Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Obituary on Okwui Enwezor
The Goethe-Institut mourns the death of Okwui Enwezor

Okwui Enwezor during his video statement for the symposium "Vertagtes Erbe" on 22.11.2018 in his apartment in Munich.
Okwui Enwezor during his video statement for the symposium "Vertagtes Erbe" on 22.11.2018 in his apartment in Munich. | © Goethe-Institut

The employees of the Goethe-Institut were shocked to learn that Okwui Enwezor died on 15 March in Munich after his serious illness. With his writings and exhibitions, he made a decisive contribution to the foundation of the global discourse on art. The regular collaboration with the Goethe-Institut, too, was marked by the great visions, the inexhaustible knowledge and the incorruptible critical eye, the professional precision and the human warmth of his impressive personality.

If the global postcolonial view of art and art theory has become a matter of course for the Goethe-Institut and its partners all over the world today, Okwui Enwezor, born in Calabar/Nigeria in 1963, certainly played a decisive role in this. In 1993, together with Salah Hassan and Chika Okeke-Agulu, he founded the magazine Nka, which to this day is one of the leading magazines for critical discourse on contemporary African art. Okwui Enwezor gained an international reputation as curator as Artistic Director of the 2nd Johannesburg Biennale in 1997/98 and then as curator of the exhibition "The Short Century" at the Museum Villa Stuck in Munich in 2001, which has lastingly changed our view of art in Africa since 1945.
 
The first intensive collaboration with the Goethe-Institut took place when Okwui Enwezor was Artistic Director of documenta 11 from 1998 to 2002 and conceived the exhibition in Kassel as the last of five international platforms. The 4th platform “Under Siege: Four African Cities” took place in March 2002 at the Goethe-Institut in Lagos. It asked about forms of modernity outside the reactive alternatives to the West, about modernities that emerge from postcolonial stories and global phenomena.
 
When Okwui Enwezor was appointed director of the Haus der Kunst in Munich in 2011, he was already well acquainted with the work of the Goethe-Institut. In the following years, the conceptual proximity and geographical vicinity to the Goethe-Institut's headquarters led to a regular and trusting collaboration. As early as mid-2012, the Goethe-Institut cooperated on the exhibition “Image Counter Image” at the Haus der Kunst, which presented artistic positions that critically deal with the portrayal of violent conflicts in the media. At the end of 2013, Okwui Enwezor was the keynote speaker at the “Crossing Archives” conference on colonial imagery and postcolonial archives, conceived by Marc-André Schmachtel at the Goethe-Institut in Lagos and his partners.
 
In 2013, the “Goethe-Institut Fellowship” for Postdocs at Haus der Kunst was established, awarded for one year at a time. Johannes Ebert, Secretary General of the Goethe-Institut, expressly acclaimed the concept of “supporting the Haus der Kunst as a hub for activities at which scholarship holders, guest artists, curators and scholars meet for mutual exchange". The Fellows contributed in many ways to major exhibitions, in particular the 4th Fellow Damian Lentini on “Postwar: Art Between the Pacific and the Atlantic, 1945–1965” in the years 2016/17. The symposium “Post-Colonialism: Latin American Women Artists (1960-1980)” in July 2018 was organized by Lara Demori (5th Fellow), and Eva Bentcheva (6th Fellow), still selected by Okwui Enwezor, Ulrich Wilmes, and Rainer Hauswirth, prepares the symposium “Pathways of Performativity in Contemporary Southeast Asian Art” for June 2019.
 
In February 2015, on the occasion of the Charlie Hebdo tragedy, the Haus der Kunst and the Goethe-Institut co-organized a panel discussion with Hito Steyerl, Matthias Lilienthal, Joachim Bernauer, and Okwui Enwezor entitled “The Limits of Tolerance” on the relationship between intolerance and freedom of expression, censorship, and the right to violate sensitivities – be they cultural, religious, political, or ideological. For the “56th Venice Biennale” in 2015, entitled "All The World's Futures", its Artistic Director Okwui Enwezor selected the complete works of Harun Farocki, digitized with the help of the Goethe-Institut, and his last large-scale participatory project "Labour in a Single Shot". In September 2015, he and Johannes Hossfeld organized the symposium "Harun Farocki: Cinema and Speculation" in Venice, in which Alexander Kluge, Kodwo Eshun, Mark Nash and Isaac Julien took part.
 
In the same year, the exhibition "Geniale Dilletanten" [Genial Dilletantes]: Subculture in Germany in the 1980s”, conceived by Mathilde Weh and Leonhard Emmerling as a touring exhibition of the Goethe-Institut, premiered at Haus der Kunst from June to October. It was significantly expanded for presentation at Haus der Kunst by Ulrich Wilmes. As part of this cooperation, several concerts were also organized, in September with the Einstürzende Neubauten. Music was also the focus of the cooperation project “Improvise NOW!!!” curated by Markus Müller, a series of concerts, performances, lectures, discussions and screenings that, starting in April 2016, which dealt for the time of 12 months with the interfaces between improvisation and abstraction. It concluded with the exhibition “Free Music Production / FMP: The Living Music” from March to August 2017 and another concert.
 
Okwui Enwezor was closely associated with the Goethe-Institut until very recently. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, President of the Goethe-Institut, saw him as an important partner and friend of the Goethe-Institut and called him a "great enabler in the international cultural landscape". When he was unable to personally participate in the symposium “Heritage Deferred” in Berlin, organized by Stefanie Peter, due to his illness, he recorded a video statement in his apartment in Munich at the end of 2018 which he understood as part of his ongoing correspondence with the colleagues at the Goethe-Institut (see below).

Video wird geladen


The collaboration with Okwui Enwezor was not only an encounter with an extraordinary curator and theorist. Unforgotten is the impression once he stretched out his big hand to you in friendship. And those lucky enough to visit him at home could admire not only his library but also his culinary skills. With his sonorous voice, insatiable joy of discussion, and generous humor, he shaped the conversation.
 
He stretched out to the Goethe-Institut more than once his hand in friendship. Dismayed, but also full of gratitude for the long and trusting collaboration, the employees of the Goethe-Institut mourn the early death of Okwui Enwezor.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Nachruf auf Okwui Enwezor
Das Goethe-Institut trauert um Okwui Enwezor

Okwui Enwezor während seines Video-Statements für das Symposium „Vertagtes Erbe“ am 22.11.2018 in seiner Wohnung in München
Okwui Enwezor während seines Video-Statements für das Symposium „Vertagtes Erbe“ am 22.11.2018 in seiner Wohnung in München | © Goethe-Institut

Mit Bestürzung haben die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Goethe-Instituts die Nachricht aufgenommen, dass Okwui Enwezor am 15. März in München nach schwerer Krankheit verstorben ist. Er hat mit seinen Schriften und Ausstellungen entscheidend zur Fundierung des globalen Diskurses über Kunst beigetragen. Auch die regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut war geprägt von den großen Visionen, dem unerschöpflichen Wissen und dem unbestechlich kritischen Blick, der professionellen Präzision und der menschlichen Wärme seiner eindrucksvollen Persönlichkeit.

Der globale postkoloniale Blick auf Kunst und Kunsttheorie, der für das Goethe-Institut und seine Partner in aller Welt heute Selbstverständlichkeit geworden ist, verdankt sich ganz entschieden dem 1963 in Calabar/Nigeria geborenen Okwui Enwezor. 1993 gründete er mit Salah Hassan und Chika Okeke-Agulu das Magazin Nka, das bis heute eine der führenden Zeitschriften für den kritischen Diskurs zur zeitgenössischen afrikanischen Kunst ist. Internationales Ansehen als Kurator erlangte Okwui Enwezor als Künstlerischer Leiter der 2. Biennale von Johannesburg 1997/98 und dann als Kurator der Ausstellung „The Short Century“ am Museum Villa Stuck in München 2001, die unseren Blick auf die Kunst in Afrika seit 1945 nachhaltig verändert hat.
 
Zur ersten intensiven Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut kam es, als Okwui Enwezor von 1998 bis 2002 als Künstlerischer Leiter der documenta 11 tätig war und die Ausstellung in Kassel als die letzte von fünf internationalen Plattformen konzipierte. Die 4. Plattform „Under Siege: Four African Cities“ fand im März 2002 am Goethe-Institut in Lagos statt. Sie fragte nach Formen der Moderne außerhalb der reaktiven Alternativen zum Westen, nach Modernen, die aus postkolonialen Geschichten und globalen Phänomenen entstehen.
Als Okwui Enwezor 2011 als Direktor an das Haus der Kunst nach München berufen wurde, war er mit der Arbeit  des Goethe-Instituts im Ausland schon gut bekannt. Aus der konzeptionellen Nähe und der geografischen Nachbarschaft zur Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts erwuchs in den folgenden Jahren eine regelmäßige und vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit. Schon Mitte 2012 kooperierte das Goethe-Institut zur Ausstellung „BILD-GEGEN-BILD“ im Haus der Kunst, die künstlerische Positionen vorstellte, die sich kritisch mit der Darstellung von gewalttätigen Konflikten in den Medien befassen. Ende 2013 wirkte Okwui Enwezor in Lagos als Hauptredner an der von Marc-André Schmachtel am Goethe-Institut und seinen Partnern konzipierten Konferenz „Crossing Archives“ über koloniale Bildwelten und postkoloniale Archive mit.
 
2013 wurde das „Goethe-Institut Fellowship“ für Postdoktoranden am Haus der Kunst ins Leben gerufen, die für jeweils ein Jahr vergeben wird. Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, unterstützte ausdrücklich das Konzept, „das Haus der Kunst als einen Knotenpunkt für Aktivitäten zu unterstützen, an dem sich Stipendiaten, Gastkünstler, Kuratoren und Wissenschaftler zu wechselseitigem Austausch begegnen.“ Die Fellows trugen in vielfacher Weise zu großen Ausstellungen bei, wie insbesondere der 4. Fellow Damian Lentini zu „Postwar: Kunst zwischen Pazifik und Atlantik, 1945-1965“ in den Jahren 2016/17. Das Symposium „Postkolonialismus: Latin American Women Artists (1960-1980)“ im Juli 2018 wurde von Lara Demori (5. Fellow) organisiert, und die noch von Okwui Enwezor, Ulrich Wilmes und Rainer Hauswirth ausgewählte Eva Bentcheva (6. Fellow) bereitet für Juni 2019 das Symposium „Wege der Performativität in der zeitgenössischen südostasiatischen Kunst“ vor.
 
Anlässlich der Charlie Hebdo-Tragödie veranstalteten das Haus der Kunst und das Goethe-Institut im Februar 2015 mit Hito Steyerl, Matthias Lilienthal, Joachim Bernauer und Okwui Enwezor die Podiumsdiskussion „Die Grenzen der Toleranz“ über die Beziehung zwischen Intoleranz und freier Meinungsäußerung, Zensur, und dem Recht, Empfindlichkeiten zu verletzen – seien sie kultureller, religiöser, politischer oder ideologischer Natur. Für die „56. Biennale in Venedig“ 2015 mit dem Titel „All The World’s Futures“ wählte der Künstlerische Leiter Okwui Enwezor unter anderem das mit Hilfe des Goethe-Instituts digitalisierte Gesamtwerk von Harun Farocki und dessen letztes partizipatives Großprojekt „Eine Einstellung zur Arbeit“ aus. Im September 2015 organisierte er mit Johannes Hossfeld in Venedig das Symposium „Harun Farocki: Kino und Spekulation“, an dem unter anderen Alexander Kluge, Kodwo Eshun, Mark Nash und Isaac Julien teilnahmen.
 
Im gleichen Jahr feierte von Juni bis Oktober die von Mathilde Weh und Leonhard Emmerling als Tourneeausstellung des Goethe-Instituts konzipierte Ausstellung „Geniale Dilletanten. Subkultur der 1980er-Jahre in Deutschland“ im Haus der Kunst Premiere, die für die Präsentation im Haus der Kunst von Ulrich Wilmes maßgeblich erweitert wurde. Im Rahmen dieser Kooperation wurden auch mehrere Konzerte organisiert, im September mit den Einstürzenden Neubauten. Musik stand auch im Mittelpunkt des von Markus Müller kuratierten Kooperationsprojekts „Improvise NOW!!!“, einer Reihe von Konzerten, Performances, Vorträgen, Diskussionen und Screenings, die sich ab April 2016 ein Jahr lang mit den Schnittstellen zwischen Improvisation und Abstraktion auseinandersetzte und von März bis August 2017 mit der Ausstellung „Free Music Production / FMP: The Living Music“ und einem weiteren Konzert abschloss.

Bis zuletzt war Okwui Enwezor dem Goethe-Institut eng verbunden. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, sah in ihm einen wichtigen Partner und Freund des Goethe-Instituts und nannte ihn einen „großen Ermöglicher in der internationalen Kulturlandschaft“. Als Okwui Enwezor aufgrund der Einschränkungen durch seine Krankheit nicht mehr persönlich an dem von Stefanie Peter organisierten Berliner Symposium „Vertagtes Erbe“ teilnehmen konnte, nahm er Ende 2018 in seiner Wohnung in München ein Video-Statement auf, das er als Teil seiner fortlaufenden Korrespondenz mit den Kolleginnen und Kollegen des Goethe-Instituts verstand.
 

Video wird geladen

Die Zusammenarbeit mit Okwui Enwezor bestand nicht nur in der Begegnung mit einem außergewöhnlichen Kurator und Theoretiker. Unvergessen ist der Eindruck, wem er einmal seine große Hand in Freundschaft gereicht hat. Und wer das Glück hatte, ihn zu Hause zu besuchen, konnte außer seiner Bibliothek auch seine Kochkünste bewundern. Mit sonorer Stimme, unersättlicher Diskussionsfreude und großzügigem Humor prägte er das Gespräch.
 
Er hat dem Goethe-Institut mehr als nur einmal freundschaftlich die Hand gereicht. Bestürzt über seinen frühen Tod, doch auch voller Dankbarkeit für die lange vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit, trauern die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Goethe-Instituts um Okwui Enwezor.

Top