German-Norwegian Literature Festival “On the Way to Frankfurt” The Blue Sofa Phenomenon

Norway is the Guest of Honour at this year’s Frankfurter Buchmesse. From 26 to 28 April 2019, the German-Norwegian literature festival On the Way to Frankfurt at the Litteraturhuset in offered a foretaste
Norway is the Guest of Honour at this year’s Frankfurter Buchmesse. From 26 to 28 April 2019, the German-Norwegian literature festival On the Way to Frankfurt at the Litteraturhuset in offered a foretaste | Photo: Karina Gravdahl

The influence of traditional literary criticism on the book market is dwindling. Entertainment rather than analysis is in demand. At the German-Norwegian literature festival On the Way to Frankfurt, the question arose whether cultural criticism was facing a crisis.

A big crowd showed up this Saturday afternoon at Oslo’s Litteraturhuset (House of Literature) for the Austrian writer Christoph Ransmayr’s appearance at the German-Norwegian literature festival. Ransmayr made a name for himself in Norway with his first novels, published in the late 1980s, The Terrors of Ice and Darkness and The Last World, and yet regular translations of his new books are not guaranteed. When the moderator, Norwegian writer Erik Fosnes Hansen, introduces Ransmayr’s translator Sverre Dahl to the stage, Hansen first talks about how Dahl translated Ransmayr’s most recent 2016 novel Cox oder Der Lauf der Zeit on his own initiative and without any commission or payment. Now the book could “perhaps” be issued in Norway in autumn; at least a publisher has been found. Ransmayr briefly interjects that a “perhaps” would directly raise the question, say, in China of “in what century?” In any case, he suggests that fifty percent of the royalties should go to Dahl.

The Austrian writer Christoph Ransmayr (right) speaking with Erik Fosnes Hansen (left) and Sverre Dahl (centre) The Austrian writer Christoph Ransmayr (right) speaking with Erik Fosnes Hansen (left) and Sverre Dahl (centre) | Photo: Karina Gravdahl

Uneven interest

This translation story was more a marginal note on the podium, which otherwise revolved exclusively around the Austrian writer’s literature, and yet it is indicative of the little-pronounced interest of Norwegians in German-speaking contemporary literature. Whether on the terrace outside the Litteraturhuset, whether in discussions in the halls or at the opening of the festival on Friday evening in the presence of the Norwegian Crown Princess Mette Marit, mention was often made of how successful Norwegian literature was in Germany – for example books by Karl-Ove Knausgård, Maja Lunde or Jo Nesbø – and how many books from Norway are being translated into German for the guest appearance at the upcoming Frankfurt Book Fair, namely 280. Conversely, not even 20 books are being translated from German into Norwegian this year, one of which is surprisingly Simon Strauss’s debut Seven Nights. Erik Fosnes Hansen therefore came up with the idea of ​​hosting a German-Norwegian literature festival before the book fair to promote German-language literature in Norway – a novelty in the history of guest country appearances at the Frankfurt Book Fair. Co-organised by, among others, the Goethe-Institut, the Willy Brandt Foundation and the Norwegian Non-fiction Writers and Translators Association and with Erik Fosnes Hansen as director and curator of the festival, forty authors from the German-speaking world and fifty from Norway met on this last weekend of April  for readings, discussions or over a cup of coffee or a glass of wine in the bars of the four-storey Litteraturhuset, the largest in Europe. 

Crown Princess Mette Marit and Crown Prince Haakon in front of the Litteraturhuset Crown Princess Mette Marit and Crown Prince Haakon in front of the Litteraturhuset | Photo: Karina Gravdahl

Seeing changed reception behaviour as a new opportunity

The fact that the literature in the two languages is quite similar, also in how it deals with certain social and political developments, was repeatedly observed and heard. The same is true of the reception of literature. “Is art criticism facing a crisis?” was the title of a debate between the writer Theresia Enzensberger, literary mediator Thomas Böhm, the Germanist Henrik Keyser Pedersen and the literary critic and NRK radio journalist Knut Hoem. None of them agreed that there is a “crisis,” but all agreed on the diagnosis: The influence of traditional literary criticism on the book market is quite minor and hardly influences book sales. Moreover, its nature has changed enormously, in Germany as well as in Norway, not least because digitalisation has produced many new communication media such as podcasts and blogs.

“Is art criticism facing a crisis?” was the subject of discussion between Helge Rønning, Knut Hoem, Theresia Enzensberger, Thomas Böhm and Henrik Keyser Pedersen (left to right) “Is art criticism facing a crisis?” was the subject of discussion between Helge Rønning, Knut Hoem, Theresia Enzensberger, Thomas Böhm and Henrik Keyser Pedersen (left to right) | Photo: Karina Gravdahl

Critics are becoming entertainers

Pedersen spoke of the “blue sofa phenomenon,” of critics transforming into entertainers. Hoem added that strong political opinions and commentaries are in demand on the Internet, but that analytical, quite opinionated literary criticism differs from that quite a bit. Many blogs are merely reading recommendations since they are more about how reading literature makes the bloggers feel, their personal opinions, than about analytical reflection. Nevertheless, the group mentioned high-quality online criticism portals such as literaturkritik.de and nachtkritik.de for theatre. In the end, everyone agreed that changed reception behaviour in the digital age should always be seen as an opportunity. Intelligent literary criticism has never been a detriment to literature.

Deutsch-norwegisches Literaturfestival „Auf dem Weg nach Frankfurt“ Das Blaue-Sofa-Phänomen

Norwegen ist Ehrengast der diesjährigen Frankfurter Buchmesse. Einen Vorgeschmack bot vom 26. bis 28. April 2019 das deutsch-norwegische Literaturfestival „Auf dem Weg nach Frankfurt“ im Literaturhaus Oslo
Norwegen ist Ehrengast der diesjährigen Frankfurter Buchmesse. Einen Vorgeschmack bot vom 26. bis 28. April 2019 das deutsch-norwegische Literaturfestival „Auf dem Weg nach Frankfurt“ im Literaturhaus Oslo | Foto: Karina Gravdahl

Der Einfluss der klassischen Literaturkritik auf den Buchmarkt schwindet. Statt Analyse ist Entertainment gefragt. Auf dem deutsch-norwegischen Literaturfestival „Auf dem Weg nach Frankfurt“ stellte sich die Frage, ob die Kulturkritik vor einer Krise steht.

Es herrscht großer Andrang an diesem Samstagnachmittag in Oslos Literaturhaus, als auf dem deutsch-norwegischen Literaturfestival der österreichische Schriftsteller Christoph Ransmayr auftritt. Mit seinen ersten, Ende der achtziger Jahre veröffentlichten Romanen „Die Schrecken des Eises und der Finsternis“ und „Die letzte Welt“ hat sich Ransmayr auch in Norwegen einen Namen gemacht, und doch sind die regelmäßigen Übersetzungen seiner jeweils neuen Bücher keine Selbstverständlichkeit. Als der Moderator, der norwegische Schriftsteller Erik Fosnes Hansen, den ebenfalls auf der Bühne sitzenden Ransmayr-Übersetzer Sverre Dahl vorstellt, erzählt Hansen erst einmal, wie Dahl aus eigener Initiative und ganz ohne Auftrag oder finanzielle Zuwendungen Ransmayrs jüngsten, 2016 erschienenen Roman „Cox oder Der Lauf der Zeit“ übersetzt hat. Nun werde das Buch „vielleicht“ im Herbst in Norwegen erscheinen, ein Verlag jedenfalls wurde gefunden. Was Ransmayr kurz einwerfen lässt, das dieses „vielleicht“ beispielsweise in China sofort die Frage aufwerfen würde: „In welchem Jahrhundert denn?“ Er schlage jedenfalls vor, dass die Tantiemen dann zu fünfzig Prozent an Dahl gingen.

Der österreichische Schriftsteller Christoph Ransmayr (rechts im Bild) im Gespräch mit Erik Fosnes Hansen (links im Bild) und Sverre Dahl (Bildmitte) Der österreichische Schriftsteller Christoph Ransmayr (rechts im Bild) im Gespräch mit Erik Fosnes Hansen (links im Bild) und Sverre Dahl (Bildmitte) | Foto: Karina Gravdahl

Das ungleiche Interesse

Diese Übersetzungsgeschichte war mehr eine Randnotiz auf dem Podium, das sich ansonsten ausschließlich um die Literatur des österreichischen Schriftstellers drehte - und doch ist sie bezeichnend für das nicht besonders ausgeprägte Interesse der Norweger an deutschsprachiger Gegenwartsliteratur. Ob auf der Terrasse draußen vor dem Literaturhaus, ob in Gesprächen in den einzelnen Sälen oder bei der Eröffnung des Festivals am Freitagabend im Beisein der norwegischen Kronzprinzessin Mette Marit: Immer wieder wurde erwähnt, wie erfolgreich die norwegische Literatur unter anderem mit Karl-Ove Knausgård, Maja Lunde oder Jo Nesbø gerade in Deutschland sei, wie viele Bücher aus Norwegen im Rahmen des Gastlandauftrittes bei der kommenden Frankfurter Buchmesse ins Deutsche übersetzt werden, nämlich 280. Und wie sich das umgekehrt mit Übersetzungen aus dem Deutschen ins Norwegische dieses Jahr verhalte, nicht einmal zwanzig gebe es, darunter überraschenderweise Simon Strauß‘ Debüt „Sieben Nächte“. So kam Erik Fosnes Hansen auf die Idee, vor der Buchmesse ein deutsch-norwegisches Literaturfestival auszurichten, um die deutschsprachige Literatur in Norwegen bekannter zu machen – ein Novum auch in der Geschichte der Gastlandauftritte der Frankfurter Buchmesse. Organisiert unter anderem vom Goethe-Institut, der Willy-Brandt-Stiftung und der Vereinigung norwegischer Sachbuchautoren und Übersetzer und mit Erik Fosnes Hansen als Leiter und Kurator des Festivals, trafen dann an diesem letzten April-Wochenende vierzig Autoren und Autorinnen aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum und fünfzig aus Norwegen aufeinander, bei Lesungen, Diskussionsrunden oder einfach bei einem Kaffee oder einem Glas Wein in den Bars des mit seinen vier Etagen größten Literaturhauses in Europa. 

Kronprinzessin Mette Marit und Kronprinz Haakon vor dem Literaturhaus Kronprinzessin Mette Marit und Kronprinz Haakon vor dem Literaturhaus | Foto: Karina Gravdahl

Das gewandelte Rezeptionsverhalten als neue Chance begreifen

Dass sich beide Literaturen durchaus nahestehen, auch im Umgang mit bestimmten gesellschaftlichen und politischen Entwicklungen, ließ sich dabei immer wieder beobachten und heraushören. Nicht anders verhält sich das mit der Rezeption von Literatur. „Steht die Kulturkritik vor einer Krise?“ hieß eine Debattenrunde, an der auf deutscher Seite die Schriftstellerin Theresia Enzensberger und der Literaturvermittler Thomas Böhm teilnahmen, auf norwegischer der Germanist Henrik Keyser Pedersen und der Literaturkritiker und NRK-Radiojournalist Knut Hoem. Von einer „Krise“ wollte keiner der Beteiligten reden. Doch in der Diagnose waren sich alle einig: Der Einfluss der klassischen Literaturkritik auf den Buchmarkt ist ein nur noch geringer, der Verkauf von Büchern wird von ihr kaum noch beeinflusst. Überdies hat sich ihr Wesen enorm gewandelt, in Deutschland wie in Norwegen, nicht zuletzt weil es durch die Digitalisierung viele neue mediale Vermittlungsformen wie Podcasts und Blogs gibt.

„Steht die Kulturkritik vor einer Krise?“ Darüber diskutierten Helge Rønning, Knut Hoem, Theresia Enzensberger, Thomas Böhm und Henrik Keyser Pedersen (v.l.n.r.) „Steht die Kulturkritik vor einer Krise?“ Darüber diskutierten Helge Rønning, Knut Hoem, Theresia Enzensberger, Thomas Böhm und Henrik Keyser Pedersen (v.l.n.r.) | Foto: Karina Gravdahl

Kritiker werden zu Entertainern

Vom „Blauen-Sofa-Phänomen“ sprach Pedersen, davon, dass Kritiker sich mehr und mehr zu Entertainern gewandelt hätten – und Hoem assistierte, dass im Netz bekanntermaßen starke politische Meinungen und Kommentare gefragt seien, aber eine analytische, durchaus meinungsstarke Literaturkritik sich davon trotzdem sehr unterscheide. Viele Blogs hätten nur mehr Empfehlungscharakter, da ginge es mehr um die Gefühle beim Lesen von Literatur, das persönliche Empfinden, nicht um analytische Reflektion. Trotzdem fielen in der Runde dann auch die Namen von Online-Kritik-Portalen, die es gut machten, sei es literaturkritik.de, sei es nachtkritik.de fürs Theater. Weshalb sich am Ende ebenfalls alle einig darüber waren, dass das gewandelte Rezeptionsverhalten im digitalen Zeitalter immer auch als Chance zu begreifen sei. Eine intelligente, auf der Höhe der Diskurse argumentierende Literaturkritik war schließlich noch nie zum Schaden der Literatur.