Postcolonialism Listening to One Another

Dance performance “The Mourning Citizen” by Trixie Munyama in Windhoek
Dance performance “The Mourning Citizen” by Trixie Munyama in Windhoek | Photo: Themba Dredz Mbuli

There is a debate on post-colonialism being conducted in Germany more vigorously than ever before. The Goethe-Institut is tackling the topic in a series of projects, thus providing a platform for those voices from the countries of origin that are still not heard often enough.

Whether at the recent symposium in Senegal or at the Museum Talks in South Africa, Burkina Faso, Rwanda and Ghana - it’s about listening to one another – especially when it comes to critically reappraising the colonial era.

Material and immaterial heritage

In late November, Felwine Sarr and Bénédicte Savoy published their report “The Restitution of African Cultural Heritage. Toward a New Relational Ethics.” Four months later, the Goethe-Institut Senegal and its local partners organised a high-calibre symposium at the Musée des Civilisations Noires. Titled Patrimoine matériel, immatériel et altérité (Material and Immaterial Heritage and Otherness), over 150 participants from more than ten countries discussed the possibilities, limitations and requirements surrounding the topics of restitution and museums. “So the challenge is to rethink the museum, its functions, its locations, its discourses, and to regain its heritage both in terms of its materiality and its significance,” said Felwine Sarr in his opening address.

The range of contributions showed how broad the debate must be conceived and conducted – and how important the exchange between the discourses in Africa and Europe is. “The idea is to have these discussions here, because it’s about rethinking the relationship between Africa and Europe. We would also like to articulate the debates here that are taking place in Europe. That explains the cooperation with the Goethe-Institut,” continued Felwine Sarr.

Secretary-General Johannes Ebert during the symposium „Patrimoine matériel, immatériel et altérité“ in the Musée des Civilisations Noires Secretary-General Johannes Ebert during the symposium „Patrimoine matériel, immatériel et altérité“ in the Musée des Civilisations Noires | Photo: Stéphanie Nikolaïdis

Legal and historical evaluation of colonial injustice

Bringing together the discourses in Europe and Africa was also the aim of the symposium Colonial Injustice – Addressing Past Wrongs in Windhoek, which focused on the genocide of the Ovaherero and Nama peoples during the German colonial era. In addition to many Nama and Ovaherero, German-speaking and other Namibians as well as guests from Germany, South Africa and the USA accepted the invitation of the Goethe-Institut Namibia and its Berlin partners, the European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR) and the Akademie der Künste Berlin. A professional audience from academia and culture, activism and journalism was present including Zed Ngavirue, special envoy of the Namibian government. The panels and debates focused on the legal and historical assessment of the colonial injustices that occurred more than 100 years ago and the role of the arts in the reconciliation process. The finale was the dance performance “The Mourning Citizen” by Trixie Munyama.

Open wounds

The symposium was one of the few occasions when German-speaking Namibians, Nama and Ovaherero met directly to talk about the open wounds of the past. Many basic comments made it evident that this exchange has not found sufficient space in the past. For example, the Ovaherero activist Brian Black emphasised that he was concerned that a 115-year-old crime had been hushed up, and he also missed the support of his own government. Namibia’s raison d'état is still focused on the liberation struggle from the South African occupiers and leaves little room for a broad social debate on the German colonial era.

The symposium at the Goethe-Institut clearly demonstrated the need to intensify civil society discourse in order to advance the dialogue within Namibia and also to accompany the negotiation process between Germany and Namibia. Further formats are now being developed together with the Namibian partners in order to constructively confront the dramatic events that took place during the German colonial era – for example through the proposal of the Minister of Education to teach them in history lessons at the schools in Namibia.

Johannes Odenthal, Isabel Katjavivi, Nelago Shilongo and NoNtobeko Ntombela (left to right) during the symposium at the Goethe-Institut Namibia Johannes Odenthal, Isabel Katjavivi, Nelago Shilongo and NoNtobeko Ntombela (left to right) during the symposium at the Goethe-Institut Namibia | Photo: Themba Dredz Mbuli

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Postkolonialismus
Einander zuhören

Tanzperformance „The Mourning Citizen“ von Trixie Munyama in Windhoek
Tanzperformance „The Mourning Citizen“ von Trixie Munyama in Windhoek | Foto: Themba Dredz Mbuli

In Deutschland wird eine Debatte über den Postkolonialismus geführt so lebhaft wie nie zuvor. Das Goethe-Institut nimmt sich des Themas in einer Reihe von Projekten an – und bietet damit eine Plattform für jene Stimmen aus den Herkunftsländern, die noch zu selten gehört werden.

Von Dr. Joachim Bernauer, Daniel Stoevesandt, Philip Küppers

Ob wie erst kürzlich auf einem Symposium im Senegal oder bei den „Museumsgesprächen“ in Südafrika, Burkina Faso, Ruanda und Ghana – es geht darum, einander zuzuhören. Insbesondere dann, wenn es um die kritische Aufarbeitung der Kolonialzeit geht.

Materielles und immaterielles Erbe

Ende November veröffentlichten Felwine Sarr und Bénédicte Savoy ihren Bericht „The Restitution of African Cultural Heritage. Toward a New Relational Ethics“. Vier Monate später organisierte das Goethe-Institut Senegal und seine lokalen Partner ein hochkarätig besetztes Symposium im Musée des Civilisations Noires. Unter dem Titel „Patrimoine matériel, immatériel et altérité“ („Materielles und immaterielles Erbe und Anderssein“) diskutierten über 150 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer aus mehr als zehn Ländern die Möglichkeiten, Grenzen und Erfordernisse rund um die Themenfelder Restitution und Museen. „Die Herausforderung besteht also darin, das Museum, seine Funktionen, seine Orte, seine Diskursivitäten zu überdenken und das Erbe sowohl in Bezug auf seine Materialität als auch auf seine Bedeutung zurückzugewinnen“, sagte Felwine Sarr in seinem Eröffnungsvortrag.

Das Spektrum der Beiträge führte vor Augen, wie breit die Debatte gedacht und geführt werden muss – und wie wichtig der Austausch zwischen den Diskursen in Afrika und Europa ist. „Die Idee ist, diese Diskussionen auch hier bei uns zu führen, denn es geht darum, das Verhältnis zwischen Afrika und Europa zu überdenken. Auch die Debatten, die in Europa stattfinden, möchten wir hier artikulieren. Das erklärt die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut“, so Felwine Sarr weiter.

Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert während des Symposiums „Patrimoine matériel, immatériel et altérité“ („Materielles und immaterielles Erbe und Anderssein“) im Musée des Civilisations Noires Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert während des Symposiums „Patrimoine matériel, immatériel et altérité“ („Materielles und immaterielles Erbe und Anderssein“) im Musée des Civilisations Noires | Foto: Stéphanie Nikolaïdis

Juristische und historische Bewertung kolonialen Unrechts

Die Diskurse in Europa und Afrika zusammenzuführen war auch das Ziel des Symposiums „Koloniales (Un-) Recht und Aufarbeitung“ in Windhoek, in dessen Mittelpunkt der Völkermord an den Herero und Nama während der deutschen Kolonialzeit stand. Neben vielen Nama und Herero waren auch deutschsprachige und weitere Namibier sowie Gäste aus Deutschland, Südafrika und den USA der Einladung des Goethe-Instituts Namibia und seiner Berliner Partner – des European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR) und der Akademie der Künste – gefolgt. Anwesend war ein Fachpublikum aus Wissenschaft und Kultur, Aktivismus und Journalismus, darunter auch Zed Ngavirue, Sondergesandter der namibischen Regierung. Der Schwerpunkt der Panels und Debatten lag dabei auf der juristischen und historischen Bewertung des vor über 100 Jahren geschehenen kolonialen Unrechts und der Rolle der Künste im Versöhnungsprozess. Den Abschluss bildete die Tanzperformance „The Mourning Citizen“ von Trixie Munyama.

Offene Wunden

Das Symposium war eine der wenigen Gelegenheiten, bei der sich deutschsprachige Namibier, Nama und Herero direkt begegneten und über die offenen Wunden der Vergangenheit ins Gespräch kamen. Dass dieser Austausch bisher viel zu wenig Raum findet, zeigte sich an zahlreichen grundlegenden Kommentaren. So betonte etwa der Herero-Aktivist Brian Black, ihm gehe es darum, dass ein 115 Jahre zurückliegendes Verbrechen bisher totgeschwiegen wurde und er dabei auch die Unterstützung seiner eigenen Regierung vermisse. Namibias Staatsräson stütze sich immer noch auf den Befreiungskampf von den südafrikanischen Besatzern und lasse bisher wenig Raum für eine breite gesellschaftliche Debatte über die deutsche Kolonialzeit. 

Das Symposium im Goethe-Institut zeigte deutlich die Notwendigkeit, den zivilgesellschaftlichen Diskurs zu intensivieren, um den Austausch innerhalb Namibias voranzubringen und auch um den Verhandlungsprozess zwischen Deutschland und Namibia zu begleiten. Gemeinsam mit den namibischen Partnern werden nun weitere Formate entwickelt, um die Auseinandersetzung mit den dramatischen Ereignissen während der deutschen Kolonialzeit konstruktiv zu gestalten – etwa durch den Vorschlag der Bildungsministerin, sie künftig auch im Geschichtsunterricht an den Schulen in Namibia zu behandeln.
 

Top