Symposium in Weimar: “How robust is our fundamental liberal order?” “Democracies are not self-sustaining systems”

“How robust is our fundamental liberal order?”, symposium on the future of democratic constitutions in Weimar
“How robust is our fundamental liberal order?”, symposium on the future of democratic constitutions in Weimar | Photo: Thomas Müller

Asking the question “How robust is our fundamental liberal order?” the Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar, the Goethe-Institut and the Dramaturgische Gesellschaft invited international experts to a discussion about the Weimar Constitution and the fragility of our democracy.

Are any political systems robust? The opening question asked by retired Bundestag President Norbert Lammert is one of the central questions of the symposium. The year 2019 not only marks the anniversary of the Weimar Constitution, but also the 70th anniversary of the Basic Law, which, Lammert pointed out, has lasted considerably longer than Germany’s first attempt at a constitution. The Basic Law was devised as a provisional solution, while Weimar Constitution was intended as permanent. That turned out to be a fallacy, for the Weimar Coconstitution lasted only 14 years. National Socialism brought anti-constitutional forces to power. Lammert considers this “alarmingly relevant” chiefly due to a hypothesis laid out in the US study How Democracies Die. “In the past, democracies were overthrown. Today democracies die not in coups or civil wars, but through election results,” he noted. A democracy can erode without infringements of the wording of a constitution, he continued, “The latest developments in the US, Hungary, Romania, Poland, Italy and Germany are at least indicative that democracies are not self-sustaining systems.”

“Are any political systems robust?”, asks former Bundestag President Norbert Lammert in his opening speech “Are any political systems robust?”, asks former Bundestag President Norbert Lammert in his opening speech | Photo: Thomas Müller

The impact of the Weimar Constitution

Secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut Johannes Ebert emphasised its international reception, saying, “The Weimar Constitution developed influence and impact far beyond Germany. The tension between the demands of state security requirements and personal and freedom rights continues to be highly relevant today. In this country, but especially where the asset of protected public life taken for granted, the Goethe-Institut is in demand as a dialogue and discussion partner. That’s why we bring voices from Turkey, Spain, Brazil and Germany together and, with our international expertise, contribute to reflection and to the discourse on the future of democracy in Germany as well.”

Johannes Ebert, Secretary General of the Goethe-Institut, talks about the impact of the Weimar Constitution Johannes Ebert, Secretary General of the Goethe-Institut, talks about the impact of the Weimar Constitution | Photo: Thomas Müller

Opportunities and threats of the Weimar Constitution

During the subsequent discussion, moderator Martin Sabrow, director of the Centre for Contemporary History Potsdam, asked participants why Weimar is suddenly fascinating to us once again. Is it a comparison with 1933’s signs of hysteria or are we under a real threat at a time when Europe’s narrative is no longer a firm anchor but a prevailing narrative of fragile democracy? Ece Göztepe Çelebi, professor of constitutional law at Bilkent Üniversitesi in Ankara, believes it is a misconception that conditions such as those in 1933 will be identically repeated, noting, “There will never be concentration camps on German soil again, but there are refugee camps in North Africa today.” For her, the quality of German democracy is based, for instance, on the fact that policy is made at local, state and federal level. Parties can govern together at the local level that do not at the federal level. The advantage of this is that they are able to unite pragmatically. Pablo Holmes, professor of political and constitutional theory at the Universidade de Brasilia, lamented the current crisis in his homeland, stressing that constitutional texts in his country have long been disregarded. “There have been moments when fundamental rights were ignored,” he stated. He criticised the corruption scandals in the political system of his country. For Fernando Vallespín Oña, professor of political science at the Universidad Autónoma in Madrid, Weimar’s most interesting aspect was not its constitution, but that it was a golden age for art and literature, noting, “There was something going on in European civilisation,” although the European soul was split then as it is now. He sees it as a contemporary dialectic. “There are cosmopolitans and those who only feel satisfied within a national identity.”

International discussion round (from left to right): Ece Göztepe, Pablo Holmes, Martin Sabrow and Fernando Vallespín International discussion round (from left to right): Ece Göztepe, Pablo Holmes, Martin Sabrow and Fernando Vallespín | Photo: Thomas Müller

Inflationary hypocrisy

The participants also discussed the challenges posed by populism in many countries. Fernando Vallespín Oña mentioned that there was no right-wing populist party in Spain six months ago, but “Now we’ve got one.” The populists’ problem is that they simplify everything, he remarked, “But we live in a highly complex society that cannot be controlled by the nation-state.” For Pablo Holmes, right-wing populists cannot deliver what they promise, but stand instead for inflationary hypocrisy. Hence strengthening civil society is one possible solution.

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Symposium in Weimar: „Wie stabil ist unsere liberale Grundordnung?"
„Demokratien sind keine sich selbst erhaltenden Systeme“

„Wie stabil ist unsere liberale Grundordnung?" Symposium zur Zukunft demokratischer Verfassungen in Weimar
„Wie stabil ist unsere liberale Grundordnung?" Symposium zur Zukunft demokratischer Verfassungen in Weimar | Foto: Thomas Müller

Unter der Fragestellung „Wie stabil ist unsere liberale Grundordnung? Internationale Perspektiven zur Zukunft demokratischer Verfassungen“ diskutierten auf Einladung des Deutschen Nationaltheaters Weimars, des Goethe-Instituts und der Dramaturgischen Gesellschaft internationale Gäste über die Weimarer Verfassung und die Fragilität unserer Demokratie.

Von Annette Walter

Gibt es überhaupt stabile politische Systeme? Die Ausgangsfrage von Bundestagspräsident a.D. Norbert Lammert thematisiert eine der zentralen Fragen des Symposiums. Das Jahr 2019 stehe nicht nur im Zeichen des Jahrestags der Weimarer Nationalverfassung, sondern auch des 70. Geburtstag des Grundgesetzes, das deutlich länger als der erste Versuch einer Verfassung in Deutschland hielt, so Lammert. Das Grundgesetz verstand sich als Provisorium, mit der Weimarer Verfassung sollte schließlich eine dauerhafte Verfassung geschaffen werden. Doch das erwies sich als Irrtum: Die Weimarer Verfassung hielt nur 14 Jahre. Mit dem Nationalsozialismus kamen Verfassungsfeinde an die Macht. Lammert sieht darin eine „erschreckende Aktualität“. Zentral ist dabei für ihn eine These der US-Studie Wie Demokratien sterben: „Früher wurden Demokratien gestürzt. Heute sterben Demokratien nicht durch einen Putsch oder Bürgerkrieg, sondern durch Wahlergebnisse.“ Eine Demokratie könne erodieren, ohne dass der Verfassungstext angetastet wird: „Die jüngsten Entwicklungen in den USA, Ungarn, Rumänien, Polen, Italien und Deutschland sind mindestens Indizien, dass Demokratien keine sich selbst erhaltenden Systeme sind.“

„Gibt es überhaupt stabile politische Systeme?“, fragt Bundestagspräsident a.D. Norbert Lammert in seiner Eröffnungsrede, „Gibt es überhaupt stabile politische Systeme?“, fragt Bundestagspräsident a.D. Norbert Lammert in seiner Eröffnungsrede | Foto: Thomas Müller

Die Wirkungskraft der Weimarer Verfassung

Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, hob die internationale Rezeption hervor: „Die Weimarer Verfassung hat weit über Deutschland hinaus Einfluss und Wirkungskraft entfaltet. So ist das Spannungsverhältnis zwischen staatlichen Sicherheitsanforderungen und individuellen Persönlichkeits- und Freiheitsrechten weiterhin und gerade heute von hoher aktueller Brisanz. Hierzulande, aber auch insbesondere dort, wo das Gut geschützter Öffentlichkeit nicht selbstverständlich ist, ist das Goethe-Institut als Dialog- und Diskurspartner gefragt. Darum bringen wir Stimmen aus der Türkei, Spanien, Brasilien und Deutschland zusammen und leisten mit unserer Expertise aus dem Ausland einen Beitrag zur Reflexion und zum Diskurs über die Zukunft der Demokratie auch in Deutschland.“

Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, spricht über die Wirkungskraft der Weimarer Verfassung Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, spricht über die Wirkungskraft der Weimarer Verfassung | Foto: Thomas Müller

Chancen und Risiken der Weimarer Verfassung

Warum fasziniert uns Weimar plötzlich wieder, fragte Moderator Martin Sabrow, Direktor des Zentrums für Zeithistorische Forschung Potsdam, die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer der anschließenden Gesprächsrunde. Ist der Vergleich mit 1933 Zeichen einer Hysterisierung oder eine reale Bedrohung in einer Zeit, in der die Erzählung Europas kein fester Anker mehr sei und stattdessen ein Narrativ der fragilen Demokratie herrsche? Ece Göztepe Çelebi, Professorin für Verfassungsrecht an der Bilkent Üniversitesi in Ankara, hält es für einen Irrglauben, dass sich Zustände wie 1933 identisch wiederholen: „Es wird keine Konzentrationslager mehr auf deutschem Boden geben, aber es gibt heute Flüchtlingslager in Nordafrika.“ Für sie basiert etwa die Qualität der deutschen Demokratie darauf, dass Politik auf Kommunal-, Landes- und Bundesebene gemacht werde. Auf der kommunalen Ebene können Parteien zusammen regieren, die dies auf Bundesebene nicht tun. Der Vorteil davon sei, dass man sich sachorientiert zusammenschließen könne. Pablo Holmes, Professor für politische Theorie und Verfassungstheorie an der Universidade de Brasilia, beklagte die aktuelle Krise in seiner Heimat und betonte, dass Verfassungstexte in seinem Land lange Zeit missachtet wurden: „Es gab Momente, in denen die Grundrechte gar nicht beachtet wurden.“ Er kritisierte die Korruptionsskandale im politischen System seines Landes. Für Fernando Vallespín Oña, Professor für Politikwissenschaften an der Universidad Autónoma in Madrid, ist der interessanteste Aspekt an Weimar nicht die Verfassung, sondern dass es ein goldenes Zeitalter für Kunst und Literatur war: „Es war etwas los in der europäischen Zivilisation.“ Dennoch sei die europäische Seele damals wie heute gespalten. Für ihn stellt sich derzeit eine Dialektik dar: „Es gibt Kosmopoliten und solche, die nur in einer nationalen Identität zufrieden sind.“

Internationale Gesprächsrunde (v.l.n.r.): Ece Göztepe, Pablo Holmes, Martin Sabrow und Fernando Vallespín Internationale Gesprächsrunde (v.l.n.r.): Ece Göztepe, Pablo Holmes, Martin Sabrow und Fernando Vallespín | Foto: Thomas Müller

Inflation der Heuchelei

Auch über die Herausforderungen, die der Populismus in vielen Ländern stellt, wurde diskutiert. Fernando Vallespín Oña erwähnte, dass es in Spanien bis vor sechs Monaten keine rechtspopulistische Partei gegeben habe: „Nun haben wir eine.“ Das Problem der Populisten: Sie simplifizieren alles: „Wir leben aber in einer hochkomplexen Gesellschaft, die durch den Nationalstaat nicht kontrolliert werden kann.“ Für Pablo Holmes können die Rechtspopulisten nicht liefern, was sie versprechen. Sie stünden vielmehr für die Inflation von Heuchelei. Ein möglicher Ausweg sei deshalb die Stärkung der Zivilgesellschaft.

Top