Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

New exhibition by the Goethe-Institut Karachi
Limitations, Possibilities, and the Spaces in Between

The two channel video and sound installation Somatic TaleOhrZ 1, 2019, by Vassiliea Stylianidou
The two channel video and sound installation Somatic TaleOhrZ 1, 2019, by Vassiliea Stylianidou | Photo: Humayun Memon

We become through language and can just as easily be undone by it: Commissioned by Goethe-Institut Karachi the exhibition “Is it Possible to Live Outside of Language?” offers a timely reflection on the exclusion of diverse voices. With acknowledgement and appreciation for bodies that language has often failed to honor, the art works presented attempt to reimagine possibilities for the written, the spoken, and the ineffable.

By Umair Khan

On 22nd August, “Is it Possible to Live Outside of Language?” opened at The Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture in collaboration with Vasl Artists' Association. Curated by Aziz Sohail, a young curator from Karachi selected for the Curatorial Intensive South Asia 2018 program by the Goethe-Institut, the exhibition is a pastiche of exploratory and inquisitive art practices. The works exhibited collectively navigate through questions about the limitations of language, its inability to define the experience, gender identities, and sexualities of those that exist in the liminal spaces between its porous encapsulations.

A mystical power

Language designates, defines, describes; and curiously, somewhere in this process, it ends up prescribing and proscribing. Words hold a tremendous, perhaps even mystical power over our lives. We learn, internalize, and perform language and it in turn molds our becoming as subjects - as selves locked in spatiotemporal flux. We become through language and can just as easily be undone by it. Some bodies are cut off from mere recognition and intelligibility under the razor sharp categorizations that words produce. Aziz Sohail's collaborative project is a conversation with these recognitions and the art showcased offers palpable insights and reflections.

New ways of embodiment

Featuring works by artists from Karachi, as well as contributions from Berlin-based Lucas Odahara, the project addresses the highly generative tension in the space between the descriptive, the prescriptive, and the inarticulable. In doing so, it seeks to ignite new ways of embodying and expressing that move from the erasure of identities to their celebration. It envisions a living-with-language that flourishes the expressions of those that have been made to live on its margins.
 
Diverse genders and sexualities denuded of linguistic recognition, find themselves dispossessed in time and space. Vassilieia Stylianidou's two channel video installation Somatic TaleOhrz immerses the viewer within the fictional story of an intersex person from an island of Karachi, living in exile in Greece. With the manipulation of audio, video, and text stretched through time, the viewer finds themselves dislodged from the stability of their immediate reality and into the life of another. The work also includes a performative reading of a critique of the garment industry by Asad Alvi. Alvi’s voice adds a new layer to the text, making it come alive.
Exhibition view with pieces by Lucas Odahara: Lingual (descending), The Many Headed Hydra: 3 Oracle flags, 2017, and We are from here, from the Sea, 2019 Exhibition view with pieces by Lucas Odahara: Lingual (descending), The Many Headed Hydra: 3 Oracle flags, 2017, and We are from here, from the Sea, 2019 | Photo: Humayun Memon Lucas Odahara's art objects are inscribed with citations from laws and personal memoirs by diverse contributors in Portuguese, English and Urdu. The objects have to be physically handled for one to continue reading, and in this process the text is given literal corporality. Seemingly inert objects are activated, endowed with significance and expanded because of the language they reveal.
The rice-filled leather forms by Lucas Odahara, detail from Lingual (descending), 2019 The rice-filled leather forms by Lucas Odahara, detail from Lingual (descending), 2019 | Photo: Humayun Memon

Saying Without Speaking

What constitutes an acceptable body and on what bases do certain lives and bodies become less valuable than others? Fiza Khatri's paintings synthesize her observations of store fronts and manequins and what they reveal and obscure. They make the viewer confront what notions of bodily intelligibility these plastic figures propogate, and what they end up saying without speaking, about the organic bodies they supposedly represent.

A sense of hope and faith circulates around the intersubjective space curated for the exhibition. A feeling that in these negotiations with language, in staying and contending with its complex burdens, we can in fact reclaim our identities, build solidarities, own our narratives, and celebrate each other.
Fiza Khatri: Naya Pakistan III, 2018 Fiza Khatri: Naya Pakistan III, 2018 | Photo: Humayun Memon

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Die neue Ausstellung des Goethe-Instituts Karachi
Sprache: Möglichkeiten, Grenzen und die Räume dazwischen

Die zweikanalige Video- und Klanginstallation „Somatic TaleOhrZ 1“ (2019) von Vassiliea Stylianidou
Die zweikanalige Video- und Klanginstallation „Somatic TaleOhrZ 1“ (2019) von Vassiliea Stylianidou | Foto: Humayun Memon

Wir werden durch Sprache und können genauso leicht von ihr in unserer Existenz beraubt werden: Die im Auftrag des Goethe-Instituts Karachi entstandene Ausstellung „Is it possible to live outside of language“ zeigt eine zeitgemäße Reflexion über Sprache. Mit Anerkennung und Wertschätzung für die Körperlichkeit außerhalb der Sprache, versuchen die präsentierten Kunstwerke, Möglichkeiten für das Geschriebene, das Gesprochene und das Unbeschreibliche neu zu definieren.

Von Umair Khan

Am 22. August eröffnete die von Aziz Sohail, einem jungen Kurator aus Karachi, konzipierte Ausstellung „Is it possible to live outside of language“. Aziz Sohail, der vom Goethe-Institut für das Programm Curatorial Intensive South Asia 2018 ausgewählt wurde, zeigt ein Porträt explorativer und neugieriger Kunstpraktiken, die gemeinsam durch Fragen nach den Grenzen der Sprache navigieren.

Eine mystische Macht

Die Sprache bezeichnet, definiert, beschreibt, und seltsamerweise wird sie irgendwo in diesem Prozess auch überschrieben und lahm gelegt. Worte haben eine enorme, vielleicht sogar mystische Macht über unser Leben. Wir lernen, verinnerlichen und wenden Sprache an, und die Sprache wiederum formt unser Werden als Subjekte – als Selbst, das im raumzeitlichen Fluss gefangen ist. Wir werden durch Sprache und können genauso leicht von ihr rückgängig gemacht werden. Einige Menschen sind von den Beschreibungen, den rasiermesserscharfen Kategorien die Wörter hervorbringen, ausgeschlossen. Aziz Sohails Kooperationsprojekt ist ein Austausch mit diesen Kategorien und präsentiert Kunst, die spürbare Einblicke und Reflexionen bietet.

Neue Wege der Verkörperung

Mit Werken von Künstler*innen aus Karachi sowie Beiträgen des in Berlin lebenden Lucas Odahara, thematisiert das Projekt die hochgenerative Spannung zwischen dem Beschreibenden, dem Rezeptiven und dem Undarstellbaren. Dabei versucht die Ausstellung neue Wege der Verkörperung und des Ausdrucks anzuregen, die von der Auslöschung der Identitäten zu ihrer Überlegenheit führen. Die Sammlung stellt eine „Lebenswandel-Sprache“ vor, die die Ausdrucksformen derer hervorhebt, die an ihren Rändern leben.
 
Unterschiedliche Geschlechter und Sexualitäten, die von sprachlicher Anerkennung ausgeschlossen sind, existieren von Zeit und Raum enteignet. Vassilieia Stylianidou's zweikanalige Videoinstallation „Somatic TaleOhrz“ lässt die Betrachter*innen in die fiktive Geschichte einer im griechischen Exil lebenden intersexuellen Person aus Karachi eintauchen. Mit der Manipulation von Audio, Video und Text im Laufe der Zeit, finden sich die Betrachter*innen von der unmittelbaren Realität distanziert und in das Leben eines anderen versetzt. Das Werk beinhaltet auch die performative Lesung einer Kritik der Textilindustrie von Asad Alvi.
Ausstellungsraum mit Werken von Lucas Odahara: „Lingual (descending)“, „The Many Headed Hydra: 3 Oracle flags“ und „We are from here, from the Sea“ Ausstellungsraum mit Werken von Lucas Odahara: „Lingual (descending)“, „The Many Headed Hydra: 3 Oracle flags“ und „We are from here, from the Sea“ | Foto: Humayun Memon Lucas Odaharas Kunstobjekte sind mit Zitaten aus Gesetzen und persönlichen Erinnerungen von verschiedenen Autor*innen auf Portugiesisch, Englisch und Urdu versehen. Die Objekte müssen physisch behandelt werden, damit man sie weiterlesen kann. In diesem Prozess erhält der Text sprichwörtlich eine Körperlichkeit. Scheinbar unlebendige Objekte werden aktiviert, mit Bedeutung ausgestattet und durch die Sprache, die sie offenbaren, erweitert.
Reisgefüllte Lederformen von Lucas Odahara, Detail von „Lingual (descending)“ Reisgefüllte Lederformen von Lucas Odahara, Detail von „Lingual (descending)“ | Foto: Humayun Memon

Sprechen ohne zu reden

Was macht einen akzeptablen Körper aus und auf welcher Grundlage werden bestimmte Leben und Körper weniger wertvoll als andere? Fiza Khatris Gemälde fassen Beobachtungen von Ladenfronten und Schaufensterpuppen zusammen und zeigen, was sie enthüllen und verdecken sollen. Sie konfrontiert die Betrachter*innen mit Vorstellungen von körperlicher Verständlichkeit, welche diese plastischen Figuren vertreten, und was sie am Ende ohne zu sprechen über die organischen Körper sagen, die sie angeblich repräsentieren.
Ein Gefühl der Hoffnung und des Glaubens zirkuliert um den intersubjektiven Raum, der für die Ausstellung kuratiert wurde. Das Gefühl, dass wir bei diesen Verhandlungen mit der Sprache, beim Bleiben und Bewältigen ihrer komplexen Belastungen, tatsächlich unsere Identitäten zurückfordern können, Solidaritäten aufbauen und uns gegenseitig anerkennen.
Fiza Khatri: „Naya Pakistan III“  (2018) Fiza Khatri: „Naya Pakistan III“ (2018) | Foto: Humayun Memon

Top