Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Exhibition opening "The Theft of Fire – From Prometheus to Petroleum"
The Price of the Black Gold

Interior view of the der oilrig installation by Marco Montiel Soto in the Kapellhaus next to the German church in Baku
Interior view of the der oilrig installation by Marco Montiel Soto in the Kapellhaus next to the German church in Baku | Photo: Adil Yusifov

In Baku, ten international artists are probing the curses and blessings of oil. For millennia, natural gas and oil have been part of the national culture in Azerbaijan. An exhibition by the Goethe Center Baku is now devoted to this history

By Simone Reber

Azerbaijan is the country where industrial oil drilling was invented. By the late nineteenth century, fortune hunters came to Baku in search of the black gold, but also bankers and industrialists like the Rothschilds and the Nobel brothers. Today, oil and gas are mainly extracted offshore. But the old Russian pumps still set the pace in the suburbs of the city.
During the exhibition opening During the exhibition opening | Photo: Adil Yusifov

Poverty amidst the wealth of oil

The exhibition "From Prometheus to Petroleum" in the Kapellhaus next to the German church in Baku builds on these ancient myths. But curators Asli Samadova and Alfons Hug, the director of the Goethe-Center Baku, expand the perspective beyond national borders by selecting ten international artists.
 
In the centre of the hall, Marco Montiel-Soto from Venezuela has set up an historic wooden derrick. His hometown of Maracaibo is presently being destroyed by the monoculture of petroleum. Since the fast money has marginalised all other sectors of the economy, residents often have to queue for hours for petrol and groceries. Nigerian artist George Osodi draws an even darker picture in his gloomy slide show. Corruption and armed gangs are channelling the money from oil exports into the hands of the few in Nigeria. The plundered landscape looks like a smoking inferno.
Oilrig installation by Marco Montiel Soto in the Baku Kapellhaus Oilrig installation by Marco Montiel Soto in the Baku Kapellhaus | Photo: Adil Yusifov

A cup of oil in the teahouse

When asked where the money from the oil boom is flowing, people in Azerbaijan discreetly point at their pockets. But the cultural scene and infrastructure also benefit from it. Visitors to Baku first pass by the chic white sport arena, then the ostentatiously curved cultural centre of Zaha Hadid. A rail connection from Baku to Istanbul is planned. Orkhan Huseynov pokes fun at the nation’s new heroes, the construction workers, in his pithy video. Two construction workers sit in a teahouse in orange overalls sipping cups full of thick, black oil.
 
The animated film by Samir Salahov is about light Naftalan oil, which is extracted in the mountains. Naftalan is said to have healing properties. Those who believe it bathe in the oil. Samir Salahov tells the story of the war between the Russians and Japanese when soldiers always carried a bottle of Naftalan to rub on their wounds. In the cartoon, they are miraculously healed in seconds. The exhibition deftly demonstrates the positive and negative effects of the black gold. In Baku, we can see how bruised the earth’s thin skin is.
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Ausstellungseröffnung „Der Raub des Feuers – Von Prometheus zum Erdöl“
Der Preis des schwarzen Goldes

Innenansicht der Ölbohrturm-Installation von Marco Montiel Soto im Kapellhaus neben der deutschen Kirche in Baku
Innenansicht der Ölbohrturm-Installation von Marco Montiel Soto im Kapellhaus neben der deutschen Kirche in Baku | Foto: Adil Yusifov

In Baku fragen zehn internationale Künstlerinnen und Künstler nach Fluch und Segen des Erdöls. Seit Jahrtausenden gehören Gas und Öl in Aserbaidschan zur Kultur des Landes. Eine Ausstellung des Goethe-Zentrums Baku widmet sich nun der Geschichte.
 

Von Simone Reber

Aserbaidschan gilt als das Land, in dem die industrielle Ölförderung erfunden wurde. Schon Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts zog es Glücksritter nach Baku auf der Suche nach dem schwarzen Gold, aber auch Bankiers und Industrielle wie die Rothschilds oder die Brüder Nobel. Heute werden Öl und Gas überwiegend offshore gefördert. Aber die alten russischen Pumpen geben immer noch den Takt an in den Vororten der Stadt. Während der Ausstellungseröffnung Während der Ausstellungseröffnung | Foto: Adil Yusifov

Die Armut im Ölreichtum

Die Ausstellung „Von Prometheus zum Erdöl“  im Kapellhaus neben der deutschen Kirche in Baku knüpft an diese alten Mythen an. Aber Asli Samadova und Alfons Hug, der Leiter des Goethe-Zentrums Baku, erweitern als Kuratoren mit der Auswahl von zehn internationalen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern die Perspektive über die Landesgrenzen hinaus.
 
Ins Zentrum der Halle hat Marco Montiel-Soto aus Venezuela einen historischen Bohrturm aus Holz gesetzt. Seine Heimatstadt Maracaibo geht gerade zugrunde an den Folgen der Monokultur Erdöl. Weil das schnelle Geld alle anderen Wirtschaftszweige an den Rand drängte, müssen die Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner oft Stunden für Benzin und Lebensmittel anstehen. Ein noch dunkleres Bild zeichnet der nigerianische Künstler George Osodi in seiner bedrückenden Dia-Show. Korruption und bewaffnete Banden kanalisieren in Nigeria das Geld aus dem Ölexport in die Hände weniger. Die ausgeplünderte Landschaft gleicht einer rauchenden Hölle.
Ölbohrturm-Installation von Marco Montiel Soto im Kapellhaus Baku Ölbohrturm-Installation von Marco Montiel Soto im Kapellhaus Baku | Foto: Adil Yusifov

Ein Tässchen Öl im Teehaus

In Aserbaidschan deuten die Menschen dezent auf die Hosentasche, wenn man fragt, wo das Geld aus dem Ölboom hinfließt. Allerdings profitieren auch Kulturszene und Infrastruktur. Besucherinnen und Besucher passieren in Baku erst die schicke weiße Sport-Arena, dann das pompös geschwungene Kulturzentrum von Zaha Hadid. Eine Zugverbindung von Baku nach Istanbul ist in Planung. Die neuen Helden des Landes, die Bauarbeiter, nimmt Orkhan Huseynov in seinem pointierten Video auf die Schippe. Da sitzen zwei Bauarbeiter im orangefarbenen Overall im Teehaus und nippen genussvoll an Tassen voll mit fettem, schwarzem Öl.
 
Um das helle, leichte Öl, das Naftalan, das in den Bergen gewonnen wird, geht es in dem Animationsfilm von Samir Salahov. Dem Naftalan wird heilende Wirkung zugeschrieben. Wer daran glaubt, nimmt Bäder in Öl. Samir Salahov erzählt vom Krieg zwischen Russen und Japanern, als die Soldaten stets ein Fläschchen Naftalan bei sich trugen und auf ihre Verletzungen strichen. Der Zeichentrickfilm zeigt die wundersame Heilung in Sekundenschnelle. Leichthändig macht die Ausstellung Licht- und Schattenseiten des schwarzen Goldes greifbar. In Baku kann man sehen, wie geschunden die dünne Haut der Erde ist.

Top