Contemporary and América Latina More Than a Magazine

The launch of C&AL in Bogotá, Colombia, 2018
The launch of C&AL in Bogotá, Colombia, 2018 | Photo: Jana Burbach

The online magazine Contemporary and América Latina (C&AL), published by the Goethe-Institut and the Institute for International Cultural Relations (ifa), offers critical reporting on contemporary art in Latin America. It is now celebrating its first anniversary.

 The online magazine Contemporary and América Latina (C&AL) focuses on Afro-Latin American and Indigenous contemporary artistic positions. These are clearly underrepresented in public discourse and in artistic institutions. With this profile, the magazine gives the readership dynamic and critical access to the artistic connections between Latin America, the Caribbean and Africa.The magazine was launched in April 2018 as the Latin American edition of the journal Contemporary and (C&), which has been investigating the links between Africa and its global diaspora since 2015. The editors-in-chief are Julia Grosse and Yvette Mutumba. The online magazine is published by the Goethe-Institut and the Institute for International Cultural Relations (ifa). On its first anniversary, we asked artists and curators from Latin America what they think is the magazine’s significance.

Uncovering parallel dynamics

Fabio Melecio Palacios, artist, lives in Palmira, Colombia:
 
"There are very few publications dealing with Afro-Latin American and Black artistic positions. These topics have always been associated with prejudices. Therefore C&AL is very important, as it is now possible to refer to artistic events as such and not as something exotic. This is the only way to inscribe us in the general critical and analytical discourse. It is certainly also interesting to trace parallels in the Afro perspective of different continents. Sometimes we think the dynamics are different, but they are actually very similar."

Fabio Melecio Palacio, performance “BMR” (“Bamba, martillo y refilón”), 2011. With the kind permission of the artist Fabio Melecio Palacio, performance “BMR” (“Bamba, martillo y refilón”), 2011. With the kind permission of the artist Aldeide Delgado, Cuban curator and author, lives in Miami:
 
"Since its launch, C&AL has been a platform of great reach and visibility on the South American continent. The magazine encourages critical analysis of the aesthetic positions of the Black and Indigenous communities. In addition, it initiates important discussions on South America’s crucial issues such as colonialism, power, identity and the term Latin America."

Making diverse voices audible

Rosana Paulino, artist, lives in São Paulo, Brazil:
 
"Already in its first year, I perceived C&AL as an important voice in conversation with other artists of the African diaspora. This is especially true for Brazil, the only Portuguese-speaking country in Latin America. Here most Black producers are not always fluent in English. Therefore, C&AL has taken on the role of bringing us Black Brazilian artists into contact with other production realities of the African diaspora and at the same time making the voices of Afro-Brazilian artists audible elsewhere."

Rosana Paulino, “A permanência das estruturas” (“The permanence of structures”). Digital print on fabric, cut and sewn, 2017. With the kind permission of the artist Rosana Paulino, “A permanência das estruturas” (“The permanence of structures”). Digital print on fabric, cut and sewn, 2017. With the kind permission of the artist

Bringing freshness and originality to the critical artistic scene

Adriana Bustos, artist, lives in Buenos Aires, Argentina:
 
"C&AL is more than a magazine – it’s a place where the contemporary artistic scene is viewed and reflected with a sharp, new eye. It is imperative to engage 'all over the planet' with this new 'Afro lens' – the perspective of African artistic positions – to understand the current tensions and dynamics in the world. There are still virtually no publications that show themselves socially and politically in this sense and thus overcome structural, historically conditioned censorship. That’s what makes C&AL so important."

Adriana Bustos, “El mar y sus múltiples afluentes” (“The sea and its many tributaries,” detail), part of the project “El retorno de lo reprimido” (“The return of the repressed”), 2017. With the kind permission of the artist. Adriana Bustos, “El mar y sus múltiples afluentes” (“The sea and its many tributaries,” detail), part of the project “El retorno de lo reprimido” (“The return of the repressed”), 2017. With the kind permission of the artist Hélio Menezes, Brazilian curator and anthropologist, lives in São Paulo, Brazil:
 
"C&AL has brought freshness and originality to Brazil’s critical artistic scene. Previously little-known artists are perceived and commented on by a broader audience due to the magazine’s articles. A publication medium like this one is absolutely necessary in times when the Brazilian art scene is suffering from cuts and censorship."

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Contemporary And América Latina
Mehr als ein Magazin

Startschuss für C&AL in Bogotá, Kolumbien, 2018
Startschuss für C&AL in Bogotá, Kolumbien, 2018 | Foto: Jana Burbach

Das Online-Magazin „Contemporary And América Latina (C&AL)“, herausgegeben vom Goethe-Institut und dem Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (ifa), berichtet kritisch über zeitgenössische Kunst in Lateinamerika. Jetzt feiert es sein einjähriges Bestehen.

Das Online-Magazin „Contemporary And América Latina (C&AL)“ konzentriert sich auf afro-lateinamerikanische und indigene, zeitgenössische künstlerische Positionen. Diese sind deutlich unterrepräsentiert im öffentlichen Diskurs und in künstlerischen Institutionen. Mit diesem Profil eröffnet das Magazin der Leserschaft einen dynamischen und kritischen Zugang zu den künstlerischen Verbindungen zwischen Lateinamerika, der Karibik und Afrika. Als lateinamerikanische Ausgabe der Zeitschrift „Contemporary And (C&)“, die seit 2015 die Verbindungen zwischen Afrika und seiner globalen Diaspora untersucht, wurde das Magazin im April 2018 gelauncht. Chefredakteurinnen sind Julia Grosse und Yvette Mutumba. Herausgegeben wird das Online-Magazin vom Goethe-Institut und vom Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (ifa). Zum einjährigen Bestehen haben wir Kunstschaffende sowie Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren aus Lateinamerika gefragt, welche Bedeutung das Magazin aus ihrer Sicht hat.

Parallele Dynamiken aufdecken

Fabio Melecio Palacios, Künstler, lebt in Palmira, Kolumbien:
 
„Es gibt nur sehr wenige Publikationen, die afro-lateinamerikanische und schwarze künstlerische Positionen zum Gegenstand haben. Diese Themen waren und sind immer mit Vorurteilen verbunden. Daher ist ,C&AL‘ sehr wichtig, denn jetzt ist es möglich, auf künstlerische Ereignisse als solche zu verweisen und nicht als etwas Exotisches. Nur so gelingt es, uns in den allgemeinen kritischen und analytischen Diskurs einzuschreiben. Es ist bestimmt auch interessant, Parallelen in der Afro-Perspektive verschiedener Kontinente nachzuspüren. Manchmal glauben wir, die Dynamiken seien unterschiedlich, dabei sind sie sich eigentlich sehr ähnlich.“ 

Fabio Melecio Palacio, Performance „BMR“ („Bamba, martillo y refilón“), 2011 Fabio Melecio Palacio, Performance „BMR“ („Bamba, martillo y refilón“), 2011 | Mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Künstlers Aldeide Delgado, kubanische Kuratorin und Autorin, lebt in Miami:
 
„,C&AL‘ ist seit seinem Start eine Plattform von großer Reichweite und Sichtbarkeit auf dem südamerikanischen Kontinent. Das Magazin regt die kritische Analyse zu ästhetischen Positionen der schwarzen und indigenen Community an. Darüber hinaus initiiert es wichtige Diskussionen über in Südamerika so entscheidende Fragen wie Kolonialität, Macht, Identität und den Begriff Lateinamerika.“

Vielfältige Stimmen hörbar machen

Rosana Paulino, Künstlerin, lebt in São Paulo, Brasilien:
 
„Ich habe ,C&AL‘ bereits in seinem ersten Jahr als eine wichtige Stimme im Gespräch mit anderen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern der afrikanischen Diaspora wahrgenommen. Das gilt besonders auch für Brasilien, dem einzigen portugiesischsprachigen Land Lateinamerikas. Hier ist es so, dass die meisten schwarzen Produzentinnen und Produzenten nicht immer fließend Englischen sprechen. Daher hat ,C&AL‘ die Funktion übernommen, uns schwarze brasilianische Kunstschaffende in Kontakt mit anderen Produktionsrealitäten der afrikanischen Diaspora zu bringen und gleichzeitig die Stimmen afrobrasilianischer Künstlerinnen und Künstler auch andernorts hörbar zu machen.“

Rosana Paulino, „A permanência das estruturas“ („Die Dauerhaftigkeit der Strukturen“). Digitaldruck auf Stoff, geschnitten und vernäht, 2017 Rosana Paulino, „A permanência das estruturas“ („Die Dauerhaftigkeit der Strukturen“). Digitaldruck auf Stoff, geschnitten und vernäht, 2017 | Mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Künstlerin

Frische und Originalität in die künstlerisch-kritische Szene bringen

Adriana Bustos, Künstlerin, lebt in Buenos Aires, Argentinien:

„,C&AL‘ ist mehr als ein Magazin – es ist ein Ort, an dem die zeitgenössische künstlerische Szene mit einem scharfen, neuen Blick gesehen und reflektiert wird. Es ist unumgänglich, sich ,auf dem ganzen Planeten‘ auf diese neue ,Afro-Linse‘, also die Perspektive der afrikanischen künstlerischen Positionen, einzulassen, um die aktuellen Spannungen und Dynamiken in der Welt zu verstehen. Es gibt immer noch so gut wie keine Publikationen, die sich in diesem Sinne sozial und politisch zeigen und so die strukturelle, historisch bedingte Zensur überwinden. Das macht ,C&AL‘ so wichtig.“

Adriana Bustos, „El mar y sus múltiples afluentes“ („Das Meer und seine zahlreichen Zuflüsse“, Detail), Teil des Projekts „El retorno de lo reprimido“ („Die Rückkehr des Unterdrückten“), 2017 Adriana Bustos, „El mar y sus múltiples afluentes“ („Das Meer und seine zahlreichen Zuflüsse“, Detail), Teil des Projekts „El retorno de lo reprimido“ („Die Rückkehr des Unterdrückten“), 2017 | Mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Künstlerin Hélio Menezes, brasilianischer Kurator und Anthropologe, lebt in São Paulo, Brasilien:
 
„,C&AL‘ hat Frische und Originalität in Brasiliens künstlerisch-kritische Szene gebracht. Bislang wenig bekannte Künstlerinnen und Künstler werden durch die Beiträge des Magazins von einem breiteren Publikum wahrgenommen und kommentiert. In Zeiten, in denen die brasilianische Kunstszene unter Kürzungen und Zensur leidet, ist ein Publikationsmedium wie dieses absolut notwendig.“
 

Top