Tunisia Campaigner in the fight against homophobia

Badr Baabou lives in Tunis and is involved in the work of Damj as its co-founder and President. The association advocates inclusion, justice and equality for minorities – and fights homophobia in Tunisia

His family suspects he is homosexual, but the subject is never broached. That is no reason for Badr Baabou to hide, however. On the contrary. For him, it is important that people associate his face and his name with the fight against homophobia and transphobia because many people – too many – remain anonymous: “I am no longer afraid. Our sexual orientation is just one aspect that defines us as human beings. Sooner or later, homophobia will become obsolete as a social issue.“ 

That is what Badr Baabou has been fighting for in Tunisia since 2002 – and that is why he, together with 14 other activists against homophobia and transphobia from the North African and Middle East region (MENA), accepted an invitation from the Federal Foreign Office and the Hirschfeld Eddy Foundation to come to Germany. The aim of the information tour is to exchange views, build international networks between lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) organisations, and to provide training on Internet security. 

“In Tunisia, homosexuality is officially punishable by imprisonment – but as a result of the revolution, we have a relatively strong civil society and a constitution that protects human rights,” says Baabou. And he adds that Tunisia could play a pioneering role for the MENA region. That is why he wants to do his best to support other activists, some of whom are still operating clandestinely, to set up and develop aid organisations step by step. Damj for Justice and Equality, the organisation he co-founded, has been officially recognised as a non-governmental organisation in his country since 2011.
 
Badr Baabou, President and co-founder of Damj (inclusion) for Justice and Equality, an organisation working to defend and include minorities and marginalised groups, Tuni

Tunesien Kämpfer gegen Homophobie

Badr Baabou
© Goethe-Institut e.V.

Badr Baabou lebt in Tunis und engagiert sich als Mitbegründer und Präsident bei Damj. Der Verein tritt für Inklusion, Gerechtigkeit und Gleichheit von Minderheiten ein – und gegen Homophobie in Tunesien.

Seine Familie ahnt, dass er homosexuell ist, gesprochen wird aber nie darüber. Doch Badr Baabou versteckt sich deswegen nicht. Im Gegenteil. Ihm ist es wichtig, dass man sein Bild und seinen Namen als Aktivisten gegen Homophobie und Transphobie kennt, denn viele – zu viele – blieben in der Anonymität: „Ich habe keine Angst mehr. Unsere sexuelle Orientierung ist nur ein Aspekt, der uns als Menschen ausmacht. Früher oder später wird sich Homophobie auch gesellschaftlich erledigen.“ 

Dafür kämpft Badr Baabou in Tunesien seit 2002 – und dafür ist er zusammen mit 14 weiteren Aktivisten gegen Schwulen- und Transgenderfeindlichkeit aus der Region Nordafrika und dem Nahen Osten (MENA) der Einladung nach Deutschland seitens des Auswärtigen Amts und der Hirschfeld-Eddy-Stiftung gefolgt. Ziel der Informationsreise ist es, sich auszutauschen, internationale Netzwerke zwischen LGBT-Organisationen (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual und Transgender) zu knüpfen und sich in Sachen Internetsicherheit zu schulen. 

„In Tunesien kann Homosexualität zwar offiziell noch mit Gefängnis bestraft werden – durch die Revolution haben wir aber eine relativ starke Zivilgesellschaft und eine Verfassung, die Menschenrechte schützt“, sagt Baabou. Und dass Tunesien für die MENA-Region eine Vorreiter-Rolle einnehmen könne. Daher will er sein Bestes geben, andere, zum Teil noch im Untergrund operierende Aktivisten beim Aufbau von Hilfsorganisationen Schritt für Schritt zu unterstützen. Seit 2011 ist die von ihm mitbegründete Organisation Damj for Justice and Equality offiziell als Nichtregierungsorganisation in seinem Land anerkannt.
 
Badr Baabou, Präsident und Mitgründer von Damj (inclusion) for Justice and Equality, Organization working on defending and including minorities and marginalized groups, Tunis