Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Launch of the theme year Humboldt y las Américas in Bogotá
Humboldt’s Legacy

„Ailleurs: Soacha“ by Jose Luis Bongore
„Ailleurs: Soacha“ by Jose Luis Bongore | Photo: Halim Badawi

With his realisation that “Everything is interconnectedness,” Alexander von Humboldt was far ahead of his time. Latin America is now celebrating the 250th anniversary of the German naturalist with the theme year Humboldt y las Américas. The opening event took place on 8 May with the exhibition The Nature of Things: Humboldt, Comings and Goings coproduced Goethe-Institut Colombia.

By Leidy Castaño

In Colombia, the exhibition The Nature of Things: Humboldt, Comings and Goings is at the centre of the Humboldt tribute. Halim Badawi is the curator of this coproduction by the Goethe-Institut Colombia and the Department of Cultural Heritage of the Universidad Nacional de Colombia. Badawi divided the exhibition into seven dialogues and one epilogue, offering a tour of the four halls of the art museum of the Universidad Nacional de Colombia. About 100 works by more than 40 artists from the past and present enter into a dialogue with Humboldt’s visual tradition. Although this is not treated in art history, we still find striking traces in today’s art of the Humboldt tradition, as Badawi points out.

“Quindío Pass” by José Alejandro “Quindío Pass” by José Alejandro | Photo: Urniator Studio

Humanity and the environment

Contemporary artists who were commissioned for the exhibition include the Colombians José Alejandro Restrepo, Liliana Sánchez, Carlos Motta, Antonio Bermúdez and David Guarnizo, and the Spaniard José Luis Bongore. The careful selection of artists conveys some of Humboldt’s most important ideas around “the experience of nature, the relationship between humanity and the environment,” as the curator explains. At the same time it shows how enlightened science and the idea of development also appear in neo-colonial contexts and economic activities that are directed against life, against humanity and nature.


Visitors in front of the illustration of the Chimborazo from Vues des Cordillères by Alexander von Humboldt Visitors in front of the illustration of the Chimborazo from Vues des Cordillères by Alexander von Humboldt | Photo: Urniator Studio

A decolonial point of view

Based on these considerations, the international performing arts platform Experimenta/Sur was invited to be part of the exhibition with a project inspired by Humboldt. For the eighth time, Experimenta/Sur was organised by the Goethe-Institut Colombia and Mapa Teatro, supported by the Siemens Foundation and the Colombian Ministry of Culture. More than thirty participants, working on the scientific, visual and literary heritage of Humboldt, were inspired by the contributions of other artists represented in the exhibition. They also thought about what was not said about Humboldt, and made critical and bold contributions to a comprehensive reinterpretation of the discourse on the connection between nature and being.

“The Carrier”: A performance by Jean Carlos Lucumi “The Carrier”: A performance by Jean Carlos Lucumi | Photo: Urniator Studio This task given to the sculptural, performing and visual arts in dialogue with Humboldt’s legacy challenged the artists to rethink the relationship between art, science and nature from a decolonial point of view. This called the logics of capitalist and hetero-patriarchal supremacy into question.

“Materials of Premonition” by Jorge Barco “Materials of Premonition” by Jorge Barco | Photo: Urniator Studio

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Auftakt Themenjahr „Humboldt y las Américas“ in Bogotá
Humboldts Erbe

„Ailleurs: Soacha“ von Jose Luis Bongore
„Ailleurs: Soacha“ von Jose Luis Bongore | Foto: Halim Badawi

Mit seiner Erkenntnis, dass „alles mit allem zusammenhängt“, war Alexander von Humboldt seiner Zeit weit voraus. Lateinamerika feiert nun mit dem Themenjahr „Humboldt y las Américas“ den 250. Geburtstag des deutschen Naturforschers. Den Auftakt machte am 8. Mai die vom Goethe-Institut Kolumbien koproduzierte Ausstellung „Die Natur der Dinge: Humboldt, Kommen und Gehen“.

Von Leidy Castaño

In Kolumbien steht die Ausstellung „Die Natur der Dinge: Humboldt, Kommen und Gehen“ im Zentrum der Humboldt-Hommage. Kurator dieser Koproduktion des Goethe-Instituts Kolumbien und der Abteilung für Kulturerbe der Nationalen Universität von Kolumbien ist Halim Badawi. Er hat die Ausstellung in sieben Dialoge und einen Epilog unterteilt und bietet damit einen Rundgang durch die vier Säle des Kunstmuseums der Nationalen Universität von Kolumbien. Etwa 100 Werke von über 40 Kunstschaffenden aus Vergangenheit und Gegenwart treten hier in einen Dialog mit der Humboldt’schen visuellen Tradition. Auch wenn diese zwar in der Kunstgeschichte nicht behandelt wird, weist die Humboldt’sche Tradition in der heutigen Kunst dennoch markante Spuren auf, wie Badawi herausstellt.

„Quindío-Paß“ von José Alejandro „Quindío-Paß“ von José Alejandro | Foto: Urniator Studio

Mensch und Umwelt

Unter den zeitgenössischen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern sind insbesondere die Kolumbianer José Alejandro Restrepo, Liliana Sánchez, Carlos Motta, Antonio Bermúdez und David Guarnizo sowie der Spanier José Luis Bongore zu nennen, die Auftragswerke für die Ausstellung schufen. Durch die sorgfältige Auswahl an Kunstschaffenden werden einige der wichtigsten Gedanken Humboldts rund um „die Erfahrung der Natur, die Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Umwelt“ vermittelt, wie der Kurator erzählt. Gleichzeitig wird gezeigt, wie die aufgeklärte Wissenschaft und der Entwicklungsgedanke auch in neokolonialen Zusammenhängen und Wirtschaftsaktivitäten in Erscheinung treten, die sich gegen das Leben, gegen Mensch und Natur richten.

Besucher vor der Abbildung des Chimborazo, aus: „Vues des Cordillères“ von Alexander von Humboldt Besucher vor der Abbildung des Chimborazo, aus: „Vues des Cordillères“ von Alexander von Humboldt | Foto: Urniator Studio

Eine dekoloniale Perspektive

Aus diesen Überlegungen heraus wurde die internationale Plattform für darstellende Künste Experimenta/Sur eingeladen, mit einem an Humboldt inspirierten Projekt Teil der Ausstellung zu sein. Bereits zum achten Mal wurde Experimenta/Sur vom Goethe-Institut Kolumbien und Mapa Teatro organisiert und dabei von der Siemens-Stiftung und dem kolumbianischen Kulturministerium unterstützt. Über dreißig Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer, die sich mit dem wissenschaftlichen, visuellen und literarischen Erbe Humboldts beschäftigten, ließen sich von den Beiträgen anderer in der Ausstellung vertretener Künstler inspirieren. Sie dachten auch darüber nach, was nicht über Humboldt gesagt wurde, und gelangten mit kritischen und kühnen Beiträgen zu einer umfassenden Neuinterpretation der Diskurse über die Verbindung zwischen Natur und Sein.

„Der Träger“: Eine Performance von Jean Carlos Lucumi „Der Träger“: Eine Performance von Jean Carlos Lucumi | Foto: Urniator Studio Diese Aufgabe, die den plastischen, darstellenden und visuellen Künsten im Dialog mit dem Humboldt’schen Erbe gestellt war, forderte die Künstlerinnen und Künstler dazu auf, die Beziehung zwischen Kunst, Wissenschaft und Natur aus einer dekolonialen Perspektive zu überdenken. Dabei wurden die Logiken kapitalistischer und heteropatriarchaler Vorherrschaft infrage gestellt.

„Materialien der Vorahnung“ von Jorge Barco „Materialien der Vorahnung“ von Jorge Barco | Foto: Urniator Studio

Top