Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Reopening of the Goethe-Institut Oslo
A Beacon for Culture

The new Goethe-Institut in Oslo is inaugurated
The new Goethe-Institut in Oslo is inaugurated | Photo: Jan Khür

On 10 January, the Goethe-Institut Norway celebrated its reopening with about 170 invited guests. The dedication ceremony in Oslo also focused on international cultural and educational policy.

Attended by the secretary-general Johannes Ebert, Rebekka Borsch representing the Norwegian cultural minister, Alois Karl and Thomas Erndl of the German Bundestag, architect Bodil Reinhardsen, writer Erik Fosnes Hansen and many others, the evening was all about the dedication of the new Goethe-Institut in Oslo. The jazz sounds of the German-Norwegian trio Fly Magic musically accompanied the evening. Located on the Akerselva River, yet centrally located in the bohemian district of Grünerløkka, Reinhardsen created a bit of urban office culture here with lots of glass, oak, raw steel and spacious working islands during the extensive renovations of an area of around 400 square metres.

An open space for encounters

“The new Goethe-Institut aims to be an open space for encounters, learning, reading, events and discussions,” emphasised Johannes Ebert in his opening speech. There are so many issues that one country alone cannot solve. “These must be discussed together,” the secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut averred. Ebert especially thanked the Norwegian partners – institutions, festivals and museums, for example – who are instrumental in the success of international cultural work. Bundestag member Alois Karl also pointed out the financial side of successful cultural work. “Nothing works without money,” he said. “We try to invest well and correctly. And that includes cultural policy.”

“The new Goethe-Institut aims to be an open space”, said Secretary General Johannes Ebert in his opening speech. “The new Goethe-Institut aims to be an open space”, said Secretary General Johannes Ebert in his opening speech. | Photo: Jan Khür

Building bridges

Institute director Martin Bach and the entire team of the Goethe-Institut Norway were just as happy with their move. “We look forward to the challenge of building bridges in the new environment and neighbourhood,” said Bach. “Here, we will not only be a branch of German culture and language, but represent a network of around 150 institutes with which we are in contact.”

Institute director Martin Bach is happy to build bridges in the new neighbourhood Institute director Martin Bach is happy to build bridges in the new neighbourhood | Photo: Jan Khür

German-Norwegian relations

The Berlin-based Norwegian author Erle Marie Sørheim entertainingly moderated the evening programme with a focus on dialogue. “What is so important about cultural and educational policy? What appeals to you to about the topic?” she asked Bundestag member Thomas Erndl, for example. “It’s about making people curious so that new relationships arise,” said Erndl, “and also about bringing new generations beyond national borders to this understanding.” Sørheim finally asked the German ambassador in Oslo, Alfred Grannas, what’s so unique about German-Norwegian relations. “Both countries, since world orders are under pressure, have the same view on all these things, the same analysis and approaches to solving problems,” the ambassador replied. The consequence is great potential for collaboration.

Erle Marie Sørheim speaking with Thomas Erndl and Alois Karl, members of the Bundestag (left), and Ambassador Alfred Grannas (right) Erle Marie Sørheim speaking with Thomas Erndl and Alois Karl, members of the Bundestag (left), and Ambassador Alfred Grannas (right) | Photo: Jan Khür

German – “a wonderful language”

Finally, the talk by Erik Fosnes Hansen, a well-known author in both countries, sparked infectious laughter when he talked about how difficult it can be for a Norwegian to learn German. “Why on earth does this language have dative and accusative?” It wasn’t until he stayed in Germany that he was able to reconcile with the grammatical pitfalls. “When I came to Germany at the age of 19, I suddenly realized: It’s a wonderful language.” In closing he expressed his hope that the Goethe-Institut Norway will continue to act as a beacon for culture. “We need this more than ever.”

The dedication ceremony focused on encounters and discussions The dedication ceremony focused on encounters and discussions | Photo: Jan Khür

Top

Neueröffnung Goethe-Institut Oslo Ein Leuchtturm für die Kultur

Das neue Goethe-Institut in Oslo wird eingeweiht
Das neue Goethe-Institut in Oslo wird eingeweiht | Foto: Jan Khür

Am 10. Januar feierte das Goethe-Institut Norwegen mit rund 170 geladenen Gästen seine Neueröffnung. Bei der Einweihung in Oslo ging es auch um die internationale Kultur- und Bildungspolitik.

Mit Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert, Rebekka Borsch als Vertretung der norwegischen Kulturministerin, Alois Karl und Thomas Erndl vom Deutschen Bundestag, Architektin Bodil Reinhardsen, Schriftsteller Erik Fosnes Hansen und vielen mehr stand der Abend ganz im Zeichen der Einweihung des neuen Goethe-Instituts in Oslo. Jazzige Klänge des deutsch-norwegischen Trios Fly Magic untermalten den Abend musikalisch. Am Fluss Akerselva gelegen und zugleich zentral im Künstlerviertel Grünerløkka verortet, hat Reinhardsen hier mit viel Glas, Eiche, Rohstahl und geräumigen Arbeits-Inseln während des umfangreichen Umbaus auf rund 400 Quadratmetern ein Stück urbaner Büro-Kultur geschaffen.

Ein offener Raum für Begegnung

„Das neue Goethe-Institut soll ein offener Raum für Begegnung, Lernen, Lesen, Veranstaltungen und Diskussionen sein“, betonte Johannes Ebert in seiner Eröffnungsrede. Es gebe so viele Fragen, die ein Land allein nicht mehr lösen könne. „Diese müssen gemeinsam erörtert werden“, ist der Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts überzeugt. Besonders dankte Ebert den norwegischen Partnern  – etwa Institutionen, Festivals und Museen, die maßgeblich am Erfolg internationaler Kulturarbeit beteiligt sind. MdB Alois Karl verwies auch auf die finanzielle Seite gelungener Kulturarbeit: „Ohne Geld geht nichts“, machte er deutlich. „Wir versuchen, es gut und richtig zu investieren. Und dazu gehört Kulturpolitik.“

Nye Goethe-Institut Oslo skal være et åpent rom, fremhevet generalsekretær Johannes Ebert i sin åpningstale. Nye Goethe-Institut Oslo skal være et åpent rom, fremhevet generalsekretær Johannes Ebert i sin åpningstale. | Foto: ©Jan Khür

Brücken bauen

Institutsleiter Martin Bach und das gesamte Team des Goethe-Instituts Norwegen zeigten sich ebenso glücklich über den Einzug: „Wir freuen uns auf die Herausforderung, in der neuen Umgebung und Nachbarschaft Brücken zu bauen”, hob Bach hervor. „Hier werden wir nicht nur eine Außenstelle deutscher Kultur und Sprache sein, sondern ein Netzwerk von rund 150 Instituten, mit denen wir in Verbindung stehen, repräsentieren.“  

Instituttleder Martin Bach gleder seg til å bli kjent med Goethe-Institut Oslos nye naboer. Instituttleder Martin Bach gleder seg til å bli kjent med Goethe-Institut Oslos nye naboer. | Foto: ©Jan Khür

Deutsch-norwegische Beziehungen

Kurzweilig moderierte die in Berlin lebende, norwegische Autorin Erle Marie Sørheim das Programm und setzte dabei vor allem auf Dialog: „Was ist so wichtig an Kultur- und Bildungspolitik? Was reizt Sie am Thema?“, fragte sie zum Beispiel MdB Thomas Erndl. „Es geht darum, neugierig zu machen, sodass neue Beziehungen entstehen“, erläuterte Erndl, „und auch neue Generationen über die Landesgrenzen hinaus an dieses Verständnis heranzuführen.“ Vom deutschen Botschafter in Oslo, Alfred Grannas, wollte Sørheim schließlich wissen, was denn das Besondere an den deutsch-norwegischen Beziehungen sei. „Beide Länder haben, da die Weltordnungen unter Druck stehen, auf alle diese Dinge die gleiche Sicht, die gleiche Analyse und Vorgehensweise, wie man Probleme lösen soll“, so der Botschafter. Daraus ergebe sich ein großes Potential der Zusammenarbeit.

Erle Marie Sørheim i dialog med medlemmer av Forbundsdagen Thomas Erndl og Alois Karl (t.v.) samt ambassadør Alfred Grannas (t.h.). | Erle Marie Sørheim i dialog med medlemmer av Forbundsdagen Thomas Erndl og Alois Karl (t.v.) samt ambassadør Alfred Grannas (t.h.). | Foto: ©Jan Khür

Deutsch – „eine wunderbare Sprache“

Ansteckende Heiterkeit entfachte schließlich die Rede des in beiden Ländern bekannten Autors Erik Fosnes Hansen, der von den Schwierigkeiten für einen Norweger, korrekt Deutsch zu lernen, erzählte: „Warum in aller Welt hat diese Sprache Dativ und Akkusativ?“ Erst der Aufenthalt im Land habe ihn dann mit den grammatikalischen Fallgruben versöhnt: „Als ich mit 19 Jahren nach Deutschland kam, wurde mir plötzlich klar: Es ist ja eine wunderbare Sprache.“ Dem Goethe-Institut Norwegen wünschte er zu guter Letzt, weiter als Leuchtturm für Kultur zu wirken. „Wir brauchen das mehr als je zuvor.“

Im Mittelpunkt der Einweihungsfeier standen Begegnungen und Gespräche Im Mittelpunkt der Einweihungsfeier standen Begegnungen und Gespräche | Foto: Jan Khür