Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Conference Vocational Education and Labour Mobility – Think Globally!
“All we need to do is act!”

The event offered plenty of space for dialogue.
The event offered plenty of space for dialogue. | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig

Robots not welcome: The Goethe-Institut’s conference “Vocational Education and Labour Mobility – Think Globally!” focused on international collaboration in the context of the migration of skilled personnel.

By Kristina von Klot

It’s common sense that Germany considers itself an immigration country. It’s also undisputed that demographic change and a massive decline in the supply of labour in the Federal Republic are leading to an additional need for qualified professionals from abroad. According to a study by the Bertelsmann Foundation, the immigration requirement is for 260,000 people each year by 2060. But even when the new Skilled Labour Immigration Act enters into force on 1 March 2020, what can be improved at an institutional level and how international cooperation in training and qualification can be optimised remains to be seen.

Protagonists from the video series “Wir in Deutschland” Protagonists from the video series “Wir in Deutschland” | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig

Mastering structural challenges together

With the goal of giving these questions a podium, the Goethe-Institut hosted a conference in Berlin at the end of October. At the conference entitled “Vocational Education and Labour Mobility – Think Globally!”, representatives from academia, industry, politics and society were able to discuss various framework conditions and offers in the origin and destination countries in three workshops in order to consider a new need for action and possible levers. For example, 200,000 qualified skilled workers for the trades alone are lacking in Germany. It’s a structural challenge because immigrant workers obtain their professional training in very different national training systems, so that recognition in the destination country is often hampered by bureaucratic hurdles. Another challenge is posed because cultural hurdles and processes of alienation have to be overcome both during integration into the labour market and the society of the destination country as well as reintegration after returning home.

Secretary-General Johannes Ebert during his opening speech Secretary-General Johannes Ebert during his opening speech | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig

“We need a welcoming culture”

For this reason, in his opening speech the secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut Johannes Ebert stressed the growing importance of comprehensive training, which should already begin in the country of origin – for example by conveying a “realistic image of Germany.” Not least, the recently founded Advisory Council on Migration reflects the fact that the need for suitable language and cultural learning “is constantly increasing.” Ebert urgently recommended an increase in the systematic promotion of German lessons at public schools and universities abroad. In order to be able to expand offers in Germany, as well, not only support from government is needed, he noted, but “We need a welcoming culture. If xenophobia and anti-Semitism are sensed on our streets, it stains the image of Germany abroad.” One of the Goethe-Institut’s most recently developed tools to make it easier for migrant workers to arrive in Germany consists of 50 new information pillars that will soon be put up nationwide in rural areas. They provide information about the spectrum of and ways to access the web portal “Mein Weg nach Deutschland,” which is available in 26 languages. Ebert concluded, “We rely on migration, we have many tools; all we need to do is act.”

Experts on stage at Berlin’s Hotel Oderberger Experts on stage at Berlin’s Hotel Oderberger | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig

Cultural participation

The requirements for successful international cooperation were summarised by a panel discussion at the end of the conference. In particular, migration should give the host country a clear advantage in the labour market, “without, however, slowing growth or risking brain drain in the countries of origin,” said Vassiliy Yuzhanin of the International Organisation for Migration (IOM). It is also crucial to determine expectations and needs beforehand by means of reciprocity agreements and intensive dialogue in order to be able to take these into account during training in the home country, said Delmer Cruz from the Embassy of the Philippines. Rosario Jiménez Rodríguez (Council of the Spanish Embassy) hopes for better cooperation with local authorities and a reduction of bureaucratisation in Germany. She added, “You should never forget that you are dealing with people. Being a migrant is only one aspect among many!” And Christoph Veldhues, head of the Language Department at the Goethe-Institut, added that language teaching should not be based on purely “functional German. After all, it’s also about the cultural participation of the skilled professionals – not robots.”

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Fachtagung Bildung: Mobilität global denken.
„Wir müssen nur noch handeln!“

Die Veranstaltung bot viel Raum für Austausch.
Die Veranstaltung bot viel Raum für Austausch. | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig

Arbeitsroboter unerwünscht: Auf der Fachtagung „Bildung: Mobilität global denken“ des Goethe-Instituts stand die internationale Zusammenarbeit im Kontext der Migration von Fachkräften im Zentrum.

Von Kristina von Klot

Dass sich Deutschland als Einwanderungsland versteht, ist Common Sense; ebenso unbestritten ist der demografische Wandel und ein massiver Rückgang des Arbeitskräfte­angebots in der Bundesrepublik, der zu einem zusätzlichen Bedarf an qualifizierten Fachkräften aus dem Ausland führt: Laut einer Studie der Bertelsmann Stiftung besteht bis 2060 ein jährlicher Einwanderungsbedarf von 260.000 Menschen. Doch auch wenn am 1. März 2020 das neue Fach­kräfte­einwanderungs­gesetz in Kraft treten wird: Was im Einzelnen auf institutioneller Ebene verbesserungs­würdig ist und wie sich die internationale Zusammen­arbeit bei der Weiterbildung und Qualifizierung optimieren lässt, ist noch offen.

Protagonist*innen der Videoreihe „Wir in Deutschland“ Protagonist*innen der Videoreihe „Wir in Deutschland“ | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig

Gemeinsam strukturelle Herausforderungen meistern

Mit dem Ziel, diesen Fragen ein Podium zu bieten, lud das Goethe-Institut Ende Oktober zu einer Fachtagung nach Berlin: Unter dem Titel „Bildung: Mobilität global denken“ konnten sich Vertreter*innen aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Politik und Gesellschaft in drei Workshops über verschiedene Rahmenbedingungen und Angebote in den Herkunfts- und Zielländern austauschen, um gemeinsam über einen neuen Handlungsbedarf und mögliche Stellschrauben nachzudenken. So fehlen allein dem Handwerk in Deutschland 200.000 qualifizierte Fachkräfte. Eine strukturelle Herausforderung: Arbeitsmigrant*innen erwerben in höchst unterschiedlichen nationalen Ausbildungssystemen ihre berufliche Qualifikation, sodass deren Anerkennung im Zielland häufig hohe bürokratische Hürden im Weg stehen. Eine andere Herausforderung: Sowohl bei der Integration in den Arbeitsmarkt und die Gesellschaft des Ziellandes als auch bei der Reintegration nach der Rückkehr in die Heimat müssen kulturelle Hürden und Entfremdungsprozesse überwunden werden.

Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert bei seiner Eröffnunsgrede Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert bei seiner Eröffnunsgrede | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig

„Wir brauchen eine Willkommenskultur“

Aus diesem Grund betonte Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, in seiner Eröffnungsrede die wachsende Bedeutung umfassender Qualifizierung, die bereits im Herkunftsland beginnen sollte – etwa mit der Vermittlung eines „realistischen Deutschlandbildes“. Nicht zuletzt der kürzlich gegründete Beirat Migration spiegele die Tatsache wider, dass der Bedarf nach passender Sprach- und Kulturvermittlung „kontinuierlich steigt.“ Ebert empfahl dringend eine Verstärkung der systematischen Förderung von Deutschunterricht an öffentlichen Schulen und Hochschulen im Ausland. Um auch in Deutschland die Angebote weiter ausbauen zu können, sei man nicht nur auf die Unterstützung der Politik angewiesen: „Wir brauchen eine Willkommenskultur. Wenn auf unseren Straßen Fremdenfeindlichkeit und Antisemitismus zu spüren ist, wird das Bild von Deutschland im Ausland beschmutzt.“ Eines der jüngst entwickelten Werkzeuge des Goethe-Instituts, um Arbeitsmigrant*innen das Ankommen in Deutschland zu erleichtern: 50 neue Info-Säulen, die bald bundesweit im ländlichen Raum stehen werden. Sie informieren über die Bandbreite und Zugänge des Webportals „Mein Weg nach Deutschland“, das in 26 Sprachen abrufbar ist. Eberts Resümee: „Wir sind auf Migration angewiesen, wir haben viele Instrumente und müssen nur noch handeln.“

Expert*innen auf der Bühne im Berliner Hotel Oderberger Expert*innen auf der Bühne im Berliner Hotel Oderberger | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig

Kulturelle Partizipation

Die Voraussetzungen für eine erfolgreiche internationale Zusammenarbeit fasste eine Podiumsdiskussion am Ende der Konferenz zusammen. Vor allem müsse dem Zielland durch die Migration ein klarer Vorteil für den Arbeitsmarkt entstehen, „allerdings ohne, dass dadurch im Sendeland das Wachstum verlangsamt oder ein Brain-Drain droht“, meinte Vassiliy Yuzhanin von der Internationalen Organisation für Migration (IOM). Entscheidend sei zudem, durch Gegenseitigkeitsabkommen und einen intensiven Austausch Erwartungen und Bedürfnisse im Vorfeld zu bestimmen, um diese bei der Ausbildung im Heimatland berücksichtigen zu können, ergänzte Delmer Cruz von der Botschaft der Philippinen. Auf eine bessere Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Behörden und einen Abbau von Bürokratisierung in Deutschland hofft Rosario Jiménez Rodríguez (Rat der Botschaft von Spanien). Sie fügte hinzu: „Man sollte nie vergessen, dass man es mit Menschen zu tun hat. Migrant zu sein, ist nur ein Aspekt unter vielen!“ Und Christoph Veldhues, Leiter des Fachbereichs Sprache, vom Goethe-Institut ergänzte, dass man bei der Sprachvermittlung nicht auf ein reines „Funktions-Deutsch“ setzen dürfe. „Schließlich geht es auch um die kulturelle Partizipation von Fachkräften – nicht um Arbeitsroboter.“

Top