Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

German-Danish Year of Cultural Friendship 2020
To good neighbours

Federal Foreign Minister Heiko Maas, Detlev Rünger, German Ambassador to Denmark, Queen Margrethe and Rane Willerslev, director of the National Museum of Denmark, on the way to the opening of the “Tyskland” exhibition
Federal Foreign Minister Heiko Maas, Detlev Rünger, German Ambassador to Denmark, Queen Margrethe and Rane Willerslev, director of the National Museum of Denmark, on the way to the opening of the “Tyskland” exhibition | Photo: Thorkild Jensen

On Friday in Copenhagen, Federal Foreign Minister Heiko Maas and his Danish counterpart Jeppe Kofod opened the German-Danish Cultural Year of Friendship 2020, which the Goethe-Institut is co-organising. To mark the start of the Year of Friendship, the “Tyskland” exhibition at the National Museum of Denmark tells the history of Germany through significant objects from past centuries

By Miriam Arndts

“Cultural ties between Germany and Denmark go back a long way. In many fields – art, architecture, design – we’ve mutually inspired each other,” said Federal Foreign Minister Heiko Maas during his visit to Copenhagen. “We want to build on and continue this shared cultural history.” This will be the motivation for more than 100 events on both sides of the border. “I’d like to already give a big ‘thank you’ to the staff of the German Embassy and the Goethe-Institut here in Copenhagen, who will be the key players in implementing the Year of Friendship on behalf of Germany,” continued Maas.

The president of the Goethe-Institut, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, also sent his greetings in advance: “Especially at a time when European cooperation is under pressure and isolation is taking hold, our close cooperation is a reliable position for our shared responsibility in the European cultural space.”

Daniel Kehlmann during his address in the lobby of the National Museum of Denmark Daniel Kehlmann during his address in the lobby of the National Museum of Denmark | Photo: Thorkild Jensen

Queen Margrethe II of Denmark opens the exhibition “Tyskland”

This year’s “Tyskland” (Danish for Germany) exhibition at the National Museum of Denmark will be the prelude to the many events planned for the 2020 Year of Friendship. The exhibition, conceived by the British Museum, examines the complexity and the highs and lows of German history on the basis of numerous objects from the Renaissance through German reunification to today.

One of the best-known guests at the opening of the exhibition was the German-Austrian writer Daniel Kehlmann. In his witty yet thought-provoking address, he described the psyche, humour and opportunism of Germans based on anecdotes from the life and work of famous Germans – from Luther and Bach to Goethe and Kant to Käthe Kollwitz, Thomas Mann and Kehlmann’s great-uncle Friedrich. “German culture is always obsessed with the vision of a world that obeys clear rules, it is always inspired by the dream of a lightness that it never approaches,” said Kehlmann.

The German singer Lary, accompanied by a string quartet of the Danish Chamber Orchestra, entertained the audience at the celebration. Finally, Denmark’s Queen Margrethe II officially declared the exhibition open. The exhibition was well attended on its first weekend. Tyskland can be seen until 1 March 2020 at the National Museum of Denmark in Copenhagen.

The German singer Lary with a string quartet of the Danish Chamber Orchestra The German singer Lary with a string quartet of the Danish Chamber Orchestra | Photo: Thorkild Jensen

A year full of collaboration

The scheduled events during the Year of Friendship include German-Danish co-productions such as a performance of Bertolt Brecht’s “Mother Courage and Her Children” at the Royal Theater in Copenhagen with stage design and costumes by Katrin Nottrodt of Germany. In Aarhus in May 2020 and in Hamburg in September, the exhibition “Always together – mostly happy” will present works by contemporary artists of the young Danish and German art scene with a thematic emphasis on communication and cultural identity.

Next year, Hamburg’s Reeperbahn Festival will focus on the Danish music scene. And in November 2020, the exhibition “Thorvaldsen & Ludwig” will open at the Glyptothek in Munich on the occasion of the 250th birthday of the Danish sculptor Bertel Thorvaldsen.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Deutsch-Dänisches Kulturelles Freundschaftsjahr 2020
Auf gute Nachbarschaft

Bundesaußenminister Heiko Maas, Detlev Rünger, Deutscher Botschafter in Dänemark, Königin Margrethe II. und Rane Willerslev, Leiter des Dänischen Nationalmuseums (v.l.n.r.), auf dem Weg zur Eröffnung der Ausstellung „Tyskland“
Bundesaußenminister Heiko Maas, Detlev Rünger, Deutscher Botschafter in Dänemark, Königin Margrethe II. und Rane Willerslev, Leiter des Dänischen Nationalmuseums (v.l.n.r.), auf dem Weg zur Eröffnung der Ausstellung „Tyskland“ | Foto: Thorkild Jensen

Bundesaußenminister Heiko Maas und sein dänischer Amtskollege Jeppe Kofod eröffneten am Freitag das Deutsch-Dänische Kulturelle Freundschaftsjahr 2020, an dessen Organisation das Goethe-Institut beteiligt ist, in Kopenhagen. Zum Auftakt des Freundschaftsjahres erzählt die Ausstellung „Tyskland“ im Dänischen Nationalmuseum die Geschichte Deutschlands anhand von bedeutenden Objekten aus den vergangenen Jahrhunderten.

Von Miriam Arndts

„Die kulturelle Verflechtung zwischen Deutschland und Dänemark geht weit zurück. In vielen Bereichen – Kunst, Architektur, Design – haben wir uns gegenseitig inspiriert“, sagte Bundesaußenminister Heiko Maas bei seinem Besuch in Kopenhagen. „An diese geteilte Kulturgeschichte wollen wir anknüpfen und sie fortschreiben.“ Dies wolle man mit mehr als 100 Veranstaltungen auf beiden Seiten der Grenze tun. „Ich möchte schon jetzt ein großes Dankeschön sagen an die Mitarbeiter der Deutschen Botschaft und des Goethe-Instituts hier in Kopenhagen, die von deutscher Seite die maßgeblichen Akteure bei der Umsetzung des Freundschaftsjahres sein werden“, so Maas weiter.

Auch der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, sendete im Vorfeld seine Grußworte: „Gerade in einer Zeit, in der die europäische Zusammenarbeit unter Druck steht und gegenseitige Abschottung Platz greift, ist unsere enge Kooperation für eine gemeinsame Verantwortung im europäischen Kulturraum eine verlässliche Position.“

Daniel Kehlmann bei seiner Rede im Foyer des Dänischen Nationalmuseums Daniel Kehlmann bei seiner Rede im Foyer des Dänischen Nationalmuseums | Foto: Thorkild Jensen

Königin Margrethe II. von Dänemark eröffnet die Ausstellung „Tyskland“

Den Auftakt zu den zahlreichen Veranstaltungen während des Freundschaftsjahres 2020 bildet schon in diesem Jahr die Ausstellung „Tyskland“ (dänisch für Deutschland) im Dänischen Nationalmuseum. Die vom British Museum konzipierte Ausstellung untersucht anhand von zahlreichen Objekten von der Renaissance über die Wiedervereinigung bis heute die komplexe deutsche Geschichte voller Höhen und Tiefen.

Einer der bekanntesten Gäste bei der Ausstellungseröffnung war der deutsch-österreichische Schriftsteller Daniel Kehlmann. In seiner launigen und zugleich nachdenklich stimmenden Rede beschrieb er anhand von Anekdoten aus dem Leben und Schaffen deutscher Persönlichkeiten – von Luther und Bach über Goethe und Kant bis hin zu Käthe Kollwitz, Thomas Mann und Kehlmanns Großonkel Friedrich – die Psyche, den Humor und den Opportunismus der Deutschen. „Immer ist die deutsche Kultur besessen von der Vision einer Welt, die durchschaubaren Regeln gehorcht, immer ist sie zugleich beseelt vom Traum einer Leichtigkeit, an die sie nie herankommt“, meint Kehlmann.

Die deutsche Sängerin Lary untermalte die Feier musikalisch, begleitet von einem Streichquartett des Danish Chamber Orchestra. Schließlich erklärte Dänemarks Königin Margrethe II. die Ausstellung offiziell für eröffnet. Schon am ersten Wochenende war das Interesse an der Ausstellung groß. Die Ausstellung „Tyskland“ ist noch bis zum 1. März 2020 im Dänischen Nationalmuseum in Kopenhagen zu sehen.

Die deutsche Sängerin Lary mit einem Streicherquartett des Danish Chamber Orchestra Die deutsche Sängerin Lary mit einem Streicherquartett des Danish Chamber Orchestra | Foto: Thorkild Jensen

Ein Jahr voller Zusammenarbeit

Zu den Veranstaltungen während des Freundschaftsjahres zählen unter anderem deutsch-dänische Koproduktionen wie die Aufführung von Bertolt Brechts „Mutter Courage und ihre Kinder“ am Königlichen Theater in Kopenhagen, deren Bühnenbild und Kostüme die Deutsche Katrin Nottrodt gestaltet. Die Ausstellung „Always together – mostly happy“ zeigt im Mai 2020 in Aarhus und im September in Hamburg Werke zeitgenössischer Künstler*innen der jungen Kunstszene Dänemarks und Deutschlands mit einem thematischen Akzent auf Kommunikation und kultureller Identität.

Das Hamburger Reeperbahnfestival wird im kommenden Jahr seinen Schwerpunkt auf die dänische Musikszene legen. Und im November 2020 eröffnet die Ausstellung „Thorvaldsen & Ludwig“ in der Glyptothek in München anlässlich des 250. Geburtstags des dänischen Bildhauers Bertel Thorvaldsen.

Top