Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

"Unseen. Looking at Europe"
Out of Sight, Out of Mind

Residential area in Albania
Residential area in Albania | Photo: Jutta Benzenberg

While European cities like Berlin or Paris grow ever larger, there are regions in Europe that are characterised by a complete lack of prospects. But how do people in these out-of-sight areas live? At the invitation of the Goethe-Institut, four photographers embarked on a journey to Albania, Germany, Italy and Belarus in order to shed light on various life worlds and family stories. 

By Katrin Ostwald-Richter, Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts Mailand

Far from the urban centres, there’s a Europe that we rarely glimpse, whose inhabitants increasingly remain unseen. For the project In the Shadows – Families in Europe, four photographers from Albania, Belarus, Germany and Italy travelled both in their own country and to one of the other countries, accompanied by local journalists. The resulting works culminated in the exhibition Unseen. Looking at Europe. Four photographers on the road, which opened yesterday at MiCamera, a place dedicated to photography and lens-based arts in Milan. Their pictures, videos and articles take the audience into different life worlds and family stories to illuminate the foreign and the familiar, what’s different and what we have in common. How do people in these out-of-sight areas live, what moves them? What does the women’s commissioner Sandy from Wolfen dream of, or 15-year-old Klejda from Puke, a small village in Albania? What moves Salvatore, the miner from Sulcis in Sardinia? What is the farmer Marija in Pinks, Belarus thinking about when she leafs through her family album? 

Portrait of a widow in Polesia Portrait of a widow in Polesia | Photo: Andrei Liankevich

Out of sight

Jutta Benzenberg, Mila Teshaieva, Andrei Liankevich and Livio Senigalliesi present works from regions characterised by unemployment and lack of prospects, focusing on areas that society has evidently lost sight of. These include rural areas and small settlements in Albania, the extensive moorlands of Polesia in Belarus, the former industrial district in Saxony-Anhalt and the coal-mining region of Sulcis in Sardinia, which is currently being dismantled.

Mine in Sardinia Mine in Sardinia | Photo: Livio Senigalliesi

Far removed from technology-besieged modernity

The Albanian photographer Jutta Benzenberg gives us a look at the daily lives of women in eastern German border regions. In his native Belarus, Andrei Liankevich observed the lives of fishermen and abandoned women in the wetlands of Polesia. In Sardinia, in turn, he met people whose lives are shaped by their work in the mines. Italian photographer Livio Senigalliesi also journeyed in Sardinia and Belarus. His photos tell of rhythms of life far removed from technology-besieged modernity and of people who are left to tend for themselves. Both traced ancient traditions and rituals. German photographer Mila Teshaieva explored regions in Albania and Germany that are united by the feeling of being cut off from growth and progress. Her pictures show moments of coexistence and testify to solidarity and great willpower, especially among young women.

Hergisdorf in Saxony-Anhalt Hergisdorf in Saxony-Anhalt | Photo: Mila Teshaieva

Unearthing the unknown

The exhibition opening in Milan attracted many visitors. They were united in their curiosity to learn more about life in regions that are not so far away geographically, but seem infinitely distant in their unfamiliarity. Who knows that women work underground in Sardinia’s last mine or that Polesia exists? The auteur photography makes the unknown visible and offers impressions that have almost disappeared from our modern perceptions.

Opening event at MiCamera in Milan Opening event at MiCamera in Milan | Photo: Rocco Soldini
 

Top

„Unseen / Ungesehen. Blicke auf Europa“ Ich sehe was, was du nicht siehst

Wohngebiet in Albanien
Wohngebiet in Albanien | Foto: Jutta Benzenberg

Während europäische Großstädte wie Berlin oder Paris immer weiter wachsen, gibt es Regionen in Europa, die von Perspektivlosigkeit geprägt sind. Doch wie leben Menschen in diesen aus dem Blickfeld geratenen Gegenden? Vier Fotografinnen und Fotografen haben sich auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts auf die Reise nach Albanien, Deutschland, Italien und Belarus begeben, um verschiedene Lebenswelten und Familiengeschichten zu beleuchten.

Es gibt ein Europa fern der urbanen Zentren, das wir nur selten in den Blick nehmen und dessen Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner zunehmend ungesehen bleiben. Für das Projekt „Im Schatten – Familien in Europa“ sind vier Fotografinnen und Fotografen aus Albanien, Belarus, Deutschland und Italien sowohl in das eigene als auch in eines der anderen Länder gereist, begleitet von ortskundigen Journalistinnen und Journalisten. Die entstandenen Arbeiten mündeten in die Ausstellung „Unseen / Ungesehen. Blicke auf Europa. Vier Fotografen auf Reisen“, die gestern im Mailänder Zentrum für internationale Fotokunst MiCamera eröffnet wurde. Ihre Bilder, Videos und Textbeiträge nehmen das Publikum in die verschiedenen Lebenswelten und Familiengeschichten mit und beleuchten Fremdes und Vertrautes, Trennendes und Gemeinsames. Wie leben Menschen in diesen aus dem Blickfeld geratenen Gegenden, was bewegt sie? Wovon träumt die Frauenbeauftragte Sandy aus Wolfen oder die 15-jährige Klejda aus Puke, einem kleinen Dorf in Albanien? Was bewegt den Bergarbeiter Salvatore aus Sulcis in Sardinien? Woran denkt Bäuerin Marija im belarussischen Pinks, wenn sie in ihrem Familienalbum blättert?

Porträt einer Witwe in Polesien Porträt einer Witwe in Polesien | Foto: Andrei Liankevich

Aus dem Blickfeld geraten

Jutta Benzenberg, Mila Teshaieva, Andrei Liankevich und Livio Senigalliesi zeigen Arbeiten aus Regionen, die von Arbeitslosigkeit und Perspektivlosigkeit geprägt sind, und konzentrieren sich auf Gebiete, die vermeintlich aus dem Blickfeld der Gesellschaft geraten sind. Dazu gehören die ländlichen Regionen und kleinen Wohngebiete in Albanien, die weitreichende Moorlandschaft Polesiens in Belarus, das ehemalige Industrierevier in Sachsen-Anhalt und die sich im Abbau befindende Kohlebergbauregion Sulcis in Sardinien.

Bergwerk in Sardinen Bergwerk in Sardinen | Foto: Livio Senigalliesi

Fernab einer durchtechnologisierten Moderne

Die Fotografin Jutta Benzenberg ermöglicht Einblicke in den Alltag von Frauen in ostdeutschen Randregionen. Andrei Liankevich begab sich in seiner Heimat Belarus auf die Lebenswege von Fischern und verlassenen Frauen im Sumpfgebiet Polesiens. In Sardinien wiederum traf er Menschen, deren Leben von der Arbeit im Bergwerk geprägt ist. Ebenfalls in Sardinien und Belarus war der italienische Fotograf Livio Senigalliesi unterwegs. Seine Fotos erzählen von Lebensrhythmen fernab einer durchtechnologisierten Moderne und von Menschen, die sich selbst überlassen sind. Beide spürten uralten Traditionen und Ritualen nach. Mila Teshaieva hat in Albanien und Deutschland Gebiete untersucht, die das Gefühl des Abgeschnittenseins von Wachstum und Fortschritt vereint. Ihre Bilder zeigen Momente des Zusammenlebens und zeugen von Solidarität und großer Willenskraft, besonders unter jungen Frauen.

Hergisdorf in Sachen-Anhalt Hergisdorf in Sachen-Anhalt | Foto: Mila Teshaieva

Unbekanntes zutage fördern

Die Ausstellungseröffnung in Mailand lockte zahlreiche Besucherinnen und Besucher an. Sie einte die Neugier, mehr über das Leben in den Gebieten zu erfahren, die sich geografisch gar nicht so fernab befinden, aber ob ihrer Unbekanntheit unendlich fern erscheinen. Wer weiß schon, dass in Sardiniens letzter Mine Frauen unter Tage arbeiten oder dass es ein Polesien gibt? Die Autorenfotografie lässt Unbekanntes sichtbar werden und ermöglicht Eindrücke, die aus der eigenen Wahrnehmung beinahe verschwunden sind.

Eröffnungsveranstaltung im MiCamera in Mailand Eröffnungsveranstaltung im MiCamera in Mailand | Foto: Rocco Soldini