Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

The Earth is Flat – How to Read Media
Manipulation, Cyberbullying and Hate Speech

During a video production workshop for young people in Syktyvkar
During a video production workshop for young people in Syktyvkar | Photo: Kirill Shuchalin

We can read media, but can we distinguish real news from fake? The Goethe-Institut Moscow is now entering its second round with The Earth Is Flat - How to Read Media? and is creating a participatory educational project.

By Anna Schüller

Media literacy and an intentionally critical attitude towards media content are necessary in the modern digital world. Do we recognise when media are juggling key words and concepts, putting facts into new contexts or even manipulating them? Do we recognise what is genuine information – and what is merely commentary or premature conclusions?
Workshop for Youth in Syktyvkar, 19 May 2019 Workshop for Youth in Syktyvkar, 19 May 2019 | Photo: Kirill Shuchalin

From St Petersburg to Vladivostok

The Goethe-Institut Moscow has launched a new educational project called The Earth Is Flat - How to Read Media? aimed at the most active media consumers: young people between the ages of 12 and 17. But also media professionals, teachers and anyone who wants to understand the media better are involved in the project. Since autumn 2018, ten workshops, public events and teacher training courses have been held in ten Russian cities from St Petersburg to Vladivostok. Now the project is in its second half. At 15 workshops to be held in 15 Russian cities by the end of November, Russian teenagers will learn how modern media work and how they can protect themselves against manipulation, cyberbullying or hate speech. In addition, five webinars were produced with international media literacy experts as part of a comprehensive train-the-trainer programme.
Opening event on 1 June 2019 in Yaroslavl with Jurij Saprykin about: "The new indignation: how to survive in a world of hurt feelings" Opening event on 1 June 2019 in Yaroslavl with Jurij Saprykin about: "The new indignation: how to survive in a world of hurt feelings" | Photo: Kirill Shuchalin

Emojis, memes and animations  

The social networks of the Goethe-Institut are being used to disseminate the tutorial, animations, comics and video clips, interactive quizzes, memes and infographics. The young people are also producing their own videos and animations in the workshops [Link: The Earth Is Flat – How to Read Media?]. Networking and intensive dialogue make it possible to sustainably promote media literacy and critical thinking among young people. It gathers the experience of specialists from Russia and Germany who have been dealing with this topic for a long time. In the long term, it’s about the common protection of personal accounts and data, the ethics of online debating and dealing with trolls and cyberbullying.
The video is part of the educational project of the Goethe-Institut Moksau and COLTA.RU., Video: Galina Mosalova
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

The Earth is Flat – How to Read Media
Manipulation, Cybermobbing und Hate Speech

Dreharbeiten zum eigenen Video, Workshop für Jugendliche in Syktyvkar
Dreharbeiten zum eigenen Video, Workshop für Jugendliche in Syktyvkar | Foto: Kirill Shuchalin

Wir können Medien lesen, aber können wir auch echte Nachrichten von falschen unterscheiden? Das Goethe-Institut Moskau geht nun mit „The Earth Is Flat – How to Read Media?“ in die zweite Runde und schafft ein partizipatives Aufklärungs- und Bildungsprojekt.

Von Anna Schüller

Medienkompetenz und eine bewusst kritische Einstellung zu Medieninhalten sind in der modernen digitalen Welt notwendig. Erkennen wir, wenn Medien mit Schlagworten und Konzepten jonglieren, Fakten in neue Kontexte stellen oder sogar manipulieren? Erkennen wir, was Information ist – und was Kommentar oder vorschnelle Schlussfolgerung?
Workshop für Jugendliche in Syktyvkar, 19. Mai 2019 Workshop für Jugendliche in Syktyvkar, 19. Mai 2019 | Foto: Kirill Shuchalin

Von St. Petersburg bis Wladiwostok

Das Goethe-Institut Moskau hat mit „The Earth Is Flat – How to Read Media?“ ein neues Aufklärungs- und Bildungsprojekt gestartet, das sich an die aktivsten Medienkonsumenten richtet: an Jugendliche im Alter von 12 bis 17 Jahren. Aber auch Medienfachleute, Lehrkräfte und alle, die die Medien besser verstehen wollen, sind bei dem Projekt eingebunden. Seit Herbst 2018 wurden zehn Workshops, öffentliche Veranstaltungen und Fortbildungen für Lehrkräfte in zehn russischen Städten, von St. Petersburg bis Wladiwostok, realisiert. Jetzt geht das Projekt in die zweite Halbzeit. In 15 Workshops, die bis Ende November in 15 russischen Städten stattfinden, erfahren russische Jugendliche, wie moderne Medien funktionieren und wie sie sich vor Manipulation, Cybermobbing oder Hate Speech schützen. Darüber hinaus wurden fünf Webinare mit internationalen Expertinnen und Experten aus dem Bereich Media Literacy produziert – als Teil eines umfassenden „Train the Trainer“-Programms.
Eröffnungsveranstaltung am 1. Juni 2019 in Yaroslavl mit Jurij Saprykin zum Thema: „Die neue Empörung: wie überlebt man in einer Welt der verletzten Gefühle?“ Eröffnungsveranstaltung am 1. Juni 2019 in Yaroslavl mit Jurij Saprykin zum Thema: „Die neue Empörung: wie überlebt man in einer Welt der verletzten Gefühle?“ | Foto: Kirill Shuchalin

Emojis, Memes und Animationen

Über die sozialen Netze des Goethe-Instituts und seiner Partner werden Tutorials, Animationen und Videoclips zum Thema Medienkompetenz wie auch interaktive Quiz, Memes oder Infografiken gepostet und geteilt. Auch die Jugendlichen selbst produzieren in den Workshops Videos und Animationen, die sie in ihren Kanälen veröffentlichen. Die praxisorientierten Workshops, wie auch die Vernetzung und der intensive Austausch mit den Trainern fördern die Medienkompetenz und das kritische Denken der Jugendlichen nachhaltig. Das Projekt bringt dabei Erfahrungen von Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten aus Russland und Deutschland zusammen, die sich schon lange mit dem Thema beschäftigen. Zum Thema Medienkompetenz gehören auch der Schutz persönlicher Konten und Daten, die Ethik in Online-Debatten, der Umgang mit Fake news und Trollen sowie Hate Speech und Cybermobbing.

 
Kjo video është pjesë e Projektit të edukimit të Institutit Goethe në Moskë dhe COLTA.RU „The Earth Is Flat - How to Read Media“, i cili i kushtohet kompetencës mediatike, Video: Galina Mosalova

Top