Award for African Artists Em’kal Eyongakpa wins the Henrike Grohs Award

Intermedia artist Em’kal Eyongakpa in his studio.
Intermedia artist Em’kal Eyongakpa in his studio. | photo: Studio Eyongakpa

For the first time, the Goethe-Institut is conferring the Henrike Grohs Award for African Artists. It goes to the Cameroonian intermedia artist Em’kal Eyongakpa. The award is meant to continue the life’s work of Goethe employee Henrike Grohs who was killed two years ago by a terrorist attack in Ivory Coast. 

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut said, “In Henrike Grohs, we lost not only a highly respected and beloved colleague, but also a person who brought hope into the world through her approach and her work. That is why it is especially important to combine the memory of Henrike Grohs with a perspective that shows her in her work and will. The award has succeeded doing so in a special way as it continues Henrike Grohs’s mission: to support African artists and to contribute to international dialogue. I congratulate the first award winner, Em’kal Eyongakpa, with whom the jury made an excellent choice after a careful selection process.”

Jury chooses Em’kal Eyongakpa

The four-member jury were in agreement: Koyo Kouoh, the artistic director of the RAW Material Company from Dakar, Laurence Bonvin, artist and representative of the Grohs family from Berlin, Raphael Chikukwa, senior curator of the National Gallery from Zimbabwe, and Simon Njami, curator from Paris, awarded intermedia artist Em’kal Eyongakpa with the first Henrike Grohs Award worth 20,000 euros. Their jury statement states: “His works of art reflect universal concerns of humanity. The multidisciplinary orientation of his praxis, which is based on knowledge of science, ethno-botany, magical realism, experimentation and utopia, corresponds precisely to the central values underlying the Henrike Grohs Award.” Eyongakpa thus clearly fulfilled the jury’s main criteria: artistic quality, communication of knowledge to others and social commitment.

Ethno-botany and technology influence his art

Born in Cameroon in 1981, Eyongakpa studied plant biology and ecology at the University of Yaoundé and is an alumnus of the Rijksakademie in Amsterdam. His multi-faceted works cover a wide range of topics: indigenous knowledge systems and aesthetics, ethno-botany, applied mythology and technology. He works with both video and sound in his installations. He is particularly interested in the interface between art, shamanism and technology, which goes back to the lives of his grandfathers, who were both shamans in Cameroon. Most recently, Eyongakpa was invited to exhibit his work by biennials in Jakarta and Sharjah (2017) as well as Montreal and Sao Paolo (2016).

Installation „Sound grown batch #5 blue oysters at studio Efforbi II”. Installation „Sound grown batch #5 blue oysters at studio Efforbi II”. | Photo: Studio Eyongakpa The award ceremony took place at the Goethe-Institut Abidjan. Eyongakpa accepted the award in the presence of artists, curators, journalists, students and the King of Grand Bassam. The artists Georgina Maxim from Zimbabwe and Kaouvia Kokou Ferdinand from Togo were also guests at the award ceremony. They had been nominated for the award along with Eyongakpa. In his acceptance speech, Eyongakpa spoke of his meeting with Henrike Grohs in Bamako, emphasising that we must not yield to fundamentalism and authoritarian regimes.

Preis für afrikanische Künstlerinnen und Künstler Em’kal Eyongakpa gewinnt Henrike Grohs-Preis

Intermedia-Künstler Em’kal Eyongakpa in seinem Atelier
Intermedia-Künstler Em’kal Eyongakpa in seinem Atelier | Foto: Studio Eyongakpa

Zum ersten Mal vergibt das Goethe-Institut den Henrike Grohs-Preis für afrikanische Künstlerinnen und Künstler. Er geht an den kamerunischen Intermedia-Künstler Em’kal Eyongakpa. Der Preis dient als Fortsetzung des Lebenswerks der ehemaligen Goethe-Mitarbeiterin Henrike Grohs, die vor zwei Jahren durch einen Terroranschlag in der Elfenbeinküste ums Leben kam.

Der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts Klaus-Dieter Lehmann erklärte: „Mit Henrike Grohs haben wir nicht nur eine hoch geschätzte und geliebte Kollegin verloren, sondern auch einen Menschen, der durch seine Auffassung und sein Wirken Hoffnung in die Welt getragen hat. Deshalb ist es besonders wichtig, das Andenken an Henrike Grohs mit einer Perspektive zu verbinden, die sie in ihrem Wirken und Wollen zeigt. Mit dem Preis ist das in besonderer Weise gelungen, da er das Anliegen von Henrike Grohs fortführt: Afrikanische Kulturschaffende zu unterstützen und einen Beitrag zum internationalen Dialog zu leisten. Ich gratuliere dem ersten Preisträger Em’kal Eyongakpa, mit dem die Jury in einem sorgfältigen Auswahlverfahren eine hervorragende Wahl getroffen hat.”

Jury entscheidet sich für Em’kal Eyongakpa

Die vierköpfige Jury war sich einig: Koyo Kouoh, künstlerische Leiterin der RAW Material Company aus Dakar, Laurence Bonvin, Künstlerin und Vertreterin der Familie Grohs aus Berlin, Raphael Chikukwa, Leitender Kurator der National Gallery aus Zimbabwe, sowie Simon Njami, Kurator aus Paris, zeichneten den Intermedia-Künstler Em’kal Eyongakpa mit dem ersten, auf 20.000 Euro dotierten Henrike Grohs-Preis aus. In ihrer Jurybegründung heißt es: „Seine Kunstwerke reflektieren universelle Belange der Menschheit. Die multidisziplinäre Ausrichtung seiner Praxis, die auf Kenntnisse der Wissenschaft, Ethnobotanik, des magischen Realismus, Experimentierens und der Utopie basiert, entspricht genauestens den zentralen Wertvorstellungen, die dem Henrike Grohs-Preis zugrunde liegen.“ Eyongakpa hat damit eindeutig die Hauptkriterien der Jury erfüllt: Künstlerische Qualität, Vermittlung von Wissen an andere und soziales Engagement.

Ethnobotanik und Technologie prägen seine Kunst

Der 1981 geborene Kameruner hat Pflanzenbiologie und Ökologie an der Universität Yaoundé studiert und ist Alumni der Rijksakademie in Amsterdam. Seine vielschichtigen Werke befassen sich mit den verschiedensten Themen: indigene Wissenssysteme und Ästhetik, Ethnobotanik, angewandte Mythologie und Technologie. In seinen Installationen arbeitet er sowohl mit Video als auch mit Ton. Er ist vor allem an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kunst, Schamanismus und Technologie interessiert, was auf das Leben seiner Großväter zurückführt, die beide Schamanen in Kamerun waren. Zuletzt wurde Eyongakpa von Biennalen in Jakarta und Sharjah (2017) sowie Montreal und Sao Paolo (2016) eingeladen.

Installation „Sound grown batch #5 blue oysters at studio Efforbi II” Installation „Sound grown batch #5 blue oysters at studio Efforbi II” | Foto: Studio Eyongakpa Die Preisverleihung fand am Goethe-Institut Abidjan statt. In Anwesenheit von Künstlern, Kuratorinnen, Journalisten, Studentinnen und dem König des Grand Bassam nahm Eyongakpa den Preis entgegen. Auch die Künstlerin Georgina Maxim aus Simbabwe und der Künstler Kaouvia Kokou Ferdinand aus Togo waren bei der Preisverleihung zu Gast. Gemeinsam mit Eyongakpa waren sie für den Preis nominiert. In seiner Dankesrede sprach Eyongakpa von seiner Begegnung mit Henrike Grohs in Bamako und betonte, dass man Fundamentalismus und autoritären Regimen nicht nachgeben dürfe.