Colombia How reassessing the Stasi past can help Colombia

Jael Quiroga Carrillo & Luz Stella Aponte Jaramillo
© Goethe-Institut e.V.

Jael Quiroga Carrillo, Director of the Colombian human rights organisation REINICIAR, has a dream for her country. REINICIAR attorney Luz Stella Aponte Jaramillo compares Germans and Colombians. The two women were awarded the Franco-German Prize for Human Rights 2014.

To wake up one morning and find that nobody in Colombia was a victim of human rights violations and that the war was over. For me, that would be the most wonderful thing! All the former soldiers could simply join political parties in a pluralist democracy like in Germany, where everyone can be actively involved without risking their lives. 
 
The armed conflict in Colombia has been going on for 50 years. Ten million victims demand justice. Not necessarily the punishment of those responsible, but above all social justice. Many people who suffered on account of this violence are impoverished. They need a perspective and reforms that give the victims and the country a future. 
 
I was greatly surprised by the statements of the Director of the Stasi Research and Memorial Site. When I asked him what he thought of the human rights violations in the GDR and the collapse of the system, he said that the situation of the victims today is relatively good because they now have rights. After all, the most important thing is to live in a true democracy. It is no use just finding and punishing those who were responsible. 

THREE QUESTIONS TO...

Luz Stella Aponte Jaramillo on her travel experiences.
 
Both in your work and on this tour, you address the question of how the past can be assessed. Is it possible to make a comparison between Germany and Colombia here?  
 
The history of the two countries is very different, of course, as is the way in which we view war. The war that Germany waged for many years was visible to all. In our country, instead, there is an armed conflict that has been going on for 50 years – and yet many people are still unaware of it. The war has become such a part of everyday life.
 
What can we learn from one another?
 
Above all, what Colombians can learn from the Germans is how to strengthen democratic institutions. And something Germans could perhaps emulate from us is a bit more solidarity. In spite of all the difficulties, there is an incredible sense of fraternity in our country.  
 
What surprised you most on your trip to Germany? 
 
Films at the cinema always gave us the impression that the Germans are a very serious people. That is basically true. But the conversation partners we met and got to know a little better were not only wonderful people who were very open - they also had a great sense of humour.

Kolumbien Wie die Stasi-Aufarbeitung Kolumbien helfen kann

Jael Quiroga Carrillo & Luz Stella Aponte Jaramillo
© Goethe-Institut e.V.

Jael Quiroga Carrillo, Direktorin der kolumbianischen Menschenrechtsorganisation REINICIAR, hat einen Traum für ihr Land. REINICIAR-Anwältin Luz Stella Aponte Jaramillo vergleicht Deutsche und Kolumbianer. Beide Frauen wurden mit dem deutsch-französischen Menschenrechtspreis 2014 ausgezeichnet.

Eines Morgens aufzuwachen und niemand in Kolumbien wäre ein Opfer von Menschenrechtsverletzungen und der Krieg wäre vorbei: Das wäre das Schönste für mich! All die ehemaligen Krieger könnten einfach politischen Parteien beitreten, in einer pluralistischen Demokratie wie in Deutschland, an der sich jeder aktiv beteiligen kann – ohne sein Leben zu riskieren. 

In Kolumbien dauert der bewaffnete Konflikt seit 50 Jahren an. Zehn Millionen Opfer fordern Gerechtigkeit. Nicht unbedingt die Bestrafung der Verantwortlichen, sondern vor allem soziale Gerechtigkeit. Viele, die unter der Gewalt gelitten haben, sind verarmt. Sie brauchen eine Perspektive und Reformen, die den Opfern und dem Land eine Zukunft ermöglichen. 

Die Aussagen des Direktors der Stasi-Forschungs- und Gedenkstätte haben mich sehr überrascht. Als ich ihn fragte, wie er über die Menschenrechtsverletzungen in der DDR und den Zusammenbruch des Systems denke, sagte er, den Opfern gehe es heute relativ gut, weil sie jetzt Rechte haben. Das Wichtigste ist doch, in einer wahren Demokratie zu leben. Es hilft nicht, allein die Verantwortlichen zu suchen und zu bestrafen. 

​Drei Fragen an...

Luz Stella Aponte Jaramillo über ihre Reise-Erfahrungen.

Beruflich wie auch auf dieser Reise beschäftigen Sie sich mit der Frage, wie sich Vergangenheit aufarbeiten lässt. Lassen sich Deutschland und Kolumbien hier vergleichen?  

Die Vergangenheit beider Länder unterscheidet sich natürlich sehr, genau wie die Art und Weise, wie wir den Krieg betrachten. Der Krieg, den Deutschland viele Jahre führte, war für jedermann sichtbar. Bei uns hingegen gibt es einen bewaffneten Konflikt, der seit 50 Jahren anhält – und trotzdem ist er vielen Menschen noch immer nicht bewusst. So sehr gehört der Krieg mittlerweile zum Alltag. 

Was können wir gegenseitig voneinander lernen?

Wir Kolumbianer können vor allem von den Deutschen lernen, wie man demokratische Institutionen stärkt. Und die Deutschen könnten sich vielleicht von uns etwas mehr Solidarität abgucken. Trotz aller Schwierigkeiten gibt es wahnsinnig viel Brüderlichkeit in unserem Land.  

Was hat Sie auf Ihrer Deutschlandreise am meisten verwundert? 

Die Filme im Kino haben uns immer erzählt, dass die Deutschen ein sehr ernstes Volk sind. Das sind sie im Prinzip auch. Aber die Gesprächspartner, die wir trafen und näher kennenlernen durften, waren nicht nur großartig und sehr offen, sondern auch sehr humorvoll.