Theatertreffen Aspiration versus Reality

Participants in the panel “In Between Power Structures”
Participants in the panel “In Between Power Structures” | Photo: Piero Chiussi

What influence do power structures have on worldwide cultural scenes? At the Goethe reception held on the second weekend of the Berlin Theatertreffen, the discussion panel “In Between Power Structures” attracted more than one hundred guests from around forty countries and numerous members of the local and national theatre and dance scenes to the Haus der Berliner Festspiele. Four protagonists and experts from the international and German theatre scenes discussed the prerequisites for equality and co-determination.

Most recently, it was the mass protests in Cairo in 2011 that reaffirmed Abdelsamee Abdallah Abouelhamd’s role as a cultural activist. “The function goes far beyond organising cultural events,” the Jordanian theatre maker said at the plenary session when asked how he interpreted the role. “If you motivate people to become part of an artistic project, you can also give them a fundamental sense of social responsibility.”

Johannes Ebert opens the event Johannes Ebert opens the event | Photo: Piero Chiussi

Power and shame

The question of how power is exercised in the cultural context was at the centre of the panel discussion entitled “In Between Power Structures” held by the Goethe-Institut and the Berliner Festspiele at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele during the Theatertreffen. In the foyer, the discussion under the direction of the author and poet Max Czollek included Abouelhamd, Sonja Anders, head dramaturge at the Deutsches Theater Berlin and future director of the Schauspiel Hannover, Berlin-based Brazilian director Mirah Laline and cultural journalist Till Briegleb.

The central theme of the panel, to which Secretary-General Johannes Ebert welcomed over one hundred listeners from all over the world, was the question of what power structures shape the hierarchies, role models and work processes in the cultural industry. Briegleb first referred to the close intermeshing of power and shame: power structures regularly become entrenched in institutions through fear and shame that strategically degrades and marginalises people. “Until they finally become convinced of their inferiority, feel smaller than they are and thus stop making demands.” On the other hand, the author observed “widespread schizophrenia” among leaders and discrepancies between self-image, aspirations and reality. He noted the big contradiction between what the cultural scene claims or aspires to negotiate for emancipation and equal rights and its actual structures.

The Kassenhalle in the Haus der Berliner Festspiele The Kassenhalle in the Haus der Berliner Festspiele | Photo: Piero Chiussi

A strong inclination to romanticise

From her own experience as a director Mirah Laline knows that reality is far from this scenario. “How can I handle my role as the ‘boss’ in such a way that we can achieve a free, open discussion during rehearsals?” she asked. Her ideal scenario would see everyone involved, from the actors to the playwright and the dramaturge to the director’s assistant, more equally having their say in the creative process. In fact, in Germany she observes a “strong inclination to romanticise” when it comes to the real working conditions. Ever since she began her career in southern Brazil, she worked almost exclusively with women directors for many years and learned that as a woman, she had do achieve more per se.

“But when I came to Germany, the reality here was a bit disappointing for me,” recalls Laline. Much to her surprise, even in democratic Germany women earn less than their male counterparts. In her homeland, there may not have been any state theatres with permanent positions, which radiate a certain stability, she noted, “But for that, they have an independent scene where theatre groups develop their aesthetics collectively and according to their own rules.” She recognises that European theatres, by contrast, are characterised by a hierarchy of responsibilities and functions that is difficult to comprehend. “The only thing that’s clear is that on a German stage it’s not cooperation that comes first, but the handwriting of the director that must be adhered to.”

Theatertreffen Anspruch und Wirklichkeit

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Panels „In Between Power Structures“
Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Panels „In Between Power Structures“ | Foto: Piero Chiussi

Welchen Einfluss haben Machtstrukturen in den Kulturszenen weltweit? Am zweiten Wochenende des Berliner Theatertreffens lockte das Diskussions-Panel „In Between Power Structures“ im Rahmen des Goethe-Empfangs über hundert Gäste aus rund vierzig Ländern und zahlreiche Angehörige der lokalen und überregionalen Theater- und Tanzszene ins Haus der Berliner Festspiele. Vier Protagonisten und Expertinnen der internationalen und deutschen Theaterszene diskutierten über die Voraussetzungen von Gleichheit und Mitbestimmung.

Zuletzt waren es die Massenproteste in Kairo im Jahr 2011, die Abdelsamee Abdallah Abouelhamd die Rolle des Kultur-Aktivisten erneut bewusstmachten. „Dessen Funktion geht weit über die Organisation kultureller Ereignisse hinaus“, beantwortete der jordanische Theatermacher auf dem Plenum die Frage nach seiner Interpretation des Begriffs. „Wenn man Menschen motiviert, Teil eines künstlerischen Projekts zu werden, kann man ihnen auf diesem Wege auch ein grundlegendes gesellschaftliches Verantwortungsgefühl vermitteln.“

Johannes Ebert eröffnet die Veranstaltung Johannes Ebert eröffnet die Veranstaltung | Foto: Piero Chiussi

Macht und Beschämung

Die Frage nach der Ausübung von Macht im Zusammenhang mit Kultur stand im Zentrum der Paneldiskussion mit dem Titel „In Between Power Structures“, zu der das Goethe-Institut und die Berliner Festspiele anlässlich des Theatertreffens ins Haus der Berliner Festspiele geladen hatten. Im Foyer diskutierten unter der Leitung des Autors und Lyrikers Max Czollek neben Abouelhamd auch Sonja Anders, Chefdramaturgin am Deutschen Theater Berlin und künftige Intendantin des Schauspiel Hannover, die in Berlin lebende, brasilianische Regisseurin Mirah Laline und der Kulturjournalist Till Briegleb.

Das zentrale Thema der Gesprächsrunde, zu der Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert über hundert Zuhörerinnen und Zuhörer aus aller Welt begrüßte, drehte sich um die Frage, welche Machtstrukturen die Hierarchien, Rollenbilder und Arbeitsprozesse im Kulturbetrieb prägen. Briegleb verwies zunächst auf die enge Verzahnung von Macht und Beschämung: Machtstrukturen setzten sich über Angst und Scham regelmäßig in Institutionen fest, in denen Menschen strategisch degradiert und ausgegrenzt würden. „Bis sie selbst schließlich von ihrer Unterlegenheit überzeugt sind, sich kleiner fühlen, als sie sind und in der Folge keine Ansprüche mehr stellen.“ Zum anderen beobachtet der Autor eine „weit verbreitete Schizophrenie“ von Führungspersönlichkeiten und eine Diskrepanz zwischen Selbstbild, Anspruch und Wirklichkeit: Es gebe einen großen Widerspruch zwischen dem, was die Kulturszene an Emanzipation und Gleichberechtigung behauptet oder verhandelt haben will - und ihrer realen Organisation.

Die Kassenhalle im Haus der Berliner Festspiele Die Kassenhalle im Haus der Berliner Festspiele | Foto: Piero Chiussi

Eine starke Neigung zur Romantisierung

Dass die Wirklichkeit von einem solchen Szenario weit entfernt ist, weiß Mirah Laline aus eigener Erfahrung als Regisseurin. „Wie kann ich mit meiner Rolle als „Big Boss“ so umgehen, dass während der Proben ein freier, offener Austausch gelingt?“ Ihre Utopie: Alle Beteiligten, vom Schauspieler über die Autorin und den Dramaturgen bis zur Regie-Assistentin bringen sich mit ebenbürtiger Stimme im kreativen Prozess mit ein. Tatsächlich beobachte sie in Deutschland eine „starke Neigung zur Romantisierung“, was die realen Arbeitsverhältnisse betrifft. Seit Beginn ihrer Karriere im Süden Brasiliens habe sie viele Jahre fast ausschließlich mit Regisseurinnen gearbeitet und dabei gelernt, als Frau per se mehr leisten zu müssen.

„Als ich dann nach Deutschland kam, hat mich die Realität hier aber schon etwas enttäuscht“, erinnert sich Laline. Zu ihrer großen Überraschung verdienen auch im demokratischen Deutschland Frauen weniger als ihre männlichen Kollegen. In ihrer Heimat existierten zwar keine Staatstheater mit Festanstellungen, die eine gewisse Stabilität ausstrahlen. „Dafür gibt es dort aber eine freie Szene, in der Theatergruppen ihre Ästhetik nach eigenen Regeln und gemeinschaftlich erarbeiten.“ Europäische Theater seien dagegen von einem schwer durchschaubaren, hierarchischen Geflecht von Zuständigkeiten und Funktionen geprägt. „Klar ist nur, dass auf einer deutschen Bühne nicht die Zusammenarbeit an erster Stelle steht, sondern die Handschrift des Regisseurs, der man zu folgen hat.“