Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Opening of the Exhibition The City of Tomorrow in Yerevan
The Communist Spirit in Everyday Life

The travelling exhibition can still be seen in Yerevan until 07 September
The travelling exhibition can still be seen in Yerevan until 07 September | Photo: Ed Tadevossian, Ludwig Nachtmann

From Young Pioneer camps to artists’ houses to the Wedding Palace: The life and legacy of Soviet city planning and architecture continue to shape the urban landscape of the former USSR. Now the Goethe-Institut’s travelling exhibition The City of Tomorrow in the Eastern Europe/Central Asia region is devoted to Soviet Modernism.

By Natia Mikeladse-Bachsoliani

The Soviet city and its architecture were designed as a model for a new society. They were meant to convey a sense of social unity throughout the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR). The travelling exhibition The City of Tomorrow explores the architectural use of alternative societal ideas that feature emancipatory as well as oppressive and colonialist elements. Its focus is on the development of modernist Soviet architecture and its legacy today – with all its representatives, local dialects, and unknown masterpieces.
Visitors in Yerevan  Visitors in Yerevan | Photo: Ed Tadevossian

The Growth of Soviet Modernism

The ideological call for the modernisation of the USSR in the 1920s led to a radically new, modernist design vocabulary in urban planning and architecture. Soviet architecture was closely linked to the universal project of Modernism, especially the Bauhaus and Ernst May, who even made a development plan for Leninakan (now Gyumri, Armenia) on a journey through the USSR in the 1930s.
 
After the end of the Stalin era, Soviet Modernism experienced a second heyday starting in 1955. Driven by the ideology of scientific and technological progress, architects now experimented with international concepts and adopted approaches from their suppressed legacy of the 1920s.

In search of an identity

In the 1960s, however, increasing criticism was heard about the industrialisation of space and architecture. Local elites and architects sought for a regional or national identity. Avant-gardes emerged that defied the equalising policy of the central Moscow bureaucracy.
 
In the 1970s, another paradigm shift took place. Under Brezhnev, society adopted a more western lifestyle. The communist spirit in everyday life weakened. Architects reacted to this with new buildings: from the Young Pioneer camps to artists’ houses to the Wedding Palace.
Impressions from the past Impressions from the past | Photo: Ed Tadevossian

The end or a revival?

With the collapse of the USSR in the early 1990s, Soviet Modernism came to an abrupt end. The majority of the utopian projects remained mere fragments or eventually failed. Many of the structures and forms have disappeared. Yet the concepts and buildings continue to leave their mark on many of the cities of the former USSR and a generation of young activists are now beginning to advocate for preservation and reinterpretation.
 
The travelling exhibition itself is unorthodox and site-specific. In each city and each venue, it works with local archival materials, retaining only a sort of core that evolves differently in each new context.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Ausstellungseröffnung „Die Stadt von Morgen“ in Eriwan
Der kommunistische Geist im Alltagsleben

Die Wanderausstellung ist noch bis 07. September in Eriwan zu sehen
Die Wanderausstellung ist noch bis 07. September in Eriwan zu sehen | Foto: Ed Tadevossian, Ludwig Nachtmann

Vom Pionierlager über Künstlerhäuser bis hin zum Hochzeitspalast: Das Leben und Erbe der sowjetischen Stadtplanung und -architektur prägen die urbane Landschaft in der ehemaligen UdSSR bis heute. Die Wanderausstellung „Die Stadt von Morgen“ des Goethe-Instituts in der Region Osteuropa/Zentralasien widmet sich jetzt dem Sowjetmodernismus.

Von Natia Mikeladse-Bachsoliani

Die sowjetische Stadt und ihre Architektur wurden als Modell für eine neue Gesellschaft entworfen. In der ganzen Union der Sozialistischen Sowjetrepubliken (UdSSR) sollten sie ein Gefühl von sozialer Einigkeit vermitteln. Die Wanderausstellung „Die Stadt von morgen“ lotet die architektonische Umsetzung von alternativen Gesellschaftsentwürfen aus, die emanzipative, aber auch unterdrückende und kolonialistische Elemente aufweisen. Im Mittelpunkt stehen die Entwicklung der modernistischen Sowjetarchitektur und ihr heutiges Erbe – mit all den Vertreter*innen, lokalen Dialekten und unbekannten Meisterwerken.
Besucher*innen in Eriwan Besucher*innen in Eriwan | Foto: Ed Tadevossian

Die Entwicklung des Sowjetmodernismus

Der ideologische Aufruf zur Modernisierung der UdSSR in den 1920ern führte in Städteplanung und Architektur zu einer radikal neuen, modernistischen Formsprache. Dabei war die Sowjetarchitektur eng mit dem universellen Projekt des Modernismus verbunden, insbesondere mit dem Bauhaus und Ernst May, der in den 1930ern auf einer Reise durch die UdSSR sogar einen Bebauungsplan für Leninakan (Gjumri) erstellte.
 
Nach dem Ende der Stalin-Ära erlebte der Sowjetmodernismus ab 1955 eine zweite Blütezeit. Angetrieben von der Ideologie des wissenschaftlichen und technologischen Fortschrittes experimentierten Architekt*innen nun mit internationalen Konzepten und übernahmen Ansätze ihres verdrängten Erbes aus den 1920er Jahren.

Auf der Suche nach einer eigenen Identität

In den 1960ern entfaltete sich jedoch zunehmend Kritik an der Industrialisierung von Raum und Architektur. Lokale Eliten und Architekt*innen suchten nach einer regionalen oder nationalen Identität. Avantgarden entstanden, die der gleichmachenden Politik der zentralen Moskauer Bürokratie trotzten.
 
In den 1970ern erfolgte ein weiterer Paradigmenwechsel. Unter Breschnew eignete sich die Gesellschaft einen westlicheren Lebensstil an. Der kommunistische Geist im Alltagsleben wurde schwächer. Die Architektur reagierte darauf mit neuen Bauten: vom Pionierlager über Künstlerhäuser bis hin zum Hochzeitspalast.
Eindrücke aus der Vergangenheit Eindrücke aus der Vergangenheit | Foto: Ed Tadevossian

Ende oder Neuinterpretation?

Mit dem Zusammenbruch der UdSSR in den frühen 1990ern fand der Sowjetmodernismus ein abruptes Ende. Ein Großteil der utopischen Projekte blieb Fragment oder schlug schließlich fehl. Viele der Strukturen und Formen sind heute verschwunden. Dennoch prägen die Konzepte und Gebäude weiterhin viele Städte der früheren UdSSR – und eine Generation von jungen Aktivist*innen beginnt nun, sich für Erhalt und Neuinterpretation einzusetzen.
 
Die Wanderausstellung selbst ist unorthodox und ortsspezifisch: In jeder Stadt und an jedem Ausstellungsort arbeitet sie mit lokalem Archivmaterial und behält nur eine Art Kern bei, der sich in jedem neuen Kontext auf andere Weise entfaltet.

Top