Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

A series by the Goethe-Institut South Africa
#FutureOfJournalism

The discussion was broadcast live on SABC News
The discussion was broadcast live on SABC News | Photo: Jonas Radunz

What challenges do South African and German journalism both face? And what do digital and global developments mean for the future of journalism? The Future of Journalism, a series by the Goethe-Institut South Africa, wants to discuss and find out exactly that. 

By Jonas Radunz and Judit Hoffkamp

The fourth estate

The role of journalism is to take the powerful to account, said Holger Stark of DIE ZEIT at the beginning of the discussion with experts on The Future of Journalism. Media credibility in the age of fake news was the topic of the first of three events in the series. The participants in the debate agreed that journalism can be regarded as the quasi-fourth pillar of the separation of powers, which strengthens democracy and therefore has great relevance. They also agreed that journalism is in the midst of a credibility crisis not only in South Africa or Germany, but globally. The experts Tsepiso Makwetla (SABC), Holger Stark and Dr Glenda Daniels (WITS Media Studies) held a discussion during the live broadcast by South Africa’s SABC News.
 
Digitisation offers a variety of opportunities for participation and access to the media, but it blurs the meaning of the word journalist and related journalistic content. What sources can and cannot be trusted? What is considered journalism and what is not?
Panel at "Future of Journalism" (from left to right):Tsepiso Makwetla (SABC), Dr. Glenda Daniels (WITS Media Studies), Holger Stark (DIE ZEIT), Nikiwe Bikitsha (Broadcaster & Journalist), Verashni Pillay (Power FM) and Chris Vick (Spin doctor and Media strategist) Panel at "Future of Journalism" (from left to right):Tsepiso Makwetla (SABC), Dr. Glenda Daniels (WITS Media Studies), Holger Stark (DIE ZEIT), Nikiwe Bikitsha (Broadcaster & Journalist), Verashni Pillay (Power FM) and Chris Vick (Spin doctor and Media strategist) | Photo: Jonas Radunz

Fake news: A global problem

Nikiwe Bikitsha (broadcaster and journalist) mentioned a study by Reuters according to which 49 percent of South Africans have confidence in journalism. But 79 percent couldn’t tell the difference between fake news and quality journalism. In this context, Holger Stark also cited Russia’s influence over the elections in the US and Germany, pointing out that disinformation is by no means just a South African problem, but that societies worldwide are affected by it.

A credibility crisis

Chris Vick (spin-doctor and media strategist) proposed that fines be imposed for journalists’ ethically abusive behaviour as a possible solution to the credibility crisis. Stark intervened, as he sees a potential threat that such fines could be instrumentalised by the powerful who might use the self-defence payments to make journalists spend more time in court than writing.
Discussion with the audience Discussion with the audience | Photo: Jonas Radunz The audience also offered insightful contributions. They criticised that certain stories and scandals are often not as prominently discussed in the media as others contributing to a further loss of confidence. And a young journalism student pointed out the disproportionately harsh criticism of female journalists, which often takes on sexist attributes. She particularly spoke of the moral decline in the social media.
 
Glenda Daniels concluded by referring to the “beginning of the end of journalism.” She thinks it began with the media’s funding crisis and the resulting pressure on journalists to always keep sales in mind. Under these circumstances, how independent and critical can journalism be? 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

#FutureOfJournalism
Die Zukunft des Journalismus

Die Diskussion wurde live auf SABC News übertragen
Die Diskussion wurde live auf SABC News übertragen | Foto: Jonas Radunz

Vor welchen Herausforderungen stehen der südafrikanische und der deutsche Journalismus gleichermaßen? Und was bedeuten digitale und globale Entwicklungen für die Zukunft des Journalismus? Die Reihe des Goethe-Instituts Südafrika „The Future of Journalism“ möchte genau das diskutieren und herausfinden.

Von Jonas Radunz und Judit Hoffkamp

Die vierte Gewalt

Die Rolle des Journalismus sei es, die Mächtigen zur Verantwortung zu ziehen, meinte Holger Stark von DIE ZEIT gleich zu Beginn der Diskussion mit Expert*innen bei „The Future of Journalism“. Thema der ersten von drei Veranstaltungen der Reihe war die Glaubwürdigkeit der Medien in Zeiten von Fake News. Dass der Journalismus als quasi vierte Säule der Gewaltenteilung betrachtet werden kann, die das Bestehen der Demokratie stärkt und deswegen eine große Relevanz besitzt, darin waren sich die Teilnehmer*innen der Debatte einig. Und auch darüber, dass der Journalismus nicht nur in Südafrika oder in Deutschland, sondern global in einer Krise der Glaubwürdigkeit steckt. Bei der Liveübertragung des südafrikanischen Fernsehsenders SABC News diskutierten unter anderem die Expert*innen Tsepiso Makwetla (SABC), Holger Stark und Dr. Glenda Daniels (WITS Media Studies).
 
Die Digitalisierung bringt nicht nur diversere Partizipations- und Zugangsmöglichkeiten zu Medien mit sich, sondern auch ein Verschwimmen des Begriffes Journalist*in und der damit zusammenhängenden journalistischen Inhalte. Welchen Quellen kann man Vertrauen schenken und welchen nicht? Was wird als Journalismus betrachtet und was nicht?
Das Panel bei „Future of Journalism“ (v.l.n.r.): Tsepiso Makwetla (SABC), Dr. Glenda Daniels (WITS Media Studies), Holger Stark (DIE ZEIT), Nikiwe Bikitsha (Broadcaster & Journalist), Verashni Pillay (Power FM) und Chris Vick (Spin doctor and Media strategist) Das Panel bei „Future of Journalism“ (v.l.n.r.): Tsepiso Makwetla (SABC), Dr. Glenda Daniels (WITS Media Studies), Holger Stark (DIE ZEIT), Nikiwe Bikitsha (Broadcaster & Journalist), Verashni Pillay (Power FM) und Chris Vick (Spin doctor and Media strategist) | Foto: Jonas Radunz

Fake News: Ein globales Problem

Nikiwe Bikitsha (Broadcasterin und Journalistin) erwähnte eine Studie von Reuters, laut der 49 Prozent der Südafrikaner*innen Vertrauen in Journalismus hätten. 79 Prozent könnten jedoch nicht den Unterschied zwischen Fake News und qualitativem Journalismus erkennen. Holger Stark wies in diesem Zusammenhang auch auf die russische Einflussnahme auf die Wahlen in den USA und Deutschland hin und zeigte so auf, dass es sich bei Desinformation bei weitem nicht nur um ein südafrikanisches Problem handelt, sondern dass Gesellschaften weltweit davon betroffen sind.

Eine Krise der Glaubwürdigkeit

Als mögliche Lösung für die Krise der Glaubwürdigkeit schlug Chris Vick (Spin Doctor und Media Strategist) die Androhung von Strafzahlungen bei ethisch missbräuchlichem Verhalten von Journalist*innen vor. Hier schaltete sich Stark ein, der darin ein Gefahrenpotential für die Instrumentalisierung dieser Strafzahlungen durch die Mächtigen sah. Diese könnten die Zahlungen zum Selbstschutz so nutzen, dass Journalist*innen mehr Zeit vor Gericht als beim Schreiben verbringen würden. 
Diskussion mit dem Publikum Diskussion mit dem Publikum | Foto: Jonas Radunz Auch aus dem Publikum kamen aufschlussreiche Beiträge: Zum einen wurde bemängelt, dass bestimmte Geschichten und Skandale oftmals nicht so prominent in den Medien besprochen würden wie andere. Dies trage zu einem weiteren Vertrauensverlust bei. Zum anderen wies eine junge Journalismus-Studierende auf die unverhältnismäßig scharfe Kritik gegenüber Journalistinnen hin, die häufig sexistische Züge annehme; insbesondere den Sittenverfall in den sozialen Medien nahm sie dabei in den Blick.
 
Glenda Daniels wies zum Abschluss auf den „Anfang vom Ende des Journalismus“ hin. Ihrer Meinung nach habe dieser mit der Finanzierungskrise der Medien begonnen - und dem daraus resultierenden Druck auf Journalist*innen, die ökonomische Seite immer mitzudenken. Wie unabhängig und kritisch kann Journalismus dann noch sein?

Top