Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

"Invisible Inventories"
The Return to Wakanda

“Invisible Inventories, Installation, 2018”
“Invisible Inventories, Installation, 2018” | Photo: Shift Collective

Last week the launch of the exhibition project "Invisible Inventories", which is supported by the Goethe-Institut, took place in Kenya. At the "Object Movement Dialogue #4" in the Nairobi National Museum, the role of local communities within the restitution debate was discussed. The Kenyan journalist Abigail Arunga was on site for "Goethe aktuell".

By Abigail Arunga

In the well-known Marvel-movie “Black Panther”, Michael B Jordan’s character gives a schooling to a museum official, explaining that the artefact on display is not really, originally, where that artefact is from. As in the fictitious world of Wakanda, it looks today in many museums worldwide. According to Juma Ondeng’ of the National Museums of Kenya (NMK), who spoke before the panel begun, a high number of objects on display all over the world do not belong to the countries of the museums they are housed in. Most of these objects are in collection with very few displayed in exhibitions. Kenya, through the International Inventories Programme (IIP), has a written, verifiable record of  slightly over 18,000 objects in 22 institutions in 4 countries in the global North. The trend of being a display showcase for “exotic” objects is echoed all over the global North, with some museum collections being almost 90 percent foreign. And this ranges from Kenya and Greece to Ethiopia and Australia. After a significant silence, months of waiting, the British Museum only recently responded to communication from IIP and agreed to list the artifacts from Kenya in its museum, regardless of or perhaps because of our blood-splattered history.

George Juma Ondeng' welcomes the public on behalf of the National Museums of Kenya to the launch of the exhibition project "Invisible Inventories". George Juma Ondeng' welcomes the public on behalf of the National Museums of Kenya to the launch of the exhibition project "Invisible Inventories". | Photo: Figure Studios

Who is allowed to speak on behalf of a nation?

It is this history that brings us here; most historical objects of significant value that Kenya does not possess are in the possession of our colonizers. These include but are not limited to the head of resistance fighter Koitalel Arap Samoei, and the man-eating lions of Tsavo, which Juma Ondeng’ laughingly described as ‘the first frontier of resistance against colonial rule.’ He mentioned that the role of forums like these should be garnering public opinion, as the NMK cannot speak on behalf of Kenya as a nation.

The undertaking of establishing a database that details all the locations and objects in foreign museums is under the wing of the “Invisible Inventories Programme”, whose launch took place at the Nairobi National Museum in Kenya on the evening of the 28th of November, 2019. A crowd of approximately 70 people attended “Object Movement Dialogue #4“ that heralded the exhibition which will be on display at the Nairobi National Museum next year, as well as two German museums in 2021. This discussion was facilitated by Dr Njoki Ngumi of The Nest Collective, who are part of the three groups that form the foundation of IIP. The guest speaker of the evening was Mr. Jimbi Katana, who is a renowned archaeologist and has previously worked for the National Museums of Kenya.

Njoki Ngumi (The Nest Collective) in conversation with Jimbi Katana (left) about the role of local communities in the restitution debate Njoki Ngumi (The Nest Collective) in conversation with Jimbi Katana (left) about the role of local communities in the restitution debate | Photo: Figure Studios

Museums are custodians of tangible and intangible national heritage

Mr. Katana focuses on the research and preservation of heritage, particularly around the objects known in the Coast as ‘vigango’ – objects that the communities revered as embodiments of spirits. “If you die, you must be brought back home,” he said. Most forms of African traditional religion or mythology expressly emphasize the thoughts of the afterlife and the living world’s relationship with it; therefore the thought of vigango is natural to a typical African. For once you uproot something, whether a life, or a tree, or a sacred object, what happens to the vacuum left behind? It must be filled. The object must be returned.

Restitution and the dynamics of power

An audience member questioned why we were insisting on not calling the act of taking these objects as stealing, and out and out stating that this was a crime, instead of pussyfooting around the idea that we are asking to record databases and not claim our property back. However, as was explained, there are phases involved in the reacquisition and reclamation, simply because the dynamics of power in the global north with the global south are a different ball game all together.

Public participation is a pillar of the Kenyan constitution, and the only way the necessary work will be done to push the global north into returning these artefacts will be through the education that forums like these provide that will in turn push Kenyans to urge their parliamentarians and government bodies to get back what is already rightfully ours – no matter how uncomfortable these open and public conversations are.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„Invisible Inventories“
Rückkehr nach Wakanda

„Invisible Inventories, Installation, 2018”
„Invisible Inventories, Installation, 2018” | Foto: Shift Collective

Vergangene Woche fand in Kenia der Launch des Ausstellungsprojekts „Invisible Inventories“ statt, das vom Goethe-Institut unterstützt wird. Im Nationalmuseum Nairobi wurde etwa über die Rolle lokaler Gemeinschaften innerhalb der Restitutionsdebatte gesprochen. Die kenianische Journalistin Abigail Arunga war für „Goethe aktuell“ vor Ort.

Von Abigail Arunga

Im bekannten Marvel-Film „Black Panther“ gibt Michael B. Jordans Charakter einem Museumsbeamten eine Schulung und erklärt, dass das ausgestellte Artefakt sich nicht wirklich dort befinde, wo es ursprünglich herkommt. Wie in der fiktiven Welt von Wakanda sieht es heute in vielen Museen weltweit aus. Laut Juma Ondeng' von den National Museums of Kenya (NMK), der vor Beginn des Gremiums sprach, gehört eine Vielzahl der ausgestellten Objekte auf der ganzen Welt nicht zu den Ländern der Museen, in denen sie untergebracht sind. Die meisten dieser Objekte befinden sich in Sammlungen, nur sehr wenige sind in Ausstellungen zu sehen. Kenia hat mithilfe des International Inventories Programme (IIP) schriftliche, verifizierte Aufzeichnungen zu etwas mehr als 18.000 Objekten in 22 Institutionen in vier Ländern des globalen Nordens erstellt. Der Trend des Ausstellens „exotische“ Objekte spiegelt sich im ganzen Norden der Welt wider, wobei einige Museumssammlungen zu fast 90 Prozent im Ausland liegen. Und das reicht von Kenia und Griechenland bis Äthiopien und Australien. Nach einer monatelangen Stille reagierte das British Museum erst kürzlich auf die Mitteilungen des IIP und stimmte zu, die Artefakte aus Kenia in seinem Museum aufzulisten, unabhängig davon oder vielleicht wegen unserer blutigen Geschichte.

George Juma Ondeng’ heißt das Publikum im Namen der National Museums of Kenya zum Launch des Ausstellungsprojekts „Invisible Inventories“ willkommen. George Juma Ondeng’ heißt das Publikum im Namen der National Museums of Kenya zum Launch des Ausstellungsprojekts „Invisible Inventories“ willkommen. | Foto: Figure Studios

Wer darf im Namen einer Nation sprechen?

Es ist diese Geschichte, die uns hierherführt; die meisten historischen wertvollen Objekte, die Kenia nicht besitzt, sind im Besitz unserer Kolonisatoren. Dazu gehören unter anderem der Kopf des Widerständlers Koitalel Arap Samoei und die menschenfressenden Löwen von Tsavo, die Juma Ondeng‘ lachend als „die erste Grenze des Widerstands gegen die Kolonialherrschaft“ bezeichnete. Er erwähnte, dass die Rolle solcher Gremien sei, die öffentliche Meinung zu gewinnen, da die NMK nicht im Namen Kenias als Nation sprechen könnten.

Die Einrichtung einer Datenbank, die alle Orte und Objekte in ausländischen Museen detailliert beschreibt, ist Teil des Programms „Invisible Inventories“ („Unsichtbare Inventarlisten“), das am Abend des 28. November 2019 im Nairobi National Museum in Kenia gestartet wurde. Rund 70 Personen nahmen an dem „Object Movement Dialogue #4“ teil, der die Ausstellung ankündigte, die im nächsten Jahr im Nairobi National Museum sowie 2021 in zwei deutschen Museen zu sehen sein wird. Die Diskussion wurde moderiert von Dr. Njoki Ngumi vom Künstlerkollektiv The Nest Collective, das zu den drei Gruppen gehört, die die Grundlage des International Inventories Programme (IIP) bilden. Gastredner des Abends war Jimbi Katana, ein renommierter Archäologe, der zuvor für die National Museums of Kenya gearbeitet hat.

Njoki Ngumi (The Nest Collective) im Gespräch mit Jimbi Katana (links) über die Rolle lokaler Gemeinschaften innerhalb der Restitutionsdebatte Njoki Ngumi (The Nest Collective) im Gespräch mit Jimbi Katana (links) über die Rolle lokaler Gemeinschaften innerhalb der Restitutionsdebatte | Foto: Figure Studios

Museen als Verwahrer des materiellen und immateriellen nationalen Erbes

Jimbi Katana konzentriert sich auf die Erforschung und Erhaltung des Erbes, insbesondere die Objekte, die an der Küste als „Vigango“ bekannt sind – Objekte, die die Gemeinschaften als Verkörperungen von Geistern verehrten. „Wenn man stirbt, muss man nach Hause gebracht werden“, sagte er. Die meisten Formen der afrikanischen traditionellen Religion oder Mythologie betonten ausdrücklich die Gedanken an das Jenseits und die Beziehung der lebenden Welt zu ihm; daher sei der Gedanke an Vigango für einen typischen Afrikaner natürlich. Entwurzele man einmal etwas, sei es ein Leben, sei es ein Baum, sei es ein heiliges Objekt, was passiere dann mit dem zurückgelassenen Vakuum? Es müsse ausgefüllt werden. Das Objekt müsse zurückgegeben werden.

Rückgewinnung und Machtdynamik

Ein Zuschauer fragte, warum wir darauf bestünden, den Akt der Entführung dieser Objekte nicht als Diebstahl zu bezeichnen und warum wir nicht beim Namen nennen würden, dass es sich um ein Verbrechen handelte; stattdessen diskutierten wir um die Idee herum, darum zu bitten, Datenbanken einzurichten, statt einfach unser Eigentum zurückzufordern. Wie bereits erläutert, gibt es jedoch Phasen, die mit Rückkauf und Rückgewinnung verbunden sind, einfach, weil die Machtdynamik zwischen dem globalen Norden und dem globalen Süden insgesamt von Unterschieden geprägt ist. Die Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit ist ein Pfeiler der kenianischen Verfassung. Die einzige Möglichkeit, den globalen Norden zur Rückgabe dieser Artefakte zu bewegen, ist die Information durch Gremien wie dieses, was wiederum die Kenianer*innen dazu bringen werde, ihre Parlamentarier*innen und Regierungsstellen aufzufordern, das zurückzufordern, was uns rechtmäßig gehört – egal, wie unbequem diese offenen und öffentlichen Gespräche sind.

Top