Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Frankfurt Book Fair
Digitisation, Ecology and Justice

At the world’s premier fair for printed and digital content.
At the world’s premier fair for printed and digital content. | Photo: Frankfurt Book Fair/Anett Weirauch

Every October, the media and publishing sector gathers in Frankfurt for the world’s premier exhibition for print and digital content. It is also considered a stage for the debate about international socio-political events. The Goethe-Institut is also on site with an exciting programme.

How do we want to live? Will algorithms decide our future? From 16 to 20 October, the Goethe-Institut will address the urgent questions of the present and visions for the future in its appearance at the Frankfurt Book Fair. It’s about digitisation, ecology and justice. The focus is on the exchange between continents and different cultural perspectives.

Books Are Not Dead. Books Are Not Dead. | Photo: Frankfurt Book Fair/Anett Weirauch

Cultural networks linking Africa and Europe

The Weltempfang stage is once again the meeting point this year. That’s where Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut, will discuss cultural networks linking Africa and Europe with the author and project leader of Afro Young Adult Zukiswa Wanner and author and editor Philipp Khabo Koepsell. Secretary-general Johannes Ebert, journalist and curator Oulimata Gueye and director Susanne Kennedy will talk about the importance of art and culture in the future as well as the role of creative artists in civil society discourses. Other guests of the Goethe-Institut include Alexander Kluge, Joseph Vogl and Katharina Zweig.

Insights into translation funding are provided by events on Books First, the project for the English-speaking world as part of the Year of Germany in the USA, and the Litrix translation programme. Greek has been the focus of attention this year.

You can find the complete programme of the Goethe-Institut at the Frankfurt Book Fair here.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Frankfurter Buchmesse
Digitalisierung, Ökologie und Gerechtigkeit

Auf der weltweit wichtigsten Messe für gedruckte und digitale Inhalte.
Auf der weltweit wichtigsten Messe für gedruckte und digitale Inhalte. | Foto: Frankfurter Buchmesse/Anett Weirauch

Jedes Jahr im Oktober trifft sich die Medien- und Publishing-Branche in Frankfurt auf der weltweit wichtigsten Messe für gedruckte und digitale Inhalte. Zugleich gilt sie als Bühne für die Auseinandersetzung um das internationale gesellschaftspolitische Geschehen. Auch das Goethe-Institut ist mit einem spannenden Programm vor Ort.

Wie wollen wir leben? Werden Algorithmen unsere Zukunft bestimmen? Vom 16. bis 20. Oktober befasst sich das Goethe-Institut bei seinem Aufritt auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse mit den drängenden Fragen der Gegenwart und Visionen für die Zukunft. Es geht um Digitalisierung, Ökologie und Gerechtigkeit. Im Zentrum steht dabei der Austausch zwischen Kontinenten und unterschiedlichen kulturellen Perspektiven.
 

Das Buch ist nicht tot. Das Buch ist nicht tot. | Foto: Frankfurter Buchmesse/Anett Weirauch

Kulturelle Netzwerke zwischen Afrika und Europa

Treffpunkt ist auch in diesem Jahr wieder die Bühne des Weltempfangs. Dort diskutiert der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts Klaus-Dieter Lehmann mit der Autorin und Projektleiterin von „Afro Young Adult“ Zukiswa Wanner und dem Autor und Herausgeber Philipp Khabo Koepsell über kulturelle Netzwerke zwischen Afrika und Europa. Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert, die Journalistin und Kuratorin Oulimata Gueye und die Regisseurin Susanne Kennedy sprechen über die Bedeutung von Kunst und Kultur in der Zukunft sowie über die Rolle Kulturschaffender in zivilgesellschaftlichen Diskursen. Weitere Gäste des Goethe-Instituts sind unter anderen Alexander Kluge, Joseph Vogl und Katharina Zweig.

Einblicke in die Übersetzungsförderung bieten Veranstaltungen zu „Books First“, dem Projekt für den englischen Sprachraum im Rahmen des Deutschlandjahres in den USA, und zum Übersetzungsprogramm Litrix. Hier steht seit diesem Jahr Griechisch im Mittelpunkt.

Das vollständige Programm des Goethe-Instituts auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse finden Sie hier.

Top