. Selbst wenn wir uns gerade in einer großen politischen Krise befinden, steht dieser ein unglaublicher Schaffensdrang von immer mehr Festivals gegenüber.
 
Was erwarten Sie sich von „Land der Festivals“?
 
Unser nächstes Thema „Audience Development“ ist für uns sehr wichtig. Da können wir sicher eine Menge lernen. Wir wollen und brauchen mehr Publikum, auch wenn unser Programm speziell und vielleicht nicht massentauglich ist. Dennoch möchten wir wachsen, ohne unsere Natürlichkeit, unseren Enthusiasmus zu verlieren.
 
Das Interview führte Roman Maruhn, Goethe-Institut Palermo.