Kulturakademie Tarabya Free Place of Inspiration

Johannes Ebert, Heiko Maas and Klaus-Dieter Lehmann at the presentation of the Kulturakademie Tarabya in Berlin
Johannes Ebert, Heiko Maas and Klaus-Dieter Lehmann at the presentation of the Kulturakademie Tarabya in Berlin | Photo: Dawin Meckel

Kulturakademie Tarabya is presenting itself in Berlin for the first time as Studio Bosporus. The artists’ house, operated by the German Embassy in Ankara and curated by the Goethe-Institut, contributes to strong German-Turkish cultural exchange even in times of cultural-policy tensions. 

The Goethe-Institut traditionally celebrates its summer festival at the Berlin Museum for Contemporary Art, Hamburger Bahnhof. Always well attended, it’s one of the important dates of the year for the network of culture and politics. The first presentation of the Kulturakademie Tarabya in Berlin drew a similarly large crowd. Founded in 2011, the white villa on the Bosporus has since awarded 4 to 8-month scholarships to 74 artists.

Artist Theo Eshetu and the artistic director of the Hamburger Bahnhof, Dr. Gabriele Knapstein Artist Theo Eshetu and the artistic director of the Hamburger Bahnhof, Dr. Gabriele Knapstein | Photo: Dawin Meckel

Places that create the future

“I am in love with Istanbul,” raved the jazz singer Michael Schiefels, who was there as a guest. The poet Max Czollek, in his poetic prose, “Alternative Facts About the Bosporus,” dwells on the history of the place, which is closely linked to the First World War. There’s a German military cemetery in Tarabya. The Bosporus mansion of the Turkish president stands on the neighbouring property. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut, which artistically oversees the academy, describes the situation as follows: “Artist residencies like Tarabya are not lone isles of bliss, but free places of inspiration, of encounters and artistic work. They are ambitious places that create the future.”
 

Cultural mediation is a political issue

Before the future is the present. “Despite the reduction of free spaces, we will stand by our commitment to our partnerships,” promises Lehmann. Artists and intellectuals were arrested again last weekend in Turkey. Asena Günal, managing director of the non-profit cultural foundation Anadolu Kültür, was not allowed to come to Berlin. Her chair at the Tarabya performance remained empty. Foundation founder Osman Kavala has been in custody for more than a year. In a video message, Günal spoke of the “increasing importance that cultural cooperation between two countries gains in such difficult times. As a result, we do not feel isolated and alone.” For the Goethe-Institut and its international partners, repression is part of everyday life. The selection jury for Tarabya also has to deal with the question of danger. Cultural mediation is a political issue, and many of the works that were created in the historic summer residence of the German Embassy clearly show it – like Tugsal Mogul’s theatre project Auch Deutsche unter den Opfern about the NSU trial.

Federal Foreign Minister Heiko Maas at the opening ceremony Federal Foreign Minister Heiko Maas at the opening ceremony | Photo: Dawin Meckel

“Art has to be free. Artists have to be free.”

“There is hardly any other country to which Germany has closer human relations than to Turkey,” said Federal Foreign Minister Heiko Maas at the Hamburger Bahnhof. “But we’ve also recently noticed that political conflicts taking place in Turkey have a divisive effect here as well and some are deliberately stoked. We don’t want to let that happen. We’re therefore doing our utmost to strengthen what binds us together.” He concluded by saying, “Art has to be free. Artists have to be free. Let’s protect these free places – not only in Tarabya, but everywhere in Germany and Turkey.” Back when the first scholarship holders went to Tarabya, they had no idea how rapidly Turkey would change, how fragile democracy and civil society are. The threat is now palpable in the art from Studio Bosporus shown in Berlin: in Philipp Lachenmann’s video “Turkish Night” of Taksim Square or the performance “Schattenpapier” by Nora Krahl and Sena Basöz.

The video installation "My Home" (2018) by Sina Ataeian Dena The video installation "My Home" (2018) by Sina Ataeian Dena | Photo: Dawin Meckel
                                                                       
Rüdiger Schaper heads the arts department at the Tagesspiegel in Berlin.

Kulturakademie Tarabya Freistätte der Inspiration

Johannes Ebert, Heiko Maas und Klaus-Dieter Lehmann bei der Vorstellung der Kulturakademie Tarabya in Berlin
Johannes Ebert, Heiko Maas und Klaus-Dieter Lehmann bei der Vorstellung der Kulturakademie Tarabya in Berlin | Foto: Dawin Meckel

Unter dem Titel „Studio Bosporus“ präsentiert sich die Kulturakademie Tarabya zum ersten Mal in Berlin. Das von der Deutschen Botschaft Ankara betriebene und vom Goethe-Institut kuratorisch betreute Künstlerhaus trägt auch in Zeiten kulturpolitischer Spannungen zu einem intensiven deutsch-türkischen Kulturaustausch bei.

Im Berliner „Museum für Gegenwart“, dem Hamburger Bahnhof, feiert das Goethe-Institut traditionell sein Sommerfest; immer gut besucht, für das Netzwerk von Kultur und Politik ist es einer der wichtigen Termine des Jahres. Ähnlicher Andrang herrschte bei der ersten Präsentation der Kulturakademie Tarabya in Berlin. 2011 gegründet, hat die weiße Villa am Bosporus seither an 35 Künstlerinnen und 39 Künstler Stipendien über vier bis acht Monate vergeben.

Künstler Theo Eshetu und die künstlerische Leiterin des Hamburger Bahnhofs Dr. Gabriele Knapstein Künstler Theo Eshetu und die künstlerische Leiterin des Hamburger Bahnhofs Dr. Gabriele Knapstein | Foto: Dawin Meckel

Orte, die Zukunft schaffen

 
„I am in love with Istanbul“, schwärmte der Jazz-Sänger Michael Schiefels, der dort zu Gast war. Der Dichter Max Czollek hängt in seiner poetischen Prosa „Alternative Fakten über den Bosporus“ der Geschichte des Ortes nach, die eng mit dem Ersten Weltkrieg verbunden ist. In Tarabya gibt es einen deutschen Soldatenfriedhof. Auf dem Nachbargrundstück steht die Bosporus-Villa des türkischen Staatspräsidenten. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, das die Akademie künstlerisch betreut, beschreibt die Lage so: „Künstlerresidenzen wie Tarabya sind keine einsamen Inseln der Glückseligen, sondern Freistätten der Inspiration, der Begegnung und der künstlerischen Arbeit. Es sind ehrgeizige Orte, die Zukunft schaffen.“
 

Kulturvermittlung ist ein Politikum

 
Davor steht die Gegenwart. „Trotz eng werdender Freiräume werden wir bei unserem Engagement für unsere Partnerschaften bleiben“, verspricht Lehmann. In der Türkei wurden am letzten Wochenende wieder Künstler und Intellektuelle verhaftet. Asena Günal, Geschäftsführerin der gemeinnützigen Kulturstiftung Anadolu Kültür, durfte nicht nach Berlin kommen. Ihr Stuhl bei der Tarabya-Vorstellung blieb leer. Stiftungsgründer Osman Kavala sitzt seit mehr als einem Jahr in Untersuchungshaft. In einer Videobotschaft sprach Günal von der „zunehmenden Bedeutung, die kulturelle Zusammenarbeit zwischen zwei Ländern in solch schwierigen Zeiten gewinnt. Dadurch fühlen wir uns nicht alleine und isoliert.“ Für das Goethe-Institut und seine internationalen Partner gehören Repressionen zum Alltag. Auch die Auswahl-Jury für Tarabya muss sich mit der Frage der Gefährdung beschäftigen. Kulturvermittlung ist ein Politikum, und viele Arbeiten, die in der historischen Sommerresidenz der deutschen Botschaft entstanden sind, zeigen es deutlich - wie Tugsal Moguls Theaterprojekt „Auch Deutsche unter den Opfern“ über den NSU-Prozess.

Bundesaußenminister Heiko Maas bei der Eröffnungsveranstaltung Bundesaußenminister Heiko Maas bei der Eröffnungsveranstaltung | Foto: Dawin Meckel

„Kunst muss frei sein. Künstler müssen frei sein.“

 
„Es gibt kaum ein anderes Land, zu dem Deutschland engere menschliche Beziehungen hat als zur Türkei“, sagte Bundesaußenminister Heiko Maas im Hamburger Bahnhof: „Wir beobachten in letzter Zeit aber auch, dass politische Konflikte, die in der Türkei ausgetragen werden, auch hier spaltend wirken, teils auch bewusst geschürt werden. Das wollen wir nicht zulassen. Wir setzen deshalb alles daran, das Verbindende zu stärken.“ Er schloss mit den Worten: „Kunst muss frei sein. Künstler müssen frei sein. Lassen Sie uns diese Freiräume bewahren - nicht nur in Tarabya, sondern überall in Deutschland und der Türkei“. Die ersten Stipendiaten in Tarabya ahnten damals nicht, wie rasant die Türkei sich verändern würde, wie brüchig Demokratie und Zivilgesellschaft sind. Die Bedrohung ist jetzt in der Kunst aus dem „Studio Bosporus“ zu spüren, die in Berlin zu sehen war: in Philipp Lachenmanns Video „Turkish Night“ vom Taksim-Platz oder der Performance „Schattenpapier“ von Nora Krahl und Sena Basöz.

Die Videoinstallation „Mein Zuhause“ (2018) von Sina Ataeian Dena Die Videoinstallation „Mein Zuhause“ (2018) von Sina Ataeian Dena | Foto: Dawin Meckel Rüdiger Schaper leitet das Kulturressort beim Tagesspiegel in Berlin.