Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Wallpeckers Game
The Dream of Borderlessness

Invited guests from the arts, media, industry and politics came to the premiere of the Wallpeckers game at the Berlin Wall Memorial
Invited guests from the arts, media, industry and politics came to the premiere of the Wallpeckers game at the Berlin Wall Memorial | Photo: Anja Kessler

On the occasion of the thirtieth anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, the Goethe-Institut makes to division of Korea interactively come alive with the digital game Wallpeckers – From the DMZ to the Berlin Wall. Bumgoo Jong, Ambassador of the Republic of Korea, sees cautious signs of rapprochement between the two Koreas.

By Annette Walter

Korean division is still lived reality, Bumgoo Jong, Ambassador of the Republic of Korea in Berlin, reminded guests at the premiere of the game Wallpeckers – From the DMZ to the Berlin Wall at the visitors’ centre of the Berlin Wall Memorial. His homeland has been divided since 1945. The ambassador, however, sees cautious signs of rapprochement between the two sides, such as the fact that border posts at the inter-Korean border have been dismantled and a joint Korean team played at this year’s World Handball Championship. “My dream is that the border in Korea will one day fall and people will be able to move about freely,” said Jong, expressing his hope for the future.

“My dream is that the border in Korea will one day fall,” said Bumgoo Jong, Ambassador of the Republic of Korea “My dream is that the border in Korea will one day fall,” said Bumgoo Jong, Ambassador of the Republic of Korea | Photo: Anja Kessler

Overcoming the wall in the hearts of the people

 
But the path there is a long one. Jeong Se-hyun, retired Minister of Unification of the Republic of Korea, regrets that young people in South Korea show no interest in unity. “It is the tragedy we have to live with.” He considers the possibility of lifting the border in Korea very low. “There is a wall in the hearts of the people on the Korean Peninsula.” In his view, this wall is getting higher and higher. Nevertheless, he sees German reunification as an example. “We want to be just like Germany when it comes to the issue of unity.” His proposal to Hartmut Koschyk, co-chair of the German-Korean Forum, was, “Invite South and North Korean game designers to Berlin and let them work together.”

Jeong Se-hyun, retired Minister of Unification of the Republic of Korea, and Hartmut Koschyk, co-chair of the German-Korean Forum, discussing experiences of the division of Korea and the DMZ Jeong Se-hyun, retired Minister of Unification of the Republic of Korea, and Hartmut Koschyk, co-chair of the German-Korean Forum, discussing experiences of the division of Korea and the DMZ | Photo: Anja Kessler The Wallpeckers game could be a starting signal for an increasing interest of young people in the problem of the division of Korea. “We wanted the game to address an artistically and digitally oriented audience,” said Johannes Ebert, secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut.

Johannes Ebert, secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut, is one of the first to try playing the Wallpeckers game Johannes Ebert, secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut, is one of the first to try playing the Wallpeckers game | Photo: Anja Kessler

Experience divided history

How does Wallpeckers work? The players first download the app to their smartphone. In it, the player assumes a virtual identity as a journalist and thus dives deeply into the topic. In this function, the participants research newspaper reports on politics, sport and culture dealing with the demilitarised zone in Korea and the Berlin Wall. The research is based on text modules, which can be read on panels in an extensively illustrated installation in the Wall Memorial. There they can find a wealth of information about aspects of the division and reunification process, for example, the entry of West German citizens into West Berlin, which was once only possible via East German territory, but also via an underground tunnel from North to South Korea that people used as an escape route. From these reports, a newspaper is finally created, which can then be sent by e-mail.

Exploring the topic of the demilitarised zone in Korea and the Berlin Wall through gaming Exploring the topic of the demilitarised zone in Korea and the Berlin Wall through gaming | Photo: Anja Kessler Wallpeckers can be played in Berlin until 3 February 2019. On 24 January 2019, the game will celebrate its Korean premiere in the demilitarised zone (DMZ) by symbolic Dorasan Station, South Korea’s final railway station before the border.
 

Top

Spiel „Mauerspechte“ Der Traum von Grenzenlosigkeit

Zur Premiere des Spiels „Mauerspechte“ kamen geladene Gäste aus Kultur, Medien, Wirtschaft und Politik in die Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer
Zur Premiere des Spiels „Mauerspechte“ kamen geladene Gäste aus Kultur, Medien, Wirtschaft und Politik in die Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer | Foto: Anja Kessler

Mit dem digitalen Spiel „Mauerspechte – Von der DMZ zur Berliner Mauer“ macht das Goethe-Institut die Teilung Koreas anlässlich des 30. Jubiläums des Mauerfalls in Berlin interaktiv erlebbar. Bumgoo Jong, Botschafter der Republik Korea, sieht vorsichtige Zeichen der Annäherung zwischen beiden Seiten.

Die koreanische Teilung ist nach wie vor gelebte Realität, erinnert Bumgoo Jong, Botschafter der Republik Korea in Berlin, bei der Premiere des Spiels „Mauerspechte – Von der DMZ zur Berliner Mauer“ im Besucherzentrum der Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer. Seit 1945 ist sein Heimatland geteilt. Der Botschafter sieht jedoch vorsichtige Zeichen der Annäherung zwischen beiden Seiten, etwa durch die Tatsache, dass in der Vergangenheit bereits Grenzposten an der innerkoreanischen Grenze abgebaut wurden und eine gemeinsame koreanische Mannschaft bei der diesjährigen Handball-Weltmeisterschaft angetreten ist. „Mein Traum ist, dass die Grenzen in Korea eines Tages fallen und sich die Menschen ungehindert hin und her bewegen können“, formuliert Jong seine Hoffnung für die Zukunft.

„Mein Traum ist, dass die Grenzen in Korea eines Tages fallen“, so Bumgoo Jong, Botschafter der Republik Korea „Mein Traum ist, dass die Grenzen in Korea eines Tages fallen“, so Bumgoo Jong, Botschafter der Republik Korea | Foto: Anja Kessler

Die Mauer in den Herzen der Menschen überwinden

Doch bis dahin ist es ein weiter Weg. Jeong Se-hyun, Minister für Vereinigung a.D. der Republik Korea, bedauert, dass junge Menschen in Südkorea kein Interesse an der Einheit zeigen würden. „Das ist die Tragödie, mit der wir leben müssen.“ Er hält die Möglichkeit einer Aufhebung der Grenze in Korea für sehr gering.  „Auf der koreanischen Halbinsel gibt es eine Mauer in den Herzen der Menschen.“ Diese Mauer werde seiner Ansicht nach immer höher. Die deutsche Wiedervereinigung sieht er dennoch als Vorbild. „Wir wollen in der Frage der Einheit genauso wie Deutschland werden.“ Sein Vorschlag an Hartmut Koschyk, den Ko-Vorsitzenden des Deutsch-Koreanischen Forums: „Laden Sie süd- und nordkoreanische Spieleentwickler nach Berlin ein und lassen Sie sie zusammenarbeiten.“

Jeong Se-hyun, Minister für Vereinigung a.D. der Republik Korea, und Hartmut Koschyk, Ko-Vorsitzender des Deutsch-Koreanischen Forums, im Gespräch über die Erfahrungen mit der Teilung Koreas und der DMZ Jeong Se-hyun, Minister für Vereinigung a.D. der Republik Korea, und Hartmut Koschyk, Ko-Vorsitzender des Deutsch-Koreanischen Forums, im Gespräch über die Erfahrungen mit der Teilung Koreas und der DMZ | Foto: Anja Kessler Das Spiel „Mauerspechte“ könne ein Startschuss für ein steigendes Interesse junger Menschen an der Problematik der Teilung Koreas sein. „Wir wollten mit dem Spiel ein künstlerisch und digital orientiertes Publikum ansprechen“, sagt Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts.

Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, versucht sich als einer der Ersten an dem Spiel „Mauerspechte“ Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, versucht sich als einer der Ersten an dem Spiel „Mauerspechte“ | Foto: Anja Kessler

Geteilte Geschichte erleben

Wie funktioniert „Mauerspechte“? Die Spielerinnen und Spieler laden sich zunächst die zugehörige App auf ihr Smartphone. Darin übernimmt der Spieler eine virtuelle Identität als Journalist und taucht so tief in das Thema ein. In dieser Funktion recherchieren die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer Zeitungsberichte über Politik, Sport und Kultur, die sich mit der entmilitarisierten Zone in Korea und der Berliner Mauer befassen. Die Recherche basiert auf Textbausteinen, die auf Tafeln in einer umfangreich bebilderten Installation in der Mauergedenkstätte nachzulesen sind. Dort finden sich vielfältige Informationen über Aspekte rund um den Teilungs- und Wiedervereinigungsprozess. Es geht etwa um die Einreise westdeutscher Bürger nach Westberlin, die einst nur über ostdeutsches Gebiet möglich war, aber auch um einen unterirdischen Tunnel, der von Nord- nach Südkorea führte, den Menschen als Fluchtweg nutzten. Aus diesen Berichten entsteht zum Schluss eine Zeitung, die dann per E-Mail verschickt werden kann.

Spielerische Recherche zum Thema der entmilitarisierten Zone in Korea und der Berliner Mauer Spielerische Recherche zum Thema der entmilitarisierten Zone in Korea und der Berliner Mauer | Foto: Anja Kessler Noch bis zum 3. Februar 2019 kann „Mauerspechte“ in Berlin gespielt werden. Am 24. Januar 2019 feiert das Spiel dann seine koreanische Premiere in der demilitarisierten Zone (DMZ) um die symbolträchtige Dorasan Station, dem letzten Bahnhof Südkoreas vor der Grenze.