Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

“Worlds of Homelessness“
The right to housing is a human right

“Worlds of Homelessness”
“Worlds of Homelessness” | Photo: Loredana La Rocca

The Goethe Institute in Los Angeles organized a four-day conference last week, called “Worlds of Homelessness”, bringing local and international scholars, advocates, artists, architects and current or formerly unhoused people together for conversations held in downtown Los Angeles.

By Catherine G. Wagley

The event opened at the Skid Row History Museum and Archive, a space run by the performance art collective the Los Angeles Poverty Department, aka the LAPD. Artist John Malpede, who founded the LAPD in the mid-1980s, collaborates to create performances with residents of Skid Row, where a concentration of the city’s unhoused people live. The collective opened the museum and archive in 2015. It served as an ideal venue for the conference’s opening—and later, its closing—as it assumes that Skid Row residents have the knowledge and expertise to document and preserve their own lived experience.

How do we talk about homelessness? How do we talk about homelessness? | Photo: Khalid Farqharson

How do we talk about homelessness?

The opening panel on October 22, titled “Framing the Issue,” questioned the language we use to discuss homelessness, including whether “homeless” is even the best term, and outlined systemic factors contributing to worldwide housing precarity. Ananya Roy, of the UCLA Institute on Inequality and Democracy, spoke about the criminalization of poverty, while Barbara Schönig, director of the Institute for European Urban Studies at Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, discussed the Expropriate Deutsche Wohnen movement in Berlin, a public revolt against private corporate landlords. Crushow Herring, an artist, muralist and entrepreneur who lives on Skid Row, framed living unhoused as a rejection of the very system that racially discriminates and criminalizes poverty. Michele Lancione, an urban ethnographer and activist based at University of Sheffield, argued that our collective narratives – including the limiting ways in which we often discuss homelessness – must change if we want a more inclusive future. After the panel ended, the L.A. Playmakers, musicians who belong to the Skid Row community, played until nearly midnight.

When does life experience become expertise?

On October 23, the conference met at Navel on the southwest edge of downtown for film screenings and a discussion on how art can engage with homelessness. John Malpede, artist Henriette Bouwers, and LAPD collaborator Walter Fears spoke about how the LAPD uses performance to engage conversations around the local and national policies that affect the lives of Skid Row residents. Actor and scholar Licko Turle described how street theater and social movements coalesce in communities of unhoused people in Salvador in Brazil. Fabian Debora, an L.A. artist who currently serves as director Somos LA Arte, the Homeboy Art Academy, described his own journey with addiction and art, and asked when life experience would begin to be seen as true expertise. The question brough warm applause.

Crushow Herring described living unhoused as rejection by the system. Crushow Herring described living unhoused as rejection by the system. | Photo: Khalid Farqharson

A panel at Sci-Arc on October 24 included architects Darin Johnstone from Los Angeles; Alexander Hagner from Vienna; Thorsten Deckler and Tebogo Ramatlo from Johannesburg, South Africa; and Ana Elvira Vélez from Columbia. The panelists presented projects they had completed, and also discussed different ways of thinking about affordable housing. The only event that did not include a current or formerly unhoused person or someone working daily with unhoused communities, this panel ended in heated debate over the language we use to discuss homelessness and the way we talk about money in a world, and a city, with steep wealth disparities.

What needs to change to ensure the right to housing?

“Worlds of Homelessness” ended on October 25, once again at the Skid Row History Museum and Archive. The final panel included two scholars who focused on our lack of adequate, sharable data on unhoused populations worldwide: Jutta Allmendinger, President of the Berlin Social Science Center (WZB), and Hilary Silver, of George Washington University. Two others, Cristina Cielo of the Latin American Faculty for Social Sciences in Quito, Ecuador and Charles Porter of the United Coalition East Prevention Project in L.A., discussed the possibilities for self-organizing and collective empowerment of marginalized communities. The discussion that followed was wide and urgent, once again touching on how both our mentalities and systems of governance and capital must change if we are to ensure a right to housing.

DJ Oliver und Street Symphony at the Festival For All Skid Row Artists DJ Oliver und Street Symphony at the Festival For All Skid Row Artists | Photo: Khalid Farqharson

The annual festival of the LA Poverty Department for all Skid Row Artists marked the end of the four-day event. This festival is a cultural folk festival of the area, in which the guests of “Worlds of Homelessness” took part.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„Worlds of Homelessness“
Das Recht auf Wohnen ist ein Menschenrecht

„Worlds of Homelessness“
„Worlds of Homelessness“ | Foto: Loredana La Rocca

Das Goethe-Institut Los Angeles organisierte Ende Oktober eine viertägige Veranstaltung unter dem Titel „Worlds of Homelessness“. Lokale und internationale Vertreter*innen aus Wissenschaft, Aktivismus, Kunst und Architektur trafen sich mit ehemaligen oder noch obdachlosen Menschen in Downtown Los Angeles zu gemeinsamen Gesprächen.

Von Catherine G. Wagley

„Worlds of Homelessness“ wurde im Skid Row History Museum and Archive eröffnet, welches von der Gemeinschaft für Performancekunst Los Angeles Poverty Department, abgekürzt LAPD, betrieben wird. Der Künstler John Malpede, der das LAPD Mitte der 1980er Jahre gründete, arbeitet mit den kreativen Köpfen der Einwohner*innen in Skid Row (Stadtteil in L.A.) zusammen, wo die Anzahl der Obdachlosen der Stadt sehr hoch ist. Das Museum und Archiv wurde 2015 von der Gemeinschaft gegründet und stellte den idealen Treffpunkt für die Eröffnung der Veranstaltung – und später deren Abschluss – dar, da dort davon ausgegangen wird, dass die Einwohner*innen von Skid Row das Wissen und die Fachkenntnisse besitzen, ihre erlebten Erfahrungen zu dokumentieren und für die Nachwelt zu erhalten.

Wie sprechen wir über Obdachlosigkeit? Wie sprechen wir über Obdachlosigkeit? | Foto: Khalid Farqharson

Wie sprechen wir über Obdachlosigkeit?

Eröffnet wurde „Worlds of Homelessness“ am 22. Oktober mit dem Panel „Framing the Issue“. Darin ging es um unseren Sprachgebrauch, den wir anwenden, um über Obdachlosigkeit zu sprechen, einschließlich der Frage, ob „obdachlos“ überhaupt ein geeigneter Begriff sei. Zudem wurde auf Faktoren aufmerksam gemacht, die zu der weltweit schwierigen Lage bei Wohnraum beitrügen. Ananya Roy vom UCLA Institute on Inequality and Democracy sprach über die Kriminalisierung der Armut. Barbara Schönig, Direktorin des Institutes für Europäische Urbanistik der Bauhausstadt Weimar, diskutierte die Enteignung der Deutsche Wohnen in Berlin, eine öffentliche Erhebung gegen gewerbliche Privateigentümer*innen. Der Künstler, Wandmaler und Unternehmer Crushow Herring, selbst Einwohner von Skid Row, beschrieb das Leben als Obdachloser als Ablehnung durch das System, das Rassen diskriminiere und Armut zum Verbrechen erkläre. Michele Lancione, Experte der urbanen Ethnographie und Aktivist der Universität Sheffield, argumentierte, dass sich unser gemeinsames Verständnis – einschließlich der eingeschränkten Art und Weise, in der wir uns oft über Obdachlosigkeit unterhalten – ändern müsse, wenn wir uns eine integrativere Zukunft wünschten. Nach Beendigung des Panels sorgten die L.A. Playmakers, eine Band, die selbst zur Gemeinschaft von Skid Row gehört, bis kurz vor Mitternacht für musikalische Untermalung.

Ab wann gilt Lebenserfahrung als Fachwissen?

Am 23. Oktober trafen sich alle Geladenen der Konferenz und ein öffentliches Publikum im NAVEL, einem kollektiven Kulturort, am südwestlichen Stadtrand von Downtown zu Filmvorführungen und einer Diskussionsrunde zur Klärung der Frage, wie man sich in der Kunst mit Obdachlosigkeit auseinandersetzen kann. John Malpede, Künstlerin Henriette Bouwers und LAPD-Mitwirkender Walter Fears sprachen darüber, wie das LAPD Performancekunst  nutzt, um Diskussionen zu regionaler und nationaler Politik  anzuregen, die das Leben der Einwohner*innen von Skid Row beeinflussen. Der Schauspieler und Wissenschaftler Licko Turle beschrieb, wie Straßentheater und soziale Bewegungen in der Gemeinschaft der Obdachlosen in Salvador, Brasilien ineinandergriffen. Fabian Debora, Künstler in L.A. und geschäftsführender Direktor der von Homeboy Industries betriebenen Kunstakademie Somos LA Arte, beschrieb seine eigene Reise von Sucht und Kunst und stellte die Frage, ab wann Lebenserfahrung als Fachwissen anerkannt würde. Diese Frage führte zu zustimmendem Applaus.

Crushow Herring beschrieb das Leben als Obdachloser als Ablehnung durch das System. Crushow Herring beschrieb das Leben als Obdachloser als Ablehnung durch das System. | Foto: Khalid Farqharson

Am 24. Oktober fand an der Architekturschule SCI-Arc ein Panel mit den Architekten Darin Johnstone aus Los Angeles, Alexander Hagner aus Wien, Thorsten Deckler und Tebogo Ramatlo aus Johannesburg, Südafrika, sowie Ana Elvira Vélez aus Kolumbien statt. Die Teilnehmer*innen stellten ihre abgeschlossenen Projekte vor und diskutierten über verschiedene Denkweisen zu bezahlbarem Wohnraum. Die einzige Veranstaltung, zu der keine ehemaligen oder derzeitigen Obdachlosen geladen waren, endete in hitzigen Debatten über den Sprachgebrauch, den wir zur Beschreibung der Obdachlosigkeit verwenden, sowie über die Art und Weise, wie wir uns zum Thema Geld in der Welt und der Stadt, trotz großer Kluft zwischen Arm und Reich, äußerten.

Was muss sich ändern, um das Recht auf Wohnraum sicherzustellen?

Wieder zurück im Skid Row History Museum and Archive endete das Projekt „Worlds of Homelessness“ schließlich am 25. Oktober. Zum abschließenden Panel waren zwei Wissenschaftlerinnen geladen, die zum Mangel an verwertbaren, teilbaren Daten zu weltweiten Obdachlosenzahlen sprachen: Jutta Allmendinger, Präsidentin des Wissenschaftszentrums Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB), und Hilary Silver von der Universität George Washington, beide eingeladen durch das Thomas Mann House. Zusammen mit Cristina Cielo von der Latin American Faculty for Social Sciences in Quito, Ecuador, sowie Charles Porter vom United Coalition East Prevention Project in L.A. besprachen sie Möglichkeiten zur Selbstorganisation und zur Ermächtigung benachteiligter Gemeinschaften. Die folgenden Gespräche waren umfangreich und notwendig, wobei es erneut darum ging, wie sich sowohl die Mentalitäten als auch Regierungssysteme und das Kapital ändern müssten, um das Recht auf Wohnraum sicherstellen zu können.

DJ Oliver und Street Symphony auf dem Festival For All Skid Row Artists DJ Oliver und Street Symphony auf dem Festival For All Skid Row Artists | Foto: Khalid Farqharson

Das jährliche Festival des LA Poverty Department für sämtliche Künstler*innen Skid Rows stellte den Abschluss der viertägigen Veranstaltung dar. Dieses Festival ist ein kulturelles Volksfest der Gegend, an dem die Gäste von „Worlds of Homelessness“ teilnahmen.

Top