Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Long night of ideas in Luxembourg
Get Involved!

Night of Ideas at the Mudam Luxembourg
Night of Ideas at the Mudam Luxembourg | Photo: Mudam Luxembourg

The Long Night of Ideas in Luxembourg was marked by engagement. Institut Pierre Werner, Mudam, Institut français and the Goethe-Institut with support from the Franco-German Cultural Fund invited the public to 30 open discussion panels. 

The third edition of the Long Night of Ideas was based on the motto of individual and collective engagement. What does it mean to get involved in the face of worldwide conflicts?

More than 300 visitors came to Luxembourg’s Mudam for the Night of Ideas More than 300 visitors came to Luxembourg’s Mudam for the Night of Ideas | Photo: Mudam Luxembourg

Conversations about culture, society, politics and the environment

In a time of growing populism, climate catastrophes, wars and people fleeing their homelands around the world, the Luxembourg Museum of Modern Art, or Mudam as the Luxembourgers call it, seems like calm anchor. An international audience gathered in the spacious lobby in the early evening of 31 January 2019. Around 30 open discussion events from different sectors were held here. Participants in the Night of Ideas were able to contribute to about two dozen round table discussions from the fields of culture, society, politics and the environment. In addition to readings until midnight, the supporting programme offered a musical workshop that invited participants to improvise, and a “silent disco.” The evening’s speakers are well-known people from politics and civil society, such as the French war correspondent Florence Aubenas, the Iraqi-German publicist Najem Wali and Camille de Toledo, writer and founder of the curatorial platform Mittel-Europa, but also experts from the greater Luxembourg region. Some of them are involved in political associations, ecological initiatives or artist collectives.

French writer Camille de Toledo talks about the inscrutability of the media French writer Camille de Toledo talks about the inscrutability of the media | Photo: Mudam Luxembourg

The gust of the black wind 

In his keynote speech at the launch event, Camille de Toledo highlighted the difficulty of facing current challenges in light of the flood of events and the inscrutability of the news:
“I’m not sure if we can grasp present-day developments because we would have to be present almost everywhere and survey and understand all of the channels – an utterly inscrutable mixture of news, fake news, plots and schemes.” He went on to describe how the large numbers of media make it almost impossible to know who we are facing. Our age is characterised by dramas, whether in the Mediterranean or due to natural disasters and politically repressive systems. He had been buffeted by “a gust of this black wind” even as a child. Frightening images in the media contributed to his decision to get involved.

Reporter Florence Aubenas was detained in Iraq for several months in 2005 Reporter Florence Aubenas was detained in Iraq for several months in 2005 | Photo: Mudam Luxembourg In one of the first round tables, Florence Aubenas spoke about the difficulty of differentiated reporting. As a journalist, one finds oneself on the fence, said the war correspondent and warned against unilaterally condemning the yellow vests movement in France. The people are angry for a reason.

Alexis Nouss diskutiert während eines Rundtischgesprächs mit dem Publikum Alexis Nouss diskutiert während eines Rundtischgesprächs mit dem Publikum | Photo: Mudam Luxembourg

Interaction between literature and politics

“We are trying to understand how politics affect literature and how literature in turn is a political lesson,” said Alexis Nuselovici (Nouss), a professor of comparative literature at the University of Aix-en-Provence, describing the interaction between literature and politics. The Iraqi-German journalist Najem Wali took up this thread on behalf of some exiled writers of recent centuries, noting, “Where there is domination, there is also exile.” Wali also quoted the Colombian Nobel Prize winner Gabriel García Márquez: “Fiction is revolutionary writing.” We should not trust literati who praise their country. His conclusion: “Literature cannot help but practice sarcasm against the present.”

Journalist and writer Najem Wali shortly before his closing lecture Journalist and writer Najem Wali shortly before his closing lecture | Photo: Mudam Luxembourg

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Lange Nacht der Ideen in Luxemburg
Engagiert euch!

Nacht der Ideen im Mudam Luxemburg
Nacht der Ideen im Mudam Luxemburg | Foto: Mudam Luxembourg

Die lange Nacht der Ideen in Luxemburg stand im Zeichen des Engagements. Hierzu luden das Institut Pierre Werner, das Mudam, das Institut français und das Goethe-Institut mit Unterstützung des deutsch-französischen Kulturfonds zu 30 offenen Diskussionsrunden ein.

Die dritte Auflage der langen Nacht der Ideen stand unter dem Motto des individuellen wie kollektiven Engagements. Was bedeutet es, sich angesichts weltweiter Konflikte zu engagieren?

Mehr als 300 Besucherinnen und Besucher kamen ins Luxemburger Mudam zur Nacht der Ideen Mehr als 300 Besucherinnen und Besucher kamen ins Luxemburger Mudam zur Nacht der Ideen | Foto: Mudam Luxembourg

Gespräche über Kultur, Gesellschaft, Politik und Umwelt

In Zeiten von wachsendem Populismus, Klimakatastrophen, Kriegen und weltweit flüchtenden Menschen wirkt das luxemburgische Museum für Moderne Kunst „Mudam“, wie es die Luxemburger nennen, wie ein Ruhepol. In der weitläufigen Eingangshalle versammelte sich am frühen Abend des 31. Januar 2019 ein internationales Publikum. Rund 30 offene Diskussionsveranstaltungen aus unterschiedlichen Sparten fanden hier statt. Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer der Nacht der Ideen konnten sich in rund zwei Dutzend Rundtischgesprächen aus den Bereichen Kultur, Gesellschaft, Politik und Umwelt einbringen. Darüber hinaus bot das Rahmenprogramm neben Lesungen bis Mitternacht einen musikalischen Workshop, der zur Improvisation einlud, sowie eine „Silent Disco“. Die Referentinnen und Referenten des Abends sind bekannte Persönlichkeiten aus Politik und Gesellschaft, wie die französische Kriegsreporterin Florence Aubenas, der irakisch-deutsche Publizist Najem Wali und Camille de Toledo, Schriftsteller und Gründer der kuratorischen Plattform Mittel-Europa, aber auch Expertinnen und Experten aus der Großregion Luxemburg. Einige von ihnen engagieren sich in politischen Vereinigungen, ökologischen Initiativen oder Künstlerkollektiven. 

Der französische Schriftsteller Camille de Toledo spricht über die Unüberschaubarkeit der Medien Der französische Schriftsteller Camille de Toledo spricht über die Unüberschaubarkeit der Medien | Foto: Mudam Luxembourg

Die Brise des schwarzen Windes

In seinem Impulsvortrag zur Auftaktveranstaltung hob Camille de Toledo die Schwierigkeit hervor, angesichts der Flut an Ereignissen, aber auch der Unüberschaubarkeit der Nachrichten, den aktuellen Herausforderungen zu begegnen: „Ich bin mir nicht sicher, ob man die gegenwärtigen Entwicklungen greifen kann, denn man müsste quasi überall präsent sein und die Gesamtheit an Kanälen – eine schier unüberschaubare Mischung aus News, Fake-News, Plots und Komplotte – überblicken und verstehen.“ Angesichts der Vielzahl an Medien wisse man heute kaum mehr, wem man gegenüberstehe. Unsere Zeit charakterisiere sich durch eine Summe an Dramen, ob im Mittelmeer oder bedingt durch Naturkatastrophen und politisch repressive Systeme. „Eine Brise dieses schwarzen Windes“ sei ihm bereits als kleiner Junge entgegengeweht. Nicht zuletzt erschreckende Medienbilder seien für ihn ausschlaggebend gewesen dafür, sich zu engagieren.

Die Reporterin Florence Aubenas wurde 2005 mehrere Monate lang im Irak festgehalten Die Reporterin Florence Aubenas wurde 2005 mehrere Monate lang im Irak festgehalten | Foto: Mudam Luxembourg Über die Schwierigkeit einer differenzierten Berichterstattung sprach Florence Aubenas in einem der ersten Rundtischgespräche. Als Journalistin befinde man sich zwischen allen Stühlen, betonte die Kriegsreporterin und warnte davor, die Bewegung der Gelbwesten in Frankreich einseitig zu verurteilen. Für die Wut der Menschen gebe es Gründe.

Alexis Nouss diskutiert während eines Rundtischgesprächs mit dem Publikum Alexis Nouss diskutiert während eines Rundtischgesprächs mit dem Publikum | Foto: Mudam Luxembourg

Wechselwirkung zwischen Literatur und Politik

„Wir versuchen zu verstehen, wie sich die Politik auf die Literatur auswirkt und die Literatur wiederum ein Lehrstück für die Politik bildet“, beschrieb Alexis Nuselovici (Nouss), Professor für vergleichende Literaturwissenschaften an der Universität Aix-en-Provence, die Wechselwirkung zwischen Literatur und Politik. Ein Ansatz, den der irakisch-deutsche Publizist Najem Wali im Sinne einiger Exilschriftsteller der letzten Jahrhunderte fortführte: „Da, wo Herrschaft ist, ist auch Verbannung.“ Weiterhin zitierte Wali den kolumbianischen Literaturnobelpreisträger Gabriel García Márquez: „Belletristik ist revolutionäres Schreiben.“ Man dürfe Literaten nicht trauen, die ihr Land rühmen. Sein Fazit: „Literatur kann nicht anders, als sich gegenüber der Gegenwart in Sarkasmus zu üben.“

Der Journalist und Schriftsteller Najem Wali kurz vor seinem Abschlussvortrag Der Journalist und Schriftsteller Najem Wali kurz vor seinem Abschlussvortrag | Foto: Mudam Luxembourg

Top