Treaty of Aachen: Establishing Franco-German Cultural Institutes “Europe is also a cultural project”

© French-German Cultural Center Ramallah
| © French-German Cultural Center Ramallah

On 22 January, German Chancellor Angela Merkel and French President Emmanuel Macron signed a new friendship treaty between Germany and France. The treaty provides for the establishment of German-French cultural institutes in Erbil, Bishkek, Rio de Janeiro and Palermo. Going forward, the Goethe-Institut and the Institut français will move closer together. 

The President of the Goethe-Institut, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, emphasised the relevance of expanded collaboration between Germany and France, stating, “Europe is also a cultural project. This is underscored by the signing of the Treaty of Aachen, which includes the political framework conditions for joint German-French cultural institutes. The Goethe-Institut and the Institut français will fill these promising perspectives with life and, through practical action, strengthen the bond and make it appealing for other partners. The joint cultural institutions are independent spaces of freedom, creativity and understanding with a shared responsibility for a European cultural space that will invigorate dialogue with the world.”

A positive European affirmation

The Secretary-General of the Goethe-Institut, Johannes Ebert, said, “We are very pleased about the establishment of Franco-German institutes within the network of the Goethe-Institut. This political agreement is based on the discussions the Goethe-Institut has held with its French partners in recent months. It’s an important signal for European collaboration and lies within the direct tradition of long-standing and trusting cooperation in joint accommodations such as the Franco-German Cultural Center in Ramallah, in numerous cooperation projects with the Institut français and joint work in the network of European national cultural institutes (EUNIC). In line with the European idea, we will also cultivate and actively shape our wide-ranging work with other European partners in the coming years. The cultural institutes’ cooperation is an effective and successful example of how the cultural diversity of Europe can act as a unifying bond and a positive European affirmation both internally and externally.”

Aachener Vertrag: Einrichtung deutsch-französischer Kulturinstitute „Europa ist auch ein kulturelles Projekt“

© Deutsch-Französisches Kulturzentrum Ramallah
© Deutsch-Französisches Kulturzentrum Ramallah

Am 22. Januar haben Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel und Frankreichs Präsident Emmanuel Macron ein neues Freundschaftsabkommen zwischen Deutschland und Frankreich unterzeichnet. Der Vertrag sieht die Einrichtung von deutsch-französischen Kulturinstituten in Erbil, Bischkek, Rio de Janeiro und Palermo vor. Das Goethe-Institut und das Institut français rücken künftig enger zusammen.

Der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, hob die Relevanz einer erweiterten Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Frankreich hervor: „Europa ist auch ein kulturelles Projekt. Das unterstreicht der jetzt unterzeichnete Aachener Vertrag, der die politischen Rahmenbedingungen für gemeinsame deutsch-französische Kulturinstitute umfasst. Das Goethe-Institut und das Institut français werden diese aussichtsreichen Perspektiven mit Leben füllen und durch praktisches Handeln das Verbindende stärken und attraktiv machen für weitere Partner. Die gemeinsamen Kulturinstitutionen sind unabhängige Räume der Freiheit, der Kreativität und der Verständigung mit einer gemeinsamen Verantwortung für einen europäischen Kulturraum, die den Dialog mit der Welt beleben werden.“

Ein positives europäisches Bekenntnis

Der Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, Johannes Ebert, betonte: „Wir freuen uns sehr über die Einrichtung der deutsch-französischen Institute im Netzwerk des Goethe-Instituts. Diese politische Vereinbarung basiert auf den Gesprächen, die das Goethe-Institut in den vergangenen Monaten mit den französischen Partnern geführt hat. Sie ist ein wichtiges Signal für die europäische Zusammenarbeit und steht in direkter Tradition der langjährigen und vertrauensvollen Kooperation: bei gemeinsamen Unterbringungen wie dem deutsch-französischen Kulturinstitut in Ramallah, in zahlreichen Kooperationsprojekten mit dem Institut français oder dem gemeinsamen Wirken im Verbund der europäischen nationalen Kulturinstitute (EUNIC). Im Sinne des europäischen Gedankens werden wir auch unsere vielfältige Arbeit mit den anderen europäischen Partnern in den kommenden Jahren pflegen und aktiv gestalten. Die Kooperation der Kulturinstitute ist ein wirksames und erfolgreiches Beispiel, wie die kulturelle Vielfalt Europas als einigendes Band und positives europäisches Bekenntnis nach innen und außen wirken kann.“