Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

2019 "DokuBaku" Documentary Film Festival
The Shimmer of Perception

One of the exciting venues of the festival: the symbolic Salaam Cinema
One of the exciting venues of the festival: the symbolic Salaam Cinema | Photo: Adil Yusifov

"Truthfulness" was the motto of this year’s "DokuBaku" Documentary Film Festival in Azerbaijan. In close cooperation with the Goethe-Zentrum Baku, 38 films from around the world were shown at three venues. The independent film festival was launched in 2017 in Azerbaijan with the aim of supporting local filmmakers and non-fiction film genres.

By Georg Seeßlen

The official logo of the "DokuBaku" Documentary Film Festival The official logo of the "DokuBaku" Documentary Film Festival | Artwork: DokuBaku

Those who see pictures in the cinema experience a wondrous shimmer of perception, which they can then later, in reality, verify and supplement or they can subject a fresh supply of impressions to critical reflection on the screen. How close film and reality can get “instantaneously” was experienced multiple times in the third edition of "DokuBaku", the Documentary Film Festival in the capital of Azerbaijan. And twice it was directly about the cinema itself. One film, "Saving Salaam", as a cinema directly described the civil society struggle for a place rich in history and symbolism that is far more than a cinema, but a haven of cultural self-determination. And the other, "Once Upon a Time in Shanghai" by Leyli Gafarova uses the making of the feature film "The Bra" aka "The Train Driver Searching for Love" as the background for the portrait of a beautiful and “wild” Baku district and its people: It was called “Shanghai,” no one knows exactly why anymore, and a train went right through it. Now the excavators have already destroyed more than half of it. What will remain in the end? A film and memories.

A form of collective memory

Perhaps this could be seen as a leitmotif in the selection of films for "DokuBaku" (a total of 38 films in 25 performances): documentary filming as a gesture against forgetting. It is sometimes nostalgically wistful, such as when it’s about the everyday lives of old women living in humble and idyllic nature, or wolf stories told by Portuguese shepherds, but it can also be painfully present as in "Taste of Cement" by Ziad Kalthoum, which looks at war and reconstruction, trauma and exploitation in Syria and Lebanon (the film was in German cinemas last year). It is a film that, like the prizewinner "The Disappearence of My Mother" by Beniamino Baresseni, shows that close observation and cinematic poetry are not contradictory. Films can be a form of collective memory in which the story is not always and only written by the winners. That alone makes them political, even if, for one reason or another, they (have to) abstain from expressing direct opinions. "In Between" by Samir Karahoda from Kosovo was awarded as best short film. It is a story of hope and justice, condensed in the effort to build exactly the same houses for the children whose return from forced migration is longed for.

At the opening of the festival in the Kapellhaus of Baku, site of the Goethe-Zentrum At the opening of the festival in the Kapellhaus of Baku, site of the Goethe-Zentrum | Photo: Adil Yusifov

Cinematic attitudes

The "DokuBaku" Documentary Film Festival offers visitors two aspects. One is a sample of international documentary films, both shorts and full-length, but the second, perhaps even more interesting for festival visitors coming from afar, is an insight and overview of local events in the field of documentary work – although the documentary here is not seen dogmatically. Even essayist and animated films have a chance here. And the three main venues are as different as the film programme: the Kapellhaus, a very communicative and open meeting place, the aforementioned Salaam Cinema with its charm of self-administered cinematic passion and the slightly more sophisticated Landmark in the basement of an office complex. They are three cinemas that simultaneously represent different cinematic attitudes and, to a degree, also the different aspects of this city.

An opening between the cinematic and the social spaces

"DokuBaku" shows – and its collaboration with the Goethe-Zentrum certainly plays an important role – that a film festival is more than a series of films, an opportunity to bring the audience and filmmakers together and, in the end, award prizes following more or less heated jury debates. It is an opening between the cinematic and the social spaces, all the more urgently needed the more closed off one sees oneself from the two.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Dokumentarfilmfestival „DokuBaku“ 2019
Das Flirren der Wahrnehmung

Einer der spannenden Schauplätze des Festivals war das symbolträchtige Salaam Cinema
Einer der spannenden Schauplätze des Festivals war das symbolträchtige Salaam Cinema | Foto: Adil Yusifov

„Truthfulness – Aufrichtigkeit“  war das diesjährige Motto des Dokumentar­film­festivals „DokuBaku“ in Aserbaidschan. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Zentrum Baku wurden an drei Spielstätten 38 Filme aus aller Welt gezeigt. Das unabhängige Filmfestival wurde 2017 in Aserbaidschan mit dem Ziel ins Leben gerufen, lokale Filmschaffende und nicht-fiktionale Filmgenres zu unterstützen.

Von Georg Seeßlen

Das offizielle Logo des Dokumentarfilmfestivals „DokuBaku“ Das offizielle Logo des Dokumentarfilmfestivals „DokuBaku“ | Grafik: DokuBaku

Ein wundersames Flirren der Wahrnehmung erlebt, wer im Kino Bilder sieht, die er gleich darauf, in der Wirklichkeit, nachprüfen und ergänzen kann, oder wer einen frischen Vorrat an Eindrücken einer kritischen Reflexion auf der Leinwand unterziehen kann. Wie nahe sich Film und Wirklichkeit auch „augenblicklich“ kommen können, war bei der dritten Ausgabe von „DokuBaku“, dem Dokumentarfilmfestival in der Hauptstadt von Aserbaidschan, mehrfach zu erleben. Und zweimal hatte es auch direkt mit dem Kino selbst zu tun. Der eine Film, „Saving Salaam“, schilderte in der Form eines cinema direct den zivilgesellschaftlichen Kampf um einen vergangenheits- und symbolreichen Ort, der viel mehr als ein Kino, nämlich ein Hort kultureller Selbstbestimmung ist. Und der andere, „Once Upon a Time in Shanghai“ von Leyli Gafarova nutzt die Dreharbeiten zu dem Spielfilm „The Bra“ alias „Vom Lokführer, der die Liebe suchte“ als Hintergrund für das Porträt eines schönen und „wilden“ Stadtviertels von Baku und seiner Menschen: „Shanghai“ wurde es genannt, man weiß nicht mehr genau warum, und ein Zug fuhr mitten hindurch. Nun haben die Bagger schon mehr als die Hälfte davon vernichtet. Was am Ende davon bleiben wird? Film und Erinnerung.

Eine Form des kollektiven Gedächtnisses

Vielleicht wäre dies als ein Leitmotiv bei der Auswahl der Filme für „DokuBaku“ (insgesamt 38 Filme in 25 Vorstellungen) auszumachen: Das dokumentarische Filmen als Geste gegen das Vergessen. Das hat manchmal einen nostalgisch wehmütigen Aspekt, etwa wenn es um den Alltag alter Frauen in ärmlich-idyllischer Natur geht, oder um Wolfssagen portugiesischer Hirten, es kann aber auch schmerzhaft gegenwärtig sein wie in „Taste of Cement“ von Ziad Kalthoum, der Krieg und Aufbau, Trauma und Ausbeutung in Syrien und im Libanon montiert (der Film lief im letzten Jahr auch in deutschen Kinos). Ein Film übrigens, der wie der Preisträger „The Disappearence of my Mother“ von Beniamino Baresseni zeigt, dass genaue Beobachtung und filmische Poesie keine Widersprüche sind. Filme können eine Form des kollektiven Gedächtnisses sein, in dem die Geschichte nicht immer und ausschließlich von den Gewinnern geschrieben wird. Allein das macht sie politisch, auch wenn sie sich aus dem einen oder anderen Grund der direkten Stellungnahme enthalten (müssen). Als bester Kurzfilm wurde „In Between“ von Samir Karahoda aus Kosovo ausgezeichnet. Eine Geschichte der Hoffnung und der Gerechtigkeit, verdichtet in der Anstrengung, genau gleiche Häuser für die Kinder zu bauen, deren Rückkehr aus erzwungener Migration ersehnt wird.

Bei der Festivaleröffnung im Kapellhaus von Baku, dem Sitz des Goethe-Zentrums Bei der Festivaleröffnung im Kapellhaus von Baku, dem Sitz des Goethe-Zentrums | Foto: Adil Yusifov

Cineastische Attitüden

Das Dokumentarfilmfestival „DokuBaku“ bietet dem Besucher zwei Seiten. Das eine ist ein Sample von internationalen Dokumentarfilmen, im kurzen wie im abendfüllenden Format, das zweite aber, für den weitgereisten Festivalbesucher vielleicht noch interessanter, einen Ein- und Überblick über das lokale Geschehen auf dem Gebiet des dokumentarischen Arbeitens – wobei das Dokumentarische hier nicht dogmatisch gesehen wird: auch Essayistisches und Animationsfilme haben hier ihre Chance. Und so unterschiedlich wie das Film-Angebot sind auch die drei hauptsächlichen Spielstätten: Das Kapellhaus als ausgesprochen kommunikativer und offener Begegnungsort, das erwähnte Cinema Salaam mit seinem Charme selbstverwalteter cineastischer Leidenschaft und das etwas mondänere Landmark im Souterrain eines Bürokomplexes. Drei Kinos, die zugleich verschiedene cineastische Attitüden und ein wenig auch verschiedene Seiten dieser Stadt repräsentieren.

Eine Öffnung zwischen den filmischen und den sozialen Räumen

„DokuBaku“ zeigt, und dabei spielt die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Zentrum gewiss eine wichtige Rolle, dass ein Filmfestival mehr ist als eine Anzahl von Filmen, eine Gelegenheit, Publikum und Filmemacher miteinander ins Gespräch zu bringen und am Ende nach mehr oder weniger hitzigen Jury-Debatten Preise zu vergeben. Es ist eine Öffnung zwischen den filmischen und den sozialen Räumen, umso dringender geboten, je geschlossener sich einer von beiden sieht.

Top