Music in Africa – ACCES 2018 Music: An Identity-Creating Force

Performance by Sahad and the Nataal Patchwork at the ACCES Conference in Nairobi
Photo: Music in Africa

The Music in Africa Foundation launched the ACCES conference in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut and the Siemens Stiftung to gain insights into current topics in the African music industry and to facilitate cooperation. This year, the Nairobi platform brought together around 40 African and international music enterprises for workshops, live performances and panel discussions.  

Two days jam packed with discussions, presentations and workshops, as well as three concerts with groups from East and West Africa: The ACCES 2018 music congress, held from 15th till 17th November in the Kenyan capital of Nairobi, reflected the breadth of African music’s dynamic development. The topics ranged from practical aspects of music and studio technology to issues of rights management and the relevance cultural heritage. The venue was the Kenya National Theatre, which also houses the National Conservatory. A large tent also served as an exhibition space where music producers, media and funding institutions could present themselves at their stands.

 
ACCES – an international network meeting


Following its successful trial run last year in Dakar, ACCES has now been held in Nairobi for the second time. The venue will change every year in future as well. The sponsor is the Music in Africa Foundation (MIAF) founded in Johannesburg five years ago with the support of the Siemens Stiftung and the Goethe-Institut. In just a few years, it has become the most important pan-African network in music. While the website, which now has around 18,000 entries by musicians, producers and institutions, forms the stimulating nerve centre, ACCES functions as a physical showcase for the foundation where active members meet to exchange ideas and develop new projects.

ACCES 2018 enables international networking in the African music industry ACCES 2018 enables international networking in the African music industry | Photo: Music in Africa

Streaming, panels and workshops


The subject matter covered by the event was highly topical and attracted many guests from the local music scene. The panels on the fast-growing streaming sector and on rights management were heavily attended. According to the latest statistics from CISAC, the international association of copyright societies, the huge African music market’s share in world rights is a mere 0.8 percent. A panel devoted itself to the topic of music education: The governments in Uganda and Kenya have recognised its cultural policy importance and are now making funds available for it. The current debate revolves around the question of how to integrate music traditions based largely on oral traditions in curricula. The workshops on the basics of music production, DJ practice and film composition – the latter was offered by the Hamburg firm Mediasound – also met with great interest.

Workshops on the basics of music production, DJ practice and film composition Workshops on the basics of music production, DJ practice and film composition | Photo: Music in Africa

Pursuing careers in Africa


The educational benefits of ACCES, especially for young musicians, are immense. It is an excellent opportunity for making professional contacts according to musician and lyricist Blick Bassy from Cameroon, who came to France eleven years ago, now lives in Bordeaux and observes the African music scene from a distance. But he also finds it important that his African colleagues, who are largely unable to travel, can familiarise themselves with the mechanisms of the international music business at ACCES. “If African music is to develop, then the musicians have to learn to represent their interests. Pursuing a career doesn’t mean performing in Europe. You have to fight for the corresponding conditions to be created in Africa itself.”

The musician and lyricist Blick Bassy appreciates the professional exchange at the ACCES conference The musician and lyricist Blick Bassy appreciates the professional exchange at the ACCES conference | Photo: Music in Africa

“Who are we in the 21st century?”


One highlight occurred right at the beginning with the performance by Eric Wainaina. The Kenyan singer, composer and lyricist, a luminary of today’s African music, was awarded the Music of Africa Honorary Award in Nairobi. In his opening speech to the congress, he revealed himself to be an unbending optimist and great motivator. The Kenyan percussionist Kasiva Mutua was similarly confident and combative. Her question: “Who are we in the 21st century?” was aimed directly at the role of music as an identity-creating force in tomorrow’s Africa.

Kenyan singer Eric Wainaina during his opening speech Kenyan singer Eric Wainaina during his opening speech | Photo: Music in Africa

Music in Africa – ACCES 2018 Musik als identitätsstiftende Kraft

Auftritt der Band „Sahad and the Nataal Patchwork“ auf der ACCES-Konferenz in Nairobi
Auftritt der Band „Sahad and the Nataal Patchwork“ auf der ACCES-Konferenz in Nairobi | Foto: Music in Africa

Um Einblicke in aktuelle Themen der afrikanischen Musikbranche zu bekommen und Kooperationen zu ermöglichen, hat die Music in Africa Foundation in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut und der Siemens Stiftung die Konferenz „ACCES“ ins Leben gerufen. In diesem Jahr bringt die Plattform in Nairobi rund 40 afrikanische und internationale Musikunternehmen in Workshops, Live-Performances und Diskussionsrunden zusammen.

Zwei Tage vollgepackt mit Diskussionen, Präsentationen und Workshops, dazu drei Konzerte mit Musikgruppen aus Ost- und Westafrika: Der Musikkongress ACCES 2018, der vom 15. bis 17. November in der kenianischen Hauptstadt Nairobi stattfand, spiegelte die dynamische Entwicklung der afrikanischen Musik in aller Breite. Die Themen reichten von musikalisch-praktischen Aspekten über die Studiotechnik bis hin zu Fragen der Rechtewahrnehmung und der Aktualität des eigenen kulturellen Erbes. Schauplatz war das Kenya National Theatre, in dem sich auch das Nationale Konservatorium befindet. Ein großes Zelt diente außerdem als Ausstellungsraum, wo sich Musikproduzenten, Medien und Förderinstitutionen an ihren Ständen präsentieren konnten.

ACCES – ein internationales Netzwerktreffen

Nach dem erfolgreichen Probelauf vom letzten Jahr in Dakar ging ACCES nun in Nairobi zum zweiten Mal über die Bühne – der Veranstaltungsort wird auch in Zukunft jährlich wechseln. Träger ist die vor fünf Jahren mit Unterstützung der Siemens Stiftung und des Goethe Instituts gegründete Music in Africa Foundation (MIAF) mit Sitz in Johannesburg. Sie hat sich in wenigen Jahren zum wichtigsten panafrikanischen Netzwerk auf dem Gebiet der Musik entwickelt. Während die Webseite mit inzwischen rund 18.000 Einträgen von Musikerinnen, Produzenten und Institutionen das impulsgebende Nervenzentrum bildet, fungiert ACCES als physisches Schaufenster der Foundation. Hier treffen sich aktive Mitglieder zum Gedankenaustausch und zur Entwicklung neuer Projekte.

ACCES 2018 ermöglicht eine internationale Vernetzung in der afrikanischen Musikbranche ACCES 2018 ermöglicht eine internationale Vernetzung in der afrikanischen Musikbranche | Foto: Music in Africa

Streamings, Diskussionsrunden und Workshops

Die Veranstaltungsthemen waren hochaktuell und lockten zahlreiche Gäste aus der lokalen Musikszene an. Stark besucht waren die Panels zum schnell wachsenden Streamingsektor und zur Rechtewahrnehmung – laut neuester Statistik der CISAC, der internationalen Vereinigung der Urheberrechtsgesellschaften, beträgt der Anteil des riesigen afrikanischen Musikmarkts an den weltweiten Rechten gerade einmal lächerliche 0,8 Prozent. Eine Diskussionsrunde widmete sich dem Thema der Musikerziehung: Die Regierungen in Uganda und Kenia haben ihre kulturpolitische Bedeutung erkannt und stellen neuerdings Gelder dafür zur Verfügung. Die aktuelle Debatte dreht sich um die Frage, wie man die weitgehend auf mündlichen Traditionen beruhenden eigenen Musiktraditionen curriculumfähig machen könne. Auf großes Interesse stießen auch die Workshops über Grundlagen der Musikproduktion, DJ-Praxis und Filmkomposition – Letzterer wurde von der Hamburger Firma Mediasound angeboten.

Workshops über Grundlagen der Musikproduktion, DJ-Praxis und Filmkomposition Workshops über Grundlagen der Musikproduktion, DJ-Praxis und Filmkomposition | Foto: Music in Africa

Karriere machen in Afrika

Der pädagogische Nutzen von ACCES, vor allem für den Musikernachwuchs, ist immens. Die Gelegenheit, hier berufliche Kontakte zu knüpfen, sei eine hervorragende Sache, meint der Musiker und Textautor Blick Bassy aus Kamerun, der vor elf Jahren nach Frankreich kam, heute in Bordeaux lebt und die afrikanische Musikszene aus der Distanz verfolgt. Doch ebenso wichtig findet er, dass sich bei ACCES seine afrikanischen Kolleginnen und Kollegen, denen die Möglichkeit zum Reisen weitgehend fehlt, mit den Mechanismen des internationalen Musikbusiness vertraut machen können. „Wenn sich die afrikanische Musik entwickeln soll, dann müssen die Musikerinnen und Musiker lernen, ihre Interessen wahrzunehmen. Karriere machen heißt nicht einfach, in Europa aufzutreten. Man muss dafür kämpfen, dass in Afrika selbst die entsprechenden Voraussetzungen geschaffen werden.“

Der Musiker und Texter Blick Bassy schätzt den beruflichen Austausch auf der ACCES-Konferenz Der Musiker und Texter Blick Bassy schätzt den beruflichen Austausch auf der ACCES-Konferenz | Foto: Music in Africa

„Wer sind wir im 21. Jahrhundert?“

Einen Höhepunkt gab es gleich zu Beginn mit dem Auftritt von Eric Wainaina. Der kenianische Sänger, Komponist und Textautor, eine Koryphäe der heutigen afrikanischen Musik, wurde nun in Nairobi mit dem Music of Africa Honorary Award ausgezeichnet. In seiner Eröffnungsrede zum Kongress zeigte er sich als unbeugsamer Optimist und großer Motivator. Ähnlich zuversichtlich und kämpferisch gab sich auch die kenianische Perkussionistin Kasiva Mutua. Ihre Frage: „Wer sind wir im 21. Jahrhundert?“ zielte geradewegs auf die Rolle der Musik als identitätsstiftende Kraft im Afrika von morgen.

Der kenianische Sänger Eric Wainaina während seiner Eröffnungsrede Der kenianische Sänger Eric Wainaina während seiner Eröffnungsrede | Foto: Music in Africa