Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

“The Cabinet” in Poland
Come in, we’re open!

Visitors in front of the Caligari exhibition
Visitors in front of the Caligari exhibition | Photo: Jakub Tabaczek

Come closer. “The Cabinet” is a container installation by the Goethe-Institut Warsaw that virtually transports the audience into Robert Wiene’s classic silent film The Cabinet of Dr Caligari. After three weeks and nearly 3,000 visitors in front of Warsaw’s Nowy Teatr, the container installation and its volumetric, “walk in” movie has now travelled on to Wroclaw.

By Christoph Bartmann

The Cabinet of Dr Caligari is a masterpiece of Expressionist film. The thesis borne in the title of Siegfried Kracauer’s book From Caligari to Hitler (1947) is almost as famous as the film itself: Doctor Caligari, according to Kracauer, embodies the mad tyrant whose subjects carry out his will with joyful obedience. Caligari is the forerunner of Hitler; Hitler is the revenant of Caligari: Kracauer’s interpretation is controversial, but follows Robert Wiene’s film like a shadow.

The Dream of Cesare – a volumetric film

The centenary of the Caligari film is also the 100th anniversary of the epochal year of 1919, the year of the Weimar Republic and Bauhaus, so the apt time to commemorate the classic film and its era. Two ideas were united here. One is a virtual reality experience in the form of the five-minute volumetric film The Dream of Cesare, which the Goethe-Institut had specially produced by UFA X in Babelsberg. Volumetric film, a very young technology, allows viewers to move in a three-dimensional, virtual space thanks to 3D human body reconstruction. The film becomes “walkable” and in it, the audience meets two well-known Polish actors, Arkadiusz Jakubik as Caligari and Jakub Gierszał as his medium Cesare.

Neo-Expressionist murals by the artists Zdislaw Nitka and Eugeniusz Minciel Neo-Expressionist murals by the artists Zdislaw Nitka and Eugeniusz Minciel | Photo: Jakub Tabaczek From one fair to the next

The second idea was the containers: a revisiting of Caligari’s cabinet, now as a walk-in installation of exhibits complemented by a small cinema space for the original and the volumetric film. The cabinet is reminiscent of a fair attraction, which – like a ghost train – doesn’t directly inform its visitors what awaits them. The interior of the container reflects the spirit of the original set design with neo-Expressionist murals by Zdislaw Nitka and Eugeniusz Minciel and with broken Cubist perspectives.

The first stop in Warsaw proved the effects of the attraction. The cabinet piqued the curiosity of passers-by, families, children, cineastes and non-cineastes. Some were attracted by the volumetric film, but many also wanted to see the complete original in the well-attended container cinema. Many would have been happy if “The Cabinet” had stayed around longer, but the point is for the containers to move from one fairground to the next.
„The Cabinet“ was well attended in Warsaw. Now it is moving on „The Cabinet“ was well attended in Warsaw. Now it is moving on | Photo: Jakub Tabaczek

To the Berlinale in Berlin

Now “The Cabinet” is stopping in Wroclaw, where it will stand opposite the famous Centennial Hall of 1913 until the end of August. From there it will move on to Poznan and Krakow and, in 2020, to the Berlinale in Berlin, the place where Robert Wiene’s silent film The Cabinet of Dr Caligari premiered in February 1920.
Screenshot "The Cabinet"

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„Das Kabinett“ in Polen
Hereinspaziert, hereinspaziert!

Einblick von außen: Besucher*innen vor der Caligari-Ausstellung
Einblick von außen: Besucher*innen vor der Caligari-Ausstellung | Foto: Jakub Tabaczek

Treten Sie nur näher. „Das Kabinett“ ist eine Containerinstallation des Goethe-Instituts Warschau, die das Publikum virtuell in Robert Wienes Stummfilmklassiker „Das Cabinet des Dr. Caligari“ versetzt. Nach drei Wochen und fast 3000 Besucher*innen vor dem Warschauer „Nowy Teatr“ ist die Containerinstallation mit einem volumetrischen, „begehbaren“ Film nun weiter nach Breslau gezogen.

Von Christoph Bartmann

„Das Cabinet des Dr. Caligari“ ist ein Meisterwerk des expressionistischen Films. Fast so berühmt wie der Film selbst ist die These geworden, die Siegfried Kracauers Buch „Von Caligari zu Hitler“ (1947) im Titel führt: in Doktor Caligari, so Kracauer, verkörpere sich der Typus des wahnsinnigen Tyrannen, dessen Untertanen seinen Willen mit lustvollem Gehorsam vollstrecken. Caligari als Vorläufer Hitlers, Hitler als Wiedergänger Caligaris – Kracauers Interpretation ist umstritten, doch sie begleitet Robert Wienes Film wie ein Schatten.

„Der Traum des Cesare“ – ein volumetrischer Film

Der 100. Geburtstag des Caligari-Films ist zugleich die 100. Wiederkehr des Epochendatums 1919 mit Weimarer Republik und Bauhaus: Anlass genug, um an den Klassiker und seine Zeit zu erinnern. Zwei Ideen kamen hier zusammen: zum einen eine Virtual Reality-Erfahrung, hier in Gestalt des fünfminütigen volumetrischen Films „Der Traum des Cesare“, den das Goethe-Institut eigens von UFA X in Babelsberg produzieren ließ. Der volumetrische Film, eine noch ganz junge Technologie, erlaubt es dank „3D Human Body Reconstruction“, sich im dreidimensionalen virtuellen Raum zu bewegen. Der Film wird auf diese Weise „begehbar“, und die Zuschauer*innen begegnen in ihm zwei bekannten polnischen Schauspielern, Arkadiusz Jakubik als Caligari und Jakub Giersza  als sein Medium Cesare. Neo-expressionistische Wandbemalungen der Künstler Zdislaw Nitka und Eugeniusz Minciel Neo-expressionistische Wandbemalungen der Künstler Zdislaw Nitka und Eugeniusz Minciel | Foto: Jakub Tabaczek

Von einem Jahrmarkt zum anderen

Die zweite Idee waren die Container: ein Wiedersehen mit Caligaris Kabinett, jetzt als begehbare Installation aus Exponaten ergänzt durch einen kleinen Kinoraum für den Originalfilm und den volumetrischen Film. Das Kabinett soll die Anmutung einer Jahrmarktsattraktion haben, die – ähnlich wie eine Geisterbahn –  ihren Besucher*innen nicht gleich verrät, was sie erwartet. Das Innere des Containers spiegelt mit neo-expressionistischen Wandbemalungen von Zdislaw Nitka und Eugeniusz Minciel und mit kubistisch gebrochenen Perspektiven den Geist des originalen Bühnenbilds wider.

Die erste Station in Warschau zeigte, dass die Attraktion wirkt. Das Kabinett weckte Neugier: bei Passant*innen, Familien, Kindern, Kenner*innen und Nicht-Kenner*innen. Manche lockte der volumetrische Film, viele wollten aber auch im gut besuchten Containerkino das komplette Original sehen. Viele hätte es sicherlich gefreut, wenn „Das Kabinett“ länger an seinem Platz geblieben wäre. Die Idee ist aber, dass die Container wandern sollen – von einem Jahrmarkt zum anderen. „Das Kabinett“ in Warschau wurde gut besucht – jetzt zieht es weiter „Das Kabinett“ in Warschau wurde gut besucht – jetzt zieht es weiter | Foto: Jakub Tabaczek

Und zur Berlinale

Nun macht „Das Kabinett“ Station in Breslau, wo es bis Ende August gegenüber der berühmten Jahrhunderthalle von 1913 geöffnet ist. Von dort geht es dann weiter nach Posen und Krakau sowie 2020 zur Berlinale nach Berlin, an jenen Ort also, wo im Februar 1920 Robert Wienes Stummfilm „Das Cabinet des Dr. Caligari“ uraufgeführt wurde.
Ausschnitt aus "Das Cabinet des Dr. Caligari"

Top