Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Kultursymposium Weimar 2019
Recalculating the Route

The Goethe-Institut is organising the second international Kultursymposium in Weimar from 19 to 21 June 2019 under the title Recalculating the Route
The Goethe-Institut is organising the second international Kultursymposium in Weimar from 19 to 21 June 2019 under the title Recalculating the Route | Image: Goethe-Institut e. V.

From 19 to 21 June 2019, the world will meet in Weimar. More than 300 international guests from culture, industry, science, journalism, media and politics will shed light on the great upheavals of our era. Participants include Anab Jain, Pankaj Mishra, the vice president of the German Bundestag Claudia Roth and the artists collective Most Mechanics Are Crooks.

It’s what the world is talking about. “This year’s Kultursymposium Weimar will take up the social upheavals of our time and place them in a cultural, economic and political context. For three days, artistic and scientific approaches to current topics of the future will be explored in a creative festival atmosphere,” said Johannes Ebert, secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut. Representatives from science, culture, politics, industry, journalism and publishing will present their perspectives on the theme “Recalculating the Route.” The over 50 events will take place on three days in eight different locations in Weimar. The E-Werk in Weimar serves as the festival centre for the Kultursymposium 2019. Perspectives from different cultures were prepared in advance in twelve events abroad by the worldwide network of the Goethe-Institut.
 
The programme consists of four main topics that simultaneously form the guiding questions of the Kultursymposium:
ORIENT//ATION – How do we keep our bearings in an increasingly complex world?
AUTO//NOMY – In the face of rapid technological change, how do we remain the authors of our lives?
RE//GRESSION – World politics in reverse – are we experiencing a political turn of events?
DIGI//NOMICS – How will the economy tick tomorrow and the day after tomorrow?

The feeling of being lost

The keynote address for the symposium opening will be held by the British designer and filmmaker Anab Jain, founder of the experimental design firm Superflux. Afterwards, she will discuss the key questions of the symposium with, among others, the Kenyan political scientist Nanjira Sambuli and the personnel director of the Bertelsmann media group, Immanuel Hermreck. The Indian writer and essayist Pankaj Mishra will speak with the Turkish constitutional expert Ece Göztepe and the political scientist Emile Chabal from Great Britain about “R.I.P. Democracy. How Do Democracies Die?” while writers Panashe Chigumadzi (Zimbabwe), Assaf Gavron (Israel), Hao Jingfang (China) and Julia von Lucadou (Germany) talk about “The Feeling of Being Lost” in literature. The vice president of the German Bundestag, Claudia Roth, will also participate in a panel discussion on “The Brutalization of Language in Political Discourse”.
 
The programme will be rounded off by a series of art and cultural events: The artists collective Most Mechanics Are Crooks from Greece, for example, deals with self-staging in digital media in their performative work “Semblance in Post-digital Times.”
 
So what are you waiting for? The remaining tickets for the Kultursymposium Weimar are still available online.
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Kultursymposium Weimar 2019
Die Route wird neu berechnet

Unter dem Titel „Die Route wird neu berechnet“ veranstaltet das Goethe-Institut vom 19. bis 21. Juni 2019 das zweite internationale Kultursymposium in Weimar
Unter dem Titel „Die Route wird neu berechnet“ veranstaltet das Goethe-Institut vom 19. bis 21. Juni 2019 das zweite internationale Kultursymposium in Weimar | Grafik: Goethe-Institut e. V.

Vom 19. bis 21. Juni 2019 trifft sich die Welt in Weimar: Über 300 internationale Gäste aus den Bereichen Kultur, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Publizistik, Medien und Politik beleuchten die großen Umbrüche unserer Epoche. Mit dabei sind auch Anab Jain, Pankaj Mishra, die Vizepräsidentin des Deutschen Bundestags Claudia Roth und das Künstlerkollektiv Most Mechanics Are Crooks.

Darüber redet die Welt. „Das diesjährige Kultursymposium Weimar greift gesellschaftliche Umbrüche unserer Zeit auf und stellt sie in einen kulturellen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Zusammenhang. Drei Tage lang werden in kreativer Festivalatmosphäre künstlerische und wissenschaftliche Zugänge zu aktuellen Zukunftsthemen erarbeitet“, erklärte Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts. Vertreterinnen und Vertreter aus Wissenschaft, Kultur, Politik, Wirtschaft, Journalismus und Publizistik werden ihre Perspektiven zu dem Thema „Die Route wird neu berechnet“ präsentieren. Die über 50 Veranstaltungen finden an drei Tagen und acht unterschiedlichen Orten in Weimar statt. Als Festivalzentrum für das Kultursymposium 2019 dient das E-Werk in Weimar. Perspektiven aus verschiedenen Kulturen wurden im Vorfeld in zwölf Auslandsveranstaltungen durch das weltweite Netzwerk des Goethe-Instituts erarbeitet.
 
Das Programm besteht aus vier Schwerpunkten, die gleichzeitig die Leitfragen des Kultursymposiums bilden:
ORIENT//IERUNG – Wie verlieren wir in einer zunehmend komplexen Welt nicht den Überblick?
AUTO//NOMIE – Wie bleiben wir angesichts eines rapiden technologischen Wandels Autoren unseres Lebens?
RE//GRESSION – Weltpolitik im Rückwärtsgang – erleben wir gerade eine politische Epochenwende?
DIGI//NOMICS – Wie tickt die Wirtschaft von morgen und übermorgen?

Das Gefühl der Verlorenheit

 
Die Keynote zur Eröffnung des Symposiums hält die britische Designerin und Filmemacherin Anab Jain, Gründerin des experimentellen Designunternehmens Superflux. Im Anschluss diskutiert sie unter anderem mit der kenianischen Politologin Nanjira Sambuli und dem Personalvorstand des Medienkonzerns Bertelsmann, Immanuel Hermreck, über die zentralen Leitfragen des Symposiums. Der indische Schriftsteller und Essayist Pankaj Mishra wiederum spricht mit der türkischen Verfassungsrechtlerin Ece Göztepe und dem Politologen Emile Chabal aus Großbritannien über „R.I.P. Democracy. Wie sterben Demokratien?“, während die Schriftstellerinnen und Schriftsteller Panashe Chigumadzi (Simbabwe), Assaf Gavron (Israel), Hao Jingfang (China) und Julia von Lucadou (Deutschland) über „Das Gefühl der Verlorenheit“ in der Literatur reden. Die Vizepräsidentin des Deutschen Bundestags Claudia Roth nimmt darüber hinaus an einer Paneldiskussion zum Thema „Die Verrohung der Sprache im politischen Diskurs“ teil.
 
Eine Reihe von Kunst- und Kulturveranstaltungen runden das Programm ab: Das Künstlerkollektiv Most Mechanics Are Crooks aus Griechenland etwa setzt sich in seiner performativen Arbeit „Semblance in post-digital times“ mit der Selbstinszenierung in digitalen Medien auseinander.
 
Also: Nichts wie hin. Letzte Tickets für das Kultursymposium Weimar sind noch online erhältlich.

Top