Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

“Born after ‘89”
In the footsteps of a young generation

Young people in Bari: Luca Carofiglio, Ilaria Cramarossa and Antonio Maria Dentamaro
Young people in Bari: Luca Carofiglio, Ilaria Cramarossa and Antonio Maria Dentamaro | Photo: Ignacio Maria Coccia

We are now marking the thirtieth anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall. How did young people in Italy and Germany experience the time after this event? The exhibition “Born after ‘89”, which opens on 8 November at the Goethe-Institut in Rome, answers this question with photojournalistic works.

Europe has changed a great deal since the fall of the Berlin Wall with freedom of travel, new EU members and a common currency. But what feelings do the young generation, born after ‘89, associate with the fall of the wall? How do they experience the change in Europe and how do they envision “their” Europe?

The Goethe-Institut Italy commissioned the photographer Ignacio Maria Coccia and the Italian journalist Matteo Tacconi to speak with about twenty German and Italian students and young professionals under the age of 30. They shed light on the fears, hopes and thoughts of these people.

  • Agata Otranto
    Agata Otranto | Photo: Ignacio María Coccia
  • Federica Calabrese
    Federica Calabrese | Photo: Ignacio María Coccia
  • Hannah Stegmeier
    Hannah Stegmeier | Photo: Ignacio María Coccia
  • Joshua Bung
    Joshua Bung | Photo: Ignacio María Coccia
  • Eva Weißmann
    Eva Weißmann | Photo: Ignacio María Coccia
  • Philip Werner
    Philip Werner | Photo: Ignacio María Coccia
  • Barbara Ferluga
    Barbara Ferluga | Photo: Ignacio María Coccia
  • Dresden
    Dresden | Photo: Ignacio María Coccia
  • Trieste
    Trieste | Photo: Ignacio María Coccia

Faces and ideas

Their search led the pair to four locations: the former West German capital of Bonn, the East German city of Dresden, the Italian border town of Trieste and the port city of Bari.

The faces and ideas of the young generation are now gathered in the exhibition “Born after ‘89” which opens in Rome on 8 November 2019. It presents their portraits, photographed by Ignacio Coccia at locations they chose including university courtyards, bars, old town alleys, theatres, abandoned factories and museums. The photos are accompanied by statements compiled by Matteo Tacconi. The exhibition will be shown in nine other Italian cities, including Palermo, Florence, Livorno and Venice, until the end of 2019.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„Geboren nach ’89“
Auf den Spuren einer jungen Generation

Junge Menschen in Bari: Luca Carofiglio, Ilaria Cramarossa und Antonio Maria Dentamaro
Junge Menschen in Bari: Luca Carofiglio, Ilaria Cramarossa und Antonio Maria Dentamaro | Foto: Ignacio Maria Coccia

In diesen Tagen jährt sich der Berliner Mauerfall zum 30. Mal. Wie haben junge Menschen in Italien und Deutschland die Zeit nach diesem Ereignis erlebt? Die Ausstellung „Geboren nach ’89“, die am 8. November am Goethe-Institut Rom eröffnet, beantwortet diese Frage anhand fotojournalistischer Arbeiten.

Seit dem Fall der Berliner Mauer hat sich Europa stark verändert. Dazu gehören Reisefreiheit, neue EU-Mitglieder und eine gemeinsame Währung. Doch welche Gefühle verbindet die junge Generation, geboren nach ’89, mit dem Mauerfall? Wie erlebt sie den Wandel in Europa und wie stellt sie sich „ihr“ Europa vor?

Das Goethe-Institut Italien hat den Fotografen Ignacio Maria Coccia und den italienischen Journalisten Matteo Tacconi beauftragt, Gespräche mit rund 20 deutschen und italienischen Student*innen und jungen Berufstätigen unter 30 zu führen – sie beleuchten die Ängste, Hoffnungen und Gedanken dieser Menschen.

  • Agata Otranto
    Agata Otranto | Foto (Zuschnitt): Ignacio María Coccia
  • Federica Calabrese
    Federica Calabrese | Foto (Zuschnitt): Ignacio María Coccia
  • Hannah Stegmeier
    Hannah Stegmeier | Foto (Zuschnitt): Ignacio María Coccia
  • Joshua Bung
    Joshua Bung | Foto (Zuschnitt): Ignacio María Coccia
  • Eva Weißmann
    Eva Weißmann | Foto (Zuschnitt): Ignacio María Coccia
  • Philip Werner
    Philip Werner | Foto (Zuschnitt): Ignacio María Coccia
  • Barbara Ferluga
    Barbara Ferluga | Foto (Zuschnitt): Ignacio María Coccia
  • Dresden
    Dresden | Foto (Zuschnitt): Ignacio María Coccia
  • Triest
    Triest | Foto (Zuschnitt): Ignacio María Coccia

Gesichter und Ideen

Ihre Recherche führte die beiden zu vier Schauplätzen: die ehemalige Bundeshauptstadt Bonn, die ostdeutsche Metropole Dresden, die italienische Grenzstadt Triest und die Hafenstadt Bari.

Die Gesichter und Ideen der jungen Generation werden nun in der Ausstellung „Geboren nach ’89“ versammelt, die am 8. November 2019 in Rom eröffnet wird. Gezeigt werden ihre Porträts, fotografiert von Ignacio Coccia an von ihnen ausgewählten Orten. Dazu gehören Universitätshöfe, Bars, Altstadtgassen, Theater, verlassene Fabriken und Museen. Die Fotos werden von Texten mit Aussagen begleitet, die von Matteo Tacconi zusammengestellt wurden. Die Ausstellung wird bis Ende 2019 in neun weiteren italienischen Städten gezeigt, darunter Palermo, Florenz, Livorno und Venedig.

Top