German Football Ambassador Well rounded

Foreign minister Heiko Maas (centre) with two of the awardees, Gert Engels on his right and Otto Pfister on his left
Foreign minister Heiko Maas (centre) with two of the awardees, Gert Engels on his right and Otto Pfister on his left | Photo: Deutscher Fußballbotschafter

A “German with a Japanese heart” – who is better suited to be a German Football Ambassador than this man? People like Gert Engels show the difference football can make. Three of them have now been awarded.

This year, the German Football Ambassadors were announced for the sixth year in a row. And yet it’s a first: For the first time, the new Foreign Minister Heiko Maas has the honour of presenting the awards. It may even be one of his very first “ambassador appointments.” The time will come on Tuesday evening. At the Foreign Office in Berlin before around 200 guests, the honour will be given to three men. They will be able to call themselves German Football Ambassadors.

To honour the most dedicated of German coaches and footballers abroad is the goal of the Association of German Football Ambassadors. Among the previous awardees are Horst Kriete, Monika Staab, Miroslav Klose, Gernot Rohr, Jürgen Klinsmann and Mesut Özil. The Goethe-Institut is a partner of the initiative. According to Johannes Ebert, the secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut, football is of outstanding importance for intercultural dialogue. So for exactly what the Goethe-Institut stands for. “Football opens doors, but also stands for respect, tolerance and fairness,” said the self-confessed football fan at the award ceremony. “These are the qualities that also connect language and football.”

The first in the trio of this year’s honouree is Gert Engels. Like his two co-nominees Ernst Middendorp and Theo Brücker, he travelled from abroad especially for the award ceremony. The former Borussia Mönchengladbach midfielder has had a second home for a long time: Japan. It was in 1990 – Engels was studying at the Cologne Sport University – when a notice lured him to the land of the rising sun. After a short time as a player, he began his coaching career there, and was able to chalk up several championships and cup victories.



Since then, with interruptions, Engels has been active and influential in professional Japanese football. The most interesting of these interruptions may have been in 2011 when he became national coach in Mozambique for two years. But Engels, who just turned 61, has also remained faithful to his hometown of Düren. A few years ago, he founded the Soccer Life football school there, where up-and-coming talents from Japan are also always trained. Engels, for his part, has long since learned Japanese, he now speaks it fluently, his daughter has a Japanese name. He’s a German with a Japanese heart, says his boss Takayuki Yoshida.

This year, Engels became the assistant coach for the Vissel Kobe club, which, among other things, allows him to chase Lukas Podolski across the grass. “It’s always about being able to get by abroad, communicating with one another, conveying values like discipline. The Japanese may be more disciplined than we are, but they need to learn professionalism and mental strength,” Engels revealed recently to Kicker. Naturally, what matters is the message.

Engels also co-founded the project Future Local Genkids, which supports children affected by the Fukushima nuclear reactor disaster.

“You have to respect your opponent”

Otto Pfister is also a special kind of ambassador. Hardly anyone has worked in as many places as he. In 57 years, Pfister trained 24 club and national teams in 19 countries. He received this year’s honorary prize. He is by far the number one in the intercultural league of the football world, according to the high-calibre jury chaired by Kicker editor Rainer Holzschuh. Even at eighty, Pfister is still at the sidelines, presently coaching the Afghan national team. “To take on that responsibility in such a difficult country as Afghanistan merits special respect,” said Foreign Minister Maas at the ceremony. “The most important thing,” according to Pfister, “is to engage completely with the people and culture, mentality and religion. You have to respect your opponent, even if he has a completely different environment.”

Finally, goalkeeper Loris Karius rounds off the winning trio. Karius, however, was chosen by the biggest jury: the fans. Almost 25, the Upper Swabian is a player with FC Liverpool and was chosen from among eleven candidates in an online vote. Karius has already played in various junior national teams, for two years he has been part of Jürgen Klopp’s squad – as was one of his predecessors: Emre Can received the Audience Award two years ago. Karius had a good excuse for not making it to Berlin personally: after all, Liverpool is in the Champions League finals. Instead, the footballer announced via video message, “Football has the power to bring people and cultures together. I am proud to be able to represent Germany as best as possible.”

-db/fg-

Deutscher Fußballbotschafter Eine runde Sache

Außenminister Heiko Maas (Mitte) mit zwei der Preisträger, Gert Engels zu seiner Rechten und Otto Pfister zu seiner Linken
Außenminister Heiko Maas (Mitte) mit zwei der Preisträger, Gert Engels zu seiner Rechten und Otto Pfister zu seiner Linken | Foto: Deutscher Fußballbotschafter

Ein „Deutscher mit einem japanischen Herzen“ – wer könnte sich besser als Deutscher Fußballbotschafter eignen als dieser Mann? An Menschen wie Gert Engels sieht man, was Fußball bewirken kann. Drei von ihnen sind jetzt ausgezeichnet worden.

Schon zum sechsten Mal wird in diesem Jahr der Deutsche Fußballbotschafter gekürt. Und doch ist es eine Premiere: Erstmals darf der neue Außenminister Heiko Maas die Auszeichnung verleihen. Es dürfte sogar eine seiner ersten „Botschafterernennungen“ überhaupt sein. Am Dienstagabend ist es dann so weit. Vor rund 200 Gästen wird die Ehre im Auswärtigen Amt in Berlin gleich drei Männern zuteil. Sie dürfen sich künftig Deutscher Fußballbotschafter nennen.

Die engagiertesten unter den deutschen Trainern und Fußballern im Ausland zu ehren, das hat sich der Verein Deutscher Fußballbotschafter zum Ziel gesetzt. Unter den bisherigen Preisträgern sind Horst Kriete, Monika Staab, Miroslav Klose, Gernot Rohr, Jürgen Klinsmann und Mesut Özil. Das Goethe-Institut ist Partner der Initiative. Nach Meinung von Johannes Ebert, dem Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, hat der Fußball eine herausragende Bedeutung für den interkulturellen Dialog. Also für genau das, wofür auch das Goethe-Institut steht. „Fußball öffnet Türen, steht aber außerdem auch für Respekt, Toleranz und Fairness“, sagte der bekennende Fußballfan bei der Preisverleihung. „Das sind die Eigenschaften, die auch die Sprache und den Fußball verbinden.“

Erster im Trio der in diesem Jahr Geehrten ist Gert Engels. Wie seine beiden Mitnominierten Ernst Middendorp und Theo Brücker kam er zur Preisverleihung eigens aus dem Ausland angereist. Der ehemalige Mittelfeldspieler von Borussia Mönchengladbach hat schon seit langem eine zweite Heimat: Japan. Es ist 1990 – Engels studiert gerade an der Sporthochschule Köln –, als ein Aushang ihn ins Land der aufgehenden Sonne lockt. Nach einer kurzen Zeit als Spieler beginnt er dort seine Trainerkarriere, kann mehrere Meister- und Pokalsiege verbuchen.



Mit Unterbrechungen ist Engels seither im japanischen Profifußball tätig und prägend. Die interessanteste dieser Unterbrechungen dürfte 2011 gewesen sein, als er für zwei Jahre Nationaltrainer wird – in Mosambik. Aber auch seiner Heimatstadt Düren ist Engels, der gerade 61 Jahre alt geworden ist, immer treu geblieben. Dort gründete er vor einigen Jahren die Fußballschule Soccer Life, in der immer auch japanische Nachwuchstalente unterrichtet werden. Engels seinerseits hat längst auch Japanisch gelernt, spricht es mittlerweile fließend, seine Tochter hat einen japanischen Namen. Er ist ein Deutscher mit einem japanischen Herz, sagt sein Chef Takayuki Yoshida.

Seit diesem Jahr ist Engels Assistenztrainer beim Verein Vissel Kobe – was ihm unter anderem erlaubt, Lukas Podolski über den Rasen zu scheuchen. „Immer geht's darum, dass man im Ausland klarkommt, dass man miteinander kommunizieren kann, dass man Werte wie Disziplin vermittelt. Auch wenn die Japaner disziplinierter sind als wir. Aber dafür muss man ihnen Professionalismus und mentale Stärke beibringen“, verriet Engels jüngst dem Kicker. Klar: Was zählt, ist die Botschaft.

Engels hat außerdem das Projekt, „Zukunft Lokal“-Genkids mit ins Leben gerufen, das Kinder unterstützt, die von der Reaktorkatastrophe von Fukushima betroffen sind.

„Du musst dein Gegenüber respektieren“

Ein Botschafter der besonderen Art ist auch Otto Pfister. Kaum einer dürfte ähnlich viele Dienstorte aufzuweisen haben: In 57 Jahren trainierte Pfister 24 Vereins- und Nationalmannschaften in 19 Ländern. An ihn geht der Ehrenpreis 2018. Er liege mit Abstand auf Platz eins in der interkulturellen Liga der Fußballwelt, befand die hochkarätig besetzte Fachjury unter Vorsitz von Kicker-Herausgeber Rainer Holzschuh. Auch mit 80 Jahren steht Pfister immer noch am Spielfeldrand, derzeit als Trainer der afghanischen Nationalmannschaft. „Es verdient besonderen Respekt in einem so schwierigen Land wie Afghanistan Verantwortung zu übernehmen“, sagte Außenminister Maas bei der Verleihung. „Das Wichtigste“, so Pfister seinerseits, „ist, sich ganz auf Leute und Kultur, Mentalität und Religion einzulassen. Du musst dein Gegenüber respektieren, auch wenn es ein ganz anderes Umfeld hat.“

Loris Karius schließlich ist der Torhüter, der das Trio perfekt macht. Karius jedoch wurde von der größten Jury bestimmt – dem Publikum. Der knapp 25 Jahre alte Oberschwabe ist Spieler beim FC Liverpool und wurde per Online-Voting unter elf Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten bestimmt. Karius spielte bereits in verschiedenen Juniorennationalmannschaften, seit zwei Jahren ist er Teil des Kaders von Jürgen Klopp – wie im Übrigen auch einer seiner Vorgänger: Emre Can erhielt vor zwei Jahren den Publikumspreis. Karius hatte eine gute Entschuldigung dafür, dass er nicht persönlich nach Berlin kam, schließlich steht Liverpool im Finale der Champions League. Stattdessen meldete sich der Fußballer per Videobotschaft: „Fußball hat die Kraft, Menschen und Kulturen zusammenzubringen. Ich bin stolz, Deutschland hier bestmöglich vertreten zu dürfen.“

-db-