Food Crossroads (Part 2) Home is where the jollof rice is

Felicitas Then and Ozoz Sokoh
Felicitas Then and Ozoz Sokoh | Photo: Jeremiah Ikongio

The Goethe-Institut Nigeria is supporting authors and publishers from Nigeria and the diaspora with the Literary Crossroads project, in the context of which literary trends and topics are discussed. The associated Food Crossroads aims to detect and understand similarities and differences between Nigerian and German cuisine. In the second and final part of the article series, German social media influencer Felicitas Then tells of her culinary experiences in Lagos.

As a television cook and travel blogger, I am very fortunate to travel a great deal for my work. Italy, Spain, Austria, South Africa or the Dominican Republic: I’ve been able to experience and taste all of these countries this year. But no destination was as exciting and horizon broadening as Nigeria!

Lagos Food Tour with Felicitas Then Lagos Food Tour with Felicitas Then | Photo: Jeremiah Ikongio Since my life, both professionally and personally, revolves almost exclusively around food, my stay in Nigeria also began with an impressive food tour through the streets of Lagos. I can say that I always try everything! That day, I ate yam-root porridge with goat-tongue stew, I tried boiled beef skin, and sweated over a spicy suya shashlik. I quenched my thirst with fermented palm wine. I do not eat all these dishes to prove how fearless I am, but because many of these foods have been served this way for decades or even centuries. Through them we can learn a great deal about the history, agriculture and people of the country.

The biggest culinary difference I could find between Germany and Nigeria is that Nigeria holds onto its original dishes much more than we do. While you can hardly find German restaurants in Berlin, but plenty of Vietnamese snacks, sushi restaurants and pizzerias, on the streets of Lagos they still cook Nigerian food. When I spoke with foodies, they told me that the first thing they do when they go abroad is to search for Nigerian restaurants and that they always long the most for jollof rice.

Felicitas Then at the live cooking Felicitas Then at the live cooking | Photo: Jeremiah Ikongio

Two bread-loving nations

Despite the differences in climate and history, there are of course parallels between Nigeria and Germany. Bread plays a major role in both cultures. Germany is known as a bread-loving nation, there the rustic sourdough and wholegrain breads are appreciated the most. In Nigeria, on the other hand, they love a light, fluffy wheat bread that is served as a side dish. The Nigerian side dish of pounded yam is also very similar to German mashed potatoes and in Nigeria it is also eaten with goulash-like stews.

Apart from actual ingredients or dishes, we all have the emotional connection to food in common. Culinary traditions in both Nigeria and in Germany are always associated with family, with rituals and the feeling of being at home.

Felicitas Then with Balogun Safurat from Goethe-Institut Lagos at the food workshop Felicitas Then with Balogun Safurat from Goethe-Institut Lagos at the food workshop | Photo: Jeremiah Ikongio

Travel broadens the mind – not just the taste buds

While the willingness to experiment with traditional recipes, swap out ingredients, or alter flavours may not seem so great in Nigeria, I could feel an immense culinary curiosity, which might speak for a future of many fusion dishes.

Of course, travelling – no matter to which country – is not only extremely valuable for one’s culinary horizon. Prejudices disappear, fears turn out to be unfounded, one’s own boundaries are overcome and new friendships are made. And these things are exactly what I was able to experience in Lagos.

Food Crossroads (Teil 2) Heimat ist da, wo es Jollof Rice gibt

Felicitas Then und Ozoz Sokoh
Felicitas Then und Ozoz Sokoh | Foto: Jeremiah Ikongio

Das Goethe-Institut Nigeria unterstützt Autoren und Verlegerinnen aus Nigeria und der Diaspora mit dem Projekt „Literary Crossroads“, in dessen Rahmen literarische Trends und Themen diskutiert werden. Das zugehörige „Food Crossroads“ zielt darauf ab, Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede zwischen der nigerianischen und deutschen Küche herauszuarbeiten und zu verstehen. Im zweiten und letzten Teil der Artikel-Serie erzählt die deutsche Social Media Influencerin Felicitas Then von ihren kulinarischen Erlebnissen in Lagos.

Ich habe das große Glück, als TV-Köchin und Travel-Bloggerin beruflich viel zu reisen. Italien. Spanien. Österreich. Südafrika oder die Dominikanische Republik. All diese Länder durfte ich dieses Jahr schon erleben und schmecken. Doch kein Ziel war so aufregend und horizonterweiternd wie Nigeria! 

Food Tour mit Felicitas Then quer durch Lagos Food Tour mit Felicitas Then quer durch Lagos | Foto: Jeremiah Ikongio Da sich mein Leben beruflich und privat fast ausschließlich um das Thema Essen dreht, begann auch mein Aufenthalt in Nigeria mit einer beeindruckenden Food-Tour durch die Straßen von Lagos. Ich kann von mir behaupten, dass ich immer alles koste! So habe ich an diesem Tag Yamwurzel-Brei mit Ziegen-Zungen-Ragout gegessen, gekochte Rinderhaut probiert und beim scharfen Suya-Schaschlik geschwitzt. Meinen Durst habe ich mit fermentiertem Palmwine gelöscht. Ich esse all diese Gerichte nicht, um mir zu beweisen, wie furchtlos ich bin, sondern weil viele dieser Speisen schon seit Jahrzehnten oder gar Jahrhunderten genauso serviert werden. Man erfährt durch sie unfassbar viel über die Historie, die Landwirtschaft und die Menschen des Landes.

Der größte kulinarische Unterschied, den ich zwischen Deutschland und Nigeria feststellen konnte: Nigeria hält noch viel mehr an seinen ursprünglichen Gerichten fest, als wir es tun. Findet man in Berlin kaum noch deutsche Restaurants, dafür aber vietnamesische Imbisse, Sushi-Restaurants und Pizzerien, wird in Lagos auf der Straße nach wie vor nigerianisch gekocht. Spricht man mit „Foodies“, erzählen sie, dass sie im Ausland als Erstes nach nigerianischen Restaurants suchen und die Sehnsucht nach Jollof Rice immer am größten ist.

Felicitas Then beim Live Cooking Felicitas Then beim Live Cooking | Foto: Jeremiah Ikongio

Zwei Brotnationen

Trotz der Unterschiede hinsichtlich Klima und Historie gibt es natürlich auch Parallelen zwischen Nigeria und Deutschland. So spielt Brot in beiden Kulturen eine große Rolle. Deutschland ist als Brotnation bekannt, hier werden vor allem die rustikalen Sauerteig- und Vollkornbrote geschätzt. In Nigeria hingegen ist es ein helles, fluffiges Weizen-Brot, das als Sättigungsbeilage gereicht wird. Die nigerianische Sättigungsbeilage „pounded yam“ ähnelt zudem sehr dem deutschen Kartoffelbrei und auch in Nigeria wird er zu Gulasch ähnlichen Ragouts gegessen.

Abgesehen von konkreten Zutaten oder Gerichten haben wir alle die emotionale Verbindung zum Essen gemein. So stehen kulinarische Traditionen sowohl in Nigeria als auch in Deutschland immer stark in Verbindung mit der Familie, mit Ritualen und dem Zu-Hause-Gefühl.

Felicitas Then mit Balogun Safurat vom Goethe-Institut Lagos beim Food Workshop Felicitas Then mit Balogun Safurat vom Goethe-Institut Lagos beim Food Workshop | Foto: Jeremiah Ikongio

Reisen bildet – nicht nur die Geschmacksnerven

Auch wenn die Bereitschaft, mit traditionellen Rezepten zu experimentieren, Zutaten auszutauschen oder Aromen zu verändern, in Nigeria noch nicht so groß zu sein scheint, konnte ich eine immense kulinarische Neugier spüren, was für eine Zukunft mit vielen Fusion-Gerichten sprechen könnte.

Selbstverständlich ist das Reisen – egal, in welches Land – nicht nur für den kulinarischen Horizont äußerst wertvoll: Vorurteile verschwinden, Ängste stellen sich als unbegründet heraus, eigene Grenzen werden überwunden und neue Freundschaften geschlossen. Und genau diese Dinge durfte ich in Lagos erleben.


Den ersten Teil dieser Artikel-Serie von Ozoz Sokoh könnt ihr hier lesen.