Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Thomas Ostermeier and Didier Eribon
Who is We?

Thomas Ostermeier and Didier Eribon discussing the stage adaptation of the bestseller Retour à Reims
Thomas Ostermeier and Didier Eribon discussing the stage adaptation of the bestseller Retour à Reims | Photo: Florian Charpail

For the production of the play Retour à Reims performed at the Théâtre de la Ville in Paris, Thomas Ostermeier and Didier Eribon meet at the Goethe-Institut for a panel discussion. The director and the sociologist agree: Although the existence of social classes has disappeared from the public consciousness, the topic is more relevant than ever.  

By Laura Hosch

The event was booked out days in advance. It’s a mixed audience: lots of Parisian theatre and literature enthusiasts, students and curious people who join the queue just before it begins hoping for vacant seats. Thomas Ostermeier is a well-known name in France. The book Retour à Reims by Didier Eribon became a bestseller in Germany as soon as it was translated in 2016. The theatre adaptation, the “translation” of the sociological text, as Ostermeier calls it, has been playing in French in the Espace Cardin in Paris since mid-January. Tickets for the performances presented by the Théâtre de la Ville are largely sold out. It’s not the first stage adaptation of the book; in 2017 Ostermeier’s productions met with great interest in Manchester and at the Schaubühne Berlin. Now Returning to Reims returns to France. Thomas Ostermeier and Didier Eribon meet for a panel discussion at the Goethe-Institut Paris, moderated by sociologist and dance critic Laura Cappelle. Ostermeier and Eribon have known each other for a long time. While visiting Paris shortly after the election of Donald Trump as US President, Ostermeier proposed a joint project for the first time. “We had lunch together, and Thomas said he urgently needed to do something with my book. He just didn’t know what and when,” remembers Eribon.

Panel discussion at the Goethe-Institut Paris, moderated by Laura Panel discussion at the Goethe-Institut Paris, moderated by Laura | Photo: Florian Charpail

Confronting his own past

In his book, a mixture of personal confession and sociological analysis, Eribon reports on his reunion with his hometown and his family, which he’d hardly seen for decades – didn’t want to see – since beginning his career as a professor in Paris. By confronting his own past, he becomes aware of certain blind spots in descriptions of current social developments. He mentions the exclusion mechanisms of the same bourgeoisie that he himself now belongs to, and the fact that many in the formerly communist working class have voted for the right-wing populists of the Front National in protest more than once in recent years. How could this have happened? What part do the left play in it, what part he, as an intellectual denying his origins?

Didier Eribon provides personal insights into his book Didier Eribon provides personal insights into his book | Photo: Florian Charpail

What’s happening in Europe right now?

Thomas Ostermeier notes that he read the book while on holiday and initially didn’t even think about using it for the theatre. However, he realised, “You’re not alone.” Due to the political mood in Germany and the fact that more and more people are living below the poverty line and hardly anything has been written about the existing social injustice, he then saw the need to respond to the current situation. But how does one deal with the class system on the stage if the category of class is often considered obsolete? “It used to be: We, the workers,” Eribon describes the situation. “Today the same people say: We, the French.” However, these very same French are workers more than ever. A similar situation is also apparent for many people living under precarious circumstances in Germany. The protest in Germany is usually quiet and anonymous, but manifests itself in the rise of the AfD. Ironically, the German version of Returning to Reims premieres at the Schaubühne on the same day that the populist right-wing party moves into parliament as the third strongest force in the 2017 Bundestag election. Many spectators come to the theatre that evening with mixed feelings. What’s happening in Europe right now?

In his stage production, Thomas Ostermeier is reacting to the current political situation In his stage production, Thomas Ostermeier is reacting to the current political situation | Photo: Florian Charpail

“The play isn’t meant to be didactical!”

In France, dissatisfied people take to the streets, and Ostermeier has integrated images of the yellow jackets’ protests into his production. “In the media, the gilets jaunes are often shown as right wingers,” says the director. He tried to portray the mood in the country in a less one-sided way. “The play isn’t meant to be didactical!” Ostermeier emphasises. Nevertheless, he wishes for a dedicated theatre that gets involved in current political issues like Brecht’s did.


 

Top

Thomas Ostermeier und Didier Eribon Wer ist Wir?

Thomas Ostermeier und Didier Eribon im Gespräch über die Bühnenfassung des Bestsellers „Retour à Reims“
Thomas Ostermeier und Didier Eribon im Gespräch über die Bühnenfassung des Bestsellers „Retour à Reims“ | Foto: Florian Charpail

Anlässlich des vom Théâtre de la Ville in Paris gezeigten Stücks „Retour à Reims“ treffen sich Thomas Ostermeier und Didier Eribon zu einem Podiumsgespräch im Goethe-Institut. Der Regisseur und der Soziologe sind sich einig: Die Existenz gesellschaftlicher Klassen ist aus dem Bewusstsein der Öffentlichkeit verschwunden, doch das Thema ist virulenter denn je.  

Die Veranstaltung war schon Tage vorher ausgebucht. Das Publikum ist gemischt: Viele theater- und literaturbegeisterte Pariserinnen und Pariser, Studierende und Neugierige, die sich in der Hoffnung auf freigebliebene Plätze noch kurz vor Beginn anstellen. Thomas Ostermeier ist ein bekannter Name in Frankreich. Das Buch „Retour à Reims“ von Didier Eribon wird in Deutschland direkt nach seiner Übersetzung im Jahr 2016 zum Bestseller. Seit Mitte Januar läuft die Theaterversion, die „Übersetzung“ des soziologischen Textes, wie Ostermeier es nennt, in französischer Sprache im Espace Cardin in Paris. Die Karten für die vom Théâtre de la Ville präsentierten Vorstellungen sind weitestgehend ausverkauft. Es ist nicht die erste Bühnenadaption des Buchs, schon 2017 sind Ostermeiers Inszenierungen in Manchester und an der Schaubühne Berlin auf großes Interesse gestoßen. Nun kehrt die „Rückkehr nach Reims“ nach Frankreich zurück. Zu diesem Anlass treffen sich Thomas Ostermeier und Didier Eribon zu einem Podiumsgespräch im Goethe-Institut Paris, moderiert von der Soziologin und Tanzkritikerin Laura Cappelle. Ostermeier und Eribon kennen sich schon seit Längerem. Bei einem Besuch in Paris, kurz nach der Wahl von Donald Trump zum amerikanischen Präsidenten, hat Ostermeier zum ersten Mal ein gemeinsames Projekt vorgeschlagen. „Wir haben zusammen zu Mittag gegessen, und Thomas meinte, er müsse unbedingt etwas mit meinem Text machen. Er wisse nur noch nicht, was und wann“, erinnert sich Eribon.

Podiumsdiskussion im Goethe-Institut Paris, moderiert von Laura Capelle Podiumsdiskussion im Goethe-Institut Paris, moderiert von Laura Capelle | Foto: Florian Charpail

Konfrontation mit der eigenen Vergangenheit

In einer Mischung aus persönlichem Bekenntnis und soziologischer Analyse berichtet Eribon in seinem Buch von der Wiederbegegnung mit seiner Heimatstadt und seiner Familie, die er seit Beginn seiner Karriere als Hochschullehrer in Paris jahrzehntelang kaum noch gesehen hat – nicht sehen wollte. Durch die Konfrontation mit der eigenen Vergangenheit wird er sich bestimmter blinder Flecke in der Beschreibung aktueller gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen bewusst. Er erwähnt die Exklusionsmechanismen bei genau jenem Bürgertum, dem er nun selbst angehört, und die Tatsache, dass viele in der einstmals kommunistischen Arbeiterklasse in den letzten Jahren mehr als nur einmal aus Protest die Rechtspopulisten des Front National gewählt haben. Wie konnte es dazu kommen? Was ist der Anteil der Linken daran, was sein eigener als Intellektueller, der seine Herkunft verleugnet?

Didier Eribon gibt persönliche Einblicke in sein Buch Didier Eribon gibt persönliche Einblicke in sein Buch | Foto: Florian Charpail

Was passiert da gerade in Europa?

Thomas Ostermeier stellt fest, dass er den Text im Urlaub gelesen und zunächst gar nicht daran gedacht habe, ihn fürs Theater zu verwenden. Er habe jedoch erkannt: „Du bist nicht alleine.“ Aufgrund der politischen Stimmung in Deutschland und dem Umstand, dass immer mehr Menschen unterhalb der Armutsgrenze leben und bisher kaum über die heute bestehende soziale Ungerechtigkeit geschrieben worden sei, habe er dann die Notwendigkeit gesehen, auf die aktuelle Situation zu reagieren. Doch wie kann man sich auf der Bühne mit dem Klassensystem auseinandersetzen, wenn die Kategorie der Klasse vielfach als überholt betrachtet wird? „Früher hieß es: Wir, die Arbeiter“, beschreibt Eribon die Situation. „Heute sagen dieselben Leute: Wir, die Franzosen.“ Genau diese Franzosen sind jedoch mehr denn je Arbeiter – eine ähnliche Situation zeichnet sich auch für viele in prekären Verhältnissen lebende Menschen in Deutschland ab. Der Protest in Deutschland erfolgt meist still und anonym, manifestiert sich aber im Aufstieg der AfD: Ironischerweise feiert die deutsche Version „Rückkehr nach Reims“ just an dem Tag seine Premiere an der Schaubühne, als bei der Bundestagswahl 2017 die rechtspopulistische Partei als drittstärkste Kraft ins Parlament einzieht. Nicht wenige Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauer kommen an diesem Abend mit gemischten Gefühlen ins Theater. Was passiert da gerade in Europa?

Thomas Ostermeier reagiert mit seiner Bühneninszenierung auf die aktuelle politische Situation Thomas Ostermeier reagiert mit seiner Bühneninszenierung auf die aktuelle politische Situation | Foto: Florian Charpail

„Das Stück soll nicht didaktisch sein!“

In Frankreich gehen die Unzufriedenen auf die Straße, und Ostermeier hat Bilder von den Protesten der Gelbwesten in seine Inszenierung integriert. „In den Medien werden die Gilets Jaunes oft wie Rechte gezeigt“, findet der Regisseur. Er habe versucht, die Stimmung im Land weniger einseitig darzustellen. „Das Stück soll nicht didaktisch sein!“, betont Ostermeier. Dennoch wünscht er sich ein engagiertes Theater, das sich im Sinne von Brecht in aktuelle politische Fragen einmischt.