Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

(Re-) Openings of Goethe-Instituts in the US
We’ve Come to Stay

Secretary-general Johannes Ebert with institute director Lien Heidenreich-Seleme and partners on the way to the Goethe-Institut LA’s new project space
Secretary-general Johannes Ebert with institute director Lien Heidenreich-Seleme and partners on the way to the Goethe-Institut LA’s new project space | Photo: Khalid Farqharson

At the end of the Year of Germany in the USA, the Goethe-Instituts in the United States have strengthened their network with three completely updated institutes in Boston, Washington and Los Angeles. This is a signal of how important it is to continue the cultural and civil society dialogue between North America and Germany.

By Caroline Brendel, Lien Heidenreich-Seleme and Marina May

With the conclusion of the Year of Germany in the USA, the Goethe-Instituts in North America are setting the course for further successful, transatlantic cooperation in the future. “As a token of how much the Germans value the dialogue here in the US, we can now reopen the Goethe-Instituts Washington and Los Angeles in more beautiful, improved spaces and move back into our newly renovated, long-time property in Boston. We’re staying and we will continue to deepen our partnerships after the Year of Germany in the USA,” said Andreas Ströhl, regional director of the Goethe-Instituts in North America. In times of space shortages, gentrification and urban renewal processes in all US cities, the three Goethe-Instituts are (re-) opening in very different buildings. But they all have one thing in common: Their new formats are meant to provide space for the alternative art scene and for civil society initiatives, while new programmes are aimed at different target groups.

Impressions from the sneak preview in Los Angeles
Goethe-Institut e.V.
Impressions from the sneak preview in Los Angeles

In the heart of the east coast city

It was a race against time, but finally arrived: a temporary permit allowing the German Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier to inaugurate the renovated Goethe-Institut Boston. The historic townhouse in the heart of the east coast city, owned by the German government since 1967 and the heart of the German presence in New England for more than fifty years, has undergone extensive renovations over the past two years. 354 wooden pylons that carried the building erected in marshland since 1861 were reinforced to prevent the house from sinking.

At the reopening, Frank-Walter Steinmeier gave his only speech on transatlantic relations to the chief partners and friends of the institute. He especially emphasised that we need spaces for encounters, for learning and for relationships today more than ever. The Goethe-Institut Boston is a guarantee in stone for this. He also charmingly invited the guests to sign up for a language course at the Goethe-Institut!

  • Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier in Boston Photo: Mark Römisch
    Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier in Boston
  • Secretary-general Johannes Ebert during his speech in Boston Photo: Mark Römisch
    Secretary-general Johannes Ebert during his speech in Boston
  • In the library of the Goethe-Institut Boston in 1968 Photo: Goethe-Institut Boston
    In the library of the Goethe-Institut Boston in 1968
  • Actor Sibel Kekilli in Boston Photo: Mark Römisch
    Actor Sibel Kekilli in Boston
  • Visitors in Washington in the exhibition “Home Story Deutschland”  by the initiative Schwarze Menschen in Deutschland Photo: Mike-Maguiere
    Visitors in Washington in the exhibition “Home Story Deutschland” by the initiative Schwarze Menschen in Deutschland
  • Danielle Piccotto at the opening event of the Goethe-Institut Washington Photo: Mike Maguiere
    Danielle Piccotto at the opening event of the Goethe-Institut Washington
  • The local radio station WPFW broadcasted the entire opening of the Goethe-Institut in Washington as a live broadcast Photo: Mike Maguiere
    The local radio station WPFW broadcasted the entire opening of the Goethe-Institut in Washington as a live broadcast.
  • Institute director Andreas Ströhl on the roof terrace of the new Goethe-Institut Washington Photo: Mike-Maguiere
    Institute director Andreas Ströhl on the roof terrace of the new Goethe-Institut Washington
  • At the sneak preview of the Goethe-Institut Los Angeles Photo: Khalid Farqharson
    At the sneak preview of the Goethe-Institut Los Angeles
  • Gemma Castro sings the song “MacArthur Park” Photo: Khalid Farqharson
    Gemma Castro sings the song “MacArthur Park”
  • Institute director Lien Heidenreich-Seleme welcomes guests to the sneak peek in Los Angeles Photo: Khalid Farqharson
    Institute director Lien Heidenreich-Seleme welcomes guests to the sneak preview in Los Angeles.
  • Secretary-general Johannes Ebert and the team from the Goethe-Institut Los Angeles in the new Goethe-Institut project space Photo: Khalid Farqharson
    Secretary-general Johannes Ebert and the team from the Goethe-Institut Los Angeles in the new Goethe-Institut project space

In the cultural centre of the US capital

After four years in temporary accommodations, the Goethe-Institut Washington – and thus also the regional management of the Goethe-Instituts in North America – found its new home in the lively 14th Street corridor. The district in the cultural heart of the city is especially popular with young people. “The history of 14th Street is marked by the civil rights movement, social decline, the artist and LGBTQ communities and now gentrification. All these topics will find their expression in our dialogue-oriented work,” reports institute director Andreas Ströhl. For the opening, the institute invited important partners from the local cultural and educational landscape as well as visitors from the neighbourhood to an open house. Outside, the Oktoberfest box attracted many interested pedestrians. Around 1,800 guests listened to the sounds of the transatlantic jazz group The New Coolnezz: Ilona Haberkamp Quartet, which was formed especially for the occasion, discussed the fall of the Berlin Wall with Danielle de Picciotto, co-founder of the Love Parade, participated in German taster courses and enjoyed the last rays of the autumn sun on the roof terrace.

Secretary-general Johannes Ebert in Washington with German ambassador Emily Haber and Goethe Institute director Andreas Ströhl Secretary-general Johannes Ebert (on the right) in Washington with German ambassador Emily Haber and Goethe Institute director Andreas Ströhl | Photo: Goethe-Institut Washington

Project space in downtown Los Angeles

The sneak preview of the new interdisciplinary project space of the Goethe-Institut Los Angeles began with pastrami and other specialties in historic Langer’s restaurant. Together with the secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut, Johannes Ebert, Consul General Stefan Schneider and the team of the Goethe-Institut Los Angeles, a select group of local and German partners visited the shell of the new premises. Equipped with helmets and safety vests, they entered the future Goethe-Institut in the diverse and urban MacArthur Park district in downtown Los Angeles in small groups. The Goethe-Institut invited the partners to design the project space as a common platform for innovative cultural programmes. “We expect our new environment to give us interesting stimuli for our work,” says institute director Lien Heidenreich-Seleme. “Los Angeles is always on the move and cultural centres of gravity are constantly shifting. With our new institute, we also want to reach new target groups.” Johannes Ebert emphasised that with its global network, the Goethe-Institut in Los Angeles is an exciting partner for local cultural institutions and artists.

The new building of the Goethe-Institut in Washington, DC The new building of the Goethe-Institut in Washington, DC | Photo: Lena Jöhnk

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

(Wieder-)eröffnungen von Goethe-Instituten in den USA
Gekommen, um zu bleiben

Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert mit Institutsleiterin Lien Heidenreich-Seleme und Partner*innen auf dem Weg zum neuen Projektraum des Goethe-Instituts Los Angeles
Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert mit Institutsleiterin Lien Heidenreich-Seleme und Partner*innen auf dem Weg zum neuen Projektraum des Goethe-Instituts Los Angeles | Foto: Khalid Farqharson

Zum Ende des Deutschlandjahres USA stärken die Goethe-Institute in den Vereinigten Staaten ihr Netzwerk mit drei rundum erneuerten Instituten in Boston, Washington und Los Angeles. Ein Zeichen dafür, wie wichtig die Weiterführung des kulturellen und zivilgesellschaftlichen Dialogs zwischen Nordamerika und Deutschland ist.

Von Caroline Brendel, Lien Heidenreich-Seleme und Marina May

Die Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika stellen mit Abschluss des Deutschlandjahres USA die Weichen für eine weitere erfolgreiche, transatlantische Zusammenarbeit in der Zukunft. „Zum Zeichen dafür, wie viel den Deutschen der Dialog hier in den USA auch dauerhaft wert ist, können wir nun die Goethe-Institute Washington und Los Angeles in schöneren, besseren Räumen neu eröffnen und in Boston wieder eine frisch renovierte, angestammte Liegenschaft beziehen. Wir bleiben, und auch nach dem Deutschlandjahr USA vertiefen wir unsere Partnerschaften weiter“, kommentierte Andreas Ströhl, Regionalleiter der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika. In Zeiten von Raumknappheit, Gentrifizierung und urbanen Erneuerungsprozessen in allen US-amerikanischen Metropolen (wieder-)eröffnen die drei Goethe-Institute in jeweils sehr unterschiedlichen Räumlichkeiten. Eines haben sie aber doch gemeinsam: Mit neuen Formaten soll Raum für die alternative Kunstszene und zivilgesellschaftliche Initiativen geboten werden, während sich neue Programmlinien an unterschiedliche Zielgruppen richten.

Eindrücke aus der Sneak Preview in Los Angeles
Goethe-Institut e.V.

Im Herzen der Ostküstenmetropole

Es war ein Wettlauf mit der Zeit, aber schließlich war sie da: eine temporäre Genehmigung, mit der der deutsche Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier das sanierte Goethe-Institut Boston einweihen konnte. Die historische Villa im Herzen der Ostküstenmetropole, seit 1967 im Bundesbesitz und seit über 50 Jahren Herz des deutschen Auftritts in Neuengland, wurde in den letzten zwei Jahren aufwendig renoviert. 354 Holzpfähle, die das auf Sumpfland errichtete Gebäude seit 1861 tragen, wurden mit Stützköpfen verstärkt, um ein Absinken des Hauses zu verhindern.

Zur Wiedereröffnung hielt Frank-Walter Steinmeier vor den wichtigsten Partner*innen und Freund*innen des Instituts seine einzige Rede zu den transatlantischen Beziehungen. Besonders betonte er, dass es heute mehr denn je Orte der Begegnung, Lernräume und Beziehungsräume brauche. Das Goethe-Institut Boston sei dafür Stein gewordene Garantie. Ebenso forderte er die Gäste charmant dazu auf, doch unbedingt einen Sprachkurs am Goethe-Institut zu buchen!

  • Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier in Boston Foto: Mark Römisch
    Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier in Boston
  • Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert bei seiner Rede in Boston Foto: Mark Römisch
    Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert bei seiner Rede in Boston
  • In der Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts Boston 1968 Foto: Goethe-Institut Boston
    In der Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts Boston 1968
  • Schauspielerin Sibel Kekilli in Boston Foto: Mark Römisch
    Schauspielerin Sibel Kekilli in Boston
  • Besucherinnen in Washington in der Ausstellung „Home Story Deutschland“ der Initiative Schwarze Menschen in Deutschland Foto: Mike-Maguiere
    Besucherinnen in Washington in der Ausstellung „Home Story Deutschland“ der Initiative Schwarze Menschen in Deutschland
  • Danielle de Picciotto bei der Eröffnung des Goethe-Instituts in Washington Foto: Mike Maguiere
    Danielle de Picciotto bei der Eröffnung des Goethe-Instituts in Washington
  • Der lokale Radiosender WPFW übertrug die gesamte Eröffnung des Goethe-instituts in Washington als Live-Sendung Foto: Mike Maguiere
    Der lokale Radiosender WPFW übertrug die gesamte Eröffnung des Goethe-instituts in Washington als Live-Sendung.
  • Institutsleiter Andreas Ströhl auf der Dachterrasse des neuen Goethe-Instituts Washington Foto: Mike-Maguiere
    Institutsleiter Andreas Ströhl auf der Dachterrasse des neuen Goethe-Instituts Washington
  • Bei der Sneak Preview des Goethe-Institut Los Angeles Foto: Khalid Farqharson
    Bei der Sneak Preview des Goethe-Institut Los Angeles
  • Gemma Castro singt das Lied „MacArthur Park“ Foto: Khalid Farqharson
    Gemma Castro singt das Lied „MacArthur Park“
  • Institutsleiterin Lien Heidenreich-Seleme begrüßt die Gäste der Sneak Preview in Los Angeles Foto: Khalid Farqharson
    Institutsleiterin Lien Heidenreich-Seleme begrüßt die Gäste der Sneak Preview in Los Angeles.
  • Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert und das Team des Goethe-Institut Los Angeles im neuen Projektraum des Goethe-Instituts Foto: Khalid Farqharson
    Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert und das Team des Goethe-Institut Los Angeles im neuen Projektraum des Goethe-Instituts

Im kulturellen Zentrum der US-Hauptstadt

Nach vier Jahren in temporärer Unterkunft hat das Goethe-Institut Washington und somit auch die Regionalleitung der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika im lebhaften 14th Street Korridor seine neue Heimat gefunden. Das Viertel im kulturellen Herzen der Stadt ist vor allem bei jungen Menschen sehr beliebt. „Die Geschichte der 14th Street ist geprägt von der Bürgerrechtsbewegung, sozialem Abstieg, der Künstler*innen- und LGBTQ-Gemeinde und nun auch der Gentrifizierung. In unserer dialogorientierten Arbeit werden all diese Themen ihren Niederschlag finden“, berichtet Institutsleiter Andreas Ströhl. Zur Eröffnung lud das Institut wichtige Partner*innen aus der lokalen Kultur- und Bildungslandschaft sowie Besucher*innen aus der Nachbarschaft zu einem Tag der offenen Tür ein. Schon auf der Straße lockte die Wiesn-Box viele interessierte Fußgänger*innen an. Etwa 1800 Gäste lauschten im Laufe des Tages den Klängen der eigens für diesen Tag gegründeten, transatlantischen Jazz-Gruppe „The New Coolnezz: Ilona Haberkamp Quartet“, diskutierten mit Danielle de Picciotto, Mitgründerin der Love Parade, über den Fall der Berliner Mauer, nahmen an Deutsch-Schnupperkursen teil und genossen die letzten Herbstsonnenstrahlen auf der Dachterrasse.

Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert in Washington mit der deutschen Botschafterin Emily Haber und dem Leiter des Goethe-Instituts, Andreas Ströhl Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert (rechts) in Washington mit der deutschen Botschafterin Emily Haber und dem Leiter des Goethe-Instituts, Andreas Ströhl | Foto: Goethe-Institut Washington

Projektraum in Downtown Los Angeles

Mit Pastrami und anderen Spezialitäten im historischen Restaurant Langer’s begann die Sneak Preview des neuen interdisziplinären Projektraumes des Goethe-Instituts Los Angeles. Eine ausgewählte Gruppe lokaler und deutscher Partner*innen besichtigte gemeinsam mit dem Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, Johannes Ebert, dem Generalkonsul Stefan Schneider und dem Team des Goethe-Instituts Los Angeles die neuen Räumlichkeiten im Rohbauzustand. Ausgestattet mit Bauhelmen und Sicherheitswesten begaben sie sich in Kleingruppen in das zukünftige Goethe-Institut im diversen und urbanen MacArthur Park Viertel in Downtown Los Angeles. Das Goethe-Institut lud die Partner*innen dazu ein, den Projektraum als gemeinsame Plattform für innovative Kulturprogramme zu gestalten. „Von unserer neuen Umgebung versprechen wir uns interessante Impulse für unsere Arbeit“, meint Institutsleiterin Lien Heidenreich-Seleme. „Los Angeles ist immer in Bewegung und die kulturellen Gravitationszentren verschieben sich ständig. Mit unserem neuen Institut wollen wir auch neue Zielgruppen erreichen.“ Johannes Ebert betonte, dass das Goethe-Institut in Los Angeles mit seinem globalen Netzwerk ein spannender Partner für die lokalen Kulturinstitutionen und Kulturschaffenden sei.

Das neue Gebäude des Goethe-Instituts in Washington DC Das neue Gebäude des Goethe-Instituts in Washington DC | Foto: Lena Jöhnk

Top