Antanas Sutkus – Photographic Retrospective Spurned Memory

Antanas Sutkus with Snape, Vilnius
Antanas Sutkus with Snape, Vilnius | Photo: © Antanas Sutkus

To celebrate the centenary of the restored state of Lithuania, the Lithuanian National Gallery, in cooperation with the Institut français and the Goethe-Institut, presented the exhibition Kosmos with photographs by Antanas Sutkus. 

Up the slope behind the railway station are crumbling asphalt, log buildings, wooden houses cowering in hollows; here Vilnius is far from the Baroque beauty of its centre city. In Naujininkai, poverty lurks among the middle class and above it all the sky like a grey veil. Further up are single-family homes; Antanas Sutkus is already sitting on the leather sofa. He has short white hair, boxes lie all about, filing cabinets with handwritten labels, some say Retrospektyva, many say Sartre. Sutkus, soon to be eighty years old, is the most famous photographer of the Lithuanian School. Over one hundred thousand pictures are stored in the basement and here in the conservatory. His wife Rima shrugs, “We live in between them somehow.”

No Title. Vilnius, 1961 No Title. Vilnius, 1961 | Photo: © Antanas Sutkus

Anarchic games, agitated glances

Sutkus co-founded and presided over the Association of Art Photographers in the Soviet Republic of Lithuania in 1969. The idea became a model for the USSR. He had already taken what are his most famous photographs today, de Beauvoir and Sartre in the white sands of the Curonian Spit, clouds, existential emptiness around the bent figures. The blind pioneers, what a metaphor! And always children, anarchic play, agitated glances, skewed horizons, cracked plaster. Uncertainty and surprise in the faces. In 1969, when Sutkus and eight other photographers wanted to open the first exhibition at the Moscow House of Journalists, one critic pulled him aside and told him, “This won’t work. Too gloomy, too depressive.” The critic proposed that they call it the Lithuanian school: that might make it work. Was that resistance? Sutkus turns the word around in his mouth. Stalin had centralized the cultural institutions, the aim of art was not only to express narodnost, nationality, but function as a “demonstration of accomplishments, agreement with party leaders, friendship of peoples, love of the leader.” Sutkus smuggled poetry into his, ambiguity, wrinkled faces, exhausted workers, children’s tears.

FARMER. DZUKIJA, 1969 FARMER. DZUKIJA, 1969 | Photo: © Antanas Sutkus

Sutkus learned early: “Resistance was suicide”

His photographs asserted the sometimes poetic, even romantic view of humanistic photography, they tell of the autonomy of art, they rejected journalism, thus propaganda. They found melancholy, barren worlds, and within them absurdities, moments of levity. Resistance? Sutkus talks about his father who shot himself rather than betray his comrades. Antanas was just a year old; his grandparents took over his Christian education. Resistance: In the village they shared their meagre meals with partisans fighting the Soviet Union. A futile undertaking, Sutkus learned early, he smacks the sofa, “Resistance was suicide.” He often encountered problems; the booklet accompanying the wonderful Kosmos exhibition tells about some of them. After the photo of the little pioneer with the shaven head won the Michelangelo D’Oro prize in Italy, it was printed in Sowjetskoye Foto. After outraged comments that it was “dissident photography,” the editor-in-chief was summoned to the Central Committee. It was the Brezhnev era. Sutkus had to join the party so that he could be thrown out. He hid the “Blind Pioneers” photos.

Uzupis. High School Children. Vilnius, 1959 Uzupis. High School Children. Vilnius, 1959 | Photo: © Antanas Sutkus

No one is aiming for an effect, no one is posing

His pictures’ strength is their empathy: children draw us into their game, anger, shame, wonder wrestles in their faces. A young woman is weeping for her recently deceased husband. No one is aiming for an effect, no one is posing; Sutkus has an eye for brief pauses, for rest. “The photographer and observer,” he says, “should be on equal footing with the people in the pictures.” The man with the camera is a playmate, a companion. The sofa creaks. With Lithuania’s independence something shifted in the rabid capitalism of the 1990s. On a marketplace, Sutkus observed mothers peddling their last remaining housewares, female buyers who couldn’t even afford to buy their daughters cheap dresses for the feast day. “I couldn’t help them, so I didn’t want to take a picture of them.” Things had become hierarchical. Sutkus saw misery, isolation. “I didn’t want to humiliate them.”

FIRST BIKERS. KLAIPĖDA, 1974 FIRST BIKERS. KLAIPĖDA, 1974 | Photo: © Antanas Sutkus

No structured cultural policy

Now the afternoon hangs dark over the hill, the mood becomes bitter. Rima and Antanas talk about the collection that they want to turn into a living place. The Lithuanian state has no interest in it. Exhibitions like Kosmos are organised by the Institut français and the Goethe-Institut, a huge success, more than 30,000 visitors, one percent of all Lithuanians came. There’s no structured cultural policy, no ideas about how to deal with the archives. Down the hill, snow, the lights of the city: behind some of them huge collections of images are stored like spurned memories, barely protected. “It feels absurd,” Antanas Sutkus hesitated awhile. “Even hurtful.”

Antanas Sutkus – Fotografische Retrospektive Das verschmähte Gedächtnis

Antanas Sutkus with Snape, Vilnius
Antanas Sutkus with Snape, Vilnius | Foto: © Antanas Sutkus

Anlässlich des 100 jährigen Geburtstags zur Wiederherstellung des Staates Litauen zeigte die litauische Nationalgalerie in Kooperation mit dem Institut français und dem Goethe-Institut die Ausstellung „Kosmos“ mit Fotografien von Antanas Sutkus. 

Hinter dem Bahnhof die Hügel hinauf: bröckeliger Asphalt, Blockbauten, in Senken ducken sich Holzhäuser, hier ist Vilnius weit weg von barocker Innenstadt-Schönheit. In Naujininkai hält sich Armut zwischen der Mittelschicht und über allem der Himmel wie ein graues Tuch. Weiter oben Einfamilienhäuser, Antanas Sutkus sitzt schon auf dem Ledersofa: kurzes weißes Haar, ringsum Kisten, Schubladenschränke mit handgeschriebenen Aufklebern, Retrospektyva steht auf einigen, Sartre auf etlichen. Sutkus, bald achtzig Jahre, ist der bekannteste Fotograf der „Litauischen Schule“. Über hunderttausend Bilder lagern im Keller und hier im Wintergarten. Seine Frau Rima zuckt mit den Schultern: „Wir wohnen irgendwie dazwischen.“

No Title. Vilnius, 1961 No Title. Vilnius, 1961 | Foto: © Antanas Sutkus

Anarchisches Spiel, verstörte Blicke

Sutkus hat 1969 die „Gesellschaft für Fotokunst“ der Sowjetrepublik Litauen mitgegründet, saß ihr vor. Die Idee wurde Modell für die UdSSR, da hatte er schon seine heute bekanntesten Aufnahmen gemacht, de Beauvoir und Sartre im weißen Sand der Kurischen Nehrung, Wolken, existenzielle Leere um die gebeugten Gestalten. Die blinden Pioniere, was für eine Metapher! Und immer wieder Kinder, anarchisches Spiel, verstörte Blicke, verrutschte Horizonte, rissiger Putz. In Gesichtern Unsicherheit, Überraschung. Als Sutkus mit acht anderen Fotografen 1969 die erste Ausstellung im Moskauer Haus der Journalisten eröffnen wollte, nahm ihn ein Kritiker beiseite: „Das wird nicht funktionieren. Zu düster, zu depressiv.“ Nennen wir es Litauische Schule, habe der Kritiker vorgeschlagen, dann ginge es vielleicht. War das Widerstand? Sutkus wendet das Wort im Mund. Stalin hatte die Kulturinstitutionen zentralisiert, Kunst sollte nicht nur von narodnost, Volksverbundenheit, erzählen, sondern als „Demonstration der Errungenschaft, Übereinstimmung mit Parteiführern, Freundschaft der Völker, Liebe zum Führer“ funktionieren. Sutkus schmuggelte Poesie darunter, Mehrdeutigkeiten, faltige Gesichter, erschöpfte Arbeiter, Kindertränen.

FARMER. DZUKIJA, 1969 FARMER. DZUKIJA, 1969 | Foto: © Antanas Sutkus

Sutkus lernte früh: „Widerstand war Selbstmord“

Die Aufnahmen behaupteten den mal poetischen, auch romantischen Blick der humanistischen Fotografie – erzählen von der Eigenständigkeit der Kunst, lehnten Journalismus, also Propaganda, ab. Fanden Schwermut, karge Welten, darin Absurdes, kleine Leichtigkeiten. Widerstand? Sutkus erzählt von seinem Vater, der Kameraden verraten sollte, sich lieber erschoss. Antanas war da gerade ein Jahr alt, die Großeltern übernahmen die christliche Erziehung. Widerstand: Im Dorf teilten sie ihr karges Essen mit Partisanen, die gegen die Sowjetunion kämpften. Ein aussichtsloses Unternehmen, Sutkus lernte früh, die Couch schmatzt bei seiner Handbewegung: „Widerstand war Selbstmord.“ Oft gab es auch so Probleme, das Kommentarheftchen zur wunderbaren „Kosmos“-Ausstellung erzählt davon: Nachdem der kleine Pionier mit dem geschorenen Kopf den Michelangelo D’Oro-Preis in Italien gewann, druckte ihn die Sowjetskoye Foto. Aufgebrachte Kommentare, Dissidenten-Fotografie sei das, die Chefredakteurin wurde zum ZK einbestellt. Breschnew-Zeiten: Sutkus musste in die Partei eintreten, damit er hinausgeschmissen werden konnte. Die „blinden Pioniere“ versteckte er.

Uzupis. High School Children. Vilnius, 1959 Uzupis. High School Children. Vilnius, 1959 | Foto: © Antanas Sutkus

Niemand ist auf Wirkung bedacht, niemand posiert

Dabei leben die Aufnahmen von ihrer Empathie – Kinder ziehen uns in ihr Spiel hinein, Wut, Scham, Staunen ringt in ihren Gesichtern. Eine junge Frau beweint ihren kürzlich gestorbenen Mann. Niemand ist auf Wirkung bedacht, niemand posiert, Sutkus hat einen Blick für kleine Pausen, Rast. „Fotograf und Betrachter“, sagt er, „sollen auf gleicher Höhe mit den Menschen in den Bildern stehen.“ Der Mann mit der Kamera als Spielkamerad, Begleiter. Das Sofa knarzt, mit der Unabhängigkeit Litauens, im rabiaten Kapitalismus der 1990er Jahre verschob sich etwas. Auf einem Markt beobachtete Sutkus Mütter, die ihre letzten Haushaltswaren feilboten, Käuferinnen, die Töchtern nicht einmal billige Kleidchen zum Festtag leisten konnten. „Ich konnte ihnen nicht helfen, also wollte ich auch kein Bild von ihnen machen.“ Die Dinge waren hierarchisch geworden, Sutkus sah Elende, Abgehängte. „Ich wollte sie nicht beschämen.“

FIRST BIKERS. KLAIPĖDA, 1974 FIRST BIKERS. KLAIPĖDA, 1974 | Foto: © Antanas Sutkus

Keine strukturierte Kulturpolitik

Jetzt hängt der Nachmittag düster über dem Hügel, die Stimmung wird bitter: Rima und Antanas sprechen über die Sammlung, die sie in einen lebendigen Ort verwandeln wollen. Der litauische Staat hat dafür keinen Sinn. Ausstellungen wie „Kosmos“ werden vom Institut français und dem Goethe-Institut auf den Weg gebracht, Riesenerfolg, über 30.000 Zuschauer, ein Prozent aller Litauer kamen. Eine strukturierte Kulturpolitik, eine Idee, wie man mit den Archiven umgehen will, gibt es nicht. Hügel hinab, Schnee, Lichter der Stadt: Hinter einigen lagern riesige Bildsammlungen, wie verschmähte Gedächtnisse, kaum geschützt. „Es fühlt sich absurd an,“ Antanas Sutkus hatte länger gezögert. „Sogar verletzend.“