Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

The end of the Year of Germany in Boston
“For the West to remain more than a direction on the compass”

Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier with his wife Elke Büdenbender at the reopening of the Goethe-Institut Boston together with Johannes Ebert (left), secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut, and Marina May (right), director of the Goethe-Institut Boston.
Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier with his wife Elke Büdenbender at the reopening of the Goethe-Institut Boston together with Johannes Ebert (left), secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut, and Marina May (right), director of the Goethe-Institut Boston. | Photo: Mark Römisch

At a joint concert by the Leipzig Gewandhausorchester and the Boston Symphony Orchestra, German Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier heralded the end of the Year of Germany in the USA.

By Christoph Mücher

There’s nothing particularly remarkable about the number 2,261. But it has special significance for the Year of Germany in the USA: Since Federal Foreign Minister Heiko Maas opened the largest foreign cultural and educational policy project to date, no fewer than 2,260 events have been held. Concerts, road trips, exhibitions, discussions, a big pop-up tour, a little St. Martin’s procession, VR presentations, digital festivals, analogue encounters at schools, universities, Oktoberfests and business fairs – every event that could be held was held.

Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier in der Boston Symphony Hall.
© Goethe-Institut
Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier at the Boston Symphony Orchestra

“For democracy and freedom to have a future in this world”

The Year of Germany reached more than 500 locations in all of the 50 states, welcoming over a million visitors. “Wunderbar Together” proclaims the motto of the Year of Germany optimistically, evoking the deeply rooted friendship between the two civil societies. This is reflected in countless partnerships and exchange programmes. A very special one was celebrated in Boston at the end of the Year of Germany: the cooperation between two world-famous orchestras. There have been connections between the Boston Symphony Orchestra and the Leipzig Gewandhausorchester for over 100 years. For almost two years, this connection has had an entirely new feature: the two orchestras share their conductor, Andris Nelsons of Latvia. For the finale of the Year of Germany, the orchestras played together as part of a “Leipzig Week” in Boston. It was a musical sensation and a welcome occasion for the patron of Wunderbar Together, Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier, to pay a visit to the USA and “his” Year of Germany. The President offered a positive summary of the campaign and subsumed the uninterrupted need for being Wunderbar Together, saying, “For democracy and freedom to have a future in this world full of challenges and conflicts, for the West to remain more than a direction on the compass, we need each other.”

Boston Symphony Hall Frank-Walter Steinmeier at the Boston Symphony Orchestra | Photo: Mark Römisch

“A meaningful symbolic act”

Before the symphonic finale of the Year of Germany, the Federal President had another job to do. After two years of renovations, the Goethe-Institut invited guests to the reopening of its first institute in the USA. The historic townhouse in the centre of Boston has been completely refurbished and was now handed over to the public by the Federal President. “A meaningful symbolic act,” commented Secretary-General Johannes Ebert at the opening. “The Year of Germany is coming to an end, but the Goethe-Institut remains and, with three new or completely renovated locations, is an appealing meeting place for Americans and Germans.”

“The Goethe-Institut creates spaces for encounters, for learning, for relationships.”

A week after the ceremony in Boston, the regional headquarters of the largest German cultural mediator will move into its new accommodation on vibrant 14th Street in Washington, DC. Three days later, the shell of the Goethe-Institut’s new home in Los Angeles, in culturally diverse McArthur Park, will be dedicated. “With this new start in a very important partner country, we hope we are bringing along some of the verve of the Year of Germany,” affirms Ebert. He can count on the support of the Federal President. “And now: Year of Germany is over, memory card full, is that all? No, this Goethe-Institut is the guarantee in stone that it wasn’t all ... The Goethe-Institut creates spaces for encounters, for learning, for relationships. We need these places more than ever today.”

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Abschluss des Deutschlandjahrs USA in Boston
„Damit der Westen mehr bleibt als eine Himmelsrichtung“

Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier mit seiner Frau Elke Büdenbender bei der Wiedereröffnung des Goethe-Instituts Boston im Beisein von Johannes Ebert (links), Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, und Marina May (rechts), Institutsleiterin des Goethe-Instituts Boston
Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier mit seiner Frau Elke Büdenbender bei der Wiedereröffnung des Goethe-Instituts Boston im Beisein von Johannes Ebert (links), Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, und Marina May (rechts), Institutsleiterin des Goethe-Instituts Boston | Foto: Mark Römisch

Im Rahmen eines gemeinsamen Konzerts von Gewandhausorchester Leipzig und Boston Symphony Orchestra läutete Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier den Abschluss des Deutschlandjahrs in den USA ein.

Von Christoph Mücher

2261 ist eine eher unauffällige Zahl. Für das Deutschlandjahr in den USA hat sie aber eine besondere Bedeutung. Seit Bundesaußenminister Heiko Maas das bisher größte Projekt der Auswärtigen Kultur- und Bildungspolitik eröffnet hat, fanden nicht weniger als 2260 Veranstaltungen statt. Konzerte, Roadtrips, Ausstellungen, Diskussionen, eine große Pop-Up-Tour, ein kleiner Martinszug, VR-Präsentationen, Digitalfestivals, analoge Begegnungen an Schulen, Universitäten, Oktoberfesten  und Wirtschaftsmessen – es gab nichts, was es nicht gab.
 

Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier in der Boston Symphony Hall.
© Goethe-Institut
Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier in der Boston Symphony Hall

„Damit Demokratie und Freiheit eine Zukunft haben in dieser Welt.“

Mehr als 500 Orte in allen 50 Bundesstaaten hat das Deutschlandjahr erreicht und dabei über eine Milllion Besucher*innen begrüßt. „Wunderbar Together“ proklamiert das Motto des Deutschlandjahrs optimistisch und beschwört die tief verwurzelte Freundschaft der beiden Zivilgesellschaften. Diese zeigt sich in zahllosen Partnerschaften und Austauschprogrammen. Eine ganz besondere wurde zum Abschluss des Deutschlandjahrs in Boston gefeiert: die Kooperation zwischen zwei Orchestern von Weltruf. Seit über 100 Jahren gibt es Verbindungen zwischen dem Boston Symphony Orchestra und dem Gewandhausorchester Leipzig. Seit knapp zwei Jahren hat diese Verbindung eine ganz neue Qualität, teilen sich die beiden Orchester doch ihren Dirigenten, den Letten Andris Nelsons. Zum Ausklang des Deutschlandjahrs spielen die Orchester gemeinsam im Rahmen einer „Leipzig Week“ in Boston. Eine musikalische Sensation und willkommener Anlass für den Schirmherrn von „Wunderbar Together“, Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier, den USA und „seinem“ Deutschlandjahr einen Besuch abzustatten. Der Präsident zieht ein positives Fazit der Kampagne und subsumiert die ungebrochene Notwendigkeit eines „Wunderbar Together“: „Damit Demokratie und Freiheit eine Zukunft haben in dieser Welt voller Anfechtungen und Konflikte, damit der Westen mehr bleibt als eine Himmelsrichtung, brauchen wir einander.“

In der Boston Symphony Hall Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier in der Boston Symphony Hall | Foto: Mark Römisch

 

„Ein vielsagender symbolischer Akt“

Vor dem symphonischen Finale des Deutschlandjahrs erwartete den Bundespräsidenten eine weitere Aufgabe. Nach zweijähriger Renovierung lud das Goethe-Institut zur Wiedereröffnung seines ersten Instituts in den USA. Die historische Villa im Zentrum Bostons wurde generalsaniert und durch den Bundespräsidenten nun der Öffentlichkeit übergeben. „Ein vielsagender symbolischer Akt“, kommentiert Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert bei der Eröffnung. „Das Deutschlandjahr geht seinem Ende entgegen, das Goethe-Institut aber bleibt und ist mit gleich drei neuen beziehungsweise rundum erneuerten Standorten ein attraktiver Begegnungsort für Amerikaner*innen und Deutsche.“

„Das Goethe-Institut schafft Begegnungsräume, Lernräume, Beziehungsräume.“

Eine Woche nach dem Festakt in Boston zieht der Regionalsitz des größten deutschen Kulturmittlers in seine neue Unterkunft in der belebten 14. Straße in Washington. Drei Tage später erfolgt die Einweihung des Rohbaus in Los Angeles, wo das Goethe-Institut im kulturell vielfältigen Stadtteil McArthur Park eine neue Heimat findet. „Wir hoffen, mit diesem Neuaufbruch in einem besonders wichtigen Partnerland einiges vom Elan des Deutschlandjahrs mitzunehmen“, bekräftigt Ebert. Dabei kann er auf die Unterstützung des Bundespräsidenten rechnen. „Und nun: Deutschlandjahr vorbei, Speicherkarte voll, das war’s? Nein, dieses Goethe-Institut ist die Stein gewordene Garantie dafür, dass es das eben nicht war … Das Goethe-Institut schafft Begegnungsräume, Lernräume, Beziehungsräume. Wir brauchen solche Orte heute umso mehr.“

Top