FRANKFURT BOOK FAIR The World Before Your Eyes

Participants in the Merck Social Translating Project with partner Merck in Seoul.
Participants in the Merck Social Translating Project with partner Merck in Seoul. | Photo: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK

From 10 to 14 October 2018, the Goethe-Institut will be offering a variety of insights into its literary activities at the Frankfurt Book Fair. In addition to events about the Guest of Honour, Georgia, symposiums will look at present-day challenges in society and culture. The Merck Social Translating Project presents a new form of collaborative translation in the digital space.

The writer and translator Arno Schmidt once claimed, “There is no bliss without books.” The Frankfurt Book Fair, however, is not an island of bliss, but the industry meeting of the publishing world par excellence, an opportunity for discussion, for critical dialogue across national borders. The Goethe-Institut is represented this year with a variety of events on innovative translation programmes and formats, on the Guest of Honour Georgia as well as the latest social debates.

Digital translating

The Merck Social Translating Project is exploring new territory in the field of digital translation. The Goethe-Instituts from the regions of East Asia, Southeast Asia and South Asia have been experimenting with a new method since the beginning of this year, supported by the science and technology company Merck: Ten translators are working on a digital platform in close collaboration with the German author Thomas Melle to translate his novel The World at Your Back into Bengali, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Marathi, Mongolian and Vietnamese. At the same time, they are conducting a discourse about their work on the translation. In a panel on 11 October, Melle and three of the participating translators will present their first experiences with the project.

Civil society under pressure

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut, will talk with Marion Ackermann, the director-general of the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden, and the journalist and historian Simon Strauss, about Art between Power and Morality. They will discuss issues such as sexism in painting, anti-Semitism in literature and colonialism in museums.
In the discussion on The Politics of Fear: Strategies to Combat Populist and Anti-Democratic Tendencies, the US philosopher Susan Neiman, the sociologist Heinz Bude and the secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut Johannes Ebert, will search for answers and possible means for a society to counter the rise of populist movements.
In their panel on Civil Society Under Pressure, the activists Rana Gaber (Egypt), Beata Kowalska (Poland) and Zhou Qing (China) will discuss challenges and opportunities in the work in their respective countries as well as the question of what role individuals play in political activism.
 

Guest of Honour Georgia

A series of presentations and programme items are also dedicated to this year’s Guest of Honour at the Frankfurt Book Fair: Georgia. For example, on 12 October the anthology Georgia: A Literary Journey will be presented in the Georgian Pavilion. German and Georgian authors travelled through the country’s literature and wrote down their personal perspectives in a travel journal.
You can find an overview of all of the Goethe-Institut’s events at the Frankfurt Book Fair here.

Frankfurter Buchmesse Die Welt vor Augen

Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer des „Merck Social Translating Projekts“ mit dem Partner Merck in Seoul
Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer des „Merck Social Translating Projekts“ mit dem Partner Merck in Seoul | Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK

Das Goethe-Institut gibt vom 10. bis 14. Oktober 2018 auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse vielfältige Einblicke in seine Aktivitäten im Literaturbereich. Neben Veranstaltungen zum Gastland Georgien richtet sich der Blick in Symposien auf gegenwärtige Herausforderungen der Gesellschaft und Kultur. Das „Merck Social Translating Projekt“ stellt eine neue Form der gemeinschaftlichen Übersetzung im digitalen Raum vor.

„Es gibt keine Seligkeit ohne Bücher“, behauptete einst der Schriftsteller und Übersetzer Arno Schmidt. Die Frankfurter Buchmesse ist indes keine Insel der Seligen, sondern das Branchentreffen der Verlagswelt schlechthin, eine Möglichkeit zum Gespräch, zum kritischen Austausch über Ländergrenzen hinweg. Das Goethe-Institut ist in diesem Jahr mit einer Vielzahl von Veranstaltungen zu innovativen Übersetzungsprogrammen und -formaten, zum Gastland Georgien sowie zu aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Debatten vertreten.

Digitales Übersetzen

Neuland auf dem Feld der digitalen Übersetzung wird mit dem „Merck Social Translating Projekt“ beschritten. Die Goethe-Institute aus den Regionen Ostasien, Südostasien und Südasien experimentieren seit Beginn dieses Jahres, unterstützt von dem Wissenschafts- und Technologieunternehmen Merck, mit einer neuen Methode: Zehn Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer arbeiten auf einer digitalen Plattform in engem Austausch mit dem deutschen Autor Thomas Melle zusammen, um dessen Roman „Die Welt im Rücken“ auf Bengali, Chinesisch, Japanisch, Koreanisch, Marathi, Mongolisch und Vietnamesisch zu übersetzen. Gleichzeitig führen sie einen Diskurs über ihre Arbeit an der Übersetzung. In einer Podiumsdiskussion am 11. Oktober stellen Melle und drei der teilnehmenden Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer ihre ersten Erfahrungen mit dem Projekt vor.
 

Zivilgesellschaft unter Druck

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, diskutiert mit der Generaldirektorin der Staatlichen Kunstsammlung Dresden, Marion Ackermann, und dem Journalisten und Historiker Simon Strauss über „Kunst im Spannungsfeld von Macht und Moral“. Aufgegriffen werden etwa Streitfragen um Sexismus in der Malerei, Antisemitismus in der Literatur und Kolonialismus im Museum.
Im Gespräch „Politik der Angst: Strategien gegen populistische und antidemokratische Tendenzen“ suchen die US-amerikanische Philosophin Susan Neiman, der Soziologe Heinz Bude und der Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, Johannes Ebert, nach Antworten und möglichen Mitteln einer Gesellschaft gegen die Erstarkung populistischer Bewegungen.
Die Aktivisten und Aktivistinnen Rana Gaber (Ägypten), Beata Kowalska (Polen) und Zhou Qing (China) sprechen im Panel „Zivilgesellschaft unter Druck“ über Herausforderungen und Chancen der Arbeit in ihren jeweiligen Ländern sowie über die Frage, welche Rolle der Einzelne im politischen Aktivismus spielt.
 

Gastland Georgien

Eine Reihe von Präsentationen und Programmpunkten widmet sich darüber hinaus dem diesjährigen Gastland der Frankfurter Buchmesse: Georgien. Unter anderem wird am 12. Oktober der Sammelband „Georgien. Eine literarische Reise“ im Georgischen Pavillon präsentiert. Deutsche und georgische Autorinnen und Autoren haben dafür das Land literarisch durchstreift und ihre individuellen Perspektiven in einem Reisetagebuch festgehalten.

Eine Übersicht aller Veranstaltungen des Goethe-Instituts auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse finden Sie hier.