Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

“Enter Africa” at A MAZE. / Berlin
Action games through Africa

The “Enter Africa“ Team at A MAZE. / Berlin in April 2019
The “Enter Africa“ Team at A MAZE. / Berlin in April 2019 | Photo: Evelia Essenam Gadegbeku, member of „Enter Africa“ Ouagadougou

For the first time, the creative African network “Enter Africa” had the possibility to present itself on the European gaming stage. Supported by Goethe-Institutes in Africa, members of the individual “Enter Africa” teams showcased their 15 location-based games at the A MAZE. / Berlin.

By Nina Fink

During his opening speech, A MAZE. / Berlin festival director Thorsten Wiedemann explicitly mentioned Enter Africa and expressed his thankfulness and excitement for hosting the young game developers: Consisting of 15 different African nationalities, the team presented its current games. They took the audience on a journey through different places in Africa and showed the history and design of the games.

Matthew Hansen from “Enter Africa” Accra presents their location-based game “The Chronicles of Klinu” Matthew Hansen from “Enter Africa” Accra presents their location-based game “The Chronicles of Klinu” | Photo: Andy Katambwe, Mitglied von "Enter Africa“ Kinshasa

Prejudices and stereotypes

Many exhibitors and visitors engaged in discussions with the team of “Enter Africa” about their ideas behind the games, technical aspects or what the “African” of African stories is. It soon became very clear that there is a lack of knowledge about Africa – be it politics, culture, or industries – and prejudices and stereotypes are still prevailing in the media and the general picture about the continent. However, there is a growing appetite and big eagerness from both sides to change these perceptions.

“People really want to know more about Africa and I mean they want to know more about African Stories, African tales, etc. They are really looking forward to see this project succeed, they want that Africa take his place in the game industry.” Abdou Aziz Sall, “Enter Africa” Dakar

Those discussions were deepened during the workshops “Enter Africa” offered: Topics discussed ranged from future cooperation possibilities, about the chances and challenges of being an Indie Game Developer in Africa, and finally how to fight stereotypes and create own characters to bring African stories back to the continent.

Interested visitors and exhibitors engaged in intesive discussions about African Storytelling and the African gaming industry Interested visitors and exhibitors engaged in intesive discussions about African Storytelling and the African gaming industry | Photo: Evelia Essenam Gadegbeku, member of “Enter Africa” Ouagadougou

A group of magic minds

The participation at A MAZE. / Berlin showed that “Enter Africa” still has a long road ahead of itself, regarding both its presentation at Gamescom in August 2019 as well as the future of the network as a whole. Nevertheless, the great potential of Enter Africa was visible to everyone.

“Enter Africa has unified a small group of magic minds and can therefore do the same even on a larger scale. We have to keep on going because this is what we have all been longing for, a platform where all African stories and experiences can be told.” Laurean Ntaate, Enter Africa Kampala

The “Enter Africa” representatives celebrated with festival director Thorsten Wiedemann their success at A MAZE. / Berlin The “Enter Africa” representatives celebrated with festival director Thorsten Wiedemann their success at A MAZE. / Berlin | Photo: Evelia Gadegbeku Essenam, member of Enter Africa Ouagadougou

 

Top

„Enter Africa“ bei A MAZE. / Berlin Jump ’n’ Run durch Afrika

Das „Enter Africa“ Team bei A MAZE. / Berlin im April 2019
Das „Enter Africa“ Team bei A MAZE. / Berlin im April 2019 | Foto: Evelia Essenam Gadegbeku, Mitglied von „Enter Africaׅ“ Ouagadougou

Erstmals hatte das kreative Netzwerk „Enter Africa“ die Möglichkeit, sich auf der europäischen Spielebühne zu präsentieren. Unterstützt von afrikanischen Goethe-Instituten, präsentierten die Mitglieder ihre 15 ortsbezogenen Spiele auf dem Festival A MAZE. / Berlin.

Festivaldirektor Thorsten Wiedemann sprach in seiner Eröffnungsrede über „Enter Africa“ und drückte seine Begeisterung für die Aufnahme der jungen Spieleentwicklerinnen und Spieleentwickler aus: Bestehend aus 15 verschiedenen afrikanischen Nationalitäten, präsentierte das Team seine aktuellen Spiele. Dabei führte es das Publikum auf eine Reise durch verschiedene Orte Afrikas und zeigte die Geschichte sowie Gestaltung der Spiele.

Matthew Hansen von „Enter Africa“ Accra präsentiert sein ortsbezogenes Spiel „The Chronicles of Klinu“ Matthew Hansen von „Enter Africa“ Accra präsentiert sein ortsbezogenes Spiel „The Chronicles of Klinu“ | Foto: Andy Katambwe, Mitglied von „Enter Africa“ Kinshasa

Vorurteile und Stereotypen

Viele Ausstellerinnen und Besucher diskutierten mit dem Team von „Enter Africa“ über ihre Ideen hinter den Spielen, technische Aspekte oder was das „Afrikanische“ der afrikanischen Geschichten ist. Schnell wurde deutlich, dass es immer noch an Wissen über Afrika mangelt - sei es in der Politik, der Kultur oder der Industrie - und Vorurteile und Stereotypen in den Medien und im Gesamtbild des Kontinents vorherrschen. Allerdings wächst auf beiden Seiten der Wunsch, diese Wahrnehmungen zu ändern.

„Die Leute wollen wirklich mehr über Afrika wissen und damit meine ich, sie wollen mehr über afrikanische Vergangenheit oder afrikanische Erzählungen wissen. Sie freuen sich sehr auf den Erfolg dieses Projekts. Sie wollen, dass Afrika seinen Platz in der Spieleindustrie bekommt." Abdou Aziz Sall, „Enter Africa“ Dakar

Die Diskussionen um die Darstellung Afrikas wurden während der Workshops von „Enter Africa“ vertieft: Die Themen reichten von zukünftigen Kooperationsmöglichkeiten über die Chancen und Herausforderungen für unabhängige Spieleentwickler in Afrika bis hin zur Bekämpfung von Stereotypen und der Entwicklung eigener Charaktere, um afrikanische Geschichten auf den Kontinent zurückzuspielen.

Diskussion mit dem Publikum über African Storytelling und die afrikanische Gaming-Branche Diskussion mit dem Publikum über African Storytelling und die afrikanische Gaming-Branche | Foto: Evelia Essenam Gadegbeku, Mitglied von „Enter Africa“ Ouagadougou

Eine Gruppe von genialen Köpfen

Die Teilnahme an A MAZE. / Berlin zeigte, dass „Enter Africa“ noch einen langen Weg vor sich hat, sowohl was die Präsentation auf der Gamescom im August 2019 als auch die Zukunft des gesamten Netzwerks betrifft. Dennoch war das große Potenzial von „Enter Africa“ für alle greifbar.

„Enter Africa hat eine kleine Gruppe von genialen Köpfen vereint und kann daher dasselbe auch in größerem Maßstab tun. Wir müssen weitermachen, denn das ist es, wonach wir uns alle sehnen: Eine Plattform, auf der alle afrikanischen Geschichten und Erfahrungen erzählt werden können.“ Laurean Ntaate, „Enter Africa“ Kampala

Das Team von „Enter Africa“ feierte mit Festivalleiter Thorsten Wiedemann (Mitte vorne) seinen Erfolg bei A MAZE. / Berlin Das Team von „Enter Africa“ feierte mit Festivalleiter Thorsten Wiedemann (Mitte vorne) seinen Erfolg bei A MAZE. / Berlin | Foto: Evelia Gadegbeku Essenam, Mitglied von Enter Africa Ouagadougou