Angela Merkel Visits Japan Chancellor meets German learners at the Goethe-Institut in Tokyo

Chancellor Angela Merkel meets German students of the Goethe-Institut in Tokyo
Chancellor Angela Merkel meets German students of the Goethe-Institut in Tokyo | Photo: Bundesregierung/Sandra Steins

Angela Merkel’s visit to Japan only lasted 25 hours. Still, the Chancellor took time to meet with German learners at the Goethe-Institut Tokyo. Their conversation mainly focused on the methods of language acquisition. 

Angela Merkel visited Japan from 4 February 2019 for exactly 25 hours. Her agenda included meetings with Prime Minister Abe, Emperor Akihito and Crown Prince Naruhito. Her time was also dedicated to culture and science. The Chancellor spoke not only with Keio University students and Japanese scientists, but also with eight participants in the language courses at the Goethe-Institut Tokyo. The meeting took place in the residence of the German Embassy in Tokyo. Peter Anders, the director of the Goethe-Institut Tokyo, and Matthias von Gehlen, the head of the language department, welcomed Angela Merkel, who, after an introduction by the Ambassador, Dr Hans Carl von Werthern, started her conversation with the group. The German skills of the eight Japanese guests who had been invited were quite advanced, so the Chancellor asked in particular about the type and extent of German lessons at the Goethe-Institut Tokyo. In addition, the Chancellor was informed about the German learners who would like to participate in the volunteer programme for the Olympic Games 2020 in Tokyo. The Goethe-Institut Tokyo is helping the Olympic Committee in its search for volunteers with language skills that suit interpreting jobs. Part of this activity is the language course Explain Japan in German, which is also attended by some of the guests of the meeting.

One on one

For the guests, to be able to spend 20 minutes talking with the German Chancellor “one on one” is the culmination of their years of effort learning the German language. One participant reported, “I’m presently freshening up my language skills at the Goethe-Institut in order to be able to teach German in my own teaching job. The meeting with Mrs Merkel motivated me a great deal to learn even more so that I can to continue to appreciate this special experience in future. It is a further incentive to me that my classmates were able to talk so well in German with the Chancellor.” Peter Anders, director of the Goethe-Institut Tokyo, was delighted that Angela Merkel specifically sought a conversation with the language students, noting, “It’s a great acknowledgment of our work that despite her brief visit, the Chancellor took the time to talk to our German learners.”

20 minutes with the German Chancellor 20 minutes with the German Chancellor | Photo: Bundesregierung/Sandra Steins

“My Avatar Speaks German”

Following the meeting, the Federal Chancellor turned to another focus of her trip: Japan's pathway to “Society 5.0.” The Goethe-Institut Tokyo is also taking up this development and would like to strengthen the digital skills of German learners during their language acquisition, for example with the pilot course My Avatar Speaks German, which will soon be starting. The use of various apps offers the students the opportunity to practice everyday situations playfully with the help of self-designed avatars. Working with the app technologies is part of the programme.

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Japan-Besuch von Angela Merkel
Bundeskanzlerin trifft Deutsch-Lernende des Goethe-Instituts in Tokyo

Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel trifft Deutsch-Lernende des Goethe-Instituts in Tokyo
Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel trifft Deutsch-Lernende des Goethe-Instituts in Tokyo | Foto: Bundesregierung/Sandra Steins

Der Japan-Besuch von Angela Merkel dauerte nur 25 Stunden. Trotzdem nahm sich die Bundeskanzlerin Zeit für ein Treffen mit Deutsch-Lernenden des Goethe-Instituts Tokyo. Im Gespräch ging es vor allem um die Methoden des Spracherwerbs.  

Genau 25 Stunden besuchte Angela Merkel ab dem 4. Februar 2019 Japan. Auf dem Programm standen Treffen mit Premierminister Abe, Kaiser Akihito sowie Kronprinz Naruhito. Auch Kultur und Wissenschaft wurden gewürdigt: So sprach die Bundeskanzlerin nicht nur mit Studierenden der Keio-Universität und mit japanischen Wissenschaftlern, sondern auch mit acht Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern der Sprachkurse des Goethe-Instituts Tokyo. Das Treffen fand in der Residenz der Deutschen Botschaft in Tokyo statt. Der Leiter des Goethe-Instituts Tokyo, Peter Anders, und der Leiter der Sprachabteilung, Matthias von Gehlen, begrüßten Angela Merkel, die nach einer Einführung durch den Botschafter Dr. Hans Carl von Werthern das Gespräch mit der Gruppe begann. Die acht geladenen japanischen Gäste verfügten alle über ein sehr hohes deutsches Sprachniveau, weshalb die Bundeskanzlerin sich insbesondere nach Art und Umfang des Deutschunterrichts am Goethe-Institut Tokyo erkundigte. Zudem ließ sich die Bundeskanzlerin über jene Deutsch-Lernenden informieren, die am Volunteer-Programm für die Olympischen Spiele 2020 in Tokyo teilnehmen möchten. Das Goethe-Institut Tokyo unterstützt das Olympische Komitee bei der Suche nach Freiwilligen mit entsprechendem Sprachniveau für Dolmetsch-Tätigkeiten. Teil dieser Aktivität ist der Sprachkurs „Japan auf Deutsch erklären“, den auch einige der Gäste des Treffens besuchen.

Ganz unter sich

Für 20 Minuten mit der deutschen Kanzlerin „ganz unter sich“ zu sprechen, ist für die Gäste ein Höhepunkt ihrer jahrelangen Bemühungen um den Erwerb von Deutschkenntnissen. Eine Teilnehmerin berichtete: „Ich frische zurzeit meine Sprachkenntnisse am Goethe-Institut auf, um in meinem Beruf als Erzieherin auch Deutsch unterrichten zu können. Das Treffen mit Frau Merkel hat mich sehr motiviert, noch engagierter dafür zu lernen, um diese besondere Erfahrung auch in Zukunft weiter zu würdigen. Es ist mir ein weiterer Ansporn, dass meine Mitschülerinnen und Mitschüler sich so gut auf Deutsch mit der Kanzlerin unterhalten konnten.“ Dass Angela Merkel gezielt den Austausch mit den Sprachschülerinnen und -schülern suchte, freute Peter Anders, Leiter des Goethe-Instituts Tokyo: „Es ist eine große Anerkennung unserer Arbeit, dass die Bundeskanzlerin sich trotz der Kürze ihres Besuches die Zeit genommen hat, mit unseren Deutsch-Lernern ins Gespräch zu kommen.“

20 Minuten mit Angela Merkel 20 Minuten mit Angela Merkel | Foto: Bundesregierung/Sandra Steins

„Mein Avatar spricht Deutsch“

Im Anschluss an das Treffen wandte sich die Bundeskanzlerin einem weiteren Schwerpunkt ihrer Reise zu: Japans Weg in die „Gesellschaft 5.0“. Auch das Goethe-Institut Tokyo greift diese Entwicklung auf und möchte beim Spracherwerb zugleich die digitalen Kompetenzen der Deutsch-Lernenden stärken, etwa mit dem bald beginnenden Pilotkurs „Mein Avatar spricht Deutsch“. Die Verwendung verschiedener Apps bietet den Schülerinnen und Schülern die Gelegenheit, Alltagssituationen spielerisch mit Hilfe selbstgestalteter Avatare zu üben. Die Auseinandersetzung mit den technologischen Bedingungen der Apps gehört mit zum Programm. 

Top