Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Goethe-Institut Ramallah
A Wooden Cloud Full of Wishes

A manifesto of social sensitivities: The “wooden cloud” reflects the dreams, fears and longings of the urban population of Ramallah
A manifesto of social sensitivities: The “wooden cloud” reflects the dreams, fears and longings of the urban population of Ramallah | Photo: André Mailänder

The sensitivities of a city: The artist Martin Steinert put up his sculpture “wooden cloud” in the West Bank. The Goethe-Institut in Ramallah supported the project. Already, the prevailing wishes of the people can be read in this place.

By Alexandra Föderl-Schmid

From afar, it looks like an oversized bird’s nest rising from the sandy ground in Al Istiqlal Park in the centre of Ramallah, the chief city of the West Bank. Getting closer, you’ll see the filigree structure of the sculpture: this “wooden cloud” with a diameter of about four metres, which winds helically and can be walked through, was made of wooden slats by the German artist Martin Steinert.

Fears, wishes, hopes

About two thousand wooden slats have already been added; about half of them have already been given inscriptions. “We invite people to write down their fears, their wishes, their hopes. This makes it a snapshot of the state of a city,” explains Steinert. He began his series of “wooden cloud” installations in St. John’s Church in his hometown of Saarbrücken in 2015. It was followed by other projects in Saint Petersburg, Berlin, Paris and now Ramallah. Each artwork differs in size and structure. Every work has been documented in photographs by Andre Mailänder, while Mathilde Nodenot of France is working on a film. During the four-week construction period, the city residents were invited to participate in the design of the installation and to write on the wooden slats from which the unique sculpture was created During the four-week construction period, the city residents were invited to participate in the design of the installation and to write on the wooden slats from which the unique sculpture was created | Photo: André Mailänder

Connected by 2,500 wooden slats

Not all of the wooden slats have been added yet. There will be around 2,500 of them, Steinert estimates. After the official opening of the project supported by the Goethe-Institut in Ramallah and the Saarland Ministry of Culture on 30 June, people can continue to record their thoughts on the wooden slats. While Steinert and his team of three take a break in the shade, two teenagers approach and ask for pens. One of them is named Aktham, the other is Waleed. Both wish for “Peace.” For themselves and for their country of Palestine, they explain. They’re from Hebron and are visiting their uncle in Ramallah. They learned about the project from the media and came to the park to participate. Precision work: Artist Martin Steinert arrived with his team from Saarbrücken. Architect Marija Kiefer assisted in the construction of the installation Precision work: Artist Martin Steinert arrived with his team from Saarbrücken. Architect Marija Kiefer assisted in the construction of the installation | Photo: André Mailänder

Wishes are similar around the world

“There were plenty of sceptics so it’s fun to see people join in. Some thank us for bringing an idea like this to their city,” says Steinert. Response has been very positive; due to language barriers some gave a thumbs-up to signal that they like the installation. So far, Steinert notes that his original assumption that wishes are similar around the world has been “largely confirmed.” Peace and health are the most common wishes.
 
Here in Ramallah, we also find political messages. The wish for an end to the Israeli occupation and the demand for a Palestinian state are seen several times. “Ramallah is quite productive for the project idea. We’re very interested in learning what makes people tick here, what their concerns are,” says Steinert. The installation in Ramallah will remain standing for several years, while Steinert moves on with his team and his project. The next “wooden cloud” will be built next year in the form of a boat on an island in the Vltava River within sight of Charles Bridge in Prague. From Saarbrücken via Paris, Berlin and St. Petersburg to Ramallah: The idea is to collect the thoughts of people from cities around the world and to get to know their similarities and differences From Saarbrücken via Paris, Berlin and St. Petersburg to Ramallah: The idea is to collect the thoughts of people from cities around the world and to get to know their similarities and differences | Photo: André Mailänder

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Goethe-Institut Ramallah
Eine hölzerne Wolke voller Wünsche

Ein Manifest der gesellschaftlichen Befindlichkeiten. Die „wooden cloud“ ist ein Spiegel der Träume, Ängste und Sehnsüchte der Stadtbevölkerung Ramallahs
Ein Manifest der gesellschaftlichen Befindlichkeiten. Die „wooden cloud“ ist ein Spiegel der Träume, Ängste und Sehnsüchte der Stadtbevölkerung Ramallahs | Foto: André Mailänder

Die Befindlichkeiten einer Stadt: Der Künstler Martin Steinert hat im Westjordanland seine Skulptur „wooden cloud“ errichtet. Das Goethe-Institut in Ramallah unterstützte das Projekt. Schon jetzt lassen sich die größten Wünsche der Menschen an diesem Ort ablesen.

Von Alexandra Föderl-Schmid

Von der Ferne sieht es wie ein überdimensioniertes Vogelnest aus, das sich im Al Istiqlal Park mitten in Ramallah, dem Zentrum des Westjordanlandes, aus dem sandigen Boden erhebt. Wer sich nähert, sieht die filigrane Struktur der Skulptur: Aus Holzlatten ist diese „hölzerne Wolke“ des deutschen Künstlers Martin Steinert mit einem Durchmesser von rund vier Metern entstanden, die sich schneckenförmig windet und begehbar ist.

Ängste, Wünsche, Hoffnungen

Rund zweitausend Holzlatten sind bereits verarbeitet, etwa die Hälfte davon schon beschriftet. „Wir laden die Menschen dazu ein, ihre Ängste, ihre Wünsche, ihre Hoffnungen aufzuschreiben. So wird eine Momentaufnahme der Befindlichkeit einer Stadt daraus“, erklärt Steinert. 2015 hat er mit seinen „wooden cloud“-Installationen in seiner Heimatstadt Saarbrücken in der Johanneskirche begonnen. Dann folgten weitere Projekte in Sankt Petersburg, Berlin, Paris und nun Ramallah. Jedes Kunstwerk unterscheidet sich in seiner Größe und Struktur. Von jedem Werk gibt es eine Fotodokumentation von Andre Mailänder, die Französin Mathilde Nodenot arbeitet an einem Film.
Kunst im öffentlichen Raum. In der vierwöchigen Entstehungszeit war die Bevölkerung eingeladen, sich in die Gestaltung der Installation einzubringen und die Holzlatten zu beschriften, aus denen die einmalige Skulptur entstand Kunst im öffentlichen Raum. In der vierwöchigen Entstehungszeit war die Bevölkerung eingeladen, sich in die Gestaltung der Installation einzubringen und die Holzlatten zu beschriften, aus denen die einmalige Skulptur entstand | Foto: André Mailänder

2500 Holzlatten verbinden

Noch sind nicht alle Holzlatten verarbeitet. Rund 2500 werden es am Ende sein, schätzt Steinert. Nach der offiziellen Eröffnung des vom Goethe-Institut in Ramallah und dem saarländischen Kultusministerium unterstützten Projekts am 30 Juni können die Menschen ihre Gedanken weiterhin auf den Holzlatten festhalten. Während Steinert und sein Team, das aus drei weiteren Personen besteht, im Schatten eine Pause einlegen, kommen zwei Teenager heran und fragen nach Stiften. Aktham heißt der eine, Waleed der andere. Beide wünschen sich „Frieden“. Für sich und für ihr Land Palästina, wie sie erzählen. Sie kommen aus Hebron und sind gerade zu Besuch bei ihrem Onkel in Ramallah. Aus den Medien haben sie von dem Projekt erfahren und sind extra in den Park gekommen, um mitzumachen. Präzisionsarbeit. Künstler Martin Steinert reiste mit seinem Team aus Saarbrücken an. Architektin Marija Kiefer unterstützte beim Bau der Installation Präzisionsarbeit. Künstler Martin Steinert reiste mit seinem Team aus Saarbrücken an. Architektin Marija Kiefer unterstützte beim Bau der Installation | Foto: André Mailänder

Wünsche sind weltweit ähnlich

„Es gab eine Menge Skeptiker, und es macht Spaß, wenn man erlebt, wie die Menschen mitmachen. Manche bedanken sich dafür, dass man mit so einer Idee in ihre Stadt kommt“, berichtet Steinert. Die Reaktionen seien sehr positiv, manche signalisierten angesichts der Sprachbarrieren mit hochgereckten Daumen, dass ihnen die Installation gefällt. Seine ursprüngliche Annahme, dass die Wünsche weltweit ähnlich seien, sieht Steinert bisher „im großen und ganzen bestätigt“. Frieden und Gesundheit kämen am häufigsten vor.
 
Hier in Ramallah sind aber auch politische Botschaften zu finden. Der Wunsch nach einem Ende der israelischen Besatzung und die Forderung nach einem eigenen palästinensischen Staat tauchen mehrfach auf. „Ramallah ist für die Idee des Projekts sehr ergiebig. Uns interessiert sehr, wie ticken die Menschen hier, was treibt sie um“, sagt Steinert. Die Installation in Ramallah soll mehrere Jahre bleiben, während Steinert mit seinem Team und seinem Projekt weiterzieht: Die nächste „wooden cloud“ entsteht im kommenden Jahr in Prag auf einer Insel in der Moldau in Sichtweite der Karlsbrücke in der Form eines Bootes. Von Saarbrücken über Paris, Berlin und St. Petersburg nach Ramallah. Die Idee ist es, Gedanken der Menschen aus Städten weltweit zu sammeln und ihre Ähnlichkeiten und Unterschiedlichkeiten kennenzulernen Von Saarbrücken über Paris, Berlin und St. Petersburg nach Ramallah. Die Idee ist es, Gedanken der Menschen aus Städten weltweit zu sammeln und ihre Ähnlichkeiten und Unterschiedlichkeiten kennenzulernen | Foto: André Mailänder

Top