Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Leipzig Book Fair: “Rules of thumb and skinned knees. What is the up-and-coming generation writing about?”
“It’s hard for me to locate myself”

“Rules of thumb and skinned knees. What is the up-and-coming generation writing about?” -at the Leipzig Book Fair.
“Rules of thumb and skinned knees. What is the up-and-coming generation writing about?” -at the Leipzig Book Fair. | Photo: Stefan Hoyer

By Annette Walter

A man who chopped off one of his thumbs: that’s the bizarre fellow that Ana and Monica, the two heroines in Iva Brdar’s Rule of Thumb meet. The play is a surreal road movie in which two women hitchhike from a small town in Sweden to the Bulgarian border. Along the way they set themselves so-called “rules of thumb,” celebrating the journey like a competition: money is taboo, they sleep in a tent every night and as soon as a situation makes them feel uneasy, they run. Brda sees her play as a statement on the present disparate situation in Eastern Europe.
 
Klaus-Dieter Lehmann reveals that he is a soul mate of Iva’s heroines, having himself hitchhiked to Morocco and Yugoslavia as a young man. “Germany was excluded from the international community because of the crimes of the Nazis,” he explains, “but we young people wanted to change that situation. In France, they called me ‘boche.’” But there were also opportunities to meet people and there was differentiation, he goes on, “The locals made a distinction between people and governments.”

Dino Pešut Dino Pešut | Photo: Stefan Hoyer

“The view from below is more substantial”

Dino Pešut set his novel Aufgeschürfte Knie (Skinned Knees) in Berlin where he lives. It’s about a Croatian artist living in Berlin who is actually an actor but makes a living illustrating children’s books. He enters into various homosexual relationships and finally becomes involved in a rampage. Pešut incorporated many autobiographical experiences in his novel. When asked how he defines his position as a Croatian, queer author in Berlin, he replies, “It’s hard for me to locate myself. Berlin is the political and cultural centre of the whole western world and it’s not easy to position yourself there.”
 
Asked by moderator Jürgen Jakob Becker of the Literarische Colloquium Berlin whether he feels differently as an author in Berlin and in Zagreb, or perhaps perceives himself in Berlin as an unknown writer, Pešut replies that he perceives himself quite differently in the two cities because, “First and foremost, I’m a lower middle class migrant who came to Berlin. In Zagreb, I belong to the middle class.” This “class downsizing” can make a person feel quite depressed, but “the view from below is more substantial for working as a writer.” Brda sees it a little differently, saying, “I’m not below or above, but more in the middle.”
 
Do Brdar and Pešut experience restrictions to their freedom in Croatia and Serbia? “Formally, there’s no censorship, although I was lucky with my editor, but as an author you’re subject to the dictates of the market, so I find it difficult to speak of writer’s autonomy,” says Pešut. Brdar perceives no open censorship for writers in Serbia, but a different kind of censorship, for instance in the theatre, which financially relies on the state and thus is entangled in dependencies.

Iva Brdr Iva Brdr | Photo: Stefan Hoyer

Protected spaces for authors

Like their protagonists, Pešut and Brdar are seekers who left their homeland to settle as authors in Berlin. But Lehmann emphasised that we can’t take the risk that all artists who think in new ways relocate to enrich Berlin. The Goethe-Institut is therefore trying to create a discourse in smaller towns and remote places, and especially in Eastern Europe it wants to ensure there are protected spaces for persecuted authors. For example, for the project Daring to Remember about two dozen authors from Kosovo, Albania and Slovenia travelled through the Balkan countries. This is a way to create a discourse in countries that have fallen into “speechlessness.”
 
 

Top

Leipziger Buchmesse: „Daumenregeln und aufgeschürfte Knie. Worüber schreibt die kommende Generation?“ „Es ist für mich schwer, mich selbst zu verorten“

“Rules of thumb and skinned knees. What is the up-and-coming generation writing about?” -at the Leipzig Book Fair.
“Rules of thumb and skinned knees. What is the up-and-coming generation writing about?” -at the Leipzig Book Fair. | Photo: Stefan Hoyer

Die serbische Theaterautorin Iva Brdar und der kroatische Dramatiker und Autor Dino Pešut diskutieren mit dem Präsidenten des Goethe-Instituts Klaus-Dieter Lehmann auf der Leipziger Buchmesse über Zensur, was man beim Trampen lernt und was einen osteuropäischen Autor in Berlin depressiv macht.

Ein Mann, der sich einen Daumen abgehackt hat: Auf diesen skurrilen Kerl treffen Ana und Monica, die beiden Heldinnen aus Iva Brdars „Daumenregeln“. Das Theaterstück ist ein surreales Roadmovie, in dem zwei Frauen per Anhalter von einer Kleinstadt in Schweden bis an die bulgarische Grenze trampen. Dabei stellen sie für sich selbst sogenannte „Daumenregeln“ auf, sie zelebrieren die Reise wie einen Wettbewerb: Geld ist tabu, übernachtet wird im Zelt und sobald ihnen eine Situation mulmig wird, flüchten sie. Brda sieht ihr Theaterstück als Statement zur aktuell disparaten Situation in Osteuropa.
 
Als Seelenverwandter von Ivas Heldinnen offenbarte sich Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, der selbst als junger Mann bis nach Marokko und Jugoslawien trampte: „Deutschland war wegen der Nazi-Verbrechen aus der Völkergemeinschaft ausgeschlossen, aber wir jungen Menschen wollten diese Situation ändern. In Frankreich wurde ich als ‚Boche’ tituliert.“ Aber es gab auch die Chance für persönliche Begegnungen und Differenzierung: „Die Einheimischen haben zwischen Menschen und Regierungen unterschieden.“

Dino Pešut, Foto: Stefan Hoyer Dino Pešut | Foto: Stefan Hoyer

„Die Perspektive von unten ist reichhaltiger“

Dino Pešut hat seinen Roman „Aufgeschürfte Knie“ in Berlin angesiedelt, denn dort lebt er selbst: Es geht um einen kroatischen, in Berlin lebenden Künstler, der eigentlich Schauspieler ist und sich als Illustrator von Kinderbüchern durchschlägt, diverse homosexuelle Beziehungen eingeht und schließlich in einen Amoklauf verwickelt wird. Pešut hat viele autobiografische Erfahrungen einfließen lassen. Wie definiert er seine Position als kroatischer, queerer Autor in Berlin? „Es ist für mich schwer, mich selbst zu verorten. Berlin ist das politische und kulturelle Zentrum der ganzen westlichen Welt und es ist nicht einfach, sich dort zu positionieren.“
Auf die Frage von Moderator Jürgen Jakob Becker vom Literarischen Colloquium Berlin, ob er sich als Autor in Berlin und Zagreb anders fühlen, sich in Berlin gar als No-Name-Autor wahrnehmen würde, erwidert Pešut, dass er sich durchaus unterschiedlich in beiden Städten wahrnehme, denn „in erster Linie bin ich ein Migrant aus einer niederen mittleren Klasse, der nach Berlin gekommen ist. In Zagreb gehöre ich dagegen zur Mittelklasse.“ Diese „Klassenabsenkung“ könne einen durchaus depressiv machen, aber „die Perspektive von unten ist reichhaltiger, um sich als Schriftsteller zu betätigen.“ Brda sieht das ein wenig anders: „Ich bin nicht unten oder oben, eher in der Mitte.“
 
Sehen Brdar und Pešut in Kroatien und Serbien Einschränkungen für ihre Freiräume? „Formell existiert keine Zensur, wobei ich Glück mit meinem Herausgeber hatte, aber als Autor unterliegt man dem Diktat des Marktes, deshalb finde ich es schwer, von Schriftstellerautonomie zu sprechen“, sagt Pešut. Brdar sieht in Serbien keine offene Zensur für Schriftstellerinnen und Schriftsteller, aber eine andere Art von Zensur etwa im Theaterbetrieb, der sich finanziell an den Staat anlehne und so durchaus in Abhängigkeiten verstrickt sei.

Iva Brdar Iva Brdar | Foto: Stefan Hoyer

Schutzräume für Autorinnen und Autoren

Pešut und Brda sind wie ihre Romanhelden Suchende, die ihre Heimat verlassen haben, um sich als Autoren in Berlin niederzulassen. Doch man könne nicht riskieren, dass alle Künstlerinnen und Künstler, die neu denken, abwandern, um Berlin zu bereichern, betonte Lehmann. Das Goethe-Institut versucht deshalb mittlerweile, gezielt in kleineren Städten und abgelegenen Orten einen Diskurs zu schaffen, und will insbesondere in Osteuropa Schutzräume für verfolgte Autorinnen und Autoren gewährleisten. Beim Projekt „Wagnis der Erinnerung“ reisten etwa zwei Dutzend Autorinnen und Autoren unter anderem aus dem Kosovo, Albanien und Slowenien durch die Länder des Balkans. So schaffe man einen Diskurs in Ländern, die in „Sprachlosigkeit“ verfallen seien.