Marx Nace Whence cometh the wind

Performance of Emilio García Wehbi und Maricel Àlvarez
Performance of Emilio García Wehbi und Maricel Àlvarez | Photo: Gustavo Gorrini

This year, Karl Marx turns 200. In the run-up to the anniversary, the Goethe-Institut Buenos Aires organised the birthday celebration Marx Nace together with the Argentinian Teatro Nacional Cervantes. The theatre let the writings of the great thinker speak for themselves.

The theme of the fourteen-hour-long action at the Teatro Cervantes with over 22 events is “back to the roots.” Back to what Marx actually wrote, said, and lived. Even before it began, the unusual format and the sensational advertising campaign led to controversial debates. One hit a nerve: “Tell me, thou mortal, whence cometh the wind, or has God a nose in his face, and I will tell you which is right and left. Nothing but relative concepts...,” wrote Marx in Scorpion and Felix.

Programme of Marx Nace Programme of Marx Nace | Photo: Ailen Garelli

A young audience

Throughout the day, around 5,000 visitors attend the varied programme of annotated readings on “Marxian Conversations” to performances of his fiction and “proletarian” concerts in the rooms of the only national theatre in Argentina, all curated by Fernando De Leonardis and Carla Imbrogno. Those who’d rather not give up their Saturday routine of shopping and TV explore the bookshops in the foyer or watch part of the nine-hour film News from Ideological Antiquity by Alexander Kluge. If that’s too long, they can be content with the short documentaries by the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation, which co-supported the action in solidarity.

Pablo Nocera, one of the many renowned experts of the day who deal with Marx in their daily research, talks about Marx’s youth and reads from his German–French Annals. But what’s striking is that the audience by no means consists only of an older demographic as might be expected in Germany, but that young people and young students in particular fill this space to the last standing room. 

Visitors of Marx Nace Visitors of Marx Nace | Photo: Gustavo Gorrini

Tearing down a legend

Nocera’s lecture is followed by the first major crowd puller: a Marx reading by the television philosopher Darío Sztajnszrajber interspersed with music by Lucrecia Pinto and her band. Sztajnszrajber is well known and very popular here; on YouTube his lectures often have well over a hundred thousand views and the large hall in Teatro Cervantes with about 1,000 seats is also packed. He has resolved to deconstruct all of the Marx spectra in a sort of philosophical performance. The band comes in again and again to play roaring rock songs.

The thematic block entitled “Spot on Marx” demonstrates that theatre is not just a place for thinking, but for action. The artist collective La Columna Durruti presents fragments of the humorous novella Scorpion and Felix in a comedic, whimsical performance. A clay-like, 57-kilo Marx bust is processed with fresh vegetables until it becomes deformed. A legend is torn down.

Darío Sztajnszrajber and Lucrecia Pinto on stage Darío Sztajnszrajber and Lucrecia Pinto on stage | Photo: Ailen Garelli

The artistically creative side of Marx

Selected poems and epigrams by the young Karl Marx are recited the author, actor and drag artist Naty Menstrual, followed by the Vigna-Möller-Remec trio, which presents part of the unfinished play Oulanem with guitar and violin music. We can assume that hardly anyone in the audience was familiar with this artistically creative side of the philosopher, thus in content and form the performances are an ideal counterpoint to the discursive events.

At the end, the curtain opens once more for a concert by the tango group 34 Puñaladas. The musicians interpret selected “proletarian” tangos, which are a suitable finale. There is deserved applause for Marx and his many friends.


Article written by Ludwig zur Hörst and Carla Imbrogno

Marx Nace Von wannen kömmt der Wind

Performance von Emilio García Wehbi und Maricel Àlvarez
Performance von Emilio García Wehbi und Maricel Àlvarez | Foto: Gustavo Gorrini

Karl Marx wird dieses Jahr 200. Im Vorfeld des Jubiläums organisierte das Goethe-Institut Buenos Aires gemeinsam mit dem argentinischen Nationaltheater Teatro Cervantes das Geburtstagsfest „Marx Nace“. Und das ließ die Texte des großen Denkers für sich selbst sprechen.

Der Tenor der vierzehnstündigen Aktion im Teatro Cervantes mit über 22 Veranstaltungen ist back to the roots. Zurück zu dem, was Marx wirklich geschrieben, gesagt, gelebt hat. Schon in den Tagen davor führten das unübliche Format und die Aufsehen erregende Werbekampagne zu kontroversen Diskussionen. Man hatte einen Nerv getroffen: „Sage du mir Sterblicher, von wannen kömmt der Wind, oder trägt Gott eine Nase im Gesicht und ich will dir sagen, was rechts und links sei. Nichts, als relative Begriffe“, schreibt Marx in „Skorpion und Felix“.

Programmheft von Marx Nace Programmheft von Marx Nace | Foto: Ailen Garelli

Ein junges Publikum

Es sind um die 5.000 Besucherinnen und Besucher, die über den Tag verteilt das vielfältige, von Fernando De Leonardis und Carla Imbrogno kuratierte Programm von kommentierten Lesungen über „marxianische Gespräche“ bis hin zu Performances seiner fiktionalen Texte und „proletarischen“ Konzerte in den Räumen des einzigen Nationaltheaters Argentiniens besuchen. Wer auf sein samstägliches Shopping- und Fernsehprogramm nicht verzichten will, erkundet die Bücherstände im Foyer oder sieht sich einen Teil des neunstündigen Filmwerks „Nachrichten aus der ideologischen Antike“ von Alexander Kluge an. Wem das zu lang ist, der begnügt sich mit den Kurz-Dokumentationen der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, die die Aktion solidarisch mit unterstützt hat.

Pablo Nocera, einer der vielen renommierten Experten dieses Tages, die sich auch in ihrer täglichen Forschung mit Marx beschäftigen, spricht über Marx‘ junge Jahre und liest aus seinen „Deutsch-Französischen Jahrbüchern“. Was aber auffällt, ist, dass das Publikum keineswegs nur aus älteren Semestern besteht, wie es vielleicht in Deutschland zu erwarten wäre, sondern dass vor allem Jugendliche und junge Studierende diesen Raum bis zum letzten Stehplatz füllen.

Besucherinnen und Besucher von Marx Nace Besucherinnen und Besucher von Marx Nace | Foto: Gustavo Gorrini

Ein Mythos wird niedergerisseN

Auf Noceras Vortrag folgt der erste große Publikumsmagnet: Eine Marx-Lesung des Fernseh-Philosophen Darío Sztajnszrajber, durchsetzt mit Musik von Lucrecia Pinto und Band. Sztajnszrajber ist hier bekannt und sehr beliebt, seine Vorlesungen haben auf YouTube oft weit über hunderttausend Aufrufe; auch im Teatro Cervantes ist der große Saal mit rund 1.000 Plätzen gesteckt voll. Er hat sich vorgenommen, sämtliche Marx-Spektren zu dekonstruieren, in einer Art philosophischer Performance. Immer wieder spielt die Band krachende Rocksongs dazu.

Dass in einem Theater nicht nur viel gedacht, sondern auch gehandelt wird, zeigt der Themenblock „Spot on Marx“. Das Künstlerkollektiv La Columna Durruti präsentiert in einer komisch-skurrilen Performance die Fragmente der humoristischen Novelle „Skorpion und Felix“. Dabei wird eine lehmige, 57-Kilo schwere Marx-Büste mit frischem Gemüse bis zur Deformierung bearbeitet. Ein Mythos wird niedergerissen.

Darío Sztajnszrajber und Lucrecia Pinto auf der Bühne Darío Sztajnszrajber und Lucrecia Pinto auf der Bühne | Foto: Ailen Garelli

Die künstlerisch-kreative Seite von Marx

Ausgewählte Gedichte und Epigramme des jungen Karl Marx rezitiert die Autorin, Schauspielerin und Travestiekünstlerin Naty Menstrual, gefolgt vom Trio Vigna-Möller-Remec, das mit Gitarren- und Geigenmusik einen Teil des unvollendeten Theaterstücks „Oulanem“ vorstellt. Man kann annehmen, dass kaum jemand im Publikum diese künstlerisch-kreative Seite des Philosophen kannte, und so bilden die Performances inhaltlich und formal einen Kontrapunkt zu den diskursiven Veranstaltungen.

Am Ende öffnet sich der Vorhang noch einmal für ein Konzert der Tangogruppe 34 Puñaladas. Die Musiker interpretieren ausgewählte „proletarische“ Tangos, die einen passenden Schlusspunkt setzen. Es gibt verdienten Applaus für Marx und seine vielen Freunde. 


Den Text verfassten Ludwig zur Hörst und Carla Imbrogno