Mister Erbil Gentleman’s Club The hipsters are in town

The gentlemen (from left to right): Koran Bishtiwan, Hevar Mohammad, Newa Faris, Hezin Mereen, Omer Rafiq, Mohammed Abdulkhaliq, Rawa Ali
The gentlemen (from left to right): Koran Bishtiwan, Hevar Mohammad, Newa Faris, Hezin Mereen, Omer Rafiq, Mohammed Abdulkhaliq, Rawa Ali | Photo: Nihan Sivridag

The fashion bloggers of "Mr. Erbil Gentlemen’s Club" from Kurdistan are a worldwide success. They wish to tell the true story of life in their homeland. At the invitation of the Federal Foreign Office, they came to the capital city for a visit.

They wear button-down shirts, vests, suit trousers, ties and wristwatches, their hair is perfectly styled, their beards accurately trimmed. When it comes to style, the members of "Mr. Erbil Gentleman’s Club" make quite an impression when we meet them during their visit to the Goethe-Institut Berlin. The well-tailored gents all come from Kurdistan, an autonomous area in Northern Iraq. The participants are special because they are the only ones in this region who have attracted international attention as bloggers, influencers and fashion designers.

The gentlemen visit the high-end fashion label "Herr von Eden" The gentlemen visit the high-end fashion label "Herr von Eden" | Photo: Nihan Sivridag

90,000 followers on Instagram

At first glance, it seems unusual that this fashion-conscious group came together to inspire the world with their sense of style. Even though Erbil is considered comparatively safe within Iraq, most news that has reached the public in recent years has been about the region’s unstable political situation. But that’s what "Mr. Erbil Gentlemen’s Club" wants to change. More than 90,000 people follow the creative collective’s posts on Instagram.
 
Now, seven of the 15 members visited Berlin at the invitation of the Federal Foreign Office. At the Bread and Butter fashion fair they found inspiration for their work, made contacts with potential customers and business partners and talked shop with fashion blogger Carl Jakob Haupt (Dandy’s Diary).

Part of the programme: the fashion and music event "Bread && Butter" Part of the programme: the fashion and music event "Bread && Butter" | Photo: Nihan Sivridag

Fashion is the message

Mr. Erbil’s desire to change how their country is perceived in the international media has succeeded so far. They demonstrate that everyday life in Kurdistan is by no means dominated by violence. In 2016, the club was founded by young men between the ages of 20 and 30. At that time, many young people were leaving the country because the economy was in a serious crisis, recalls Rawa Ali. The terrorist militia Islamic State had brought territories only 50 kilometres from Erbil under their control.
 
Ali knows the biases towards his homeland. “Anyone who travels to Iraq is asked if he’s crazy,” he explains. In Erbil, however, everyday life is quite ordinary. “We feel safe and, just like Germans, go to cafés. We want to show the world that television reports show a very different picture from what we experience in the city ourselves. We want to tell the media the true story of life in our homeland. Fashion is a means for us to transport this message.”

Role models for the youth

For him and his friends, leaving the country was out of the question. “If you have a dream, you can make it come true in your homeland,” Ali says. He is optimistic about the future, and continues, “We want to be role models for our youth and show that obstacles can be overcome.” His friend Omer Rafiq emphasises, “It has always been peaceful where we live. To demonstrate that we’ve posted photos and videos of public places and historical sites like the citadel to show the world what real life looks like in Erbil.”

The gentlemen visit "Etsy" in Berlin The gentlemen visit "Etsy" in Berlin | Photo: Nihan Sivridag

From Erbil to Europe

So far, Mr. Erbil has launched three products: There are fine grey and brown ties made of goats’ hair by local tailors and packaged in handmade wooden boxes. Beard oil and beard combs complete the assortment. But the sale of products to other countries is difficult. “If we send a package from Erbil to Europe, the cost of postage alone is $90,” says Salih Ali.
 
The group won’t be discouraged, but has already planned its next project. They want to set up a studio in Erbil, with a hair salon, café and shop. The business plan is already in place; they have been working on it for a year and are now looking for investors. The assortment will be enhanced with suits and vests. It is also important for the group to increasingly put women in the limelight. They post a story of a woman making a name for herself in Kurdistan – whether as an entrepreneur, artist or activist – on Instagram every Thursday under the heading “Women’s Inspiration.” In this way, the gentlemen draw a multi-faceted portrait of their society.

Mister Erbil Gentleman’s Club Hipster in der Hauptstadt

Die Gentlemen (von links nach rechts): Koran Bishtiwan, Hevar Mohammad, Newa Faris, Hezin Mereen, Omer Rafiq, Mohammed Abdulkhaliq, Rawa Ali
Die Gentlemen (von links nach rechts): Koran Bishtiwan, Hevar Mohammad, Newa Faris, Hezin Mereen, Omer Rafiq, Mohammed Abdulkhaliq, Rawa Ali | Foto: Nihan Sivridag

Die Modeblogger des „Mr. Erbil Gentleman’s Club“ aus Kurdistan sind weltweit erfolgreich. Sie wollen die wahre Geschichte des Lebens in ihrer Heimat erzählen. Auf Einladung des Auswärtigen Amtes statteten sie der Hauptstadt einen Besuch ab.

Sie tragen Hemd, Weste, Anzughose, Krawatte und Armbanduhr, ihre Haare sind perfekt frisiert, die Bärte akkurat gestutzt. In Sachen Stil machen die Mitglieder des „Mr. Erbil Gentleman’s Club“ Eindruck, wenn man sie bei ihrem Besuch im Goethe-Institut Berlin trifft. Die Männer im Dandy-Look stammen alle aus Kurdistan, einem autonomen Gebiet im Norden des Irak. Die Teilnehmer dieser Besucherreise sind besonders, sind sie doch die einzigen aus dieser Region, die als Blogger, Influencer und Modedesigner international auf sich aufmerksam gemacht haben.

Die Gentlemen besuchen „Herr von Eden“ Die Gentlemen besuchen „Herr von Eden“ | Foto: Nihan Sivridag

90.000 Follower auf Instagram

Auf den ersten Blick erscheint es ungewöhnlich, dass sich die modeaffine Gruppe zusammengefunden hat, um mit ihrem Gespür für Stil die Welt zu begeistern. Denn auch wenn Erbil innerhalb des Irak als vergleichsweise sicher gilt, ist es eine Region, aus der in den letzten Jahren meist nur Nachrichten über die instabile politische Lage an die Öffentlichkeit gelangten. Doch das will der  „Mr. Erbil Gentleman’s Club“ ändern. Über 90.000 Menschen verfolgen auf Instagram, wenn das kreative Kollektiv Beiträge postet.
 
Nun haben sieben der 15 Mitglieder auf Einladung des Auswärtigen Amtes besucht. Auf der Modemesse „Bread and Butter“ fanden sie Inspiration für ihre Arbeit, knüpften Kontakte zu potenziellen Kunden und Geschäftspartnern und fachsimpelten mit dem Modeblogger Carl Jakob Haupt („Dandy’s Diary“).

Teil des Programms: Die Mode- und Musikmesse „Bread and Butter“ Teil des Programms: Die Mode- und Musikmesse „Bread and Butter“ | Foto: Nihan Sivridag

Mode als Botschaft

Das Anliegen von „Mr. Erbil“, die Wahrnehmung ihres Landes in den internationalen Medien zu verändern, ist bislang gelungen. Sie zeigen, dass der Alltag in Kurdistan keineswegs nur von Gewalt dominiert wird. 2016 wurde der Club von den jungen Männern zwischen 20 und 30 gegründet. Viele junge Menschen verließen in dieser Zeit das Land, weil die Wirtschaft in einer schweren Krise steckte, erinnert sich Rawa Ali. Zur damaligen Zeit hatte die Terrormiliz Islamischer Staat Gebiete nur knapp 50 Kilometer von Erbil entfernt unter ihre Kontrolle gebracht.
 
Ali kennt die Vorurteile gegenüber seiner Heimat: „Jeder, der in den Irak fährt, wird gefragt, ob er verrückt sei.“ In Erbil sei der Alltag allerdings ganz normal. „Wir fühlen uns sicher und gehen wie die Deutschen in Cafés. Wir wollen der Welt zeigen, dass die Fernsehberichte ein ganz anderes Bild zeigen als das, was wir selbst in der Stadt erleben. Wir wollen den Medien die Geschichte des wahren Lebens in unserer Heimat erzählen. Mode ist für uns ein Mittel, um diese Botschaft zu transportieren.“

Ein Vorbild für die Jugend

Das Land zu verlassen, kam für ihn und seine Freunde nicht in Frage. „Wenn du einen Traum hast, kannst du ihn in deiner Heimat erfüllen.“ Ali blickt optimistisch in die Zukunft: „Wir wollen ein Vorbild für unsere Jugend sein und zeigen, dass man Hindernisse überwinden kann.“ Sein Mitstreiter Omer Rafiq betont: „Es herrschte immer Frieden bei uns. Um das zu demonstrieren, haben wir Fotos und Videos von öffentlichen Plätzen und historischen Orten wie der Zitadelle gepostet, um der Welt zu zeigen, wie das reale Leben in Erbil abläuft.“

Die Gentlemen beim E-Commerce-Händler „Etsy“ Die Gentlemen beim E-Commerce-Händler „Etsy“ | Foto: Nihan Sivridag

Von Erbil nach Europa

Bislang hat „Mr. Erbil“ drei Produkte im Angebot: Es gibt edle Krawatten in Grau- und Brauntönen aus Ziegenhaar, die von örtlichen Schneidern genäht werden und in einer handgemachten Holzschatulle verpackt werden. Bartöl und Bartkämme ergänzen das Sortiment. Doch der Verkauf der Produkte in andere Länder gestaltet sich schwierig. „Wenn wir ein Paket von Erbil nach Europa schicken, kostet allein das Porto 90 Dollar“, sagt Salih Ali.
 
Doch die Gruppe lässt sich nicht entmutigen, sondern hat bereits das nächste Projekt  geplant: Sie will ein Studio in Erbil einrichten, mit Friseur, Café und Laden. Der Geschäftsplan steht bereits, seit einem Jahr arbeitet sie daran und sucht nun nach Investoren. Das Sortiment soll um Anzüge und Westen erweitert werden. Wichtig ist der Gruppe zudem, verstärkt Frauen ins Licht der Öffentlichkeit zu rücken. Schon jetzt postet sie unter der Überschrift „Women’s Inspiration“ jeden Donnerstag auf Instagram das Porträt einer Frau, die in Kurdistan von sich reden macht, sei es als Unternehmerin, Künstlerin oder Aktivistin. Dadurch schaffen es die Gentlemen, ein vielfältiges Porträt ihrer Gesellschaft zu zeichnen.