Movaland by Slavs and Tatars You Are What You Speak

The exhibition Movaland opened on 22 February 2019 at Ў Gallery in Minsk
The exhibition Movaland opened on 22 February 2019 at Ў Gallery in Minsk | Photo: Wiktoryja Kharytonawa

The artists’ collective Slavs and Tatars is showing Movaland, its first solo exhibition in Belarus. At the invitation of the Goethe-Institut, the group has been illuminating the historically evolved diversity of languages, cultures and identities – issues under heated discussion in Belarus due to prevailing multilingualism and the present-day (geo-)political situation – in the Minsk Ў Gallery of Contemporary Art since 22 February 2019.

A long, shiny silver kebab spit pierces several books in Cyrillic, Latin and Arabic script on a pedestal in the current exhibition of the Berlin artist group Slavs and Tatars at the Ў Gallery in Minsk. Firmly held together, the books of the work entitled “Kitab Kebab” symbolise the diverse cultural influences of the multi-ethnic past of Belarus due to its special geographical location between Poland, Lithuania, Latvia, Ukraine and its large neighbour Russia. Slavs and Tatars tackled Belarusian history, which has not yet been appraised in depth, using linguistic phenomena to stimulate a new identity-forming confrontation among the Minsk audience and to expose the difficulties involved in it.

Closing historical gaps

A visit to the National Gallery demonstrates that it’s not easy for Belarusian cultural workers to reappraise the past in the post-Soviet state. Hardly any works by local artists can be found amidst the Russian masterpieces of painting. Abstract painting or more conceptual approaches of non-conformist artist groups from the last 60 years are not to be seen. The collection of the Art-Belarus Gallery is trying to close these historical gaps, as curator Alexander Zimenko tells a guided tour. Belarusian masters of modernism such as the Jewish exiles Chaim Soutine and Marc Chagall can finally be shown in their homeland. 

In search of interrelationships between religion, power, language and identity In search of interrelationships between religion, power, language and identity | Photo: Wiktoryja Kharytonawa

Joint residency programme

To ensure that their project lasts beyond the duration of the exhibition, the artists began their research in Belarus a year ago and, together with the Goethe-Institut, developed a residency programme in their Berlin studio. They’ve already invited four Belarusian artists. Payam Sharifi, one of the founders of Slavs and Tatars, enthusiastically talks about the mutual exchange of ideas and new inspirations for upcoming projects. The significance and novelty of such a programme becomes particularly clear when one considers that Belarusian cultural workers still face great difficulties entering Europe. Slavs and Tatars and the Goethe-Institut Belarus have opened up new terrain for the future with this programme. The residency programme will continue beyond 2019 and will be extended to other countries in the region.

A place to come together: “PrayWay” by Slavs and Tatars A place to come together: “PrayWay” by Slavs and Tatars | Photo: Wiktoryja Kharytonawa

Language as a political instrument of power

Before the exhibition Моваланд or Movaland opens in the gallery, Payam Sharifi holds the lecture performance called “The Transliterative Tease” in the lecture hall of the TUT.BY gallery. He presents his linguistic research on Cyrillic, Latin, Hebrew and Arabic writing in Eastern Europe and the Near East. Sharifi describes how alphabets were used or abused to delineate power and territories in different eras. The writings become a political instrument of power; subtle word and sound shifts within languages become metaphors of warlike territorial disputes and colonisation. The ongoing conflicts over the study and reintroduction of Belarusian as the official language prove that this research is of enormous relevance, especially in Belarus.

Language as a system of symbols for political, historical and cultural correlations Language as a system of symbols for political, historical and cultural correlations | Photo: Wiktoryja Kharytonawa

A gift to share

On the following day, the exhibition is opened by the curatorial team led by Lena Prents and the director of the Goethe-Institut Belarus, Jakob Racek. The installation of tapestries, the carpet reading station “Pray Way” (2012) and a sound installation trace an arc between Sharifi’s lecture and the Belarusian context. In a subtle metaphorical way, Slavs and Tatars point to the repressed identity of Belarus in their graphic play of letters and thus touch a raw nerve of the times. The interest is also reflected in the diverse audience: Among many art enthusiasts, for example, is the philosophy lecturer Olga Shparaga, who will give her lectures at the exhibition, as well as the curator Tatiana Kirianova, who has travelled especially from St. Petersburg. Later in the evening, Sharifi, moved, unpacks a gift from an elderly Minsk Tartar. In the package, along with a box of chocolates, is a collection of old books with many personal margin notes that the older gentleman would like to share with Slavs and Tatars. This shows how this exhibition is causing ripples for a new sense of self-confidence in a marginalised Belarusian identity.

Kick-off event for Movaland at Ў Gallery Kick-off event for Movaland at Ў Gallery | Photo: Wiktoryja Kharytonawa

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„Movaland“ von Slavs and Tatars
Du bist, was du sprichst

Die Ausstellung „Movaland“ eröffnete am 22. Februar 2019 in der Minsker Galerie Y
Die Ausstellung „Movaland“ eröffnete am 22. Februar 2019 in der Minsker Galerie Y | Foto: Wiktoryja Kharytonawa

Das Künstlerkollektiv Slavs and Tatars zeigt mit „Movaland“ seine erste Einzelausstellung in Belarus. Auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts beleuchtet die Gruppe in der Minsker Galerie Y für zeitgenössische Kunst seit dem 22. Februar 2019 die historisch gewachsene Vielfalt von Sprachen, Kulturen und Identitäten – Fragen, die in Belarus aufgrund der vorherrschenden Mehrsprachigkeit und der aktuellen (geo-) politischen Lage kontrovers diskutiert werden. 

Von Nadja Abt

Ein langer, silberglänzender Kebabspieß durchbohrt mehrere Bücher in kyrillischer, lateinischer und arabischer Schrift auf einem Sockel in der aktuellen Ausstellung der Berliner Künstlergruppe Slavs and Tatars in der Galerie Y in Minsk. Fest zusammengehalten symbolisieren die Bücher der Arbeit „Kitab Kebab“ die verschiedensten kulturellen Einflüsse der multiethnischen Vergangenheit von Belarus aufgrund seiner besonderen geografischen Lage zwischen Polen, Litauen, Lettland, der Ukraine und dem großen Nachbarn Russland. Slavs and Tatars nahm sich der bisher wenig aufgearbeiteten belarussischen Geschichte anhand linguistischer Phänomene an, um so beim Minsker Publikum eine neue identitätsstiftende Auseinandersetzung anzuregen und die damit verbundenen Schwierigkeiten offenzulegen.

Geschichtslücken schließen

Dass den belarussischen Kulturschaffenden eine historische Aufarbeitung im postsowjetisch-regierten Staat nicht leicht gemacht wird, lässt sich bei einem Besuch der Nationalgalerie feststellen: Zwischen russischen Meisterwerken der Malerei finden sich kaum Werke heimischer Künstlerinnen und Künstler. Abstrakte Malerei oder etwa konzeptuellere Ansätze nonkonformer Künstlergruppierungen aus den letzten 60 Jahren sind nicht zu sehen. Derartige Geschichtslücken versucht die Sammlung der Galerie „Art-Belarus“ zu schließen, wie Kurator Alexander Zimenko bei einer Führung erzählt. Belarussische Meister der Moderne wie die jüdischen Vertriebenen Chaim Soutine und Marc Chagall würden nun endlich in ihrer Heimat gezeigt werden können. 

Auf den Spuren von Beziehungsgeflechten zwischen Religion, Macht, Sprache und Identitäten Auf den Spuren von Beziehungsgeflechten zwischen Religion, Macht, Sprache und Identitäten | Foto: Wiktoryja Kharytonawa

Gemeinsames Residenzprogramm

Damit ihr Projekt über die Zeitspanne der Ausstellungsdauer hinaus Bestand hat, begannen die Künstlerinnen und Künstler bereits vor einem Jahr mit den Recherchen in Belarus und entwickelten gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut ein Residenzprogramm in ihrem Berliner Atelier. Bereits vier belarussische Künstler wurden eingeladen. Begeistert erzählt Payam Sharifi, einer der Gründer von Slavs and Tatars, vom gegenseitigen Ideenaustausch und neuen Inspirationen für kommende Projekte. Die Tragweite und Neuheit eines solchen Programms wird vor allem dann ersichtlich, wenn man bedenkt, dass es für belarussische Kulturschaffende bis heute noch mit großen Schwierigkeiten verbunden ist, ins europäische Ausland einzureisen. Slavs and Tatars und das Goethe-Institut Belarus haben mit diesem Programm  neues Terrain für die Zukunft erschlossen. Das Residenzprogramm wird über das Jahr 2019 hinaus bestehen und auf Länder der Region ausgeweitet.

Ein Ort des Zusammenkommens „PrayWay" von Slavs and Tatars Ein Ort des Zusammenkommens „PrayWay" von Slavs and Tatars | Foto: Wiktoryja Kharytonawa

Sprache als politisches Machtinstrument

Bevor die Ausstellung „Моваланд oder Movaland“ in der Galerie eröffnet, hält Payam Sharifi die Lecture-Performance „The Transliterative Tease“ im Vortragssaal der Galerie TUT.BY. Hier präsentiert er seine sprachwissenschaftlichen Recherchen zur kyrillischen, lateinischen, hebräischen und arabischen Schrift im osteuropäischen und vorderasiatischen Raum. Sharifi legt den Gebrauch beziehungsweise den Missbrauch der Alphabete dar, um Macht und Gebiete zu verschiedenen Zeiten voneinander abzugrenzen. Die Schriften werden zum politischen Machtinstrument, subtile Wort- und Lautverschiebungen innerhalb von Sprachen zur Metapher kriegerischer Territorienstreitigkeiten und Kolonisierungen. Dass diese Forschungen vor allem in Belarus von enormer Relevanz sind, beweisen die andauernden Konflikte um die Erforschung und Wiedereinführung des Belarussischen als offizielle Sprache.

Sprache als ein Zeichensystem für politische, historische und kulturelle Zusammenhänge Sprache als ein Zeichensystem für politische, historische und kulturelle Zusammenhänge | Foto: Wiktoryja Kharytonawa

Ein Geschenk zum Teilen  

Am Folgetag wird die Ausstellung vom kuratorischen Team um Lena Prents und den Leiter des Goethe-Instituts Belarus, Jakob Racek, eröffnet. Die Installation aus Wandteppichen, der Teppich-Lesestation „Pray Way“ (2012) und einer Soundinstallation spannt den Bogen zwischen Sharifis Vortrag und dem belarussischen Kontext. Auf subtil metaphorische Art verweisen Slavs and Tatars in ihren grafischen Buchstabenspielereien auf die unterdrückte Identität Belarus und treffen so den Nerv der Zeit. Das Interesse spiegelt sich auch in dem bunt gemischten Publikum: Zwischen vielen Kunstbegeisterten steht etwa die Philosophiedozentin Olga Shparaga, die ihre Vorlesungen in der Ausstellung abhalten wird, sowie die Kuratorin Tatiana Kirianova, die extra aus St. Petersburg angereist ist. Später am Abend packt Sharifi gerührt ein Geschenk eines älteren Minsker Tataren aus – im Paket befinden sich nebst einer Pralinenschachtel gesammelte alte Bücher mit vielen persönlichen Randnotizen, die der ältere Herr mit Slavs and Tatars teilen möchte. Hier zeigt sich, dass solch eine Ausstellung Wellen schlägt für ein neues Selbstvertrauen einer marginalisierten belarussischen Identität.

Auftaktveranstaltung zu „Movaland“ in der Galerie Y Auftaktveranstaltung zu „Movaland“ in der Galerie Y | Foto: Wiktoryja Kharytonawa

Top